Customer Reviews


300 Reviews
5 star:
 (155)
4 star:
 (47)
3 star:
 (33)
2 star:
 (28)
1 star:
 (37)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars From genius to B-movie madness, loved it.
Some people complain about the packaging, I liked it, there's a bit of thought gone into making a fold out Empire State Building case to hold these 4 discs. It's not particularly sturdy but it's not designed to be left open.
There's enough been written about the original movie over the years, it's been one of my favourite movies for ages, I still love the stop-motion...
Published on 7 Mar 2011 by I. R. Kerr

versus
46 of 52 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Gypped by the Gorilla
I can't help shake the feeling we're getting the raw end of the deal this side of the Atlantic when it comes to King Kong. Over in the US the original King Kong has been finally released to DVD with a multitude of brand new extras, documentaries, recreated lost sequences - plus it's original sequel (Son of Kong) and belated follow-up from the same...
Published on 2 Dec 2005 by Leealike


‹ Previous | 129 30 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Embarrassing, 18 April 2006
Even Ed Wood would have been ashamed of this. There is nothing, not even the Playstationy special effects, that redeems this film. It is too long, is ham-acted and at times is so excrutiatingly awful that you feel obliged to look away. Thank goodness for Amazon rentals at least it only cost 1.99 to make a mistake.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars +++Superb+++, 12 Jun 2006
By 
M. Holloway "Ratty" (Down by the river, Deeping) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I thougth this an excellent re-make of the original.

True to the original story, the special effects brought it bang up to date.

If you liked the original this is a must-see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Enough to make you go ape, 22 Mar 2010
By 
George Robinson "Bartie1" (Sherwood Forest, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: King Kong [DVD] (DVD)
This is one of those hideously overcooked three-hour bum numbers that'll have you gibbering like a gibbon long before it gets to the end. But hey, Peter Jackson, that bloke who did Lord Of the Rings, was behind it, so don't dare knock it, eh?

What we get is a very familiar, and very lame, story stretched out to interminable lengths. By the time they finally get the gorilla up the Empire State Building you're past caring. All you want it to do is end. You're actually yelling at the pilots in the six planes: "Kill it, for pity's sake!"

Jackson throws virtually everything into the mix, like some demented chef making some kind of soup out of all the ingredients he could find. Which as all good chefs know, actually ends up spoiling the broth.

After a while, the set-piece sequences start to wear you out, and you find yourself starting to ask all sorts of questions about the gaping plot holes.

Questions such as:
1. Where did all the natives go?
2. Where did the other two T-rexes go at the end of that marathon fight?
3. How did they get Kong on to the boat to ship him back? They only had a couple of rowing boats and a harpoon... and in any case, Kong looked about 10 times the size of their entire ship?
4. How did they sneak him through customs at the New York harbour, and also into the theatre? Didn't anyone see him?
5. Where did all the traffic charging about and all the people running around screaming go when the girl suddenly met up with Kong in the city and they managed to tiptoe quietly out to the park for a bit of Christmassy ice-skating?
6. Why didn't the girl die of hypothermia prancing around on the top of the Empire State Building in only a flimsy underskirt in the depths of winter, with snow all around? It must have been minus 20 up there, and yet she doesn't even shiver!
7. There was loads of snow and ice at ground level, but why didn't we see anything on the rooftops of the buildings?
8. Never mind a big gorilla - why didn't they take back one or two of those giant insects or dinosaurs running around?

Oh well. I suppose if you went to the cinema you probably felt you got your money's worth. But at home on the couch, you'll find yourself glancing wistfully at the clock long before it's over.

FOOTNOTE: Apparently, the DVD has a special EXTENDED version! Ye Gods! Are they handing out prizes for anyone who can actually sit through it?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Listen? ALL OF YOU, 11 Feb 2006
Personaly, King Kong is the best film i've ever seen - the special effects are amazing - the gorilla is so well done and it is much more than just an action movie - it is long - and sum of it doesnt need to be in it - but there is no harm in the extra stuff and it fleshes it out further - the only single instance where the special effects/actors join is noticable - ann in the monkeys fist atop the mountain - i can see why others might not like it - length/action/carneverous earth worm - but its up to you to make up your mind - watch it b4 u decide - ending is sad - and yes - im aware hes a gorilla not a monkey
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Someone know if UK version has ..., 18 Feb 2009
Someone knows if UK version has Italian additional Audio language ??
I saw in the listing it has,as stated, italian subtitles, so I suppose it will has Italian Audio track too ...
Someone can confirm ??
Thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 36 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Kong - A case for "scene select" ?, 13 Feb 2006
Have to agree with the reviewer from Barcelona regarding quantity and quality of this movie. Although the movie does have a PG (Parental Guidance) 12 rating, some of the scenes were pretty scary, and (as father to two buys), unsuitable for smaller kids, so parents buying the DVD for Junior to watch on home cinema - beware. This would be a great time to use the "select scene" function on the DVD. The first hour is a bit boring, the opening scenes on Skull Island are dark and violent, and the scene with the insects attacking the party is well - over-the-top.
Apart from all that, the balance of the movie ( almost 2 hours !!) is extremely entertaining but don't look for anything more than what this is (we all know how it ends)- an old fashioned fantasy adventure.
By the way how did they get Kong on the ship ? and if he could break those specially designed chains in New York, just how did they tie him up on board the ship ?
Maybe this will be answered in the extended version ?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 143 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Much ado about nothing, 7 Feb 2006
By A Customer
This has to be an example of how special effects can be overused. If there is no story to begin with, then no amount of smoke and mirrors is going to save a dismal picture. The film is about 1 1/2 hours too long.
Parents should be warned that there are very violent and gruesome scenes not suitable for children of any age (e.g. a man being eaten by a giant, carnivorous worm). On top of all that, it depicts the natives as evil primatives, which could have been expected in a 1930's B movie, but not in the 21st century, where children who see this film are supposedly going to live.
It's only a shame that the T-Rexes didn't take apart the monkey (as indeed they would have, if somehow they could have ever co-existed)before he engaged in a mawkish interspecies romance with a woman who keeps her high heels on in the most trying of circumstances.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 59 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Oh No..., 23 Feb 2006
By 
George Reid - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
What out on DVD already ? Keep your money and spend it on something more worthwhile than this overhyped drivel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 22 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars to long, 12 Jun 2009
A Kid's Review
It is a good film but is so long i got abit board in about 2 hours and a bit more
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 64 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars outrageous, 13 Feb 2006
By A Customer
im extremely extremeley dissapointed at this film the fight sequences between king kong and the v-rexs are outrageous especially kong killing a v-rex in under a minute i mean jesus christ theres no suspense theres no excitment it should have lasted at least 5-6 minutes with kong struggling at least that way u get more into it cheering kong on and the fight sequence with the 3 v-rexs its better but again lacking suspences all it is kong clobbering the 3 its an embarrasment to the original in 33.i love the dinosaurs and all the parasites and all the other canivorous things on skull island but jackson seriously i think has let everybody down i was really excited about this film cos of jacksons reputation especially after watching lord of the rings but he didnt deliever dont get me wrong i still think hes an excellent film maker but this was crap there was some action packed scenes but nothing to make me wanna buy it or recommend it to someone else.i know theres a lot of people who are gonna love this film and think im crazy but theres a few out there who would probably agree with me,sorry folks but i would rank this as a complete waste of time and money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 129 30 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa1b604a4)

This product

King Kong [HD DVD]
King Kong [HD DVD] by Andrew Lesnie (HD DVD - 2006)
10.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews