Customer Reviews


68 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Outrageously silly but VERY smart
One of the best spoof movies I've ever seen. Will Ferrell's shallow good ole boy Ricky Bobby is a feckless idiot who rises from tyre changer in a no-hope NASCAR team to become the star driver of the circuit. Obsessed with winning after a throwaway comment by his deadbeat racer dad (brilliantly played by Gary Cole), and ignorant of his shallow, mutually empty relationships...
Published on 7 Dec. 2006 by joalem

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Distinctly average fare
Ferrell is usually much funnier than this. It WAS funny in parts, and I DID laugh, but just not often enough. Some really good actors in it too...Gary ?Lucas? the guy from "Midnight Caller" didn't convince me as his "55" year old Dad. Cohen's accent WAS pants, but still a funny guy and a funny character. If you like Ferrell, you'll probably love it, if not, you probably...
Published on 21 Sept. 2007 by M. P. Barnes


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Outrageously silly but VERY smart, 7 Dec. 2006
This review is from: Talladega Nights [DVD] [2006] [2007] (DVD)
One of the best spoof movies I've ever seen. Will Ferrell's shallow good ole boy Ricky Bobby is a feckless idiot who rises from tyre changer in a no-hope NASCAR team to become the star driver of the circuit. Obsessed with winning after a throwaway comment by his deadbeat racer dad (brilliantly played by Gary Cole), and ignorant of his shallow, mutually empty relationships with his groupie wife, horrendous kids (named Walker and Texas Ranger) and equally thick best friend (John C Reilly), he finally hits the proverbial brick wall in the shape of Sacha Baron Cohen's star turn as Formula 1 Frenchman Jean Girard. Thus begins a slow rebuilding of his life and career - this time the "right" way... sort of!

Subtly sending up every "serious" film of this type (mainly Days of Thunder, Top Gun etc) and the real-life downhome ignorance of the redneck NASCAR following, this not only delivers on the gags (this film is truly hilarious) it also is remarkably smart at portraying the emptiness of the blue-collar sports star's life when faced with enormous fortune, media coverage and hero worship, and the fickle desertion of the hero when he hits skid row.

It is a spoof movie, but not in the sense of the Airplane or Scary Movie series - the movie has a real warmth and actually does tell a real human story in amongst the endless side-splitting gags. It also avoids the kind of schmaltzy American syrup-filled scenes of such films by throwing in the unexpected at each turn.

Worth seeing for Sacha Baron Cohen's performance alone, and Ricky Bobby's "grace" before their Pizza Hut and KFC dinner. If you're in the right mood this will have you crying!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good because its different, 1 May 2007
By 
Picard (USS Enterprise) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Talladega Nights [DVD] [2006] [2007] (DVD)
I guess I was slightly suprised, like many other viewers it would appear, that this film has a slightly different approach to what we expect from Will Ferrell and the man himself, Borat. Based upon the NASCAR series of racing, the film is all in all, "good". Sacha Baron Cohen ('Borat') plays probably the funniest part of the film, as a gay French racing driver with possibly the funniest French accent i've heard to date. Will Ferrell meanwhile plays the lead role as a NASCAR driver who was brought up by his wacky dad to believe in the true to life American of "winning is the only option" (Lombardian Ethic) and so, as a grown man, he enjoys the highs of winnining his races while making millions, and sharing his house with the blonde bimbo, and spoilt children, who totally crack me up.

The reason this film has had mixed reviews is likely to be down to the content. Sometimes, jokes can maybe go on a bit too long, or the films breaks on long scenes, and then quickly move onto a different subject, just little things really. I think its also hard to establish what type of audience this is for, which is probably why people like it or hate it, as just like the film Zoolander, you can take it, or you can't.

But in my personal opinion, this is an entertaining film that has it moments, and should give you some good laughs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Talladega Nights, 12 Sept. 2010
By 
Spider Monkey (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Talladega Nights [DVD] [2006] [2007] (DVD)
I think it's a fair bet to say that if you have enjoyed other Will Ferrell films, then you will also enjoy Talladega Nights. This has his same wacky sense of humour and hilarious delivery. This follows Rocky Bobby, who is a Nascar driver as he strives to drive faster and win races, gets challenged by an effeminate European driving sensation and loses everything and then finds what means most to him in his life. This has so many funny catchphrases in it that you can't help but laugh when they are repeated throughout the film (shake and bake) and Ferrell's delivery is what really makes this film. For example when he is driving with a Cougar in his car (!), it is so funny to watch him talk to it and roar back. His funny asides and commentary as things happen (like when he tells people to look away when he starts kissing a girl as `there's gonna be animal noises`) reminded me of Anchorman and raised just as many laughs. His two redneck, opinionated kids are hilarious as well and come out with some great lines. This isn't the best comedy I have ever seen, or even the best Ferrell film, but it does have some genuinely funny moments and easily passes a couple of hours in a light hearted and humorous way. It may not be as good as previous Ferrell films, but it is still worth a watch.

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Distinctly average fare, 21 Sept. 2007
By 
M. P. Barnes "BarnseytheClaret" (Sheffield, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Talladega Nights [DVD] [2006] [2007] (DVD)
Ferrell is usually much funnier than this. It WAS funny in parts, and I DID laugh, but just not often enough. Some really good actors in it too...Gary ?Lucas? the guy from "Midnight Caller" didn't convince me as his "55" year old Dad. Cohen's accent WAS pants, but still a funny guy and a funny character. If you like Ferrell, you'll probably love it, if not, you probably won't. As I said, average fare.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars The funny bits only just make it worthwhile, 14 Oct. 2008
By 
Mr. D. Thompson "dan" (leeds) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Talladega Nights [DVD] [2006] [2007] (DVD)
its not as good as anchorman - I found this tiresome in places and not knowing much about the culture surrounding NASCAR racing - some of the stereotypes i might not have fully appreciated. I found mosat of the characters to be obnoxious and dimwitted - However, maybe that is the main joke of the film?

Anyway the characters were annoying and the only saving grace is that there are some funny moments - mostly centred around Ferrels drunken father figure and Sacha Bara Cohens french driver.

Cohens comic talents were not utilised to the best they could have been - the director seems to think the biggest joke they can get out of him is a ridiculously over the top french accent.

its a film that doesnt make the best of its comic leads and mostly concentrates mostly on the idiotic redneck characters involved in the main part of the plot. Thankfully it has enough laugh out loud moments to actually make it worthwhile - although it does go on for a bit and the period in the middle where bobby suffers his predicted downfall in the movie is very tiresome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Can I take your brain sir?, 18 May 2007
This review is from: Talladega Nights [DVD] [2006] [2007] (DVD)
I was really looking forward to this because a few people told me it was the funniest thing they'd seen in ages (although one had seen it on a plane and plane comedies almost always seem funnier than they actually are - something to do with the free booze and air conditioning I think). Anyway, for the first 45 minutes I didn't laugh or smile once...the whole thing - story, comedy, acting - was lousy, but then gradually the films humour started to tickle me. Its very unpretentious stuff and you really have to go with its silly, nonsensical, improvised nature to get the most out of it. Once you do there's plenty of stupid laughs to enjoy, although its got to be said Sacha Baron Cohen is totally wasted; he can't do a French accent to save his life and should have gone with German like his rubbish Bruno fashion character...would have been far more amusing. That's all I've got to say...think Airplane/Top Secret/Police Academy and you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Talledega Nights, 5 Jan. 2009
This review is from: Talladega Nights [DVD] [2006] [2007] (DVD)
To be honest I have seen clips of Will Ferrell's films and thought they looked a bit rubbish so I never gave it any of them a chance, I'd never even heard of this one until oct 08, a mate of mine who's a complete film buff told me about it, said it was one of the funniest films he's seen. Coming from him thats a bold statement. I gave it a go not knowing anything about it and cried with laughter through nearly the entire film, I've since got Anchorman and a few other of his films (Anchorman is Quality!) and cant wait to watch them. 10/10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars WILL FERELL ON FIRE !, 24 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Talladega Nights [DVD] [2006] [2007] (DVD)
RICKY BOBBY AND CAL NAUGHTON ARE THE DREAM TEAM OF NASCAR RACING. JEAN GIRARD THE SPOILER FROM BORING BORING FORMULA ONE. THANK THE LORD FOR THE FINAL RACE AT TALLADEGA. I HATE COHEN,AND HE IS THE ONLY THING ABOUT THIS FILM THAT COULD LOSE IT A STAR. RICKY AND HIS FIRST INTERVIEW NOT KNOWING WHAT TO DO WITH HIS HANDS KILLED ME! WILL FERELL AND JOHN C. REILLY HIT MY FUNNY BONES EVERYTIME AND I LOVED BOTH THE FILM AND THE SUBJECT....WISH WE COULD SEE NASCAR INSTEAD OF THAT OTHER SLOT CAR SPORT ! TALLADEGA NIGHTS A DVD VIA AMAZON.U.K.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars another Ferrell non-comedy genre movie, 8 Nov. 2014
This review is from: Talladega Nights [DVD] [2006] [2007] (DVD)
Inane, completely unfunny. More of the same non-comedy from Ferrell - he has truly invented a new style of comedy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not as funny as it thinks it is.............., 6 Feb. 2007
This review is from: Talladega Nights [DVD] [2006] [2007] (DVD)
I agree that this film is silly-funny, and does have some funny moments (I love the sons being called Walker and Texas Ranger), but for a sport that is just ripe for lampooning, a lot of the film misses the mark. The commercials are a nice touch, and the over the top machismo, but therein lies almost all the humour.

I also have a problem in that I feel that Will Ferrell is the modern day Chevy Chase, but lacks some of his charisma. Gary Cole is good value, as always (does he ever sleep, he seems to be in everything).

Overall, average comedy saved by a few very funny moments.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Talladega Nights [DVD] [2006] [2007]
Talladega Nights [DVD] [2006] [2007] by Adam McKay (DVD - 2007)
£2.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews