Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Simpsons Season Nine: Not at their best but good enough
The ninth series of the Simpsons (1997-98, 25 episodes) was the season after the golden age (Season 3-8) finished. Looking back at this season, it was when the show's standards starting to slip but not such as point as Season 11. In fact, Season 9 come across as a good season, on a par with 7 & 8 but maybe a bit more wackier.

It is also noticeable in this...
Published on 20 Feb 2010 by Mr. D. J. Varney

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars 2nd hand copy passed off as 1st hand
Amazon sent a second hand copy of this DVD when the product description leads you to beleive it will be a first hand copy. The packaging was unsealed, the DVDs were in the wrong order and the back of the DVDs are filthy. It is totally unacceptable to pass second hand copies off as first hand copies.
Published 17 months ago by Chris Story


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Simpsons Season Nine: Not at their best but good enough, 20 Feb 2010
By 
Mr. D. J. Varney "Douglas Varney "film d... (Brighton, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Simpsons - Season 9 [DVD] (DVD)
The ninth series of the Simpsons (1997-98, 25 episodes) was the season after the golden age (Season 3-8) finished. Looking back at this season, it was when the show's standards starting to slip but not such as point as Season 11. In fact, Season 9 come across as a good season, on a par with 7 & 8 but maybe a bit more wackier.

It is also noticeable in this season that celebrities started to creep in even more and focusing around the main point of the storylines instead of just simple camoes, one of the factors which lead to the Simpsons's downfall. Also the characters started to change as well, Homer felt more out of character, shifting from a dumb-but nice family man to an more selfish and loud-mouthed lazyabout and Bart becoming less of an complex character to more of an typical brat. Besides all this, good episodes are sure to be found with the likes of "Miracle of Evergreen Terrace", "Bart Star", "The Cartridge Family", "All Singing, All Dancing" and "Realty Bites".

However though, the number of poor episodes are up on last season, with duds like "Lisa the Simpson", "The Last Temptation of Krust", "Girly Edition" and "This Little Wiggy".

All in all through, I have to say that Season 9 was not one of the Simpsons's best, espicially compared to the likes of 6 and 7 but still an reliable season with a good laugh in mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Season 9 - Starting To Become a Mixed Affair, 2 May 2010
By 
Picard (USS Enterprise) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Simpsons - Season 9 [DVD] (DVD)
As the 'Golden Age' of The Simpsons ended indefinitely with the fantastic Season 8, Season 9 (this product) started the decline and fundamental attributes that make The Simpsons as it is today; an overly wacky, zany affair with less character development. But the quality of the decline seemed to drift on a down-curve, and while the previous Season may well have been the last of the Golden Age, Season 9 is still a good affair compared to later efforts.

The only problem with purchasing these more mixed affairs is that they don't appear as good value for money when you're only to re-run particular favourites, rather than all the episodes. It's annoying, but there really is little way to get around it. The Simpsons was starting to become the very thing it had always avoided; a typical cartoon. Episodes include:

The City of New York vs. Homer Simpson
The Principal and the Pauper
Lisa's Sax
Treehouse of Horror VIII
The Cartridge Family
Bart Star
The Two Mrs. Nahasapeemapetilons
Lisa the Skeptic
Realty Bites
Miracle on Evergreen Terrace
All Singing, All Dancing
Bart Carny
The Joy of Sect
Das Bus
The Last Temptation of Krust
Dumbbell Indemnity
Lisa the Simpson
This Little Wiggy
Simpson Tide
The Trouble with Trillions
Girly Edition
Trash of the Titans
King of the Hill
Lost Our Lisa
Natural Born Kissers

Arguably, the most controversial episode of this Season (and possibly, one of the most controversial of The Simpsons history) is "The Principal and the Pauper", which see's Seymour Skinner apparently having a fake identity... His 'real' identity being Armin Tamzarian. Episodes like this are not only completely unnecessary, but they end with more questions than answers - something on a running theme for future episodes. "Miracle on Evergreen Terrace", "Bart Carny" "Das Bus" and more take another negative angle by distancing themsevles too far from the traditional mode of The Simpsons, with their often poor gags and ridiculous scenes. Again, it's still a mixed affair, but you'll just need to ask whether it's worth paying out for.

Highlights of this Season include "Lisa the Simpson", in which Lisa questions her identity after being feared into believing their is such thing as a 'Simpson' gene that makes the family dumber as time goes on. Episodes like this are more of a step back to the classics, along with "This Little Wiggy", "Lost our Lisa" (an excellent episode for Lisa and Homers bond) and "Natural Born Kissers" - a more modern, but ultimately daring episode that is likely, I dare say, "the" last classic Simpsons episodes. Funnily enough, its on the last DVD and its the last episode of it too.

In short, I would question the value of buying this brand new, but to those who aren't concerned about the cost (you lucky bunch!), this is a descent purchase if you're collecting the best of The Simpsons. From here on, the trend of quality only continues to decline...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars With series 9 we get the best run of episodes ever, 5 July 2010
By 
This review is from: The Simpsons - Season 9 [DVD] (DVD)
This is the last series of the simpsons where the quality is consistent throughout the run, after which the episodes are very hit and miss. With series 9 we get the best run of episodes ever. The stand out ones include: The city of new york vs. Homer simpson, treehouse of horror viii, the cartridge family, the two mrs. Nahasapeemapetilons, lisa the skeptic, dumbbell indemnity and trash of the titans and while the remainders are not as memorable, they are still better than most of the later offerings. My favourite episode of the simpsons is also present within this series, with it being dumbbell indemnity - in which homer is asked to 'steal' moe's car - this is because it contains one of the best visual scenes in the show, where homer jumps out of moe's car, roles over a rock and is forced back into it as it goes over the edge of the cliff. Series 9 also has some great gags - the motorboat one spring to mind. As well as this there are some good lines by homer himself, these include:'That's it i am getting out of this city alive even if it kills me''Wow that was a nice candy bar i wish i was eating another one right now (sees apu and apu's mother arrive at the simpson's house) oh crap!''Now can i please have my motorboat''Oh i don't know marge trying is the 1st step towards failure''Where's christmas? (Starts to weep) lisa where's christmas?''Oh they have the internet on computers now!''Must kill moe!! Weeeee!! Must kill moe!!!!'And my favourite of the lot:'(Sings) up, up and away in my beautiful, my beautiful motorboat, da, da, da, da.'
In all; if you don't own this and you like the simpsons then you should buy it, it's definitely worth a watch, well if i am honest more than one watch - it's so good. Now before i ramble some more i will end this review as my boating arm is starting to hurt!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well Pleased, 17 Dec 2011
By 
Mr. K. Morley (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Goods arrived very quickly and were exactly what was ordered and at a great price I will be ordering more in this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 32 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A turning point for the show, but looks to be an excellent DVD set., 20 Dec 2006
This review is from: The Simpsons - Season 9 [DVD] (DVD)
As a long-term big fan of the Simpsons, the ninth season marks somewhat of a turning point for the show in my opinion. I believe this is the season where many of the show's initial self-imposed standards started to slip. Characters began acting more and more out of character (the origins of Homer's current "selfish and fairly nasty" personality began to seep through here, moving away from his much funnier "complete idiot" personality of prior seasons).

However, it's still a very good season with many of the show's fantastic qualities of the mid 90s still apparent. Save for a few episodes, it's pretty much season 7 or 8 but a little wackier.

As another reviewer mentioned, lets hope the episodes remain intact, as some cuts were made after 9/11 (such as "The City of New York Vs. Homer Simpson" being pulled off the air for a while).

As for the DVD set itself, excellent as usual. I for one am happy with the current rate of releases, as the standards have been kept extremely high. We're treated to the usual "official" archiving of rare clips like adverts that most UK fans won't have seen. And not many other shows go through the trouble of recording an interesting commentary for each and every episode. Take the South Park sets for example. Very sparse on special features, despite the large amount of short specials for the show (especially between 1997 and 2000).

Overall, a very good season and another great release from Fox.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, 29 Jun 2014
my daughter love these dvd heads there very reasonably priced and come packaged well we will be adding more to her collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great good value, 14 Jun 2014
By 
Tw "Thomas" (Essex, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am very pleased with this product, it was the last that i had to add to my collection and it has served it purpose, dont be put off by the price it is very good value for money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Simpsons Season Nine: Still Good, 2 Feb 2014
By 
This review is from: The Simpsons - Season 9 [DVD] (DVD)
Season Nine isn't perhaps as funny as previous seasons. You won't chuckle as much. But there are still some great episodes, like The City of New York vs. Homer Simpson, Treehouse of Horror VIII, Girly Edition and Natural Born Kissers. Most episodes are good, but some are slightly poor with episodes like The Principal and the Pauper and This Little Wiggy, but the series is good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Must see, 29 Jan 2014
By 
George Adamides (Cyprus) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Always perfect. If you haven't seen The Simpsons family you haven't experience the world of art, completely. For me The Simpsons, is fine art.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Xmas pressies I know she'll love -, 17 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Simpsons - Season 9 [DVD] (DVD)
And another part of the season collecting - I know what we'll be doing this xmas - Roll on Simpsons !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Simpsons - Season 9 [DVD]
The Simpsons - Season 9 [DVD] by Dan Castellaneta (DVD - 2007)
11.25
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews