Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nana's favorite record!
This is probably the second greatest album I ever owned! My grandmother (1921-2001) loved Level 42 and bought me this album for Easter in 1992 and I never go without reference to it I love passing this record on to others and they love to listen to it as well. Physical Presence is one of the best songs and leaving me now rules!
Published on 13 Jun 2005

versus
29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great album - dog's dinner of a deluxe edition
They're a bit of a hit and miss affair, these Deluxe Editions. When Universal get it right - as they did, for example, with the Who Live At Leeds - the extra material truly serves to enhance the original release. When they get it wrong - as is the case with this album - it feels as if they have cobbled together anything they happen to have gathering dust in the...
Published on 22 April 2008 by Steven Roberts


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great album - dog's dinner of a deluxe edition, 22 April 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: World Machine [Deluxe Edition] (Audio CD)
They're a bit of a hit and miss affair, these Deluxe Editions. When Universal get it right - as they did, for example, with the Who Live At Leeds - the extra material truly serves to enhance the original release. When they get it wrong - as is the case with this album - it feels as if they have cobbled together anything they happen to have gathering dust in the vaults.

I remembering listening to (and taping - think I still have it somewhere) the 1986 Hamersmith Odeon gig on Radio 1. A great, contemporaneous show. So why only use three songs from the concert? Why not the entire show, or at least as much as the BBC recorded? Worse yet, why use live tracks from 2000 and 2003, with completely different line-ups to the band that appeared on the studio album?

The remixes, too, are a slapdash affair. Out goes the Sisa Mix of Something About You - surely Level 42's finest 12" moment - and in comes a completely redundant 'Phunk Investigation Club Mix' of World Machine, which is not even CREDITED to Level 42 - it's actually listed as being performed by 'Electrokingdom featuring Mark King'.

Sadly, it's a mess. Propsective buyers are advised instead to track down the 2 for 1 package of this item from a few years earlier, which paired this album with the previous year's True Colours. And you'll get better remixes, too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nana's favorite record!, 13 Jun 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: World Machine (Audio CD)
This is probably the second greatest album I ever owned! My grandmother (1921-2001) loved Level 42 and bought me this album for Easter in 1992 and I never go without reference to it I love passing this record on to others and they love to listen to it as well. Physical Presence is one of the best songs and leaving me now rules!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Most Under-rated Album of the 80's, 19 Jun 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: World Machine (Audio CD)
This is quite simply the most under-rated album of the last 20 years. Every time I listen, it brings back great memories of when I grew up as a kid in the 80s. Every track is so funky - a brilliantly polished collection of songs with superb bass-lines and great vocals, combined with some groovy use of the saxophone. A lot of the songs have a fast jazzy rhythm which could almost make this a 'dance-funk' album.
Why Level 42's 'World Machine' has never got any recognition (apart from one of the singles which was released) is just beyond me. It may be quite old now, but it still has this great feeling of freshness and energy that just won't go away. The songs have a very futuristic, 'ahead-of-their-time' feel to them. A really cool & funky album, I love it :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Level 42, World Machine the best Level 42 album?, 21 Mar 2009
By 
Stephen Haire "Steve Haire" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: World Machine (Audio CD)
Level 42 haven't produced a duff album and whilst all their albums are brilliant, my view is this is the best one ever with their usual mixture of soulful and funky tunes with the wonderful track "Leaving me now" with its fantastic piano riffs being my favourite. An album I would put in my top ten.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Original Album - Pointless 2nd Re-Release, 27 Nov 2008
This review is from: World Machine [Deluxe Edition] (Audio CD)
The original 'World Machine' album is second to none, but this 2nd re-release is just pointless. The previous reviewer nailed it for me - what's the point of just re-releasing another version of the 'World Machine' album - when it was already remastered in its entirety 8 or so years ago as part of the double package with 'True Colours'?

Its hardly a 'Deluxe Edition' - thats a bit mis-leading. Fair enough, the record label have added a few previously unavailable live tracks from '86 ("World Machine", "Something About You" & "Leaving Me Now") - which are awesome! - and also an interesting backwards mix of "Coup D'Etat", but thats pretty much it. (I'm sure that this mix has been available previously on CD - while the Shep Pettibone mix of "Something About You' definitely has...) And a new booklet with extra info/pictures etc - fair enough.

But the biggest let down are the final 5 live tracks; those who are expecting them to be live intepretations from the same line-up who recorded them, as are the 3 already mentioned, will be disappointed. Instead, they're all culminated from post-millenium recordings of the newer Level 42 band assembled by Mark King in recent years, which, in theory, (despite them being excellent musicians in their own right) might as well be any band performing them, or just Mark King and his solo band (which they essentially are) - as its simply NOT the same band from the original 'World Machine' album, thus rendering them totally irrelevant and only marginally related to this edition. The same can be said for all the other recent live tracks of re-released classic Level 42 albums.

Some may argue that a number of tracks from the album were never performed live by the original band and its great to hear them live finally - and while that may be so - there are other live CD and DVD compilations of the newer band performing this material - and therefore, these tracks don't belong here. If it's not the original band, who cares.

A 'Deluxe Edition' by its very name suggests itself to be the definitive version of the album for the consumer to own, so why isn't it? Probably because it's just another record label cashing in on artistry and talent.

Those consumers should be treated to some rarities or unreleased demo's - or other previously vinyl-only material - should there be any not yet released digitally. A few things I can think of:
1) 'D7' - 'I Sleep On My Heart' demo
2) 'Hell' - the 12-minute instrumental which although available as an MP3 for a while, needs a remaster
3) 'The Planets' - unreleased instrumental
4) 'World Machine' (Shep Pettibone Remix) - available on RITF Platinum Edition, but would surely be more relevant here
5) 'It's Not The Same For Us' Live '87 - I know this was performed live '86/'87, so where is it?
6) 'Physical Presence' Live '87 - this is already on some recent compilations, but again, surely more relevant here
7) And what about the absolute peach of having the live recording of Level 42 Vs. Casiopea - battling out the latter's "Galactic Funk" from around this '84/'85 era when they were on tour in Japan?

...Maybe an enhanced CD with the videos and/or 'a making of' of the album. THEN add the first three live songs, the "Coup D'Etat" backwards mix, and then the 3 remixes from the previous 'World Machine' re-release - because, if anything, for this to be better than that, its got to at least contain everything on there AND more. Thats a 'Deluxe Edition'. Simple logic.

As a first time buyer of this album, or as a casual fan, you can't go wrong really, but for anyone else who already has the album, this offers very little else. I would download the individual tracks that you want, rather than shelling out for the whole thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic album from the 80's, 29 Oct 2005
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: World Machine (Audio CD)
I would rate this album as one of the best that came from the 80's regardless of who was hogging the no1 spot on the gallop charts. I have a copy of Level Best and believe it or not 'World Machine' eats it for breakfast.
Level 42 weren't my favorite band that came from the time period but a fab album needs credit and this is a fab album.
My favorite tracks include 'It's not the same for us', 'Physical Presence', 'World machine', (the wonderfully written) 'Leaving me now' and argueabaly their best release ever 'Something about you'.
Forget Level Best and the tracks that I cringe at, 'Tracy' and 'Running in the family', go for a masterpiece in the form of 'World Machine'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Album., 3 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: World Machine (Audio CD)
Great Album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars just a superb album!!, 19 Oct 2012
By 
faith bhoy (glasgow, scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: World Machine [Deluxe Edition] (Audio CD)
not a bad song in sight. truly brilliant album! for me clearly the best Level 42 album hands down. a triumph
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars level 42 worlld machine, 1 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: World Machine (Audio CD)
brought this album in 1985 forgotten how gud it was only 2 singles on it somethihng about you no 6 leaving me now 15 that should have bin top 10 at least every song is brill this album made um
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars pepe, 16 Sep 2009
By 
Jose Queb Balan (Campeche, México) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: World Machine [Deluxe Edition] (Audio CD)
les agradezco el favor de su atencion, este album lo tengo en casete,al que le hacia falta rola que viene en este cd. gracias de nuevo
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

World Machine [Deluxe Edition]
World Machine [Deluxe Edition] by Level 42 (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews