Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW
When I saw that Square Enix were going to mix the characters from the Disney Movies with Final Fantasy I could not see how it would work. Disney games in the past have always been very basic and for the younger gamer whereas Final Fantasy is for hardcore gamers who dont mind spending hours on end to level up there character. However, no one does RPG's like Square-Enix and...
Published on 11 April 2008 by J. Hodge

versus
0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Awkward design
As much as I've enjoyed Kingdom Hearts II, I gave up on this game after a few hours. The commands are awkward (why do I have to go to the menu every time I want to open a chest...) and the angle of view is terrible. And then I've bought a fantasy/adventure game not a gameboy or arcade game. There is only so much jumping that I was able to endure! All in all not enjoyable...
Published on 17 Feb 2009 by bddidier


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW, 11 April 2008
By 
J. Hodge - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Kingdom Hearts - Platinum Edition (PS2) (Video Game)
When I saw that Square Enix were going to mix the characters from the Disney Movies with Final Fantasy I could not see how it would work. Disney games in the past have always been very basic and for the younger gamer whereas Final Fantasy is for hardcore gamers who dont mind spending hours on end to level up there character. However, no one does RPG's like Square-Enix and once again they have passed all expectations and produced a great action RPG which is up there with the best of them.

You play the role of Sora, a young boy who's world gets attacked by the heartless: an evil organisation run by Disney villans, and gets separated from his best friends Rikou and Kairi who become sucked into the "darkness". In a quest to find his friends he also has to stop the heartless from destroying other worlds and befriends Donald and Goofy on the way. You encounter many of the brilliant disney worlds like Alice and Wonderland and Aladin which as you would have hoped stay true to those in the movies. With a huge cast of cameo appearences such as the lion king and Cloud from final fantasy seven the action never gets dull and with the graphics being of a high standard it really captures the Disney magic.

Even with a fantastic plot if the gameplays not good then it's just no fun to play. Once again Square-Enix doesn't let you down by keeping the gameplay fast fun and frantic. There is something for everyone as it keeps the classic levelling up gameplay from the final fantasy series but get rids of the turn based fighting for a more action based combat system. It's easilly accesible to pick up and play whilst having weapon upgrades and combining items for the hardcore gamers. It's a game where there is something for everyone with platforming elements and even spaceship fights as you get from world to world which play very similarly to those of Lylat wars. My only small complaint would be sometimes the camera sways out of control and can make the tricky platforming elements even more difficult, but this is only a very minor and rare problem in an incredible game.

Kingdom Hearts is a game anyone can play and enjoy. With a great plot full of darkness and twists and awesome gameplay it is an action rpg which is on a whole new level. This is without mentioning the amazing musical score, epic boss battles, hundreds of collectables and how the games playtime is well over 30 hours long. With a great ending which promises a sequel you will be left stunned and dying to return back to the incredible Disney worlds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An amazing, challenging world!, 1 Mar 2008
By 
Mrs. Sharon L. Lawson "Sadakohere" (London, England, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Kingdom Hearts - Platinum Edition (PS2) (Video Game)
Final fantasy characters fighting side-by-side with Disney characters to defeat their enemies? Yes, it's true and it works brilliantly! Stunning graphics, fluid gameplay, great soundtrack, it's all here.

The game is deceptive though, it is not as easy as you'd think despite the Disney element. Maleficent's dragon is a very tough boss to defeat and as the game progresses, it gets quite tough. Hollow Bastion is very easy to get lost in so brace yourself. Ansem at the end is lethal and you cannot save inbetween each battle so ensure you are fully loaded with equipment and items!

You can use Dumbo, Bambi and others to help you in battle which is cute and strange - innocent, sweet little animals in hard combat! Finding all 100 dalmatian pups was a challenge too. Remember to save, save and save again!

I'd recommend the walkthrough guide for first time players but only for emergencies ;o) Sussing as much out for yourself and completing the 4 Olympiuc Colisseum cups is very rewarding. One of my top 10 games.

The song "Simple and Clean" by Utada Kikaru at the end is beautifull!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love this game, 29 May 2009
By 
U. Sule "RV" - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Kingdom Hearts - Platinum Edition (PS2) (Video Game)
Great game, buy and play it.

Its a great adventure, maybe a little childish for some who prefer games with bloodshed but its a whole load of fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Kingdom Hearts, 21 Sep 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Kingdom Hearts - Platinum Edition (PS2) (Video Game)
I am delighted with this game, it ticks all the boxes and is as good as I thought it would be, it has the best story line in a game I have ever played.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars KH, 31 Jan 2010
By 
J. S. Hope (Worthing, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Kingdom Hearts - Platinum Edition (PS2) (Video Game)
This game is one of many success storys with 4 of them out all ready and Birth by Sleep on the way for a realese date this game is a great classic, with great graphics, Story and battle system this game is a must have

Story 10+
Music 10+
Graphics 10+
Battle System 10+

This game has plenty of Laughs and Battles to keep you hooked forever!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great game for any RPG fan, 7 Feb 2009
By 
R. Belela (Algarve.Portugal) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Kingdom Hearts - Platinum Edition (PS2) (Video Game)
This is a great game by Square, the mixture between Final Fantasy and Disney is just amazing, although the Disney characters were more focused on than the Final Fantasy ones. For players who have played the latest rpg games and pick this one for the first time will get a bit frustrated with the camera controls but thats how japanese rpg games were made back in 2002. The story is lovely, the characters adorable (it's Disney what would you expect), you won't regret buying this game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Adventurous, 11 Dec 2008
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Kingdom Hearts - Platinum Edition (PS2) (Video Game)
At first, I didn't know what this game was about. I only heard that final fantasy characters were in it. and i was a fan of that. I also loved the disney characters. when i played it through, i kinda got right into the story. so adventurous and a good battle system.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderfully charming game, 1 April 2008
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Kingdom Hearts - Platinum Edition (PS2) (Video Game)
I actually thought this would be a good game to play with my nephew as I thought it would be was one of the normal disney style games (i.e. mostly platform, not much depth) but I was so wrong - I actually ended up playing it on my own and enjoyed every minute of it! This game is wonderful to play, the graphics are great, the voices (esp. of the disney characters) are very well done and the storyline, as it unfolds, far exceeded my expectations. The different baddies you fight are quite inventive and the fights crop up very frequently as you explore the worlds, which gives you plenty of opportunity to level up and more abilities are offered to you as your AP/MP etc increases.
Be aware though that the game starts off quite slowly without any fighting and it takes quite a few hours to get though to the 'real game' - I must admit I even enjoyed this part of it - it was quite relaxing and allowed you to get to know three of the main characters.
In summary, this has to be one of the most enjoyable games I've played on the PS2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kingdom hearts 2, 3 Nov 2008
By 
L. Woolridge "Leewoo" (Stoke-On-Trent) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Kingdom Hearts - Platinum Edition (PS2) (Video Game)
This is a great game with the fusion of Final fantasy and disney
the gameplay is fantastic and very in depth
the occasional childishness can be avoided and ignored for the sheer fact that the game is amazing
a must buy for anyone who likes final fantasy or series similar to it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT GAME, 28 Dec 2007
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Kingdom Hearts - Platinum Edition (PS2) (Video Game)
This is a great game With monsters donald duck,goffy,tarzan,sora And more disney charecters I say this is a great game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Kingdom Hearts - Platinum Edition (PS2)
Kingdom Hearts - Platinum Edition (PS2) by Square Enix (PlayStation2)
19.17
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews