Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Blast from the past
Age of Empires II is a really excellent, absorbing real-time strategy game. Resource management is challenging without being overpoweringly complicated and there's a huge range of military units you can create and send into battle. Combat is usually fairly short-lived, but at higher difficulty settings you will find the constant attacks from your enemies require you to...
Published on 21 July 2009 by Andy M

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
only bad part is graphics but cant really complain as its an old game
Published 7 months ago by Liam Pingree


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Blast from the past, 21 July 2009
By 
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Age of Empires: Collectors Edition (PC CD) (Video Game)
Age of Empires II is a really excellent, absorbing real-time strategy game. Resource management is challenging without being overpoweringly complicated and there's a huge range of military units you can create and send into battle. Combat is usually fairly short-lived, but at higher difficulty settings you will find the constant attacks from your enemies require you to think fast and act strategically. At this price, this game is a bargain. My copy arrived on a single disc, which seems to have all four games on it, although I haven't tried to install the other three.

Years ago, I used to run this on my old P200 Win 98 machine and was frustrated by the fact that I could only ever use the lowest settings for population and map size. On the beast of a machine I now have it runs beautifully - very pretty graphics and smooth motion even with maxed out populations and huge maps.

A useful tip if you do buy this: under Windows XP, some people may experience problems installing the game. I did - the install process hung when trying to install a particular file. If this happens to you, you need to go into Windows Explorer and right-click on the AoE setup icon, then choose Properties and select a compatibility mode. I chose the Windows 98 compatibility mode, and after that everything worked perfectly.

I highly recommend this game but be warned - it may take over your life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great collection, 1 Feb. 2009
By 
Tim (West Yorks, UK) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Age of Empires: Collectors Edition (PC CD) (Video Game)
In a fit of nostalgia, I decided to buy the Age of Empires collectors' edition. I'd played both AoE 1 and 2 (but not the expansion packs) when they came out, but over the years sort of forgot about them.

First thing's first: they are worth buying. Considering how ridiculously cheap they are, they are definitely worth the money.

The games give a nice mix of both historical details and fun gameplay.

As someone who is generally not very good at games, I found I had to use the "easy" difficulty level, which was still quite taxing, especially for Age of Empires 2. However, my more proficient friends tell me that the harder levels are at the right sort of level, too. There are more than enough campaigns in this box set to keep you occupied, and of course there's also random maps, too.

Two words of caution: I couldn't make the Conquerors work properly with Vista (it works fine with older versions of Windows), and it is really quite difficult to get the multiplayer working over LAN.

These flaws aside, AoE is a great little series of games, much more engrossing than it should be. I'd definitely suggest you buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Old school quality, 11 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Age of Empires: Collectors Edition (PC CD) (Video Game)
I should have better, more exciting things to do than revisit games of my youth, but nevertheless I bought this set of the four Age of Empires games. I had previously owned only the original version, and so the three other games were wholly new to me. I have no regrets whatsoever about buying this product. The games are, yes, a little bit tired compared to some of the later output, but no less fun for that. The Age of Kings is a sensible advance from the original, and The Conquerors allows for far more variety in the terrain you can select to play Standard Games (or Death Matches) on. I would recommend this to anyone, a thoroughly enjoyable, easy to learn and master game that still provides a gentle few hours of fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easily one of the greatest pc games in last 10 years., 24 Feb. 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Age of Empires: Collectors Edition (PC CD) (Video Game)
The title doesn't lie. I got this game and it consumed me for months. I rebought it because of how much I missed the series.

Age of Empires the first was a revolution! Adding realism and action to a bland genre of RTS games. Game is fairly simple get resources by using villagers to gather, build more stuff then expand and advance your culture. The first was based in the roman times and things were samey despite the nations you picked every sprite was identical. In addition an army of 25 feels lame. Despite that at the time there was no game like it.

Then Age of Empires II was released and it broke records! Game was drizzled in historical accuracy and historicaly inacurate gameplay (not that im complaining). The game broke the mold every nation has a unique layout, unique units and advantages. From the furthest reaches of europe all the way to the islands of japan every nation had its mention in this game. They even journey to the americanas allowing to play as the mighty aztecs themselves! The core of the game doesn't change but the flow and challange of it does. Every battle makes you feel small and helpless and forces you to think fast. The enemy is smart and doesn't mess around the moment they can crush you they do. The online mode alone is worth it shame its died now.

Bottom line if you love a classic get this game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun, Fun, Fun!, 27 Sept. 2008
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Age of Empires: Collectors Edition (PC CD) (Video Game)
These games are so fun!
Bought a few copies for friends and family.

AOE1 is For people who have time, it isn't the quickest of games
and the graphics seem o.k., but this is an old game.
I have played less on AOE1 than AOE2 / AOE2 Conquerors:

AOE2 has quite good graphics, not as good as the new AOE3, but it 'looks' 3D. The campaigns and different scenarios are really fun and good plots.
The scenario editors have lots of options, most of which are shown in the editor - BUT you must know what you are doing - if you can't get your head around the triggers etc. it's difficult to make your own scenario/campaingns.
The gameplay is quite addictive, good ideas and ways of collecting different recources to build with - eg. different maps have fish, sheep, boar or turkeys which can be used for food, and the different trees change to different places e.g. Black forest and Yucatan.
Many different units and technologies, and unique technologies and bonuses to civilisations - which creates many tactics and ways of trying to crush your opponent, and counterattacking.

All in all, it's definitely 5-star
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent game, for what there is, 26 May 2007
By 
J. Rogozinski - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Age of Empires: Collectors Edition (PC CD) (Video Game)
Me and over three friends have encountered the same problem with this. All games offered on the front cover are excellent and well worth your time, however in this edition the first Age of Empires and its expansion do not appear. There are three discs, one for the first and its expansion, one for AoEII, and one for the AoEII expansion. The latter two work fine, but the former contains only another copy of AoEII.

I bought this for the second game, which I hadn't played in a long time, so wasn't overly disappointed for the low price. But if you're looking for the first AoE, look elsewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome games, 17 Jan. 2008
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Age of Empires: Collectors Edition (PC CD) (Video Game)
awesome your game alone spans 12,500 years of history from the very start at the egyptian empire to the start of the re-birth of europe. excellent game im addicted (No Really i am!!) the story line drags you in with great gameplay and the customized options available are out of the this world. really deep in game cutomising abilities.

Overall Any age of empires game is worth getting :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic game - even after nine years!, 30 Aug. 2009
By 
Andrew Westcott (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Age of Empires: Collectors Edition (PC CD) (Video Game)
Fantastic collection of games. Obviously best played as muliplayer over the internet. Gameranger - a fantastic multiplayer hosting site - have taken up Microsoft's multiplayer facilities. If you like the command and conquer ilk, but want more depth in game play, buy this game. You won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Age of Empires 2 Addictive!, 19 Mar. 2009
By 
S. FORGAN (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Age of Empires: Collectors Edition (PC CD) (Video Game)
I played this years ago, and was hooked!the gameplay is simple,build
up your civilisaton and protect it while going on the rampage against
rival tribes.The graphics are great and as you build more you'll
want to see more.To me,this is as addictive as tetris.Straight forward
fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Servival, 27 Aug. 2009
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Age of Empires: Collectors Edition (PC CD) (Video Game)
A real game of strategy, some scenerios easier then others to work out,but others really get the grey matter working. Going bald scratching my head on some. a game for all levels.Great enjoyment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Age of Empires: Collectors Edition (PC CD)
Age of Empires: Collectors Edition (PC CD) by Xplosiv (Windows 95 / 98 / Me / NT / XP)
£5.90
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews