Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent
This brush is really worth the money in my opinion. It holds oil or liquid well and is light enough not to damage delicate pastry but also will hold quite a lot of e.g. oil if you want to smother aubergines. The clincher for me is that it goes in the dishwasher and comes out perfectly clean, dry and unwarped - not my experience with cheaper plastic brushes. There is...
Published on 7 July 2011 by Pen name

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as reviews lead to believe
Just purchased this pastry brush - I have only tried it once so far but am disappointed - it doesn't live up to the hype. I was brushing oil/butter on filo pastry. The brush held very little oil and there was so little give in the wedge shaped centre pieces that it tore the pastry. Resorted at last to my ordinary bristle brush. Whether it will work better on a stiffer...
Published 19 months ago by Calico


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 7 July 2011
This review is from: OXO Good Grips Silicone Pastry Brush (Kitchen & Home)
This brush is really worth the money in my opinion. It holds oil or liquid well and is light enough not to damage delicate pastry but also will hold quite a lot of e.g. oil if you want to smother aubergines. The clincher for me is that it goes in the dishwasher and comes out perfectly clean, dry and unwarped - not my experience with cheaper plastic brushes. There is therefore no residue left to make the brush eventually stink - as can happen with wooden brushes. I expect to have this brush for years making the price very reasonable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars finally, a smell free pastry brush, 16 Dec 2011
By 
graham (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: OXO Good Grips Silicone Pastry Brush (Kitchen & Home)
i've been using 'normal' bristle brushes for years now and have always had to replace them after a short period, mainly due to the fact that the bristles held onto the smells from the food stuff, especailly liking oils and liquids, which made the bristles go tacky and none usuable, even after soaking, washing, soaking again, everything but actually sandblasting the things.
Anyway, i decided to buy this bristle free brush as it had some good reviews and i'm glad i did.
i have been using it now for a bit and it has been dipped into alsorts of stuff, but unlike the bristle brushes the odour and smells, even the oils i use for covering pastries, just won't stick to these.
The 'rubber' type bristles clean with ease and with them being rubber type the smells and oils just roll off them.
I paid a couple of quid for this and from my experience with it so far it will out last the pricier 'normal' bristle ones that i have used in the passed.

so if you do a lot of cake baking then get one of these, you won't be disappointed one bit
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect! Just what i wanted, 11 April 2012
By 
M. E. May "Emily from London" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: OXO Good Grips Silicone Pastry Brush (Kitchen & Home)
Great size, feels very durable, does the job very well. And because it's plastic you can just pop it in the dishwasher and it comes out like new! No more oily wooden brushes in the draw for me! And heat resistant so i guess i could use it on the griddle too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as reviews lead to believe, 28 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: OXO Good Grips Silicone Pastry Brush (Kitchen & Home)
Just purchased this pastry brush - I have only tried it once so far but am disappointed - it doesn't live up to the hype. I was brushing oil/butter on filo pastry. The brush held very little oil and there was so little give in the wedge shaped centre pieces that it tore the pastry. Resorted at last to my ordinary bristle brush. Whether it will work better on a stiffer pastry remains to be seen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best ever brush, 20 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: OXO Good Grips Silicone Pastry Brush (Kitchen & Home)
I have tried all other brushes they are ok but the bristles used to come out on to my pies etc, but this little beauty is great I love it and all I do afterwards is rinse with soapy water ready for the next time well recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Pastry Brush, 4 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: OXO Good Grips Silicone Pastry Brush (Kitchen & Home)
Wanted a good quality pastry brush at a reasonable price. Previous normal brushes kept on losing their bristles. Have only used it a couple of times but seems to do the job and has been in the dishwasher without any adverse effect. Would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommend, 24 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: OXO Good Grips Silicone Pastry Brush (Kitchen & Home)
I've had this brush 2 years now and it's still going strong. It is a bit of a pain to wash as we don't have a dishwasher, but compared to traditional brushes it's really no hassle at all and is much more hygienic. It also doesn't leave hairs in the food which is an added bonus and clearly it has lasted which seems to be a rare thing these days. It gives a good spread and is gentle on food. I wouldn't go back to the traditional pastry brushes after using this OXO silicone brush.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stiff Nylon Brush, 3 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: OXO Good Grips Silicone Pastry Brush (Kitchen & Home)
Replacement for my classic bristle pastry brush that started moulting. This is so much easier to clean and use. Doesn't go stiff when dry All that cardboard packaging wasn't necessary though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bought as gift, 24 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: OXO Good Grips Silicone Pastry Brush (Kitchen & Home)
Think recipient was very pleased with it. Useful feature to prop up bristles to prevent then leaving mess on worktop when you put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good brush, 30 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: OXO Good Grips Silicone Pastry Brush (Kitchen & Home)
Loved the design and worked well in collecting enough on the brush in order that not too many 'dips' were needed to get the liquid on the pies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

OXO Good Grips Silicone Pastry Brush
£4.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews