Customer Reviews


63 Reviews
5 star:
 (48)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's all there
Very neat with all the options included for different thread sizes etc. Fits easily onto the Konig Lightstand. Very solid product -only just received it so can't vouch for durability but it looks promising
Published on 16 April 2009 by jim_50

versus
21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Tough but could be improved
Very solidly built - and heavy with it. Just to be clear on a few things: there is no flash hot shoe included, you need one to mount a flash on the brass threads. Also, the photo of the item is shown here upside down - the silver T-bar goes at the top. On that subject, it's an oddly fiddly solution, a second black handle would be much neater, or I have seen a blog post...
Published on 22 Feb 2010 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's all there, 16 April 2009
By 
jim_50 (Redhill, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Manfrotto 026 Lite Tite Swivel + Umbrella Adaptor (Accessory)
Very neat with all the options included for different thread sizes etc. Fits easily onto the Konig Lightstand. Very solid product -only just received it so can't vouch for durability but it looks promising
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Substantial device, 20 Feb 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Manfrotto 026 Lite Tite Swivel + Umbrella Adaptor (Accessory)
Sometimes it is true in that you get what you pay for. I needed a stand and flash holder for the portraits I was going to do. I didn't want to invest too much for something that I may use infrequently. I wanted to get something strong and that was going to last. After some research I went for this Manfrotto Adaptor. Is it worth the extra over a cheaper device?

Yes! The construction is substantial and feels very solid. There is a lot of weight in the device both in the main body and all the levers and knobs. It doesn't use a ball joint which makes it easy to tighten in position. True a ball joint would be easy to position and aim but this device give you a lot of confidence about it staying put. There are two brass adapters that are for mounting different threaded devices on top or for mounting the adapter on a stand.
This is well worth the extra money over a cheaper device. Though I haven't used it yet in anger I feel very confident about it doing what I want and not having to worry about if it is going to move and see the flash unit hit the floor because it has failed. Well worth considering.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very substantial, good quality product, 3 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Manfrotto 026 Lite Tite Swivel + Umbrella Adaptor (Accessory)
I've had a few of these type of things, they are usually plastic, usually break - I've even broken some of the metal ones!

The only piece of plastic on this Manfrotto adapter is the screw handle for the stand and umbrella mount, but even they are top quality strong plastic and I have no fears of it breaking at all.

Be aware though that this is HEAVY! It isn't a lightweight bit of kit to be carried around everywhere, if you've got three stands and three of these, you're soon going to know about it! The upside to that though is that it will last forever and you won't be buying three or four replacements as you do with the cheaper versions. The others might be half of even a third of the price, but when you have to replace them for the second and third time, you might as well just have bought the best to start with!

It comes with the two plugs shown in the photo on Amazon, which are useful and have all the necessary standard sized studs or screws that you may need for lighting, meaning you can fit it to pretty much anything!

It clamps up easily with the large handles making it easy to tighten and loosen off again afterwards, all with a good solid positive feel and no wobble, strong enough to hold even the largest of umbrellas or softboxes.

A great bit of quality kit, highly recommended if you're going to use this type of adapter more than about twice a year!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reassuringly Expensive, 20 Nov 2012
By 
Paul - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Manfrotto 026 Lite Tite Swivel + Umbrella Adaptor (Accessory)
Currently the product description states that it is New, Black & Aluminum. I will attempt the difficult task of being more helpful than this.

Firstly after removing them from the plastic carton packaging, I say 'them' because I bought two, they felt really solid. Weighing in at 406 grams each, that's nearly an extra kilogram of weight to be carrying. I previously used cheapo plastic brackets which were very lightweight but didn't feel very secure and struggled with heavy loads (ie. Softbox & Flashgun) These looked much better, and I have a lot of faith in Manfrotto gear as I've yet to be let down by them and I always appreciate their build quality.

It's basically a bracket double ended with a 5/8" female mount (with tightening locks) with a lockable hinge in the middle, an umbrella hole and tightener screw and then 2 (possibly brass) adaptors of 1/4" and 3/8" mounts. One is all female and the other is all male. Each locking mechanism holds the bracket very tight. I use it with a Lastolite Ezybox 60cm hotshoe softbox with Nikon SB910's mounted and it holds them solid as a rock. I have never attached lighting units to it however I reckon that it would hold some moderate light heads. Heavier dedicated light heads would come with their own mounts and stands anyway.

I combine the brass adaptors together and the Manfrotto bracket then tightens onto my light stand, and the top of the bracket tightens onto the brass adaptors which I then secure my softbox and flash mount to the protruding area of the brass adaptors. A solid set up, reassuringly solid and I initially scoffed at the price, went elsewhere, learned my lesson and then came back to these. I could have save 14 by just buying these first and not using cheapo chinese mounts. I learn the hard way, 5 stars for this product, heftily recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Tough but could be improved, 22 Feb 2010
This review is from: Manfrotto 026 Lite Tite Swivel + Umbrella Adaptor (Accessory)
Very solidly built - and heavy with it. Just to be clear on a few things: there is no flash hot shoe included, you need one to mount a flash on the brass threads. Also, the photo of the item is shown here upside down - the silver T-bar goes at the top. On that subject, it's an oddly fiddly solution, a second black handle would be much neater, or I have seen a blog post recommending a wing screw. Worth knowing (nothing tells you): the black handle is cleverly spring-loaded so you can pull it out and rotate it to a more convenient position *without* loosening or tightening its thread.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Substantial brolly adaptor, suitable for Strobist type work, 20 Aug 2012
By 
Martin Turner "Martin Turner" (Marlcliff, Warwickshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Manfrotto 026 Lite Tite Swivel + Umbrella Adaptor (Accessory)
This is a classic Manfrotto brolly adapter, solidly built in coated aluminium, allowing the brolly to tilt freely in relation to the stand, at a fixed angle to the light, complete with studs to mount on a light stand and to mount a light above, either tripod mount or light mount.

I use these with Nikon SB-800 Speedlights, which have built in off-camera synchronisation and come with tripod adapters, but nothing to mount brollies on. If you are using them with off-camera flash-guns and the guns don't have hot-shoe to tripod or stand adapters, then you will need a tripod to hot shoe adapter. You may be best getting an Hama Slave Unit Hot Shoe Contact or similar which will act both as an optical trigger and a hot shoe adapter.

Note that these only really work with flash guns which have tilting heads, as otherwise you won't be able to get the flash gun and the brolly at the correct angle.

You could use these with studio lights as well -- they are certainly sturdy enough -- but most studio lights already come with brolly slots, so this should not be necessary unless you are doing something weird and wonderful.

This is a real workhorse, and has never let me down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy it, you won't be disappointed., 26 April 2009
By 
D. W. Baggs "Baggage" (Reading, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Manfrotto 026 Lite Tite Swivel + Umbrella Adaptor (Accessory)
Nothing to say that hasn't already been said. It's a great product, well worth the 20 i paid for it.
Don't bother getting the cheaper, lower quality items. It's rock solid, relatively light-weight and it'll last forever. I've dropped mine, smashed it into door frames, but due to it's all-metal construction, it's fine.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but not great, 10 Dec 2012
By 
Rebble (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Manfrotto 026 Lite Tite Swivel + Umbrella Adaptor (Accessory)
I bought this to allow for the attachment of an umbrella and hot shoe strobe to light stand I had.

Overall it's very robust however the locking handle/lever accounts for a lot of weight which I replaced with a glass fibre example and the tommy bar is a pain to use which I replaced with a star knob of equivlaent thread size. I shed a lot of weight off the whole assembley by doing so.

The design is not particularly well thought out.

I purchased and equivalent Photix product from the USA which has a lock nut for the flash shoe which makes for more secure attachment than the Manfrotto.

So it's OK but not great. Shedding the standard fasteners for after market versions makes for a lighter and just as secure mounting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Manfrotto Adaptor works well, 1 Aug 2010
This review is from: Manfrotto 026 Lite Tite Swivel + Umbrella Adaptor (Accessory)
Very useful adaptor. I work for the UK national press, and need to set up flash-on-stand set-ups in a short space of time. When I cannot use my Bowens light system, I use SB800 Nikon flashes on these adaptors on my lightweight stands, and put up brollies.

You can achieve a mini studio within a few minutes, and the swivel head allows you to easily direct the light.

You can also quickly slip a brolly into the set up, and shoot either through it or use as reflector.

Used this, with a white brolly as refector, in a twenty minute shoot with Sir Terry Pratchett (top UK author) for The Times earlier this year. Enabled me to work fast, combined with another SB800 with blue gel as a side light, and tiny bit of on-camera flash.
Made the front page pic.

So all in all, a very flexible adaptor, built to last, and I now have three on the go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality, 6 May 2012
This review is from: Manfrotto 026 Lite Tite Swivel + Umbrella Adaptor (Accessory)
Very good quality. Solid built. Will last forever . Does the trick. Will fit a light stand or a tripod with big or small screw. Remote flash receiver fits on it no problem. The hole for the brolly is big and will accomodate large or very small brollies. It is is fitted with tightening screws that will not break. Will buy a second one very soon. Don't by the cheap plastic ones. Get this product you won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews