Customer Reviews


64 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Outrageously silly but VERY smart
One of the best spoof movies I've ever seen. Will Ferrell's shallow good ole boy Ricky Bobby is a feckless idiot who rises from tyre changer in a no-hope NASCAR team to become the star driver of the circuit. Obsessed with winning after a throwaway comment by his deadbeat racer dad (brilliantly played by Gary Cole), and ignorant of his shallow, mutually empty relationships...
Published on 7 Dec 2006 by joalem

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Distinctly average fare
Ferrell is usually much funnier than this. It WAS funny in parts, and I DID laugh, but just not often enough. Some really good actors in it too...Gary ?Lucas? the guy from "Midnight Caller" didn't convince me as his "55" year old Dad. Cohen's accent WAS pants, but still a funny guy and a funny character. If you like Ferrell, you'll probably love it, if not, you probably...
Published on 21 Sep 2007 by M. P. Barnes


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Outrageously silly but VERY smart, 7 Dec 2006
This review is from: Talladega Nights [DVD] [2006] [2007] (DVD)
One of the best spoof movies I've ever seen. Will Ferrell's shallow good ole boy Ricky Bobby is a feckless idiot who rises from tyre changer in a no-hope NASCAR team to become the star driver of the circuit. Obsessed with winning after a throwaway comment by his deadbeat racer dad (brilliantly played by Gary Cole), and ignorant of his shallow, mutually empty relationships with his groupie wife, horrendous kids (named Walker and Texas Ranger) and equally thick best friend (John C Reilly), he finally hits the proverbial brick wall in the shape of Sacha Baron Cohen's star turn as Formula 1 Frenchman Jean Girard. Thus begins a slow rebuilding of his life and career - this time the "right" way... sort of!

Subtly sending up every "serious" film of this type (mainly Days of Thunder, Top Gun etc) and the real-life downhome ignorance of the redneck NASCAR following, this not only delivers on the gags (this film is truly hilarious) it also is remarkably smart at portraying the emptiness of the blue-collar sports star's life when faced with enormous fortune, media coverage and hero worship, and the fickle desertion of the hero when he hits skid row.

It is a spoof movie, but not in the sense of the Airplane or Scary Movie series - the movie has a real warmth and actually does tell a real human story in amongst the endless side-splitting gags. It also avoids the kind of schmaltzy American syrup-filled scenes of such films by throwing in the unexpected at each turn.

Worth seeing for Sacha Baron Cohen's performance alone, and Ricky Bobby's "grace" before their Pizza Hut and KFC dinner. If you're in the right mood this will have you crying!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good because its different, 1 May 2007
By 
Picard (USS Enterprise) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Talladega Nights [DVD] [2006] [2007] (DVD)
I guess I was slightly suprised, like many other viewers it would appear, that this film has a slightly different approach to what we expect from Will Ferrell and the man himself, Borat. Based upon the NASCAR series of racing, the film is all in all, "good". Sacha Baron Cohen ('Borat') plays probably the funniest part of the film, as a gay French racing driver with possibly the funniest French accent i've heard to date. Will Ferrell meanwhile plays the lead role as a NASCAR driver who was brought up by his wacky dad to believe in the true to life American of "winning is the only option" (Lombardian Ethic) and so, as a grown man, he enjoys the highs of winnining his races while making millions, and sharing his house with the blonde bimbo, and spoilt children, who totally crack me up.

The reason this film has had mixed reviews is likely to be down to the content. Sometimes, jokes can maybe go on a bit too long, or the films breaks on long scenes, and then quickly move onto a different subject, just little things really. I think its also hard to establish what type of audience this is for, which is probably why people like it or hate it, as just like the film Zoolander, you can take it, or you can't.

But in my personal opinion, this is an entertaining film that has it moments, and should give you some good laughs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Distinctly average fare, 21 Sep 2007
By 
M. P. Barnes "BarnseytheClaret" (Sheffield, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Talladega Nights [DVD] [2006] [2007] (DVD)
Ferrell is usually much funnier than this. It WAS funny in parts, and I DID laugh, but just not often enough. Some really good actors in it too...Gary ?Lucas? the guy from "Midnight Caller" didn't convince me as his "55" year old Dad. Cohen's accent WAS pants, but still a funny guy and a funny character. If you like Ferrell, you'll probably love it, if not, you probably won't. As I said, average fare.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars The funny bits only just make it worthwhile, 14 Oct 2008
By 
Mr. D. Thompson "dan" (leeds) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Talladega Nights [DVD] [2006] [2007] (DVD)
its not as good as anchorman - I found this tiresome in places and not knowing much about the culture surrounding NASCAR racing - some of the stereotypes i might not have fully appreciated. I found mosat of the characters to be obnoxious and dimwitted - However, maybe that is the main joke of the film?

Anyway the characters were annoying and the only saving grace is that there are some funny moments - mostly centred around Ferrels drunken father figure and Sacha Bara Cohens french driver.

Cohens comic talents were not utilised to the best they could have been - the director seems to think the biggest joke they can get out of him is a ridiculously over the top french accent.

its a film that doesnt make the best of its comic leads and mostly concentrates mostly on the idiotic redneck characters involved in the main part of the plot. Thankfully it has enough laugh out loud moments to actually make it worthwhile - although it does go on for a bit and the period in the middle where bobby suffers his predicted downfall in the movie is very tiresome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Can I take your brain sir?, 18 May 2007
This review is from: Talladega Nights [DVD] [2006] [2007] (DVD)
I was really looking forward to this because a few people told me it was the funniest thing they'd seen in ages (although one had seen it on a plane and plane comedies almost always seem funnier than they actually are - something to do with the free booze and air conditioning I think). Anyway, for the first 45 minutes I didn't laugh or smile once...the whole thing - story, comedy, acting - was lousy, but then gradually the films humour started to tickle me. Its very unpretentious stuff and you really have to go with its silly, nonsensical, improvised nature to get the most out of it. Once you do there's plenty of stupid laughs to enjoy, although its got to be said Sacha Baron Cohen is totally wasted; he can't do a French accent to save his life and should have gone with German like his rubbish Bruno fashion character...would have been far more amusing. That's all I've got to say...think Airplane/Top Secret/Police Academy and you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Talledega Nights, 5 Jan 2009
This review is from: Talladega Nights [DVD] [2006] [2007] (DVD)
To be honest I have seen clips of Will Ferrell's films and thought they looked a bit rubbish so I never gave it any of them a chance, I'd never even heard of this one until oct 08, a mate of mine who's a complete film buff told me about it, said it was one of the funniest films he's seen. Coming from him thats a bold statement. I gave it a go not knowing anything about it and cried with laughter through nearly the entire film, I've since got Anchorman and a few other of his films (Anchorman is Quality!) and cant wait to watch them. 10/10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not as funny as it thinks it is.............., 6 Feb 2007
This review is from: Talladega Nights [DVD] [2006] [2007] (DVD)
I agree that this film is silly-funny, and does have some funny moments (I love the sons being called Walker and Texas Ranger), but for a sport that is just ripe for lampooning, a lot of the film misses the mark. The commercials are a nice touch, and the over the top machismo, but therein lies almost all the humour.

I also have a problem in that I feel that Will Ferrell is the modern day Chevy Chase, but lacks some of his charisma. Gary Cole is good value, as always (does he ever sleep, he seems to be in everything).

Overall, average comedy saved by a few very funny moments.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Actually Rather Excellent!, 15 Sep 2007
By 
Mr. B. A. D. Plowman "Brendan" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Talladega Nights [DVD] [2006] [2007] (DVD)
This movie has been recieving rather a large amount of unfavourable reviews from Amazon customers and...I guess I can see why! "Talladega Nights" is definitely one of those movies that you either love or hate.

Speaking for myself, I think this movie is hilarious. I've sat through it twice and spent each viewing laughing like a drain!

Will Ferrell is fabulous as always, giving his character Ricky Bobby all the dimwit traits he requires. John C Rielly almost UPSTAGES Ferrell in his role as Ricky Bobby's best buddy. Many of the best gags come from the immensely talented John C. Sacha Baron Cohen is also splendid as the camp F1 racing driver. His performance here knocks spots off the somewhat overrated BORAT, in my opinion.

Some have suggested that the jokes in this movie are few and far between. POPPYCOCK! I would be inclined to say that the jokes fly thick and fast, and, in comedic terms, this movie never steps off the gas.

Just witness Ferrell and Reilly's white trash race car drivers having an in-depth conversation about a "nacho fountain". Or there's the superb bar scene where Reilly unleashes a taser and shouts out: "Say hello to Dr. Watts!"

Yes, many will regard this movie as puerile entertainment. And, basically, it IS stupid! However, all I know is that myself and my companions were creased up in fits of laughter whilst viewing "Talladega Nights". It's a comedy gem.

And, as a footnote, any movie that takes the p*ss out of the preposterous 1980's flick HIGHLANDER is OK in my book!

Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good buy, 14 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Talladega Nights [DVD] [2006] [2007] (DVD)
Bought as a gift and was pleased, as was the recipient
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Talladega Nights [DVD] [2006] [2007] (DVD)
fab
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Talladega Nights [DVD] [2006] [2007]
Talladega Nights [DVD] [2006] [2007] by Adam McKay (DVD - 2007)
£2.74
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews