Customer Reviews


67 Reviews
5 star:
 (55)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding
This game is just outstanding in every way. I have never seen or played a game like this before. This game should, and probably will, be a classic

What is the most striking about this game is the animation. It's absolutely stunning. The theme is a Japanese painting with the images in close range in full, dazzling colour and the mountains in the background no...
Published on 19 Feb 2007 by Reader

versus
9 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Brush Strokes
I had been very eager to buy this game and rushed out to buy it last week. My initial impression is that the graphics, the water-colours, are superb. When you remove the curse in a location the colour comes back to the land and the effect is pleasantly surprising, beautiful in fact. The brush stroke concept is original but I find it quite annoying. Bascially you draw what...
Published on 12 Feb 2007 by J. A. Samson


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, 19 Feb 2007
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Okami (PS2) (Video Game)
This game is just outstanding in every way. I have never seen or played a game like this before. This game should, and probably will, be a classic

What is the most striking about this game is the animation. It's absolutely stunning. The theme is a Japanese painting with the images in close range in full, dazzling colour and the mountains in the background no more than a brush stroke in the sky. The music is traditionally Japanese and fits the game perfectly. The word beautiful might appear a few times in this review but there really is no better word to describe everything about this game.

You play the white wolf God, Amaterasu, revived from her divine slumber to kill the evil monster who has covered the land with darkness. With the bug Issun for company (who is actually only there to learn brush techniques) you set out to rid the land of Ippon of evil.

Combat is in two forms. One is weapon equipped on Amaterasu's back. She used this is a primary battle weapon to stun her opponents. As they become stunned, Amaterasu can then use her Celestial Brush to finish them off. Brush techniques such as power slash also divide rocks blocking your way, or cut down annoyingly possessed trees. There are 12 brush techniques to learn and in so doing you are almost in complete control of shaping the environment. Don't like it being nighttime? Draw the sun in the sky and brighten the place up. Found a withered tree? Give it a brush and watch cherry blossom appear.

The Celestial Brush technique is the basis for the game. As well as a battle technique and the method of moving the game forward, it also opens up side quests such as feeding the animals. As a girl this was something I particularly liked. The more animals you feed, the more praise points you obtain to power up your stats. Plus a nice touch is having the animals you've fed have little hearts float around you when you go near them.

Combat is at times quite easy, it must be said. Once you've established the best technique for dealing with certain enemies, fighting them is pretty easy. The environments at huge although you have a map and Issun to help you keep your bearings.

My Playstation hasn't had any problems playing this disc but some people who have reviewed it have encountered problems. Found the transition between layers very smooth. Even if it did jump a bit I don't think I'd mind. This game is just truly outstanding. If it doesn't take off soon I think it will be similar to Ico. Eventually people will realise that it's a complete gem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely amazing: a must buy!, 11 Feb 2007
By 
Ms. J. A. Jacobs (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Okami (PS2) (Video Game)
Okami is a 3D role-playing platformer, in which you take control of Amaterasu, a white wolf god, who must journey to both defeat the evil god Orochi and restore the land to its former glory.

The graphics are stunning; since the game is based on Japanese mythology, the animation is a combination of Japanese brush prints and a cartoon, and is incredibly smooth and colourful without being particularly cute. The screenshots really don't do it justice.

As Amaterasu, you are free to explore a 3D world at your own pace, helping villagers, fighting monsters and rebuilding the landscape. Aside from the usual finding and offering of a hidden object, since Amaterasu is a wolf god she has magical powers, the most entertaining being the 'celestial brush stroke' - with a large paint brush you can make dead trees blossom, rebuild bridges and split enemies and rocks in half. You can even draw a circle in the night sky to create a sun and hey presto, it's daytime again.

You can interact with villagers, whose reactions and needs change according to the time of day and on which areas you've been to, and as you do so you accumulate faith spheres which enhance your power. Other gods from Japanese folklore also lend a hand, appearing as constellations in the sky and coming to life as you wield the celestial brush.

There are also plenty of monsters, either jumping out as bosses or appearing on the horizon as green scrolls - which you can avoid or fight by choice.

This really is a great game; you spend ages wandering around just exploring your surroundings and as you learn new skills you can return to old areas and uncover new secrets. You also learn techniques as you play with the help of tiny sidekick Issun, so no labouring through the manual with this one.

The only complaint I have about this game - and it's a rather trivial one at that - is the narration and character voices. The speech is subtitled of course, but the characters talk a bit like Bill and Ben and it can be rather annoying when there's a long dialogue, with the introduction for instance. I would rather they had left it silent, as with older Final Fantasy games, or left in the Japanese, assuming they recorded any voices to start with.

That aside, this is an excellent game for all ages, not too fiddly and difficult, the graphics are superb, and with a giant 3D world to explore and alter with magic it will keep you entertained for hours. Without a doubt the best game I have ever played on Playstation 2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A stunning display of what the Playstation 2 can still do, 22 Mar 2007
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Okami (PS2) (Video Game)
Okami is very similar to Zelda, gameplay-wise. You solve puzzles, help people and use an array of nifty combat and transport abilities which are obtained progressively throughout the game. Like Zelda, the game has a fantastic, mythological plot with its own legends and ancient characters. All the main characters in Okami are reincarnations of ancient, legendary heroes and villains. However, what's so brilliant about Okami is that these legends are genuine Japanese cultural stories, hundreds of years old and steeped in the elemental, natural mythology of Japan. The art style complements this Japanese feel perfectly, with Kanji script all over the place and calligraphic brush strokes used to draw every object in the game.

Okami's real gimmick is the way that you can draw onto the world yourself, as the player. With a touch of the button, the world is transformed into a parchment version which can be painted onto directly to solve puzzles or destroy enemies. It's a novel touch which works well and, along with the distinctive graphical style and characters, goes a long way to differentiating Okami from Zelda, the series it clearly owes so much to.

My only criticism of Okami is that it is a very long game and can feel overwhelming at times as there are so many subquests to keep in mind and characters to remember. This is why I have not given it the full five stars for "fun" - because at times the gameplay is more like a good book or film, you wouldn't really say you're having "fun", more that you're very engrossed. The game is not needlessly long, no sections feel like filler, and there's no denying that it's excellent value for money. I just felt that I was spending so much time appreciating the environments and experimenting with each new skill and ability that my progress through the game was rather slow and I didn't have much time to play or do anything else! Like all truly great titles, Okami monopolises your gaming time until you're really through to the end. Just as it should be.

As a final word, I should just return to the title of this review and repeat that the game does look incredible for a PS2 title. Although it's tempting to think the Xbox360 and Playstation 3 make the original PS2's graphics obsolete, Okami shows just how much more important style is than mere hardware, polygon-pushing power. Stunning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Beautiful Game, 15 Feb 2008
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Okami (PS2) (Video Game)
I bought this game as a leap of faith. A friend had raved about it and I decided to trust her judgement. At the time, I was looking for something a bit deeper to play on my PS2, something to get involved in.
With this game I found it.
Right from the opening 'gibberish' (subtitled) narration to the last great boss battle some sixty or so hours later, I was thrilled, moved, amused and enchanted by this amazing game.
You play the God(ess) Amaterasu, in wolf form, and you must awaken from a hundred year slumber to rid the world of an ancient evil that has been unleashed.
Your main tool is the Celestial Brush. This serves as a weapon, but also as a means to manipulate the environment. You can slice enemies in two with it, or you can turn night into day. As you progress on your adventure, you will learn more brush techniques to help you on your way. The control system for the brush is easy to pick up, as are the other controls that you must get to grips with.
You are accompanied on your quest by the little 'bug' Issun. He will give you hints and flesh out the story as you traverse the land. You will also meet many other characters who can offer information or quests and others who can sell you goods such as health items and will purchase any treasure items you have collected.
Your character can be upgraded by collecting 'praise' which you receive whenever you do a good deed, complete a quest, feed animals or restore parts of the ravaged land to their former state.
This game isn't the hardest game out there and this is the main critcism of it in reviews I have seen. The main adventure is fairly easy for the seasoned gamer (although lengthy) to complete and, if you get lost, there are plenty of hints to help you on your way. There are lots of side quest, things to collect and other diversions, though. You have no time to get bored here.
Visually, I don't think I've seen a more beautiful game on the PS2 and the music perfectly fits each event and locality.
The storyline, as I have previously mentioned, is by turns funny, moving and tragic and features many characters from Japanese Shinto mythology.
The 12+ Pegi rating reflects some of the slightly raunchy humour, of the 'Carry On' variety, that is in parts of the game.
I have played it through once and have just started another game. After a short break, I wanted to be in Nippon in the company of Amaterasu again.
Oddly, this game sold more in the US than it did in Japan. Sadly, the company who made the game, Clover, no longer exists. It's unlikely there will be a sequel, more's the pity, but I gather a Wii version is on the way.
In summary, if you want something different and involving from your gaming experience, you could do much worse than pick up a copy of this overlooked gem of a game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must-have for any gamer, 24 Oct 2007
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Okami (PS2) (Video Game)
Initially, I thought this game was nothing to get excited about, it just sat there on the shelf next to the millionth FIFA game and some rubbish film-tie in. How wrong I was.

You see, Okami is something special, I'm just kicking myself about the fact I never looked into it sooner, as it's turned out to be one of my favorite games of all time. A classification, I can assure you, I don't use lightly.

You'll be forgiven for being slightly cautious about purchasing the game; after all, I'd say it's for more open minded gamers. If you're a casual gamer, who buys every football game out there and think the GTA series is God's gift to mankind, then it might not be for you. However, to the rest of you, read closely and get your money ready.

Plot and lifespan: The game is set in Ancient Japan, in a place called Nippon. The Wolf-God, Amaterasu (who you play as) is brought back to 'life' after the Dragon Demon Orochi, is causing a bit of bother. Amaterasu had previously beaten Orochi 100 years before the game is set, with a man called Nagi, who is long dead. So Amaterasu now has to finish the job properly, with the help of Issun, The wandering artist.
Yes, it's complex, it's Japanese after all. However, you'll soon understand the plot and remember the complex names of characters, or at least something that sounds like their name. You should be warned, that the plot does get even more complex as you go along, so lazy gamers who want to mindlessly push buttons may want to get back to their film-tie in games (yes, I hate the majority of them). The game's lifespan is partly the reason why it's got such a good rating. I thoroughly enjoyed the game as I was playing, but was always worried that I was getting near the end. It's a 60 hour game folks, give or take a few hours. This will keep you playing for a long time.

Gameplay: Anyone who's a fan of the Legend of Zelda series will notice the similarities, Clover studios (R.I.P) did state they were influenced by it at one point I think. Anyone who hasn't experienced the Zelda series, (quick, there's still time!) the game is a mixture of adventure and exploration of the large game-world and puzzle solving. Battles have RPG elements in that they are represented by flying carpets in the main world, contact with these will make a battle arena and the real-time battle will start. It gets slightly repetitive, but money and the choice to avoid most battles in the first place makes up for it. So you're not forced into countless brawls.
Okami also has a unique game mechanic dubbed the "Celestial Brush" which let's you pause the game and action, use a brush to draw onto the game screen, making certain things happen, for example, drawing a straight line across a tree would chop it in a half. This makes the game much more interactive and is essential for the game to progress and to kill various enemies. You'll get more and better abilities as the game proceeds.
A minor gameplay element is fishing, but I found it very enjoyable and addictive, you draw a fishing line from the rod to the fish, and then pull using the analogue stick, trying not to pull to hard or too softly. Not the most innovative part of the game but it's a great break from the adventure and you can do it for hours at a time, catching bigger fish as you progress and selling them at a shop for lots of money.
One drawback of the game, which becomes apparent if you're a more experienced gamer, is the difficulty. I died only once in the game and had something to revive me even then. It's really easy, and Issun, your helper, sometimes gives obvious information away when you'd rather work it out yourself. However, the game is still extremely enjoyable, whereas it isn't the challenge that will make you play on, the deep plot and it's overall quality will.

Graphics: You'll notice instantly that Okami has a different approach to how the game looks. The, frankly gorgeous, cel-shaded visuals provide an experience in itself. When first playing the game, it actually looks like you're looking into a painting. The Japanese art style looks so good you expect it to be hanging from a frame. Those looking for uber realistic visuals won't find it here, but it's purely and fantastically artistic look is easy on the eyes and looks 'right'.

In conclusion, I highly recommend Okami, it's emotional and deep plot keeps your interest as well as the stunning, artistic graphics. Whereas, initially you might think it as a serious game, it is, but has a really good sense of humor and sometimes it's laugh-out-loud, especially when you meet "Busty babe" I'll say no more on that. The gameplay is solid, the musical score is excellent and despite the easy difficulty, it's highly enjoyable. You must experience this game.

I'm reviewing the PS2 version; however, apparently a Wii version is being released at some point, so Wii owners may want to wait for that. Otherwise, Okami, buy it, play it, love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars looks like nothing else, 18 Jun 2007
By 
J. Molineaux (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Okami (PS2) (Video Game)
okami looks and plays like no other ps2 game. It's simply beautiful and not too fast to play so great if you're not as reactive as you should be. You fight using brushstrokes. There are puzzles as well. The game isn't linear but you move backwards and forwards through different parts depending on what powers you've acquired. If you're bored with the usual violent shoot-em-ups then try this. It has fights, quite a lot in fact but the graphic style doesn't show bloodshed. My 8 yr old loves it as much as I do. If you only buy one good game then this is it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most beautiful game you will ever see., 9 Jun 2007
By 
Mr. Od Smith "d2kvirus" (Coulsdon, Surrey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Okami (PS2) (Video Game)
As the PS2 slowly but surely fades into the background, it's good to see a game like Okami show that the old dog still has a whole lot of tricks to show us - pun not intended.

It's hard to pitch the game as such, it's sort of a God sim, RPG, platformer and Paintshop rolled into one gorgeous whole as you control the wolf God Amaterasu through Feudal Japan, rendered in a style reminiscent of Japanese watercolours, to dispel a curse from the land with the aid of Issun, a wandering artist the size of a bug, using the celestial brush to restore the land to the way it was. See, I told you it was hard to place.

Roaming around the curse-free areas, you can explore and find treasure, feed the animals to gain praise (which helps you level up) or help people in need in order to gain praise and further the plot. You can also face enemies in a manner like Final Fantasy XII - if you stay far enough away, they won't fight you: if you don't, you're in a random battle away from the map.

The game looks incredible, though - the ukiyo-e influenced graphics may not be photorealistic, but they evoke the feel the game is going for and add to the game's charm, as well as working with the sumi-e styled celestial brush techniques (traditional Japanese music also plays as background music). The characters are also amusingly drawn out with their mannerisms and dialogue (although the nonsensical speech can grate at times).

In all, Okami is very playable and you will be drawn into the game by its mix of action, exploration, humour and unique art style that is a rewarding experience, and there is always more things to find the next time you play through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Joy., 2 April 2007
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Okami (PS2) (Video Game)
We've had to wait until the PS2 is on its last legs but finally we get a challenger to Zelda. It's glorious too! You're a Wolf / God, so you can bite people, charge in to them, dig up their Turnips or the floor of their house if you want. Alternatively, use your god powers to revive the cursed land or annoy people with them & go find treasure.

This is the most beautiful game I've ever played. The graphical style is genius & still pics really don't do it justice. It's one of those games which, at times is a bit more like reading a story than playing a game. There are loads of characters to talk to & plenty of side games & missions to complete if you want a break from the main story but the story itself is fascinating. The fishing sub-game is particularly satisfying. I found myself reading about Japanese mythology to get a better understanding of the characters and themes involved.

Gameplay relies on the Celestial Brush a lot (penty of people have explained about the Brush here, so I won't) but it's a lot easier to use than I initially thought it would be & doesn't get in the way of the action. Battles are reasonably simple to begin with but later enemies will require some specific tactics. Fighting without using the Brush is quite basic but the varieity of weapon combinations makes it more interesting & there are bonuses to be won for speed & avoiding enemy blows. Bosses are great too & some are tricky. This is a big game but not as huge as some Final Fantasy titles. I finished in just over 60 hours on my first run-through & I didn't stray from the story very much. I'm playing again to get all treasures, secrets etc. Environments are cleverly used & you have to re-visit many areas multiple times for different tasks or to access previously unreachable rooms, characters, treasure etc. Also, the people you'll meet in Nippon all have very individual personalities & appearances, so despite the vast number of them I never got confused between anyone.

Okami actually made me feel emotionally connected with the game. I often jumped with joy upon gaining weapons or certain items, felt sad at the sad bits & laughed at the comedy moments. It's very rare that a game has that effect on me.

I only noticed a couple of flaws. The most important is that it's a bit too easy sometimes. Your companion 'Issun' tends to give extremely obvious hints to most puzzles or just tells you exactly what to do without giving enough chance to work it out yourself. An advanced difficulty setting would have been great. Also the camera angle occasionally got confusing on some of the platform style bits & I ended up falling off things that take 5 - 10 minutes to climb because of this. Finally, the nonsensical jabbering used instead of speaking bugged me at first until I got used to it. The game rises above all this though & it's quality and unique character shine through.

I don't want to give too much away but Catcall Tower, The Dojo Sensei, Water Dragon & the bit with the Emperor are all classic. This is a top 5 PS2 game & one of the best & most original adventure games ever. Fingers crossed for a even bigger, better PS3 sequel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars awesome, a must buy for this price :P, 7 Feb 2009
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Okami (PS2) (Video Game)
this is an awesome game - it takes getting used to the graphics and the brush but it all comes pretty quickly- its extremely addictive and i spent hours on it at a time :D im not even that much of a gamer! definitly a must! buyyy it nowww
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A MASTERPIECE!, 30 Dec 2008
By 
P. Jackson "Asarta" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Okami (PS2) (Video Game)
In my opinion, this game is one of capcom's greatest inventions. The graphics are stunning(a mix of Japanese watercolour-paints and computer generated effects). The characters each have their own story to tell and are all special in their own way. I would rate this game 10/10 if anyone asked, however, I find the most unique aspect is the atmosphere and the story.

Okami is based on Japanese mythology combined with beautiful illustrations. It is about a god in the form of a white-wolf named 'Amaterasu' and the wolf's journey to restore the once natural land to its original beauty. Amaterasu is accompanied by a tiny artist called 'Issun' who is sometimes very amusing in parts of the game. He is just like a little advisor and throws away many clues to help complete tough quests. Throughout the game you are presented with godly powers to aid you on your quest to defeat the evil that plagued the land. These powers are brush techniques(patterns that you draw on the screen) and help solve puzzles further on in your journey. Once you've mastered all thirteen brush techniques, you can make the sun appear, turn daytime into nightime, even create a bomb to finish off your enemies. There are many side-quests for you to complete and as a word of advice, complete one by one-that way they wont co-incide with each other.

The game is reasonably long and in itself, a puzzle to solve. I find the combat quite straight forward once you get to grips with the powers but the challenges can be very difficult at times. The storyline is richly told through pictures and sometimes it is fun to spend a whole session just on side-quests. There is lots to explore and lots to do so this game doesn't get boring once you think you've finished it!

Overall, this game is a treasure for any gamer and beats Onimusha, Ico and God of War as it is well thought out and does not really have an obvious weakness. Okami is a legend; a legend to be told...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Okami (PS2)
Okami (PS2) by Capcom (PlayStation2)
12.34
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews