Customer Reviews


49 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Outrageously silly but VERY smart
One of the best spoof movies I've ever seen. Will Ferrell's shallow good ole boy Ricky Bobby is a feckless idiot who rises from tyre changer in a no-hope NASCAR team to become the star driver of the circuit. Obsessed with winning after a throwaway comment by his deadbeat racer dad (brilliantly played by Gary Cole), and ignorant of his shallow, mutually empty relationships...
Published on 7 Dec 2006 by joalem

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Distinctly average fare
Ferrell is usually much funnier than this. It WAS funny in parts, and I DID laugh, but just not often enough. Some really good actors in it too...Gary ?Lucas? the guy from "Midnight Caller" didn't convince me as his "55" year old Dad. Cohen's accent WAS pants, but still a funny guy and a funny character. If you like Ferrell, you'll probably love it, if not, you probably...
Published on 21 Sep 2007 by M. P. Barnes


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Outrageously silly but VERY smart, 7 Dec 2006
This review is from: Talladega Nights [DVD] [2006] [2007] (DVD)
One of the best spoof movies I've ever seen. Will Ferrell's shallow good ole boy Ricky Bobby is a feckless idiot who rises from tyre changer in a no-hope NASCAR team to become the star driver of the circuit. Obsessed with winning after a throwaway comment by his deadbeat racer dad (brilliantly played by Gary Cole), and ignorant of his shallow, mutually empty relationships with his groupie wife, horrendous kids (named Walker and Texas Ranger) and equally thick best friend (John C Reilly), he finally hits the proverbial brick wall in the shape of Sacha Baron Cohen's star turn as Formula 1 Frenchman Jean Girard. Thus begins a slow rebuilding of his life and career - this time the "right" way... sort of!

Subtly sending up every "serious" film of this type (mainly Days of Thunder, Top Gun etc) and the real-life downhome ignorance of the redneck NASCAR following, this not only delivers on the gags (this film is truly hilarious) it also is remarkably smart at portraying the emptiness of the blue-collar sports star's life when faced with enormous fortune, media coverage and hero worship, and the fickle desertion of the hero when he hits skid row.

It is a spoof movie, but not in the sense of the Airplane or Scary Movie series - the movie has a real warmth and actually does tell a real human story in amongst the endless side-splitting gags. It also avoids the kind of schmaltzy American syrup-filled scenes of such films by throwing in the unexpected at each turn.

Worth seeing for Sacha Baron Cohen's performance alone, and Ricky Bobby's "grace" before their Pizza Hut and KFC dinner. If you're in the right mood this will have you crying!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Distinctly average fare, 21 Sep 2007
By 
M. P. Barnes "BarnseytheClaret" (Sheffield, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Talladega Nights [DVD] [2006] [2007] (DVD)
Ferrell is usually much funnier than this. It WAS funny in parts, and I DID laugh, but just not often enough. Some really good actors in it too...Gary ?Lucas? the guy from "Midnight Caller" didn't convince me as his "55" year old Dad. Cohen's accent WAS pants, but still a funny guy and a funny character. If you like Ferrell, you'll probably love it, if not, you probably won't. As I said, average fare.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good because its different, 1 May 2007
By 
Picard (USS Enterprise) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Talladega Nights [DVD] [2006] [2007] (DVD)
I guess I was slightly suprised, like many other viewers it would appear, that this film has a slightly different approach to what we expect from Will Ferrell and the man himself, Borat. Based upon the NASCAR series of racing, the film is all in all, "good". Sacha Baron Cohen ('Borat') plays probably the funniest part of the film, as a gay French racing driver with possibly the funniest French accent i've heard to date. Will Ferrell meanwhile plays the lead role as a NASCAR driver who was brought up by his wacky dad to believe in the true to life American of "winning is the only option" (Lombardian Ethic) and so, as a grown man, he enjoys the highs of winnining his races while making millions, and sharing his house with the blonde bimbo, and spoilt children, who totally crack me up.

The reason this film has had mixed reviews is likely to be down to the content. Sometimes, jokes can maybe go on a bit too long, or the films breaks on long scenes, and then quickly move onto a different subject, just little things really. I think its also hard to establish what type of audience this is for, which is probably why people like it or hate it, as just like the film Zoolander, you can take it, or you can't.

But in my personal opinion, this is an entertaining film that has it moments, and should give you some good laughs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not as funny as it thinks it is.............., 6 Feb 2007
This review is from: Talladega Nights [DVD] [2006] [2007] (DVD)
I agree that this film is silly-funny, and does have some funny moments (I love the sons being called Walker and Texas Ranger), but for a sport that is just ripe for lampooning, a lot of the film misses the mark. The commercials are a nice touch, and the over the top machismo, but therein lies almost all the humour.

I also have a problem in that I feel that Will Ferrell is the modern day Chevy Chase, but lacks some of his charisma. Gary Cole is good value, as always (does he ever sleep, he seems to be in everything).

Overall, average comedy saved by a few very funny moments.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most amazing comedy ever made, 18 Mar 2010
By 
Mrs (milton keynes, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Talladega Nights [DVD] [2006] [2007] (DVD)
Talladega Nights has to be the best Will Ferrell film ever made, almost the best comedy film ever made.

I've seen 1000's of films, and this is by far one of the funniest i have ever seen!!

GO WILL FERRELL!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good value, 21 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I saw this on offer and having recently purchased a Blu ray player I couldn't resist. Such a funny film!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars this movie is so funny !, 26 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Talladega Nights [DVD] [2006] [2007] (DVD)
I only caught this movie on tv about a month ago & I'm so glad I did
It is such a funny movie , will ferrell , john c. Reilly and sacha baron cohen make this movie the on screen chemistry is brilliant and it is a movie I wouldn't have thought of watching but it really is such a good comedy movie , well worth watching !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Sacha Baron Cohen destroyed to the flow, 15 Mar 2013
This review is from: Talladega Nights [DVD] [2006] [2007] (DVD)
I was just getting into this movie, the characters had just got the plot moving, things were looking good, the atmosphere and the usual crazy WF and the great JR were just getting the flow of the story and characters set up ,everything was developing fine , and the wackiness was working, then Sacha Cohen makes his entrance ,destroys the whole thing, jumps you back into reality ,tries to steal the show, like a non actor on set ,wearing black to stand out. ( in itself this may sound funny, the usual SBC antics, like his on carpet publicity stunts he is at it again, and I concede it is funny, and but for one thing it would BE .
That one thing Is THIS ,, that HE RUINED the COMEDY IN THIS MOVIE AND DERAILED IT ,ruined all the hard work the actors had done getting the thing going , and made everyone became self aware.) INCLUDING ME!!!

I amazed just how bad sacha Cohen is, why does anyone let him near real movies?
If it was not for the fact he was not allowed to destroy the rest of the movie, I wouldn't have liked it at all and would have given it no stars, because one thing is certain when sacha is in any real movie, he destroys everything with the reality of his abilities, which don't lend themselves to anything dramatically fictional, even dramatic comedies.
one thing is obvious, sacha likes to be the only actor present, because it is how he works, he can only work amongst the public, fooling them or appearing to fool them at least.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Given seller 5 stars but cant watch due to my own fault!, 10 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am not familiar with the different regions and stupidly bought this - and I cant play it on my own players. Not the sellers fault of course so rating them 5 for quick despatch
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars BEST MOVIE EVER MADE, 2 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
BEST MOVIE EVER MADE

-"Ricky Bobby"

Great movie indeed... From the beginning to the end was hillarious!!!
Shake and Bake!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa77fa7ec)

This product

Talladega Nights [DVD] [2006] [2007]
Talladega Nights [DVD] [2006] [2007] by Adam McKay (DVD - 2007)
3.27
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews