Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential, but shop around for the best price
Points! You buy them, then you swap them! At least thats the theory... Wii Points enable you to download software from the 'Wii Shop Channel'. When we say software, we mean anything that costs points; the Internet Channel, retro games, or other software.

Theirs obviously lots of disagreement over the value for your points. At 15 quid, you get 2000 points which,...
Published on 28 May 2007 by Picard

versus
39 of 43 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Buy Games and Software online for the wii
If you have your wii connected to broadband (with I seriously suggest), then you will probably know about the wii-shop channel. It allows you to download new software for your wii, and download "virtual console games" (old games from previous systems).

The shop channel uses "points" as its currency. Once you have bought this card you simply enter the code on...
Published on 1 Jan 2007 by Josh


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

39 of 43 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Buy Games and Software online for the wii, 1 Jan 2007
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Nintendo 2000 Wii Points Card (Wii) (Video Game)
If you have your wii connected to broadband (with I seriously suggest), then you will probably know about the wii-shop channel. It allows you to download new software for your wii, and download "virtual console games" (old games from previous systems).

The shop channel uses "points" as its currency. Once you have bought this card you simply enter the code on it onto the shop channel and you get 2000 points added to your account (equivelent to 4 NES games, 2 N64 games etc.). You can purchase points online with your credit card, which is more convenient, but this method is the alternative.

By the way, the shop channel updates every few weeks. Adding more games and software.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential, but shop around for the best price, 28 May 2007
By 
Picard (USS Enterprise) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nintendo 2000 Wii Points Card (Wii) (Video Game)
Points! You buy them, then you swap them! At least thats the theory... Wii Points enable you to download software from the 'Wii Shop Channel'. When we say software, we mean anything that costs points; the Internet Channel, retro games, or other software.

Theirs obviously lots of disagreement over the value for your points. At 15 quid, you get 2000 points which, in my eyes, is descent value. With games on offer ranging from 500 points (8 Bit consoles, like the NES) to 1000 points (64 Bit - N64) I would hardly say the points card is poor value. Lets face it; 7.50 for a good quality N64 game that you may have played endlessly when you were a kid (as I did) is excellent, considering it's never going to deteriorate. It is only the 8 Bit games like that of the NES that are slightly over-priced at around 4 quid, considering the technology involved is so inferior, and NES games on ebay can be less than a pound!

New to the Wii Shop Channel is the 'Wii Ware' section; a section purely for brand new games that play and operate modern and uniquely, whilst being compressed to literally 200 hundreds or less of memory. The result is that you can download games that are unique, small, and have lots of charm at a small price! A fantastic reason to get Wii Points.

I wouldn't pay any more than 15 for this card, but it's worth shopping around to find the best prices. My only niggle with what you get is that Nintendo, normally so efficient, decided to ship the points card in a pointless white DVD case. Not only, am I sure, will millions of these just end up in a landfill sight in years to come, but it's just plain silly. Unless you can re-use them...

So fab overall, what more can I say?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


58 of 65 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The good outweighs the bad, 19 Jun 2007
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Nintendo 2000 Wii Points Card (Wii) (Video Game)
I would just like to express my opinoins about the wii points

I'll get the negative points over and done with first

Why did Nintendo feel the need to whack a credit card size piece of paper into a dvd case and chuck in an instruction booklet(and paper disc) too? they should have sold it like the old pay as you go scratch cards people topped there phone credit up with as this would have saved money not just for Nintendo but for us too(as i expect the points would sell for less)

The cases do make good replacements for games or dvds but they soon start to build up(i have 4 and counting!) if you need replacment cases there cheap enouth to buy and i think its a waste as i would rather have cheaper points

Also the point cost of some of the games are hefty for example columns which i loved playing on the mega drive costs 800 points to download and i feel that is a rip off as you only get 2000 points for £15 and it puts me off downloading it as i dont think its quite worth it.

On the plus side however if you dont have a credit card to buy points directly from nintendo you can buy these in the shops at all good games stores(and some shoddy ones too i expect) at high street shops which sell games and of course Amazon or ebay if you dont want to venture outside(check my plugging skills)

Also there are some fantastic games to choose from alot of which are imposible to get on internet emulators and the conversion jobs on some of the games are excellent,on streets of rage 2 you can connect 2 wiis together and play the game on 2 t.v.s which was not possible on the original version or again on internet downloads,You can also use a gamecube controller on most virtual console games too.
Also there is talk of being able to cash your vip stars you get when you register a game on Nintendo's website into points which i think is an excellent idea.

Here is a list of the point costs for the diffrent systems regardless of what game you want to download

Nes-500
Snes-800
Mega Drive-800
Turbografix-600
N64-1000

There are other consoles which are being added to the virtual console such as the neo-geo by Snk along with the Sega Saturn(which at the moment is a rumor but my fingers are firmly crossed)

Also here are some game reccomendation's for you to consider

Gunstar Heroes
Streets of Rage 1 and 2
Super Castlevania IV
Actraiser
Toejam and Earl 2
Super Mario World

The virtual console gets updated every Thursday at midnight so keep checking also check out Ngamer for what to spend your points on(Another good plug)

Anyway as my review title states the good outweighs the bad so get some points and go back to the old school (or at least see what most people over 20 used to play)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential for those classic titles. Do not pay more than £15 maximum for it though..., 13 July 2007
By 
James Petford (Stourbridge) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Nintendo 2000 Wii Points Card (Wii) (Video Game)
This little card will enable you to download all those classic titles fom the original Nes console all the way up to the N64, lest me not forgetting the mega drive and Turbographx titles. If you prefer not to use this card you can use a debit or credit card for the same price. (Except paying by card on the wii you can buy the points in smaller or larger chunks, 1000, 2000 or even 5000). It works out 70p per 100 points providing you pay £15 for the card or over the wii itself with a debit/credit card.

Here are the prices:
Nes: 500 points
Snes: 800 points
N64: 1000 points
Turbographix: 600-800 for more advanced titles
Mega drive: 800 points

With more consoles soon to be added, stay tuned.

Please bear in mind to use the wii shopping service you will require a broadband connection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent., 4 Mar 2008
By 
S. Fisher "-SevenFisher-" (UK, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Nintendo 2000 Wii Points Card (Wii) (Video Game)
The thing is I know there's "ROMS" out there but to be fair I hate them, I don't mind them if others likes to play on these but I'd rather to play a "actual" game with a controller pad, or at least have a sense of feeling to "own" it.

Virtual Console is excellent once you think about it - sure you can get some games for cheaper, but what about Paper Mario? That's rare, and you would have to fork over alot for that. However on VC it's only £7.50, and it's even perfect emulated (most ROMs for Paper Mario aren't perfect in my opinion).

I would strongly recommend Virtual Console to every Wii owner, it's cheap than you'd think and it can be addicative. I've been playing Legend of Zelda: LTTP/Mario Kart 64 non-stop, and I'm loving it with Classic Controller. Worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great feature, read on save £1., 12 July 2007
By 
G. Dhaliwal "amazonian" (W.Mids, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Nintendo 2000 Wii Points Card (Wii) (Video Game)
If you buy two sets of 1000points using the wii interface you'll get it for £14. So you save a pound.

Wii points are great, slightly overpriced which is rumoured to go down by 60% by 2008(source wii forums). You can download virtual games or Wii content. I am not going to repeat what the other reviewers have said because I'll bore you.

Is it worth saving a pound? If you want a replacement case then no, if you want. If you want to get points INSTANTLY, then yes! Or if you don't mind if you don't get it instantly and want to save £1.01 then go to Woolworths(£13.98).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 17 July 2008
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Nintendo 2000 Wii Points Card (Wii) (Video Game)
I really like playing Wii games on this, the virtual console is neat.
Here are the prices (there's some updated prices):

Wii Channels (excluding internet channel) - 0 points
NES - 500 points
Commodore 64 (European exclusive) - 500 points
SEGA Master System/Game Gear - 500 points
Wii Internet Channel - 500 points
Turbografx-16 - 600 points
SNES - 800 Points*
Sega Mega Drive/Genesis - 800 Points #
NEOGEO - 900 Points #
Nintendo 64 - 1000 points*
WiiWare - 500-1,500 points

*Incompatible with Wii Remote. All games can can use a classic controller, but it is essential for incompatible with Wii Remote ones. Most games can also use a Gamecube controller, but several Turbografx games cannot use it.

# Some of the games on this console are compatible with the Wii Remote.

So, get a Wii Remote, Classic Controller and Gamecube Controller to fully enjoy these games. All the current games on Virtual Console are great, so take your pick and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING!!!!, 28 Dec 2006
By 
River B. Adams (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Nintendo 2000 Wii Points Card (Wii) (Video Game)
Well, if your a retro fan and you dont have a Visa/Mastercard then you need this (Providing you have a way to access the internet with your Wii). What this item does is act as currency towards retro games that are added to a Library of games you can download to your Wii every friday! So, my verdict is if you have a Wii, you should have some of these to go with it. ANd even if you dont want any of the games on the VC at the moment you can just hold on to them for a while untill there is. I downloaded Donkey Kong country and it has reminded me much of those golden old days of games... And it is stored right on your console!!!You dont even have to get up! You can download as many games onto the Wii as long as you have the memory and Wii points available. So once again, BUY THIS!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 6 Jan 2007
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Nintendo 2000 Wii Points Card (Wii) (Video Game)
The card doesn't do much. You transfer the points from the card to your wii. That's all. That is everything this card does and ever will do. But it is what you can get with the points that is brilliant. You can download Nintendo games from the NES, the SNES and the N64, plus you can get megadrive games and turbographx games. At the moment the selection of games is not great, but later in 2007 we will see things like smash bros and mario party become available for download. It is also rumoured that nintendo may let small developers make games for downloading! How good is that!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 26 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Handy, 12 Dec 2006
By 
T. S. Marsh (Cambridge, MA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Nintendo 2000 Wii Points Card (Wii) (Video Game)
If you don't own a VISA / Mastercard this is the only way to get Wii points. The system works pretty well, but its definately less convieniant than buying them online. Great for those with Amex or those under 18.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Nintendo 2000 Wii Points Card (Wii)
Nintendo 2000 Wii Points Card (Wii) by Nintendo (Nintendo Wii)
Out of stock
Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews