Customer Reviews


53 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Outrageously silly but VERY smart
One of the best spoof movies I've ever seen. Will Ferrell's shallow good ole boy Ricky Bobby is a feckless idiot who rises from tyre changer in a no-hope NASCAR team to become the star driver of the circuit. Obsessed with winning after a throwaway comment by his deadbeat racer dad (brilliantly played by Gary Cole), and ignorant of his shallow, mutually empty relationships...
Published on 7 Dec 2006 by joalem

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Distinctly average fare
Ferrell is usually much funnier than this. It WAS funny in parts, and I DID laugh, but just not often enough. Some really good actors in it too...Gary ?Lucas? the guy from "Midnight Caller" didn't convince me as his "55" year old Dad. Cohen's accent WAS pants, but still a funny guy and a funny character. If you like Ferrell, you'll probably love it, if not, you probably...
Published on 21 Sep 2007 by M. P. Barnes


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Outrageously silly but VERY smart, 7 Dec 2006
This review is from: Talladega Nights [DVD] [2006] [2007] (DVD)
One of the best spoof movies I've ever seen. Will Ferrell's shallow good ole boy Ricky Bobby is a feckless idiot who rises from tyre changer in a no-hope NASCAR team to become the star driver of the circuit. Obsessed with winning after a throwaway comment by his deadbeat racer dad (brilliantly played by Gary Cole), and ignorant of his shallow, mutually empty relationships with his groupie wife, horrendous kids (named Walker and Texas Ranger) and equally thick best friend (John C Reilly), he finally hits the proverbial brick wall in the shape of Sacha Baron Cohen's star turn as Formula 1 Frenchman Jean Girard. Thus begins a slow rebuilding of his life and career - this time the "right" way... sort of!

Subtly sending up every "serious" film of this type (mainly Days of Thunder, Top Gun etc) and the real-life downhome ignorance of the redneck NASCAR following, this not only delivers on the gags (this film is truly hilarious) it also is remarkably smart at portraying the emptiness of the blue-collar sports star's life when faced with enormous fortune, media coverage and hero worship, and the fickle desertion of the hero when he hits skid row.

It is a spoof movie, but not in the sense of the Airplane or Scary Movie series - the movie has a real warmth and actually does tell a real human story in amongst the endless side-splitting gags. It also avoids the kind of schmaltzy American syrup-filled scenes of such films by throwing in the unexpected at each turn.

Worth seeing for Sacha Baron Cohen's performance alone, and Ricky Bobby's "grace" before their Pizza Hut and KFC dinner. If you're in the right mood this will have you crying!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Distinctly average fare, 21 Sep 2007
By 
M. P. Barnes "BarnseytheClaret" (Sheffield, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Talladega Nights [DVD] [2006] [2007] (DVD)
Ferrell is usually much funnier than this. It WAS funny in parts, and I DID laugh, but just not often enough. Some really good actors in it too...Gary ?Lucas? the guy from "Midnight Caller" didn't convince me as his "55" year old Dad. Cohen's accent WAS pants, but still a funny guy and a funny character. If you like Ferrell, you'll probably love it, if not, you probably won't. As I said, average fare.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good because its different, 1 May 2007
By 
Picard (USS Enterprise) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Talladega Nights [DVD] [2006] [2007] (DVD)
I guess I was slightly suprised, like many other viewers it would appear, that this film has a slightly different approach to what we expect from Will Ferrell and the man himself, Borat. Based upon the NASCAR series of racing, the film is all in all, "good". Sacha Baron Cohen ('Borat') plays probably the funniest part of the film, as a gay French racing driver with possibly the funniest French accent i've heard to date. Will Ferrell meanwhile plays the lead role as a NASCAR driver who was brought up by his wacky dad to believe in the true to life American of "winning is the only option" (Lombardian Ethic) and so, as a grown man, he enjoys the highs of winnining his races while making millions, and sharing his house with the blonde bimbo, and spoilt children, who totally crack me up.

The reason this film has had mixed reviews is likely to be down to the content. Sometimes, jokes can maybe go on a bit too long, or the films breaks on long scenes, and then quickly move onto a different subject, just little things really. I think its also hard to establish what type of audience this is for, which is probably why people like it or hate it, as just like the film Zoolander, you can take it, or you can't.

But in my personal opinion, this is an entertaining film that has it moments, and should give you some good laughs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not as funny as it thinks it is.............., 6 Feb 2007
This review is from: Talladega Nights [DVD] [2006] [2007] (DVD)
I agree that this film is silly-funny, and does have some funny moments (I love the sons being called Walker and Texas Ranger), but for a sport that is just ripe for lampooning, a lot of the film misses the mark. The commercials are a nice touch, and the over the top machismo, but therein lies almost all the humour.

I also have a problem in that I feel that Will Ferrell is the modern day Chevy Chase, but lacks some of his charisma. Gary Cole is good value, as always (does he ever sleep, he seems to be in everything).

Overall, average comedy saved by a few very funny moments.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most amazing comedy ever made, 18 Mar 2010
By 
Mrs (milton keynes, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Talladega Nights [DVD] [2006] [2007] (DVD)
Talladega Nights has to be the best Will Ferrell film ever made, almost the best comedy film ever made.

I've seen 1000's of films, and this is by far one of the funniest i have ever seen!!

GO WILL FERRELL!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good buy, 14 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Talladega Nights [DVD] [2006] [2007] (DVD)
Bought as a gift and was pleased, as was the recipient
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Talladega Nights [DVD] [2006] [2007] (DVD)
fab
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Vote #98, 1 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Vote #98 Josh Wise.
Wow such Driver, much drift, very vroom.
It would also be a great investment for Amazon to Sponcer him. The parnership of Dogecoin and Amazon would be emence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This isnt a film, its a documentary!, 28 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Awsome, funny, light hearted, cool..... but enough about me. This film is great, Will Ferrell at his best along with John C. Reilly the two playing off each other all the time is just perfect. The French dude is a little weird, but thats nothing new. I liked it so much "I bought the Blu-Ray"!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good value, 21 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I saw this on offer and having recently purchased a Blu ray player I couldn't resist. Such a funny film!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Talladega Nights [DVD] [2006] [2007]
Talladega Nights [DVD] [2006] [2007] by Adam McKay (DVD - 2007)
1.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews