Customer Reviews


86 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious!
Honestly never laughed so much in my life! This film is just hilarious.. Danny Dyers character makes the film.. You need to see it to believe just how unbelieveably funny it is.. It is somewhat "daft" But thats what makes it great.. Im not usually a fan of comedy horrors but you just need to watch this! Guaranteed laugh out loud film! Xo
Published on 2 May 2011 by Meowwww

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Hmm...
Many films struggle to walk the tricky tightrope that is comedy horror. Only a few have succeed i.e Shaun Of The Dead, The Cottage, The League Of Gentlemen and American Werewolf In London. However I'm afraid Severance didn't quite do it for me.

The negative, it's NOT scary. For a film to be a comedy horror for me it has to have some element of genuine scare,...
Published on 23 Dec 2010 by Mrs. T. Greenhough


‹ Previous | 1 2 39 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's 'BLOODY' Great!!!!, 3 Sep 2010
By 
The Truth "How it is" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Severance [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
Most people will be able to relate to the awful, forced 'team building' exercise that provides the premise for this film. What you won't be able to relate to is what comes next... and that's no bad thing!

Severance is a fantastic British comedy-horror, which follows a coach trip to Eastern Europe, as a group of individuals go on a work based trip. What follows is a cool, clever, funny, bloody and tense hour and half. And as things fall apart they become anything but a team. At least to begin with...

The comedy is good and most people will be able to relate to the characters we meet; they're in every office: the sexy girl, the joker/jack the lad, the straight guy, the brown-noser, the boss, the Know-it-all, and you'll relish seeing them picked off one-by-one in what turns out to be a terrifyingly gruesome array of different deaths.

The plot is good, and just when you think you have the film sussed, it'll throw in another element to keep you guessing. New characters are introduced as original cast members meet their grisly end, and all in all, this is a sharp, original, film that will entertain you and make you laugh - sometimes at all the wrong things.

Filmed on location in 'the back of beyond' of 'God knows where' - the film looks different too, and the feeling evoked by the woodland setting and cold war bunkers we come across, only adds to the feel and heightens the atmosphere, terror and tension of the plot.

Dyer fans will love this too - the role Danny plays is perfect for the sadly typecast actor. Although, here we see him play his usual 'geezer' but with a slight spin on it; basically he's not a hard-man, but a bit of a coward in this. To sum up, both I and my flat mate loved this and thought it was brilliant. The perfect film for a night in with beer and pizza.

If you have a dark sense of humour - this film will certainly shine a light on it. A great night in for the lads: 10/10

If you found this review helpful please give it the thumbs up, and if not, comment on why below so I can do a better job for you next time. Thanks :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Hmm..., 23 Dec 2010
By 
This review is from: Severance [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
Many films struggle to walk the tricky tightrope that is comedy horror. Only a few have succeed i.e Shaun Of The Dead, The Cottage, The League Of Gentlemen and American Werewolf In London. However I'm afraid Severance didn't quite do it for me.

The negative, it's NOT scary. For a film to be a comedy horror for me it has to have some element of genuine scare, however this felt like it was mocking the genre.

Having said that the film is occasionally very funny, the cast is fantastic particularly Danny Dyer and Andy Nyman.

Unfortunately though the film is off balance and takes far to long to fully explain it's story line. It is a real shame as I tried very hard to like this film but just couldn't quiet get there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great British comedy horror, 1 Oct 2007
This review is from: Severance [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
I thoroughly enjoyed this pointless horror film. It never asks you to think too deeply about what is going on and has a reasonably happy ending. Worth watching for it's fast pace and imaginative spin on the horror flick.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 July 2014
This review is from: Severance [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
Great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Severance [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
good and well pleased
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Bought for someone else, haven't seen myself., 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Severance [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
This DVD was bought for my sister, so I can't really give my views on the actual movie (hence the 3 star rating, couldn't choose 'have not seen'). All I can say is that I used to despise Danny Dyer, but having seen him in a few other films since, I have to say, he isn't a bad actor. Okay, so he always seems to play the cheeky chappie character, but I suppose that's his niche.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 July 2014
By 
Ms. Kimberley A. Burgin "kim" (portsmouth) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Severance [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
Hilarious
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars severance, 21 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Severance [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
severance great dvd worth watching more than once very interesting very quick delivery very good packageing deff recommend to all
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Calling all DD fans, 23 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Severance [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
This is one of his best
Danny Dyer is awesome in this film on other actor could have fitted the bill as good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Quality film, 2 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Severance [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
I'd seen the film several times before and enjoyed it so bought it second hand from Zoverstocks through Amazon so my daughter could watch it as well ( only 1.27 ) . Very funny
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 39 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Severance [DVD] [2006]
Severance [DVD] [2006] by Danny Dyer (DVD - 2007)
2.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews