Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


37 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent Series
I started watching this series and couldn't stop. It is informative as well as entertaining which makes it great for the historian as well as the one who doesn't like history. With great graphics, Peter and Dan Snow bring the battles to life. (I have heard some complaints about the 3-D head graphics. Maybe it's just because I'm a girl, but I like to see what the people...
Published on 16 Jan 2007 by abush3

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars BATTLEFIELD BRITAIN
A great CD set to own , at a reasonable price, delivery was good and on time, as it was a christmas present,
there are a few scratches on a 2 of the discs out of 3, but not bad enough to ruin the viewing, and accepted
as it was owned before, overall good.
Published 8 months ago by steve oldfield


Most Helpful First | Newest First

37 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent Series, 16 Jan 2007
This review is from: Battlefield Britain : The Complete BBC Series [DVD] (DVD)
I started watching this series and couldn't stop. It is informative as well as entertaining which makes it great for the historian as well as the one who doesn't like history. With great graphics, Peter and Dan Snow bring the battles to life. (I have heard some complaints about the 3-D head graphics. Maybe it's just because I'm a girl, but I like to see what the people fighting might have looked like!) This series is a wonderful approach to military history and I REALLY recommend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining and Informative, 15 Oct 2009
This review is from: Battlefield Britain : The Complete BBC Series [DVD] (DVD)
Thrillingly written and presented by father and son, Peter and Dan Snow, 'Battlefield Britain' is a first rate documentary covering the most prestigious conflicts in British history, from Boudicca's revolt against the Romans in AD 60 to The Battle Of Britain. Each episode runs an hour long chronologically, as follows:

1. Boudicca's Revolt - AD 60
2. Hastings - 1066
3. The Battle For Wales - 1400
4. Spanish Armada - 1588
5. Naseby - 1645
6. Boyne - 1690
7. Culloden - 1746
8. The Battle Of Britain - 1940

The programme blends a mix of people (infantrymen, cavalry, warriors, pilots etc.) potrayed by live actors, dramatized sequences, and computer generated imagery to depict how and why the conflicts occurred.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars snows on the battlefields, 15 Feb 2009
By 
P. Gaffikin "pascanal" (woking, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Battlefield Britain : The Complete BBC Series [DVD] (DVD)
Highly informative series on some of the major battles that took place in these lands through history,the Snows,Peter and Dan, work well together bringing each episode into life using re-enactments and computer graphics to the full....excellent stuff for military history buffs like myself!Battlefield Britain : The Complete BBC Series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars battlefield britain complete series, 31 Jan 2009
This review is from: Battlefield Britain : The Complete BBC Series [DVD] (DVD)
super series made with pasion and detail,and great to see father and son having a whale of a time, a must for history nuts
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Series with Great Battlefield Details, 31 Aug 2008
By 
Sean Gainford "Big G" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Battlefield Britain : The Complete BBC Series [DVD] (DVD)
Battlefield Britain uses some great computer graphics to show the details of the battles, and especially enjoyable is when Peter Snow pulls out his computerised map to show the geography of the battlefields and the army positions. Also a nice touch is creating a computerised physiognomy of the main commanders of the battles, letting us see what theses commanders might have looked liked, being that there were never any pictures of most of them. Also having the computer character images then turn to each other to face off increased the excitement for the audience. Let the battle begin!

Always great narration from the Snows

Also enjoyed how the Snows would walk around contemporary Britain where the battles once took place and show things like the fast speed of a train after Peter or Dan would have just stated that the soldiers got their marching orders and speed was vital. It gave a nice connection with today and highlighted that things were not always how they are now.

However I have to take a star off because of the awful interviews with the soldiers that fought in the battles. They are always cheesy and end up being a bit funny, which I don't think they were supposed to be, and took away from the seriousness of the documentary. After an exciting narration of the Snows you would have the scene jump to these boring actors, who always talked to slow and inarticulately, and ruined the previous great narration.

Informative, entertaining, great narration, bad acting and screenplay.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Battlefield Britain, 25 Dec 2013
This review is from: Battlefield Britain : The Complete BBC Series [DVD] (DVD)
Recall this being an excellent series when shown. Incomprehensible that you have to live in the States to afford to buy the DVD. Please could the BBC pull its finger out and make it available here in the UK!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars BATTLEFIELD BRITAIN, 30 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Battlefield Britain : The Complete BBC Series [DVD] (DVD)
A great CD set to own , at a reasonable price, delivery was good and on time, as it was a christmas present,
there are a few scratches on a 2 of the discs out of 3, but not bad enough to ruin the viewing, and accepted
as it was owned before, overall good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars subtitles please, 4 Oct 2007
This review is from: Battlefield Britain : The Complete BBC Series [DVD] (DVD)
I am not here to make a review but to protest against Amazon's lack/ignorance for the deaf and hard of hearing. I am almost considering setting web site for the purpose of this protest so others can join.

My frustration is caused by this: I am into watching DVDs (films and particularly documentaries). Being hard of hearing, I can only watch DVDs with English subtitles. I have come to this site numerous times in the past months to buy new DVDs (Tribe (BBC documentary), Battlefield series by Dan Snow and this item to name a few). None of these along with thousands of other items say they or they don't have subtitles, therefore, I either have to buy to test them or forget about watchiong them.

Is it too much to ask to put that simple piece of information on the page? At least for BIG Amazon to show respect and understanding for the deaf? Shame on you Amazon! shame on you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Battlefield Britain : The Complete BBC Series [DVD]
Used & New from: £49.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews