Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This is Pulp
This album takes you right back to classic 'This Is Hardcore' Pulp. Think 'Dishes' and 'TV Movie', from that album and you are about where we are here.

I think it will please most Pulp fans who liked that album.

I'm not sure why 'Running The World' is on after 30 minutes of silence at the end, a bit of a pain really especially as it is a stand out...
Published on 16 Nov 2006 by Mr. Gavin Rayment

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars bit disapointed
Having been a fan of Pulp and deliberated over buying this I was a little disappointed with this.
Published on 2 Jun 2010 by Mr. J. E. Styler


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This is Pulp, 16 Nov 2006
By 
Mr. Gavin Rayment (birmingham, west midlands United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Jarvis (Audio CD)
This album takes you right back to classic 'This Is Hardcore' Pulp. Think 'Dishes' and 'TV Movie', from that album and you are about where we are here.

I think it will please most Pulp fans who liked that album.

I'm not sure why 'Running The World' is on after 30 minutes of silence at the end, a bit of a pain really especially as it is a stand out track.

Apart from that 'Heavy Weather', 'Don't Let Him Waste Your Time','Baby's Coming Back To Me' all stand out to me but this is a no filler album and I could have named others. Just don't expect big synths, those days ended in Pulp years ago.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A man at ease with himself again, 2 Dec 2006
By 
R. E. Savine (London, U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jarvis (Audio CD)
A terrific album - the little melodic hooks coupled to those lyrics. The only artist who can make me laugh and cry, sometimes in the same verse, while making a deft political and social commentary on Britain in 2006. More power to your elbow Jarvis.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jarvis Cocker- Jarvis, 9 Jun 2007
This review is from: Jarvis (Audio CD)
This album is a 'grower' in the best sense of the word. Rather than trying to hammer you over the head with it's greatness, this album un-expectedly creeps up on you until you are well and truly seduced by it's alternate honesty, sweetness and sharp wit.

It was recorded quickly, despite the LONG gestation time of Jarvis' ideas, and it's all the better for it, for Jarvis sounds fresher than he has for years. He's as up to the moment as ever with his lyrical concerns, but he also adds some less familiar,irony-free cooncerns about growing up and what drives us to be creative ('Black Magic').

Also, in these new wave of new wave times, it is a delight to find someone who is not afraid to write melodies.

Be patient and you will come to appreciate just how grest a songwriter Mr Cocker remains.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic on first impressions..., 13 Nov 2006
By 
Ashley Roden-Bow (Hull, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Jarvis (Audio CD)
I've only had chance to listen to this album once, but thought I'd note down some first impressions. Unsurprisingly, this isn't a return to Different Class-style Pulp - but it's better for it. The general feel of the album is perhaps closest to This is Hardcore, both albums sharing a darkly humorous air. The music is strong, but as is usual with Jarvis's projects, the real strength is in the lyrics which are as sharp as ever. It's difficult to choose a favourite track just yet, but Fat Children really ought to be released as a single.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, 18 July 2007
By 
J. Turner "James T" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Jarvis (Audio CD)
Jarvis shows that less can be more. More sparse than Pulp's rather full sound. Composed and mature in it's outlook with rather minimal orchestration. Perhaps Jarvis is more at ease with himself nowadays now he is no longer so much in the public eye.

The ballads stand out for me. In particular, 'I will kill again' and 'Baby's coming back to me'. These are beautiful songs that could bring you close to tears.

I'm so pleased that Jarvis has come back with something very different to Pulp and has carved out a niche all of his own. Please don't put you pen down for so long next time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Proper vinyl ...Proper music....well done Jarvis, 13 Jan 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
From first listening this is a truly enjoyable vinyl album, and it made me want to listen to it straight away again. a good sign.

Great lyrics, meaningful, strong melodies, depth and power of vocals as you would expect from JC. Sometimes he sounds like he has touched upon Tom Petty / Traveling Wilburys melodies and some vocals touch Pink Floyd territory in terms of delicacy and meaning, and the album is the better for it. Tracks are also well balanced side 1 and 2. and they work together...it all fits.

I bought it on impulse and am hugely satisfied with it musically, a great album. all tracks hit the spot...no duff tracks.

From a vinyl lovers point of view, it just gets even better.....the music is so good you will never wish it was a CD so u can skip a track, all are great. The sleeve is quality gatefold, well printed lyrics, nice card and you even get an insert containg a 7" single! It feels like a 'proper' old school vinyl album, it IS a proper vinyl album! get it for your collection. Thank you Jarvis and well done!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Lanky One Is Back..., 6 Sep 2007
By 
@GeekZilla9000 "I am completely operational a... (Doncaster, Yorkshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Jarvis (Audio CD)
....I didn't realise that Jarvis Cocker had released a Solo album until I caught a feature on the South Bank Show. Some of the tracks sampled on the programme were brilliant and I obtained the album the next day.

The second and third tracks on the album are the strongest ('Don't Let Him Waste Your Time' and 'Black Magic'). It's a shame that these weren't given more airtime on radio as they are very strong tracks and I almost felt cheated at not discovering them months ago when they were first release!

The rest of the album doesn't seem as catchy, but the tracks are still good. You might not put them on repeat as much as 2 and 3, but they are still worth a listen.

If there's an "Essential Jarvis Cocker" album released in the future one day, you'll definitely see tracks from this album on there.

It was great to re-unite my ear with a fellow South-Yorkshireman and see that he has matured but not lost his edge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buying this won't waste your time, 19 Dec 2008
By 
A. Sweeney "I don't care what you call me" (Brighton, East Sussex) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Jarvis (Audio CD)
The front man , songwriter and lyricist of Pulp returns with his first solo album (with the exception of the questionable Relaxed Muscle project) - and it's excellent, able to comfortably stand shoulder-to-shoulder with the finest moments of his old band. In fact, featuring Richard Hawley on guitar and Steve Mackey on bass, there's a good reason this album is comparable to the best of Pulp's catalogue. Simply put, this is everything you'd hope a Jarvis Cocker solo record to be - dry, witty, cutting lyrics, big catchy choruses and more than a little hint of darkness. Don't Let Him Waste Your Time, a song Jarvis originally wrote for Nancy Sinatra, is a piece of brilliance and is a tremendous opener. Black Magic, musically, is like ELO's Letter From Spain (Secret Messages, 1983) as if it was produced by Phil Spector - but is miles ahead of the song it coincidentally sounds similar to.

The album continues in strong form with Heavy Weather, a very sumptuous, but mournful, pop song which describes how stormy weather reminds the narrator of his lost love. (I don't mind the rain so strike me once again: I've got nothing to lose). The following track, I Will Kill Again is superb - a bittersweet song with a twist and punchline that The Beautiful South, given their current form, would probably kill for. The next track, Baby's Coming Back To Me, a gentle and quietly optimistic song, is beautifully performed with Jarvis' vocals crooning over a perfect backing track featuring vibraphone, glockenspiel, marimba and - curiously - egg. I listened intensely for the sounds of egg, but unfortunately my ears failed me.

Fat Children is, unfortunately, the first weak track on what is generally a wonderful album. I understand what Jarvis is saying in the lyrics, but the music is harsh and a little unremarkable and it comes across as being a little too spiteful - apart from the fantastic lyric, "The parents are the problem; giving birth to maggots without the sense to become flies". Track eight, From Auschwitz To Ipswich, is a very pleasant song, melodically, but it is the lyrics which pack the punch ("They want our way of life". Well, they can take mine any time they like.). Jarvis makes the very currently relevant point that the real problem of immigration stems from the very attitudes of people who have the problem with other cultures (Evil comes I know from not where. But if you take a look inside yourself - maybe you'll find some in there.).

Disney Time is a song in the same musical vein as the darker moments of This Is Hardcore and is either a song about the loss of innocence or being immersed so far in scenes of an `adult nature' that the natural reaction is to rediscover your innocence and nurture the innocence of your children. I could be way off, but that is my interpretation of that particular track. Tonite, by comparison, is a gently-upbeat track with a countryish tinge and, if I was to reproduce the lyrical highlights of this song, then I'd have to print the entire lyrics, because it's all an excellent social commentary. Big Julie follows, an enjoyable `character' song - and it's always nice to hear Jarvis rapturously sing the word "breasts".

The last listed track, Quantum Theory, is a very reserved, delicate and ultimately sad song - by singing about this parallel dimension where everything has gone to plan in his life, the subject has highlighted the things in his life which are the cause of his sorrow and misery. If you then skip to 29:39 on track 13, you will come to the brilliant `bonus' track, C---- Are Still Running The World which, given the title, shouldn't really need any further commentary from me, other than saying that it is catchy, has a fantastic melody, wonderful lyrics and I love it!

All in all, Jarvis has produced a brilliant first solo album and is an essential purchase for anyone who loved Pulp and, in particular, their last two albums. This is probably every bit as good as This Is Hardcore, an album I adored and was dismayed to see get a lukewarm critical reception - and this album also deserves widespread critical acclaim, because it's fantastic. All that remains for me to say is thanks Jarvis - and I look forward to the next one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent comeback!!, 22 Nov 2006
This review is from: Jarvis (Audio CD)
I loove this album!! It gets into one's ears from the very first time you listen to it and the songs will not want to leave you. While it's still distinctively Jarvis, with his observant and cynical lyrics, I was amazed by the variety of the songs - no two sound in the least alike.

I was very worried this cd might be a great disappointment but it's fast turning into my favourite album of 2006. Buy it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Collection Of Delightful Musings, 26 April 2012
By 
Keith M - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Jarvis (Audio CD)
Jarvis Cocker's 2006 self-titled debut album contains a typical mix of sometimes light, but mostly brilliantly acerbic, lyrics, contained within a set of predominantly mid-tempo/ballad songs, with the odd rocker thrown in for good measure. Whilst not quite reaching the creative heights of Pulp's best albums (His n' Hers, Different Class and This Is Hardcore), Jarvis represents a sterling solo debut from this treasured bastion of the British music scene.

The album starts very strongly with the beautiful piano interlude of The Loss Adjuster (which is reprised later on the album), and then two highlight songs, the single Don't Let Him Waste Your Time, which has a brilliant lyric (written from a female perspective) warning would-be romantics against serial time-wasters, followed by Black Magic, a searing attack on religious believers. Stylistically, both of these songs are very close to the Pulp sound. Other standout songs for me include Disney Time, a tale of child censorship and containing the great opening lyric, 'How come they're called "adult movies" when the only thing they show is people making babies filmed up close?', and Big Julie, an extended lyrical soap opera with Jarvis doing his semi-spoken Shelagh Delaney impression. Lyrically (more than musically), other highpoints are Fat Children, a scathing anti-Chav (and obesity) rant, and From Auschswitz to Ipswich, where Cocker laments the general decline in western society and speculates that evil can originate from anywhere (the song title turning out to be particularly apt, since the Ipswich prostitute murders came to light just after the album's release). The album is also notorious for its hidden track, another Cocker rant entitled `Cu!!s Are Still Running The World', appearing twenty minutes or so after the final song Quantum Theory.

In summary, a worthwhile follow-up to an illustrious band career for this lyrical raconteur. Oh, and Jarvis' follow-up album Further Complications is also well worth a listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Jarvis
Jarvis by Jarvis Cocker (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews