Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best GPS I have used
I have used two different Navman models and thay have been 3 out of 5 stars. Part down to the fact a local petrol station on both were marked as being a couple of miles out of the town where a Windmill is.

The text to speech is really good as it announces the street name and junction number on the motorway. It can take some getting used too when to tells you to...
Published on 17 April 2007 by Mr. Mark Dobson

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars DO NOT BUY THIS PIECE OF JUNK!!!
When they are working they are great, but as soon as something goes wrong forget it. The after sales service is non existant! I am on my second unit. having purchased one, it went back for repair and it has never worked properly since. The second unit purcahsed this summer is completely dead. I am trying to get it fixed. VIAMICHELIN have now withdrawn from the SAT Nav...
Published on 13 Jan 2009 by F. K. White


Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best GPS I have used, 17 April 2007
This review is from: Viamichelin Navigation X-980T Europe 2 GB (Electronics)
I have used two different Navman models and thay have been 3 out of 5 stars. Part down to the fact a local petrol station on both were marked as being a couple of miles out of the town where a Windmill is.

The text to speech is really good as it announces the street name and junction number on the motorway. It can take some getting used too when to tells you to get in lane when you may not need too.... all depends how the junction is shown on the maps.

The diagrammatic split screen works really well and is a big help on traffic islands to give a better impression of the exit. Others that give give the exit number don't really help you to decide which lane you may need as the first exit could be half way around the island.

Motorway mode works well, in that the unit switches to an 'overview' map when it's more than 20miles to the next instruction and returns to the navigation view when your about 4 miles away. Handy as you know your getting closer.

You also get Fixed Speed camera alerts with the speed announced, you can import your own and get a beep, on a positive note the guide overrides the beep, this is unlike Navman which would beep and then not give the rest of the instruction.

As an added bonus you get the guide contents for hotels and tourist places and they are offering a Map upgrade along with other 'extras' to come later this year. Looking at the website they are planning to provide Weather information via the Bluetooth connection. Which BTW works well as a handsfree kit, not sure how well it works when navigating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 15 April 2007
By 
Nicholas Birbeck (Florence, Italy) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Viamichelin Navigation X-980T Europe 2 GB (Electronics)
Very briefly, this little machine is brilliant. I have just driven 2400 km from Lisbon, Portugal to Florence, Italy, with overnight stops in Madrid, Barcelona and Cannes. With one exception the X980-T delivered me right to the front door of the hotel I was staying in. The one exception was not the fault of the machine, but a result of the hotel address being wrong in the first place. After a few moments of panic I got the correct address and this little beast got me right there.

At one point on the route, we got stuck in traffic and the device recalculated the route automatically and directed us round the worst of the stoppage.

Having the entire collection of Michelin Guides on board, free traffic information and (nearly) free updates is the icing on a very tasty cake.

Buy it and enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars DO NOT BUY THIS PIECE OF JUNK!!!, 13 Jan 2009
By 
F. K. White - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Viamichelin Navigation X-980T Europe 2 GB (Electronics)
When they are working they are great, but as soon as something goes wrong forget it. The after sales service is non existant! I am on my second unit. having purchased one, it went back for repair and it has never worked properly since. The second unit purcahsed this summer is completely dead. I am trying to get it fixed. VIAMICHELIN have now withdrawn from the SAT Nav market, and I am not suprised. Buy a Navigon as a good and cheaper alternative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Full spec GPS, 6 Jun 2007
By 
C Richards "Graaf" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Viamichelin Navigation X-980T Europe 2 GB (Electronics)
Well, top spec and lots of good functions, bluetooth (not tested), interface, display options and quality components, I've used it all over Europe and been grateful for it, but:

Sent down lots of residential dead ends (pedestrian outlets!) and forest tracks. Worst though was being directed onto a DUAL CARRIAGEWAY THE WRONG WAY! Because the (very helpful) split screen tracks your progress through each junction, it confirmed and encouraged this particular stupid turn all the way along the slip road. And the guidance at the Dartford tunnel puts you off the motorway onto a roundabout and back on the motorway: Humpf! Motorways with lots of parallel slip roads are not always well explained, and the mapping and (good) voice prompt may lag at the last junction, failing to move onto the next junction! How much is mapping and how much the machine I don't know.

On the whole the voice guide and long distance 'motorway mode' functions do well to get you ready, and if you keep brain engaged you'll do well.

Not the very most intuitive interface either, lots of screen taps to get to where you want to be: Examples

- 9 taps to get to the nearest petrol station, and then they're presented as addresses listed in order of proximity to the current GPS location (not on the active route). Solution: You have to drive with the option for petrol station icons to be permanently displayed. Many petrol stations I've gone to also turned out to be private factory facilities or HGV only: Disapointing! And for agency card users who need to know the brand of petrol.

- When typing in searches it will not jump to the selected postcode or address when only '1 result found': 3 more taps are required (Stupid!)

- I have not been able to use the traffic function despite teh antenna. I cannot divert round points or when keen to go by particular roads select them. If you use the 'quick' button for traffic you get a text list of reports, not always related to your route; useless and can't be right, but I can't do better.

That said if you go wrong (or choose another route, a new route is v quickly calculated (remember which you've picked: shortest, quickest, recommended!). Initial Satelite signal capture can be quite variable though. (The v6.5.3 had a bug: There's a patch if you have not upgraded. v 6.5.4 is fine. Xmas'07 models onwards should have v7.0, not automatically available to the older models). Check you're not getting old stock.

The screen is too reflective: Screen info can be nearly invisible if you've got the angle wrong, though the holder is Hi-Spec and can be pulled to a better angle easily. It can be a wrestle to fix-on and attach the power leads, but other wise my only grumble is that you cannot use the USB power lead (it's covered by the holder) only the cigarette lighter lead. (Only important for those you've lost one and have an IPOD player in built and want to power from that).

Oh and what else: Registering the product online; to complete the process you need the code ViaMichelin will email back to you: It'd be impossible to save/ reset / recover from CD if there's a problem in the meantime. There may be delays in this process and other map update services as both website action and original unique parts of the packaging require to be sent off by post to get access codes...

I must mention the company helpdesk and website: It has been efficient for New drivers/ updates: You get a high-grade human early on the telephone! (A very nice suprise!) And email back options are not hidden deeply in FAQs like some. I've felt well supported, despite a delay in map updates (all sorted).

Some of the issues I've had are because of the many options offered by what is a pretty top spec GPS: If you want fastest route, or to avoid toll roads, you need to know which option you've taken or you can get the customised route selection you didn't know you'd asked for.

Would I buy it again: Now I know the hiden depths: Maybe, but there's cheaper out there. You do pay for good support and hi-spec.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor map coverage for my country (Norway), 3 Mar 2010
This review is from: Viamichelin Navigation X-980T Europe 2 GB (Electronics)
Horrible customer service at Viamichelin. Not willing to help me get new software maps that covers my country (Norway).

Would go for another brand name than Viamichelin. However the unit seemed to have good software though, except I couldn't use the GPS what so ever for anything useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Look elsewhere, 29 Nov 2007
By 
Mrs. J. M. Wilson "Jean Wilson" (Nottingham, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Viamichelin Navigation X-980T Europe 2 GB (Electronics)
The unit offers very poor navigation; would you believe going from Nottingham to Dover, instructs to join the M1 at Junction 26, drive NORTH to Junction 28 before turning round and returning back to Junction 26 and then off in the general direction of Kent (although I admit, I had lost interest by this point)With regards to the connection to a PC, what an odyssey that has been this unit is NOT compatible with Vista, so if you run Vista or intend to, look elsewhere. Carry out a search of the forums if you are considering buying, there are swathes of users in the same situation, with no fix available from Michelin.Whilst Michelin staff have been very good on the phone, the solutions and patches offered do not work; oh and have a phase book handy as the instructions are in French for the most part.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Navigation Tool, 23 Aug 2007
By 
Robert Southwell (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Viamichelin Navigation X-980T Europe 2 GB (Electronics)
Apart from the manual and starter manual (that's what knocked off the 5th star) not quite matching the X-980T the instrument is superbly easy to install and use. The data is as up to date as you could expect, the traffic messages - and automatic re-routing - work well. Voice-synthesis is far better than I expected, very few howlers. It's good to have a device which understands going on foot or bicycle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic but very, very flawed satnav and simply the worst customer service of all time., 4 May 2011
This review is from: Viamichelin Navigation X-980T Europe 2 GB (Electronics)
Must say when I got this I was impressed. Ticked all the boxes. European mapping (worked in Netherlands and Belgium when needed), excellent UI, widescreen, actual, proper, useful buttons on the unit, and not simply touchscreen, flawless navigation, and even the POI was useful as opposed to all thise satnav companies that rely on payments from fast-food outlets before putting them on their maps. It generaly had a feeling of quality and thorough design about it. However, appearences can be deceiving. The power lead for example. A coiled afair that when stretched out, as was necessary in order to each the 12v socket in the car, caused the plastic sheathing of the cable to perish and split after 3 months. OK, I thought, no biggy, and bought an OEM replacement off an auction site. Same thing happened again after another 3 months, this time exposing copper beneath. So everything now held together with electrical tape, which gives a feeling of class comensurate with a satnav of this price. Then, the sucker for the mounting bracket fell off. This was inevitable I suppose, since it screwed in and had not been designed to remain in place once unscrewed to its fullest extent, and unscrewed it became, all by itself, due to gravity, movement in the glovebox etc. I contacted Michelin via e-mail and so began protracted discussions in which I explained politely the fundamental design flaw, and would they please kindly send a replacement suction cup. That cheap part however was too much. They denied responsibilty since they said, (with email equivalent of a Gallic shrug) that I had lost it. Yes, I said, I lost it because it was a useless design destined to fail and had they ever heard of suction cups actually bonded to the housing. They refused to send me a replacement unless I paid them 35 euros (yes, for a suction cup). I declined, bought another viamichelin dock off an auction site for very much less and pirated the part. Now alas, the screen of the unit has cracked, having leant it to a neighbour, rendering half the touch-screen useless. Since Michelin no longer make satnavs (good!), I have a useless machine good only to be sold for parts (bad). I will never ever buy a consumer item from a French company again, since the attituse of Michelin's helpdesk (sic) reinforces national stereotypes just a bit too far for me to gamble on in future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Superb GPS ....with major flaws, 30 July 2010
By 
Alexandra Constantinescu (Richmond, Surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Viamichelin Navigation X-980T Europe 2 GB (Electronics)
The 980 T is by far the best and most complete GPS on the market with pioneering features; I even used it while on a plane and it worked impecable....However, there are many Achiles heels:

1. Customer Service: very prompt and polite... in emailing they do not support anymore their sold products (I have the email proving that !);
2. Software glitches: has a bad habit of displaying 'fatal errrors' requiring reset (soft not hard)
3. SD Card : I lost the EU maps while trying to make a backup copy; to this day i have no clue how was it possible to 'lose' the EU maps with the SD set in the 'lock' position....Via Michelin refused any assistance, even a re-sale of their own maps !!!!
4. The windsceen mount: Is MAAASIIIVE and because of the unit's and support shear weigth tends to detach from the windsceen
5. The battery: has a low life span and accesibility for change is almost impossible...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa0a8aae0)

This product

Viamichelin Navigation X-980T Europe 2 GB
Out of stock
Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews