Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Made famous by Clarissa
This is the book made famous by Clarissa Dickson Wright in an oft-repeated documentary called the King's Cookbook. Well worth a read for its historical value.
Published 21 months ago by David

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A history of food
Haven't read Haven't read enough to form a complete opinion but its an interesting diversion enough to form a complete opinion but its an interesting diversion
Published 2 months ago by waterman


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Made famous by Clarissa, 25 Dec 2012
By 
David (London, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Forme of Cury A Roll of Ancient English Cookery Compiled, about A.D. 1390 (Kindle Edition)
This is the book made famous by Clarissa Dickson Wright in an oft-repeated documentary called the King's Cookbook. Well worth a read for its historical value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Forme of Cury A Roll of Ancient English Cookery Compiled, about A.D. 1390, 19 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Forme of Cury A Roll of Ancient English Cookery Compiled, about A.D. 1390 (Kindle Edition)
This was the first book I read on my Kindle. It was a great book, and trying to decipher the words written in Old English was good fun. I did enjoy this book but I can't see myself cooking any of the recipes, they do seem a little bland, although very cheap to make!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brillant book for insight into two historic worlds. It's ..., 25 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Forme of Cury A Roll of Ancient English Cookery Compiled, about A.D. 1390 (Kindle Edition)
Brillant book for insight into two historic worlds.It's a wonder any of our medievalancestors had any teeth left. All pudding and mess. Its a challenge to have a go at cooking some of these things. It has to be the Worlds first cookbook and I bet Mrs Beatons ancestors were mixed up in there somewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A history of food, 28 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Forme of Cury A Roll of Ancient English Cookery Compiled, about A.D. 1390 (Kindle Edition)
Haven't read Haven't read enough to form a complete opinion but its an interesting diversion enough to form a complete opinion but its an interesting diversion
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating!, 22 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Forme of Cury A Roll of Ancient English Cookery Compiled, about A.D. 1390 (Kindle Edition)
You really do have to persevere reading this, what with the original Chaucer's era language and 18th centuary glossary! However the glossaries are very comprehensive, and most of the recipes are simple, and at least viable, even if some may be not to modern tastes - or ideas about healthy balanced eating! As a historical document about where we came from, it is very, very interesting, and sometimes a bit of a surprise - apparently cardamoms were available to those who could afford them! Anybody even slightly interested in domestic history should read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A very interesting read, 16 Mar 2014
By 
Mr. S. Wood "Ubuntu Geek" (Blackpool, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Forme of Cury A Roll of Ancient English Cookery Compiled, about A.D. 1390 (Kindle Edition)
I love history and the food in particular, this is very good and as it was free i am not complaining!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Some interesting recipe hints, 2 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Forme of Cury A Roll of Ancient English Cookery Compiled, about A.D. 1390 (Kindle Edition)
Interesting both from an historical perspective and as a source for ideas for modern cooking. Quantities need to be adjusted in light of experience (or experimentation)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars bit too specialist historical, 19 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Forme of Cury A Roll of Ancient English Cookery Compiled, about A.D. 1390 (Kindle Edition)
Written in ye old English this Book will appeal to historians but not to general readers. Hard work at times and very staid
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A bit dated, 29 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Forme of Cury A Roll of Ancient English Cookery Compiled, about A.D. 1390 (Kindle Edition)
Was looking for a cookbook and read that this is the original and best. I have to say it's a bit old fashioned and some of the ingredients are a bit hard to source.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The invisible book!, 3 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Forme of Cury A Roll of Ancient English Cookery Compiled, about A.D. 1390 (Kindle Edition)
I should like to review this product, however, though it was possible to download the title page, it was not possible to download the rest of the book onto my tablet. I am very grateful that this was a 'free' download and that I had not paid for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews