Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars15
4.7 out of 5 stars
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 July 2008
Really good to watch a funny comedian with political passion. Sure the aspect of politics adds an educational aspect which makes you think as well and is not just stand up purely for laughs, but I appreciate this aspect. As he is 'speaking truth about power and corporate power' I'm also not surprised that despite being one of the Uk's most famous comedians not too long ago the corporate media has unsurprisingly pretty much 'forgotten' him. I'd never heard of his political comedy until stumbling upon it on the web after serching for newman and baddiel. Definately worth getting, glad I did.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2010
Originally broadcast on the then-new 'More 4', a History of Oil is essentially a 45 minute version of his 'Apocalypso Now' show Apocalypso Now!: Or from P45 to AK47, How to Grow the Economy with the Use of War. His stand up is supported by cut-away visuals and audio effects which are meant to enhance the show, but can sometimes be distracting and are detrimental to the overall 'live' feel. Newman has a captivating personality and displays a passion that demands your full attention, he doesn't need such gimmicks. The show itself is an intelligent, reasoned critique of the UK and USA invasion/occupation of Iraq, placed in a wider historical context. Despite it's serious content, it is full of laughs and is far superior to his early 90s material.

By way of bonus material, there is a second DVD of an earlier show 'From Caliban to the Taliban' which was only previously available from Newman's website and live shows. It's a good show, but this is a poor recording both in terms of audio and video. As an 'extra', though it works well, and at £4.96 for both, it's very much a bargain.

For fans of intelligent political comedy, you really cannot beat this.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2009
A 'must view' DVD if interested in the history of oil, politics, history and, oh yes, humour!
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2012
Genius.
I knew nothing of this chap before 2 weeks ago,
when I saw an excerpt from this ... and even though I did A-level history,
and loved war-studies (and got an S-level, old fashioned I know, in WW2 history)
I have had my eyes opened from the closed history I was taught thanks to
corrupt bodies like Carnegie PI and other so-called humanitarian outfits who
set school agendas to out-fox learning about how and why things really are.
We do live in the dark ages of The Great Year but thanks to this and
other eye-opening works lately, e.g. New Pearl Harbor Revisited: 9/11, the Cover-up and the Expose we are beginning to wake up, to shed the scales from our sleepy eyes.

Were history in school taught like this presents it,
it would not simply be exciting,
we'd have an idea of what' really going on,
and maybe the know-how to live in a safe world too.

Thanks RN, future generations will recall your name well.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2007
erudite, witty and informative - oh yes and very funny!

Newman's thesis on the centrality of oil, and control of the supply, to much of the last century's armed conflict is compelling and should be required viewing for all those who know Bush, Bliar(sic) and Brown are fibbers but would like to hear an alternative version that is entertaining as well as enlightening.
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2009
A different a quite plausable theory for why WWI started, WWII & the 'War on Terror'. Well worth watching
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2013
I've seen Rob Newman live a few times, and always thought 'I really like him, but most wouldn't digest this well'. This DVD, however, is actually much more accessible than I thought. Its balance between the political realm and humour is perfect and seamless, and the whole show flows wonderfully. It's a shame he is a little outside the public eye right now (for his political stance, which no doubt appeals to mainstream comedy audiences about as much as reading does), as he has some great observations to make (which are almost funny in themselves, without a comic spin!). It's really enjoyable and is an easier watch than I'd expected. Love his work.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2013
Good humor, great historical insight. History really should be told from a different perspective: economy. Disturbing for what has already happened, as well as for what lies ahead - perhaps something like the videogame series "Fallout": War, war never changes... Please consider reading The Party's Over, by Richard Heinberg. Cheers!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2011
This is an absolute must see DVD!
I stumbled across this on the web and bought the video. (From Rob Newmans own site.)
Incredibly funny and a good argument well presented.
Best DVD I have bought in a long while.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2013
DVD arrived quickly and in perfect condition. Very enjoyable stand up show by a very clever man. Feel vaguely guilty for laughing, due to the subject matter. A must-see.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)