Customer Reviews


271 Reviews
5 star:
 (114)
4 star:
 (33)
3 star:
 (41)
2 star:
 (29)
1 star:
 (54)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2,429 of 2,449 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good if you need to write on paper
Since taking delivery of my pen I have been very happy with the quality of ink deposition on the various types of paper that I have used. On the first day when I excitedly unwrapped my pen (thanks for the high quality packaging Amazon!) I just couldn't contain my excitement and went around finding things to write on, like the shopping list on the notice board in our...
Published on 7 Mar 2007 by M. Williams

versus
679 of 689 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Left handers beware...
Worked fine with my right hand, but when I came to use my left hand my writing came out looking like the work of a complete imbecile. I can only assume Bic have created a right-handed only pen, and would caution left-handers to "try before you buy".
Published on 22 Jan 2008 by Disappointed user


‹ Previous | 1 228 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2,429 of 2,449 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good if you need to write on paper, 7 Mar 2007
By 
M. Williams "Matt Williams" (Essex, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bic Crystal Ballpoint Pen, Medium Point, Black (Office Product)
Since taking delivery of my pen I have been very happy with the quality of ink deposition on the various types of paper that I have used. On the first day when I excitedly unwrapped my pen (thanks for the high quality packaging Amazon!) I just couldn't contain my excitement and went around finding things to write on, like the shopping list on the notice board in our kitchen, the Post-it notes next to the phone, and on my favourite lined A4 pad at the side of my desk.

My pen is the transparent type with a blue lid. I selected this one in preference to the orange type because I like to be able to see how much ink I have left so that I can put in another order before I finally run out.

When the initial excitement of taking delivery of my new pen started to wear off I realised that I shouldn't just write for the fun of it, this should be a serious enterprise, so by the second day of ownership I started to take a little more care of what I wrote. I used it to sign three letters, and in each case was perfectly happy with the neatness of handwriting that I was able to achieve.

I have a helpful tip for you that you might not know about - if you let the ink dry for a few seconds you can avoid the smudging that sometimes happens if you rub the ink immediately after writing. Fortunately the ink used in this particular Bic pen seems to dry very quickly.

On the third day of ownership I went on a trip to London and took my pen carefully packed away in my brief case, but I needn't have worried, this isn't some temperamental ink pen that leaks when you store it at the wrong angle. I sat at my meeting and confidently removed the cap from my pen and it wrote flawlessly, almost immediately.

I notice that the barrel of the pen has been crafted very carefully to fit in the pen holder down the edge of my Filofax. It's not so grippy so that it is hard to remove when I want to make a quick note, and yet not so loose that it falls out too easily when I open my Filofax in a hurry. Maybe the choice of surface texture on the pen has some part to play here, because it seems that the inside of the leather grip on the pen holder in my Filofax has just the right level of adhesion that I can be confident when I need to reach in and get my pen it's going to be just where I left it!

Today is the fourth day of ownership of my pen, and I have to say I'm starting to treat it like an old friend. I walk around the office with it clipped in to my shirt pocket and someone in the accounts department actually asked to borrow it while we were both standing at the photocopier. Would you believe it, they actually tried to walk away with my pen! They were very embarrassed when I called after them as they walked down the corridor and asked for it back. You will be happy to know that it is now back, safe and sound in my top pocket, ready and waiting to start writing again.

In summary, I would happily recommend this pen to anyone who is planning on writing on paper. If you are considering a writing implement for some other surface such as writing on a CD, or other non-porous substances then another pen might be better suited, but if it's just plain old paper then I think you will probably be well served by this particular model.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


679 of 689 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Left handers beware..., 22 Jan 2008
This review is from: Bic Crystal Ballpoint Pen, Medium Point, Black (Office Product)
Worked fine with my right hand, but when I came to use my left hand my writing came out looking like the work of a complete imbecile. I can only assume Bic have created a right-handed only pen, and would caution left-handers to "try before you buy".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


156 of 159 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quite a nice chew, 19 Dec 2007
By 
This review is from: Bic Crystal Ballpoint Pen, Medium Point, Black (Office Product)
I've found I can chew this pen for at least two working days, rarely do I end up with a mouthful of ink. A+++ highly tasty. It seems you can also write with it too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


60 of 61 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Warning: Pen may be slightly possessed by hellspawn, 13 Jan 2011
By 
Nick Spalding (United Kingdom...The warm bit in the south) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Bic Crystal Ballpoint Pen, Medium Point, Black (Office Product)
Having unwrapped my new Bic pen from the two foot wide box Amazon sent it in, I happily started to write some memoirs in the A4 note pad I'd stolen from a small child earlier that day. With a bottle of Blue Nun and some sugar coated monkey nuts at my side, I set about penning my latest ode to existence, entitled 'If I Stick My Hand Up Here, Will My Dreams Come True?'.

For a blissful three hours the pen was wonderful. However as I wended my merry way into the fourth hour of composition, I noticed that the pen was no longer writing what I wanted it to! Instead of recounting the delightful time I went punting on the river with Reverend Chumley on that clear August day when the mescaline was really kicking in, it instead began to write out such odd epithets as: 'Bow to your lord and master Shaberoth, he of the tentacles and oddly shaped genitalia' & 'The sky will rain blood as Shaberoth comes down among you...and waves his oddly shaped genitalia'.

Imagine my surprise!

I was further amazed when said demon lord Shaberoth appeared from the end of the pen in a cloud of sulfur...and waved his oddly shaped genitalia at me. This didn't faze me, having played rugby in my younger days, and I subdued the hellspawn with large Blue Nun and all the monkey nuts he could eat.

So, while the pen did turn out to be possessed, a lovely evening was had by all - until Shaberoth ate my pet guinea pig Winklehoven. I had to kindly ask him to leave at that point.

Other than this slight problem, the pen was very reliable and I still have it.

Five stars!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


85 of 87 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bic Crystal Ballpoint Pen, Medium Point, Black, 15 Jan 2011
This review is from: Bic Crystal Ballpoint Pen, Medium Point, Black (Office Product)
I bought this in all good faith as someone told me that this pen would be mightier than a sword, well after spending half an hour toying with it I have realised that they obviously have never encountered automatic weapons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beware license issues!, 2 Mar 2011
This review is from: Bic Crystal Ballpoint Pen, Medium Point, Black (Office Product)
While this is a perfectly good pen, I would definitely recommend that you choose the 'Multi-user' license option. I foolishly chose the 'Single-user' license in order to save a bit of money and as a result am left with a pen that only one person can use at a time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


112 of 115 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Blatant false advertising, 24 Dec 2007
This review is from: Bic Crystal Ballpoint Pen, Medium Point, Black (Office Product)
I ordered 300 of these individually gift wrapped for a client's wedding and was horrified to learn 14 minutes before the reception that this is NOT REAL CRYSTAL!!! From an arms length and after 3 stoli martinis this could easily pass for Ireland's finest leaded or even a clear quartz from the mines of Malay but one look under the jewelers glass and it was immediately apparent that Bic was using low grade plastique. I will give their craftsmen due credit for their obvious mastery with the grinding and polishing wheels, as i've rarely encountered such precision in a "cigarette cut" piece. But crystal? Snort! I THINK NOT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


296 of 306 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Lack of Font options, 8 Dec 2010
This review is from: Bic Crystal Ballpoint Pen, Medium Point, Black (Office Product)
While this pen is functional and easy to use, a downside is it only supports one default font (that appears to be user specific?). I have tried multiple times to access Helvetica, Times New Roman, Impact etc. to no avail... I don't even see any input buttons.

The default font is pretty shoddy looking, resembling Comic Sans.

An update would be appreciated Bic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Every extortionist should have one, 19 Oct 2011
This review is from: Bic Crystal Ballpoint Pen, Medium Point, Black (Office Product)
This pen has been a wonderful investment. Previously I used to write ransom notes in my own blood, but the constant fainting meant all my kidnap victims got away. And cutting letters out of newspapers was useless because there were never enough zeros. But now with one of these little beauties to demand money, my dungeon is far tidier and I'm making out like a Somali pirate.
Thank you Amazon!

NB. If any real Somali Pirates find out about these pens, they'll have to close down whole shipping lanes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Ideal everyday pen", 16 Feb 2011
By 
CG Maclean "bighands" (faversham) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bic Crystal Ballpoint Pen, Medium Point, Black (Office Product)
On the box it came from is written "Ideal Everyday Pen". Foolish me! I've only been using it for special events; signing my will, passport applications, witness statements. But I could use this every day too! My old quill can now go in the bin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 228 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xad368438)

This product

Only search this product's reviews