Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant
Its not often that an album comes along that you can listen to over and over again. Arctic monkeys done it with whatever you say i am and now jamie t has done it with panic prevention. His voice, lyrics and beats tie together all that we know from being young and in London. Every song is great and can be listened to over and over again, my personal favourites being dry...
Published on 20 Mar. 2007 by A. Scarce

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Jamie T
I heard a song called "Sticks and Stones" which I thought was very good, but this album is a totally different sound to what I was expecting, I know the song mentioned is from another album but I was still slightly disapointed the sound of the band was so different from that first experience.
Published on 16 Feb. 2013 by Bad Moon Rising


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 20 Mar. 2007
By 
A. Scarce (london) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Panic Prevention (Audio CD)
Its not often that an album comes along that you can listen to over and over again. Arctic monkeys done it with whatever you say i am and now jamie t has done it with panic prevention. His voice, lyrics and beats tie together all that we know from being young and in London. Every song is great and can be listened to over and over again, my personal favourites being dry off your cheeks and so lonely was the ballad.

Panic prevention is a must buy for 2007, can't imagine another album being any better, the album leaves you begging for more. jamie is amazing live and panic prevention seems to capture this spirit, seems like it has just been put together by jamie in his bedroom but sound so so so good that you can tell its a master at work. Will become a classic!!!! Snap one up now and lets make this 21 yr old huge!!!!

*** dont think it is right to keep comparing him to mike skinner there are a few similarities but not many, jamie has tied together all types of music, and should be congratulated for this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A glimpse of his huge potential, 29 Jan. 2007
This review is from: Panic Prevention (Audio CD)
The highly-anticipated debut album from one Jamie Treays lives up to the hype as he produces a style that is entirely unique to him. This album is bound to draw comparisons to The Streets but Jamie manages to sound similar but also expand and experiment with music more than Mike Skinner was able to do on his first album. To pigeon hole Jamie into a category with The Streets would be wrong as his style of music is extraordinary: a mix of ska-punk, hip-hop and a little drum n bass, throw in his lyrics and you get a hugely successful album. However there is so much more to come from Jamie and I am disappointed that some songs didn't make it onto the album such as 'Livin With Betty' and 'New England'.

This album is fantastic and includes a huge variety of songs like the instantly catchy 'If You Got The Money' and 'Sheila. The key to Jamie's style is his ability to sing about real life in a way that is becoming quite common, but he does it in such a way that you think you know exactly what he is talkin about, but on second listen you discover it means something else as well. I think Jamie can be proud of this CD as he has produced one of the most original albums in recent years and although this album may not appeal to the masses, Jamie will continue to produce music his way and gain cult-status and hopefully he will achieve the respect of the masses. This album will be one of the best of 2007 and is an absolute must-have.

P.S. He is fantastic live!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The sound of 2007 (and hopefully many more), 4 May 2007
By 
RobK (Gorleston) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Panic Prevention (Audio CD)
i bought this album based on the 3 great singles. but listening to the album i was amazed that they weren't even the best tracks. song like "salvador" and "so lonely was the ballad" could easily have been released as singles and would have been huge. well worth buying if you are a fan of any type of music
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars nocker, 6 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This boy is just amazing and hits the tracks in such a way that I dont. Think anynbody could ( soooooo street. :-P
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great debut!, 28 Jan. 2007
By 
J. Osborne (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Panic Prevention (Audio CD)
Really loving this album, some great tunes on it, very much a homegrown bedroom sound as opposed to a finely polished studio 'plastic' sounding album. You can almost imagine a live gig in your very house, maybe listening to it through a wall.

Great album, must buy! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars URBAN-INDIE LOVE CHILD, 26 April 2007
By 
R. K. Bhardwaj "JACKNGIN" (BIRMINGHAM, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Panic Prevention (Audio CD)
To start with lets stop the comparison to The Streets, its an insult to Jamie T! This is no novelty act comprising of lyrics no more complex than those found in the back of school boys text books like the streets and neither are the beats.

This album is far more acomplished than that, and would better be described as post-Libertines SKA, or a south-urban Arctic Monkeys. Witty story telling lyrics a la Monkeys, Pete Dohertyesc lazy vocals, London twang nothing like Skinner and some fantastic Hip-Hop and Ska beats with sublime Punk and Indie guitars layered over the top make this album a must have for any UK Hip-Hop or Indie fan, something in itself a major rareity.

A few have played with this format over the past few years but none have succeeded as much as Jamie T or as consistantly through the entire playlist. Without doubt the most complete album since Whatever I say I am... and everything the streets wasn't!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Panic Prevention - JT, 2 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Downloaded Jamie T's album from Amazon MP3 to my phone. Great service with a quick download and no hassle. Downloads in the background whilst you can get on with other stuff and its ready to listen to when you come back to your phone. Love this album, Jamie T is a hero.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best album of the year, already!, 2 Feb. 2007
By 
Master Calum J. Lindsay "Mulac" (Ice Mountain, Pluto) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Panic Prevention (Audio CD)
"Blue Blooded Murder of the English Tongue", goes a low quality recording in the middle of Jamie's claim to fame, the ballad that is "Sheila". Such is the ramshackle, unpredictable nature of London's new favourite poet. Panic Prevention is a barrage of every genre of music imaginable, stripping it of any label or comparison. Stories of drink, drugs, girls, the police and bass guitars set to a mental collection of tunes, each completely different from the next, fill up what is bound to be one of the greatest new acts of the year. The singles (all of which are amazing) are all in there, along with the excellent 'Pacemaker' and beautiful 'Ike and Tina'. A genuine mix, for anybody looking for something that is actually original. Wicked.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing - the music has come back to LONDON!, 27 Feb. 2007
By 
Harry Walker "London" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Panic Prevention (Audio CD)
I first heard this album back before last Christmas. Having known of Jamie T's music for a while I was ecstatic to find that the album has exceeded all expectations I had. This album is truly amazing. Jamie T's ability to mix normal public and normal private life experiences into a down to earth honest fashion makes him a true boy of the 21st century. The tracks on this album are all brilliant. I mean how often do you get an album when literally all the tracks are worth listening too again and again? Hardly ever. Panic Prevention is one such album.

Nice one mate.

H
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, 29 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Panic Prevention (Audio CD)
Nothing wrong with this enjoyed hours of Jamie T would buy again if I didn't already have one! Nice and cheap too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Panic Prevention
Panic Prevention by Jamie T. (Audio CD - 2007)
Click for more info
In stock on July 9, 2015
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews