Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They're Back!!
wow. back and better.
Ok go first caught my eye with their "one hit wonder" called "get over it" after that i fell for them. their first album, which is guitar candy, with the groovy riffs, quirky beats, sharp drums and innocent voice of that lush damian kulash Jnr. That was out in 2003. i thought they were over.
I was overjoyed, really ecstatic to see that...
Published on 10 Sep 2005 by london1991

versus
6 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nearly a student disco triumph
Ok Go have been getting lauded in all the right places for quite some time now without managing to cross over into the consciousness of the record buying public. In fact it's six months since this album was released in America, which may show how far down the Capitol priority list they've fallen.
However, I actually saw the video for "A Million Ways"...
Published on 22 Feb 2006 by Mr. H


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They're Back!!, 10 Sep 2005
This review is from: Oh No (Audio CD)
wow. back and better.
Ok go first caught my eye with their "one hit wonder" called "get over it" after that i fell for them. their first album, which is guitar candy, with the groovy riffs, quirky beats, sharp drums and innocent voice of that lush damian kulash Jnr. That was out in 2003. i thought they were over.
I was overjoyed, really ecstatic to see that there was a new album. and with two of the less famous members gone, and another two in their place, i was eager to find out about if they had changed in anyway. They hadnt. my dad even liked them. They are still my #1 band, and with that long awaited 2nd album it paid off.
They are more mature sounding, but i am glad to say they are still ok-go. (bad taste in wallpaper though. you'll get wot i mean if you have the album!!) get it, get it, get it! i wanna share them with the world!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Smashing - will bring a smile to your face!, 18 Sep 2006
By 
This review is from: Oh No (Audio CD)
Ok Go are guaranteed to melt even the stoniest heart. This album is a real gem - the first one's good too! - highly recommended. If you like Weezer, or any good American guitar-led rock/pop, you'll love this!

Highlights are Here It Goes Again, and A Million Ways - don't forget to check out their home-made videos on YouTube! I also loved The House Wins.

Honestly, this CD is *well* worth a tenner of your hard-earned cash. Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thirteen precise slices of rock imagination, 4 Nov 2006
By 
Mark Thomas "physics_mark" (Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oh No (Audio CD)
Oh No, the second album from Chicago-based foursome OK Go, is a splendid affair. The first four tracks open the album in a raucous crash of pounding guitars and thumping drums. Track five - Oh Lately It's So Quiet - marks a shift in rhythm to a slightly smoother feel, after which energetic punk alternates with lighter, more considered material, before the last two tracks close the album in an unexpectedly reflective manner.

Parallels can be drawn with The Hives and The Vines; Oh No is packed with catchy, stomp along numbers and sharp lyrics which seize the ear and leave you with excerpts fixed in your mind long after the album finishes. There is just the right mix of racing, ballistic power rock and thoughtful, introspective harmonising to keep the interest running through the full forty-minute set of thirteen tracks.

In all, the band executes a glorious array of styles and demonstrate a capacity to provoke thought as well as energise and uplift. In fact, this album is almost too polished; too slickly produced and too tidy. It feels like a precise execution of musical and commercial nous - even the album notes are exactly calculated so that every inch of space is used and every band member photograph is unerringly in-keeping with the ruffling, arty style of this effort. It is a wonderful collection of memorable melodies and pompous, smashing rock eccentricity, and if they had deemed to fit to slide onto the CD the notoriously imaginative and creative videos to A Million Ways and Here It Goes Again, it would be even better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't overlook this. Just don't., 11 Dec 2005
This review is from: Oh No (Audio CD)
There are a great deal of unfair things in the world.The majority of the world's major pollutors are failing to comply with the Kyoto agreement, meaning global warming will eventually melt the polar ice caps, leading, unless we can find a method to abandon the planet which we have ruined and leave for a new one, to the eventual demise of the human race.
Perhaps more unfair than any of these facts is the continued lack of attention shown towards OK Go. While 'Get Over It' was a major success in the UK and the US, and the band's wonderful live shows win over audiences wherever they might choose to travel, the band still has to win major mainstream acceptance. This is all in spite of 'Oh No', an album which floats from high to dreamy high, on the band's own brand of fresh and catchy power-pop. This is music for the first day of summer, for running in the park, for watching clouds go by. And for this purpose, it is absolutely perfect.
Perhaps OK Go are more important to the world than the threat of global warming. Perhaps they aren't. Perhaps you think I'm being a little overblown comparing a simple band to the fate of the world. But then, if you think that, you've obviously never seen them dance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Million Ways to be COOOOOL!, 28 Sep 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Oh No (Audio CD)
Got the first album a few years back and loved it. It should be impossible for this album to better that but it does by a country mile. It is one of the most consistent albums I have heard. Every song is a gem. The melodies are so so so catchy it's unthinkable. OK GO have made the perfect pop record. Buy it right now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 22 Nov 2008
This review is from: Oh No [Bonus DVD] (Audio CD)
Quite simply the most amazing, aurally stimulating, in your face, upbeat, beautiful, sound-fest that I could possibly imagine. I'm actually struggling to find a bad thing to say about this album...maybe if it went on for another 42 minutes it could be better? Not an awful lot else to say really. Almost total perfection. If you're into that sort of thing...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars blame the treadmill, 12 July 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oh No [Bonus DVD] (Audio CD)
i also bought this cd on the back of the treadmill video, and that a review said they were similar to weezer who i also love. and then i bought their first album on the back of this one..Love them both. varied styles but all very catchy.. and i think i'm outside the fan bracket too at 41 (is this a trend for young bands to attract older audiences)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars love it., 22 Mar 2008
This review is from: Oh No [Bonus DVD] (Audio CD)
I bought this on the strength of the famous 'treadmill' video. Wasn't quite sure but what the hell.
I'm so glad I did - I really love it, probably the best track to me is 'No sign of life', but all are good. I'm probably not their target audience (being 49) but would recommend it to anyone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gotta love OK GO, 7 Jun 2007
By 
A. F. B. Rømler "Freddiiie" (Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Oh No (Audio CD)
This is a great album!

I went to a concert of theirs about 1½ years ago without really knowing who they were, within the following week I had bought both their albums. Ok Go is an American band with a British sound, bringing together the best of both indierock worlds (as I find American indie a bit too soft, and British indie a bit too alternative at times!)

I also recommend their first album, though quite different in style and sound.

There is a lot more to Ok Go than their famous dance moves!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, 22 Feb 2007
By 
S. M. Cooper (Germany) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Oh No (Audio CD)
Every now and then a band comes along with a few great tunes, but OK GO have managed to fill an entire album with great tunes that are full of energy. What I realy loved was the way it wasn't over produced and dead, it sounds like they are playing each track as a live sesion.

Catch them live if you can the show is fantastic....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Oh No [Bonus DVD]
Oh No [Bonus DVD] by OK Go (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews