Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mastech 5-in-1 Auto-Range Multi-functional Digital Multimeter, MS8229
I own several multimeters and have used them professionally throughout my career. Without exception they have all been capable of measuring certain basic electrical parameters: current (alternating/AC & direct/DC), voltage (alternating/AC & direct/DC), resistance, continuity, transistor/diode checking and optionally capacitance and temperature using an external...
Published 9 months ago by Mr. P. Harvey

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars User guide
I was a little disappointed with the English user guide that was supposed to be inside the box but turned out to be in Chinese which surprisingly I couldn't understand. Is there no way for Amazon to check things like this before sending out the goods.
Published 2 months ago by R.H.Fensome


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mastech 5-in-1 Auto-Range Multi-functional Digital Multimeter, MS8229, 27 Jun 2013
By 
Mr. P. Harvey "Phil" (Cornwall, UNITED KINGDOM) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mastech 5-in-1 Auto-Range Multi-functional Digital Multimeter, MS8229 (Misc.)
I own several multimeters and have used them professionally throughout my career. Without exception they have all been capable of measuring certain basic electrical parameters: current (alternating/AC & direct/DC), voltage (alternating/AC & direct/DC), resistance, continuity, transistor/diode checking and optionally capacitance and temperature using an external probe.

The MS8229 has a feature range that includes all the above features - AS STANDARD - plus relative humidity, frequency, duty cycle, sound level and luminance. And what is more, the accuracy and resolution across all the parameter ranges is highly impressive for a multimeter which cost less than GBP40.00 from Amazon. A few years ago an instrument of this quality would have cost hundreds of Pounds and it would not have included all these features.

A unique feature, at least I have never encountered it before, is the presence of LEDs associated with each of the 4 sockets into which the multimeter probes are inserted. After selecting the parameter using the large knob, the sockets will light up indicating which pair of sockets to use to make the measurement. Furthermore, if a probe is accidentally disconnected during a measurement and audible alarm sounds. No doubt a failsafe feature. As an experienced technician I have no real need for these 'frills' but they are a wonderful aid for the beginner who has never used a multimeter before. It is quoted as being useable with one hand, leaving the other hand free. I believe it.

The MS8229 is large and quite heavy and has a large LCD (with backlighting). It has a chunky feel which suggests it is both strong and durable and made from quality materials.

It is supplied with a couple of probe leads for electrical measurements and a K-type thermocouple for temperature measurement.

I believe it is not a new design and it may have been available since 2009. However, what I find remarkable is that an instrument of this feature-rich design, quality and low cost has not attracted the notice of technicians (amateurs & professionals) long before now. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Value for money, 1 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mastech 5-in-1 Auto-Range Multi-functional Digital Multimeter, MS8229 (Misc.)
This is really value for your money. Nice and sturdy instrument with good precision and a large range of different measurements besides the usual V, A and ohm. The decibel and lux results may not be entirely accurate, but are still very useful. I have for instance used the lux measurement to check the warm-up time of different low-energy lightbulbs. The high-temperature probe is also a big plus. All in all a good buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great DM a must for the workshop and field., 2 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mastech 5-in-1 Auto-Range Multi-functional Digital Multimeter, MS8229 (Misc.)
As an old engineer I have always been drawn back to my faithful AVO 8 but I think at last I may have found a reliable DM which feels tough and workmen like, more than can be said for previous DM's which fail within a year with display and switching range problems. This DM also has extra ranges not normally found an such devices, ignor the fact it is a little chunky its worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Digital Multimeter, 11 Dec 2013
By 
GeoffD (Solihull, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mastech 5-in-1 Auto-Range Multi-functional Digital Multimeter, MS8229 (Misc.)
I am still getting used to this but it appears to be very versatile. Not only does it measure current (AC/DC) and resistance but also decibels, lux, and temperature. The whole thing comes in a rugged case and seems very easy to use. The correct input socket for each setting lights up to avoid mistakes and there are also a number of safety features. The range can be left on automatic or set to manual, which is a useful feature. Unlike my previous meter, this one operates on just 3@AAA batteries which are easy to replace. There is a built in stand and the test lead probes clip into the back of the device, though there is no place for the leads themselves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A decent quality multimeter for a sensible price, 17 April 2013
By 
Alan Laurie (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mastech 5-in-1 Auto-Range Multi-functional Digital Multimeter, MS8229 (Misc.)
My old multimeter died after more than 20 years. Bought a cheap replacement that looked the same as my old one but it was absolute rubbish with inconsistent readings etc. Rather than waste more money on rubbish I went for this and am very pleased. It does more than I require but works well and seems to be a good quality product. A shame it does not come with a case. I keep it in its box, though that is a bit bulky and will not last forever so am on the lookout for a suitable protective case.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First multimeter, 5 Oct 2013
This review is from: Mastech 5-in-1 Auto-Range Multi-functional Digital Multimeter, MS8229 (Misc.)
After doing some web browsing I found this multimeter, it's great for beginners and experts. Very clear display, well made and best of all so easy to use with great functions! Nice and speedy delivery to top it off! Cheers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Digital multimeter, 28 Jun 2013
This review is from: Mastech 5-in-1 Auto-Range Multi-functional Digital Multimeter, MS8229 (Misc.)
Very pleased with the meter.
It has an excellent range of measurements.
Was dispatched quickly and I would definitely buy from this trader again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars User guide, 30 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mastech 5-in-1 Auto-Range Multi-functional Digital Multimeter, MS8229 (Misc.)
I was a little disappointed with the English user guide that was supposed to be inside the box but turned out to be in Chinese which surprisingly I couldn't understand. Is there no way for Amazon to check things like this before sending out the goods.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brother in Law Very Pleased, 3 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mastech 5-in-1 Auto-Range Multi-functional Digital Multimeter, MS8229 (Misc.)
Let me start by saying that I know absolutely nothing about Digital Multimeters but my Brother in law asked for one as a birthday gift and I looked it up to see it had got very poor reviews. So, I went looking for a unit that got very good reviews and the Mastech 5-in-1 Auto-Range Multi-functional Digital Multimeter, MS8229 fitted the bill. I am pleased to say that he was exceedingly pleased when he got as it as it does so much more than the one he suggested. Job done - first class result - could not ask for more except to say that Mastech unit also cost less than his original unit -Bingo!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everything I need, 8 Feb 2013
By 
Hodman (Coventry, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mastech 5-in-1 Auto-Range Multi-functional Digital Multimeter, MS8229 (Misc.)
Excellent value. May not be the most accurate meter but this is all I need. Perfect for general DIY jobs around the house
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa82ea2e8)

This product

Only search this product's reviews