Customer Reviews


61 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars IT'S B'STARD!!
Rik's dark side is played with such spite and viciousness you almost forget he's acting..this multi award winning series is absolutely brilliant. Everything from the fine cast, excellent script and classic one liners results in one of the funniest British tv series of the decade. Rik is the pompous Alan B'Stard who will do anything and kill anyone he sees that get in...
Published on 21 April 2001

versus
72 of 80 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars You may as well have recorded this from tv!
First off the actual show is great, but this is a review on THIS dvd collection.
The quality is awful & as the title says, you may actually have got better results if you DID record this yourself.
This was originally shown on ITV in the UK, so therefore you had an ad break half way through each episode. Now at the time programs used intermission cards to tell...
Published on 1 Feb 2009 by Chooky McCool


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars IT'S B'STARD!!, 21 April 2001
By A Customer
Rik's dark side is played with such spite and viciousness you almost forget he's acting..this multi award winning series is absolutely brilliant. Everything from the fine cast, excellent script and classic one liners results in one of the funniest British tv series of the decade. Rik is the pompous Alan B'Stard who will do anything and kill anyone he sees that get in his way of him reaching his ultimate goals of power, success, money and glory. His side kick Piers is the butt of many of Alan's pranks and his adultering wife adds that little bit of spice to a very twisted political satire that keeps you on your toes. The New Statesman is the thinking man's comedy and essential for any Rik Mayall fan. And as Alan states... "In the good old days..you were poor....you got ill....and you died!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


70 of 75 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5 stars but..., 1 July 2008
By 
Anthony S. Clarke "Asparian" (Austin, TX - Kumamoto, Japan) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The New Statesman - The Complete Series Box Set [DVD] [1987] (DVD)
This is an *excellent* series let down only by Network's inability to properly encode a disc. Network have let us all down again with an exceedingly poor transfer indifferently encoded and packaged. I suggest you buy this set only if you cannot wait to record it from TV in what will be much better quality.

Image fidelity: 2/10
Visible under bitrate aliasing: 3/10
Colour quality: 3/10
Contrast/Brightness fidelity: 2/10
Overscan cropping: 0/10 (They just didn't do it)

So far Network have messed up every release of classic television to which they have been given the rights - with possibly the worst being Robin of Sherwood. I suggest content owners take note and stop providing priceless TV moments through a company who care little for professional pride or professional production. Alternatively, Network - I'll come to your office and show you how to correctly re-master analogue tape to DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A clever and witty series!, 15 Sep 2000
By A Customer
In my opinion this is one of Rik Mayall's best performances. The character of Alan B'Stard is absolutely hilarious and strangely believable, Mayall's trademark lunacy has been watered down somewhat but this only serves to make the stories more intruiging. There are some absolutely classic gags and the diversity of characters allows the plots to go off in new and interesting directions. A strong supporting cast rounds off the series' brilliance. It's only downfall is its tendency to lapse occasionaly into political complexity. However, this is still an absolute must for fans of Rik Mayall and indeed for fans of British comedy in general.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


72 of 80 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars You may as well have recorded this from tv!, 1 Feb 2009
This review is from: The New Statesman - The Complete Series Box Set [DVD] [1987] (DVD)
First off the actual show is great, but this is a review on THIS dvd collection.
The quality is awful & as the title says, you may actually have got better results if you DID record this yourself.
This was originally shown on ITV in the UK, so therefore you had an ad break half way through each episode. Now at the time programs used intermission cards to tell you that the adverts were coming up & again when the show was returning. Ridiculously this dvd actually includes the intermission cards..... both of them!
So each episode you actually get a 15 second intermission!?!
The sound quality is terrible. For example my standard volume level on my television is 10. To hear this dvd I have to increase it to 30!!!
The lack of subtitles means that my hard of hearing father cant watch this dvd either.
To prove how poor this dvd package is I borrowed a VHS version of this program from a friend of mine & hooked up my old recorder. It was better in every way quality wise. That cant be right!!!!
So to recap, great show, terrible dvd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Best of British humour!, 11 Feb 2001
I bought the first of the 'New Statesman' trilogy, and I spent three hours, glued to the TV set, roaring with laughter. This video is even better! Rik Mayall does an excellent job at playing the notorious Alan B'stard! This video really does see the funny side of politics, and makes fun of the the serious side of politics. Buy this video, and it will make you a Rik Mayall fan forever!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic New Statesman Episode, 21 April 2001
By A Customer
Finally one of the rarest episodes of the New Statesman is back on video. This episode is truly classic Statesman material. From Alan's near death experience brought on by his attempted assassination to his hilarious court room hi-jinx to his attempted murder of Piers results in an hour long frenzy of sharp wit, total hilarity and unstoppable mayhem that will have you punching that rewind button again and again. I watched this 8 times straight when i brought it and did not grow tired of it...The New Statesman is a very clever comedy that twists and turns to unexpected heights of sheer hysterics that many comedies these days can only aspire to. Rik Mayall remains brilliant in possibly one of his finest performances as Alan B'Stard in this episode and I can not stress enough how hard this video is to find and how essential it is for your Rik Mayall or New Statesman collections! Do yourself a favour and buy it now...you will not regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Some brilliant episodes but not so brilliant DVDs, 23 Aug 2010
By 
Mr. A. E. Hall "brother_of_sadako" (Liverpool, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The New Statesman - The Complete Series Box Set [DVD] [1987] (DVD)
The New Statesmen has aquired a sort of cult status in British comedy. It has nowhere near the recognition of other Rok Mayall productions such as the Young Ones and Bottom. Nor did it have the impact that Spitting Image had. And yet, for the most part, it is a fantastic show, which as a political nerd, I find hilarious.

The first series contains a few gems but was clearly finding its feet with a few brilliant ones alongside one or two less stronger ones. This first show features several characters who would be absent from later series such as Alan's father-in-law, the vile Roland Gidleigh-Park, Norma/Norma, Alan's confused partner in the crime and best of all, Bob Crippen, Labour MP and thorn in Alan's side.

The second series is by far the weakest with Alan's character progressing from cunning villain to cardboard cutout sadist. There are by my reckoning three good episodes with the rest hardly worth a second look. Some of the bit part charactes have gone and all of this is to the detriment of the show.

The third season is where the show really does take off with classic episodes showing Alan sabotage the career of a rival, destroy the poll ratings of all three main parties in order to pull off a stock market scam, attempts to kill his own mother to save himself a fortune, destroys the building industry to take revenge on a man attempting to de-select him and even trys international assassination for profit. All six episodes are simply brilliant.

The fourth season sees Alan trying to rebuild himself after being abandonned in Russia by Sarah and again, his stunts are ingenious as well as devious and downright evil as ever. From murdering his wife's new lover, sparking a uprising in the translation department at the EU to make a huge profit on a new motorway, posing as a Nazi to exhort money from the son of certain former dictator to having himself made Lord Protector.

These two final series alone make the boxset a worthwhile purchase, along with a strong first series and a couple of good ones from the second series. However, it has to be said that the quality of the DVDs is poor at best. The intermission cards and flashing bars that were used during and just before adverts are left in making it look as though you have recorded off the TV, stopping the VHS player during the break. There are no extras worth noting and the picture and sound quality are rather poor. Not that this should detract from three and half excellent seasons of comedy, but if a better versions comes along it would prove better than this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Typically brilliant Mayall, 21 Oct 2003
By 
Mr. Damian J. McGrath (Bristol, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
I have been a huge fan of Rik Mayalls, watching all the Young Ones and Bottom series, and his movies of Drop Dead Fred, and the Bottom live stages shows, and finally, I checked out The New Statesman.
I decided to start at the beginning, so purchased the first four episodes, and it has definitely inspired me to purchase more. Some people have told me that the first series isn't as good as later series, but I will reserve judgement until I have seen other series, but the first four episodes here are excellent, and any improvement will result in an amazing show.
Mayall plays the character brilliantly, and if you want something to while away a few hours, and brighten up your mood, B'Stard's your man.
Definitely recommended for a Mayall fan, and worth considering if you're not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best, 8 Nov 2013
By 
C. C. Rowlands (Colwyn bay, North Wales, UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The New Statesman - The Complete Series Box Set [DVD] [1987] (DVD)
Bought for my son for some 80s comedy. He absolutely loved. And so did I. If you like Rik Mayall you'll like this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Utterly brilliant, 25 Oct 2009
By 
A. Martin "andreamartin74" (Glasgow, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The New Statesman - The Complete Series Box Set [DVD] [1987] (DVD)
Rik Mayall at his best, I laughed and gasped in horror the whole way throught this 4 dvd collection. Yes the quality may not be the greatest and yes there may be a short interval mid way through each episode (use your dvd remote to skip though these!) but what some of the reviewers seem to be forgetting is this wonderfully written series began in 1987 - in my opinion this dvd is excellent considering the footage is 22 years old and I thought the quality was good. I really wish more New Statesman was written for today's politics - bring back Rik Mayall!!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The New Statesman - The Complete Series Box Set [DVD] [1987]
15.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews