Customer Reviews


106 Reviews
5 star:
 (47)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (26)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Tales
Took me back to my childhood and the fun of reading the old Fairy Tales, enjoyed reading some of them to my grandsons
Published 16 months ago by penken

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Illuminating
Never thought I would be reading fairy tales again, but this book resparked an interest. Some of the tales are better than others, and maybe not quite as I remember from my childhood, but good to read as an adult. They kindled (no pun intended) a desire to research further the origins of the tales etc. The notes at the back are interesting. Would recommend.
Published 24 months ago by MR GRAHAM EELBECK


‹ Previous | 1 2 311 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars Slightly bizarre but the pages turn none the less, 9 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: English Fairy Tales (Kindle Edition)
Well written of course, but stories rather without purpose or moral. unclear target audience - to scare children, but without the moral behind the traditional grimm works, it seems more likely to instil fear for sport alone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A bit disjointed, 12 Jun. 2013
By 
Jude Faulkner - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: English Fairy Tales (Kindle Edition)
A book which seems to go all over the place. Reads like the author has gone around Britain making notes and put them into a book without weaving narrative around. OK for me but a bit dull for others maybe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Some of these stories wander all over the place, ..., 19 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: English Fairy Tales (Kindle Edition)
Some of these stories wander all over the place, are repetitive and need editing. They are all bloodthirsty and involve killing or chopping heads off and some don't make any sense at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Grandpa can we have another story please!, 8 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: English Fairy Tales (Kindle Edition)
Good to be able to read to my grandchildren some of the traditional Fairy tales I knew as a boy. They are well writen and easy to read, and keep the kids wanting to hear more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 1 Jan. 2013
By 
M. K. Bell - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: English Fairy Tales (Kindle Edition)
Loved reading these aloud to my daughter. The original stories are great and very interesting to read aloud. I had forgotten some of them and was pleased to refind them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Luigi442wii Reviews, 2 Oct. 2014
This review is from: English Fairy Tales (Kindle Edition)
Stories are well-written and are in origin-al format how-ever not every tale is English. I give Four Stars for this.
I would re-commend. ~~~Luigi442wii~~
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars nice little stories, 26 Mar. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: English Fairy Tales (Kindle Edition)
Beginning is tedious but some good little reads. Will keep you amused and enchanted. Nice to read some old classics and stories that you have never heard of!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Service excellent item on my iPad Kindle app and windows phone., 21 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: English Fairy Tales (Kindle Edition)
Bought to read to my child, he seems more interested in visual learning. So this will be for when he's older, does look very good. And was a freebie anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Plesantly supprised, 22 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: English Fairy Tales (Kindle Edition)
Everyone loves there fairy tales, i thought this book was a great read especially when you are babysitting and need to keep those kids attention some where
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars sweet, 11 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: English Fairy Tales (Kindle Edition)
a very nice pleasant read
not really my cup of tea as i was hoping for tales that i knew
the ones i grew up with
but sweet all the same
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 311 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

English Fairy Tales
English Fairy Tales by JOSEPH JACOBS
£0.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews