Customer Reviews


234 Reviews
5 star:
 (137)
4 star:
 (49)
3 star:
 (17)
2 star:
 (12)
1 star:
 (19)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Renew your acquaintance with the Beatles
I've had many Beatles discs on CD, but oddly they've never really been listened to a great deal. The curous flatness that marred other pre-remastered Great Albums like Pink Floyd's Dark Side of the Moon is still there . . . because absolutely incredibly, the Beatles back catalogue has never received this treatment. Until now!

I loved the actual sound of this...
Published on 25 Nov. 2006 by Mr. R. Jordan

versus
18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Is This Really Necessary ?
I'm not sure about this album although it does work amazingly well at times.

Some tracks don't stray far from the originals aside from possibly a slightly different mix and others are spliced up and inserted into other tracks to create a collage of sound.

The opening track 'Because' is very effective because it's not one of the Beatles most...
Published on 23 Nov. 2006 by Jervis


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Renew your acquaintance with the Beatles, 25 Nov. 2006
By 
Mr. R. Jordan (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Love (Audio CD)
I've had many Beatles discs on CD, but oddly they've never really been listened to a great deal. The curous flatness that marred other pre-remastered Great Albums like Pink Floyd's Dark Side of the Moon is still there . . . because absolutely incredibly, the Beatles back catalogue has never received this treatment. Until now!

I loved the actual sound of this album (though not the concept) from he moment I heard it, and the whole thing is fantastic. Just listen to how the first full song 'Get Back' burst out of the speakers as if the Fab Four were right in front of you. This is how they should sound. Throughout the entire album/collage, I was astonished at the clarity, and how I felt like I did the first time I'd heard them.

The level of invention is high, and some of the cheekier song merges bring a smile every time. The backward track 'Gnik Nus' is a little highlight. It could all have gone horribly wrong - like something from the 'Hooked on Classics' franchise or Jive Bunny, but due to the avoidance of Beatlmania tracks (only Help! and I want to hold your hand) that is thankfully avoided.

But 'Love' is the title and concept of this album, and 'fifth Beatle' George Martin (and son) have defined the word to the letter. What struck me when listening to the album all the way through is how important the late George Harrison was to the 'Beatle sound', either in his distinctive vocal harmonies or introduction of Indian instumentation. I think Martin knew this, and though Lennon & McCartney get their fair share, it's the Harrison aspect I was frequenly reminded of and actually moved by. 'While my guitar gently weeps' is stunningly presented in Martin's arrangement, a beautiful moment in an album which is full of lovely sounds. All of which points to the obvious comment made by everyone else - GET THE ORIGINALS REMASTERED!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At last, The Beatles for headphones., 26 Dec. 2006
By 
B. Bayley (Liverpool UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Love (Audio CD)
I've not long been to Vegas on holiday and turned my nose up at the chance to see 'Love' on the Mirage because I don't think I'm a fan of 'Cirque...' and I thought it was going to be set purely to Beatles tracks. On listening to this I realise how wrong I was and now regret not going to see it. George Martin has proved yet again how important he was to the Fabs' success and together he and his son Giles have produced a new Bealtles album. Forget comparisons with other compilations, this does sound like a new album. John Lennon once said that one of the things he liked best about 'I Am The Walrus' was that no matter how many times you listened to it you always heard something new, well here is a 90 minute example of that idea. The best thing of all for me though is that it has all been remixed so that it can be listened to on headphones without having the drums in one ear and the vocals in another etc as was the irritating fashion in the 1960s. If you're a purist and want everything as it was, leave it alone and don't moan about it. If however you have an open mind, buy it and enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Astounding, 30 Nov. 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Astounding in as much as here we are listening to pieces music that were originally produced around 40 years ago and yet still manage to see off the young guns!. The talent of these men was gigantic and all the hyperboyle is for once true. I for one am glad the Beatles never reformed, what else was there to prove or create? They stepped away leaving a legacy that will never be outdone and one that is burned into the history of popular music. The production and clarity of the 5.1 mix is another astonishment and brings decades old music crashing back into life as though it was made yesterday.This album is a wonderful time capsule of brilliant music that still to this day is emulated by musicians worldwide and loved and listened to by millions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 18 Dec. 2006
This review is from: Love (Audio CD)
Don't take any notice of the supposed Beatles fans who give negative reviews to this CD. The point is that the back catalogue + Anthology is already available. This achieves the impossible -- pulling together all that was brilliant about the Beatles -- three of the best songwriters of the 20th century and the most innovative production and arrangements. Most importantly, it demonstrates that they didn't take themselves too seriously -- they all have a go at singing and Ringo features on this collection too. It wins on all counts -- sound quality of classics, innovative combinations of songs. On only one track (Drive My Car/What You're Doing/The Word) does it ever sound a bit like Stars on 45 -- and this is a standout track, reminding listeners of the featured little known McCartney gem. Everyone would like their own favourites featured but there's a limit to what you can get into 80 minutes or so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning, 24 Nov. 2006
By 
JPC (Melbourne, Aust.) - See all my reviews
I must admit I was very sceptical of this release but had read one glowing review after another so decided to invest in the two disc addition. The first disc, a normal cd is fantastic in it's own right. I have heard this album referred to as a "Mash up" and after hearing it I think this paints an inaccurate picture of what it really is. Rather than sounding like a cut and paste mess the songs are largely original and for the most part flow into one another. The 5.1 surround disc is simply stunning with the best recordings of these songs I have heard. I have a DVD player with the ability to play the DVD Audio format therefore realising the full potential of this disc (high resolution) however this disc will still play in a normal DVD video player and offer exceptional sound. The 5.1 mix is messmerising and the clarity combined with the creative mixing (eg birds,dolphins in the background of a few tracks) gives the album a very contemporary feel almost as if it were recorded last week. These tracks sound so good they actually sound like a live recording. In my oppinion this would be one of the best albums this year and without doubt one of the best 5.1 surround discs available.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FAB FAB FAB, 1 Feb. 2007
By 
R. E. Noller "fabsman" (Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Love (Audio CD)
Stop whingeing all you negative reviewers. Yes you are entitled to you opinion, but remember this: NOBODY MADE YOU BUY IT (or in fact listen to it!). If you don't like remixes (and lets face it, publicity was big enough for you to know what you were buying)go back to the originals.

This album is a fabulous example of the Fabs being at the forefront of musical creativity, where they always have been. Their music is the benchmark by which everyone else sets their standards.

In addition, the sound is incredible and shows that their entire back catalogue is crying out to be remastered. Perhaps this will bring us closer to hearing what George Martin heard "All those years ago".

Look elsewhere if you want a track by track review of the album, personally I think it is creative, current and a truly fantastic soundscape. Enjoy!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 7 Feb. 2007
By 
Chuck E (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Love (Audio CD)
I approached this recording with trepidation - it sounded like one of those concepts that could have been hugely underwhelming, but it actually surpasses my hopes.

It's a bit like walking down a corridor filled with Old Masters that have become jaded by dust and familiarity, to find they've been marvellously restored, bringing their vibrant colours back to life and making them as fresh and vivid as the day they were painted.

It also reminds you how immense The Beatles music was, and how lacking in ambition, imagination, wit and sheer musical genius much of what we listen to is. If an album has three or four memorable tracks it stands as a classic. The Beatles produced a string of albums of wall-to-wall perfection.

Love is a brilliant testament to that achievement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars stunning - amazing- unbelievable, 21 Nov. 2006
By 
mariopops "Andy Rogers" (SOLIHULL, WEST MIDLANDS United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
I'm playing this for the third time in 24hours and it is just taking by breath away. Ok I admit I'm a life long Beatles fan and approached this with great caution but you have to hear this to believe it- Think you know all these songs? Think again! You've never heard them like this and in these versions : the normal stereo mix is amazing and well worth buying BUT if you've got a 5.1 sound system on your DVD or whatever then prepare for a real sound experience as George Martin and his son Giles stupendous and clever mix takes you right into the heart of the music. I can't praise this highly enough.Simpy, this is stunning- Just order it and really get yourself into the Beatles as never before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sparkling!, 29 Dec. 2006
By 
Mr. K (Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
This has to be the best album out at present! It as an absolute joy to listen to. The surround sound really brings all of these songs to a new level transporting the sounds to three dimensions. No. 6 "I want to hold your hand" has screaming in it which reminds me of the performance The Beatles did in USA with HELP! when the audience were screaming almost louder than the band! The absolute best tracks I think on this are 10. "being for the benefit of Mr. Kite" bit at the end. I swear, if you close your eyes at the end bit it is just like you are on a merry-go-round and as you whizz past the steam engine pipes the sound bounces from speaker to speaker; just what surround sound was designed for.

Also no 23. "Day in the Life" bit at the end is fantastic too. Trully breathtaking, crank up the volume until your ears bleed. This surround sound even blows Dark Side of The Moon SACD out of the water!

There is just nothing even close to it...Fantastic effort, it's about time The Beatles went 5.1 all the others like the Stones, Eagles and Dylan have. Now all The Beatles need to do is release the entire catalogue on DVD-Audio/SACD, for goodness sake, in a couple of years time we'll have High Definition music DVDs sporting lossless surround sound...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Intriguing... but worth the money?, 4 Mar. 2007
This review is from: Love (Audio CD)
There's no doubt about the care that's gone into this odd but intriguing remix of classic Beatles tracks by George & Giles Martin. And, of course, stripped of the Cirque du Soleil's apparently stunning performance for which it provides the critical backdrop, reviewing it as stand alone music is a bit unfair... but here we are... so, is it worth the money?

Well, first time through it'll probably leave you bemused. So many of the tracks are so etched into our brains that cutting and mixing them together in this way is jarring, occasionally bizarre and, in places, reminiscent of Jive Bunny. But, wait a minute... isn't that mix of "Help" much clearer than you remember... isn't that combination of the backbeat from "Tomorrow Never Knows" over "Within You Without You" just so powerful... hasn't that "out-take" version of "Strawberry Fields Forever" made the hairs on the back of your neck stand on end... and, doesn't the adding of strings to George Harrison's already stunningly beautiful acoustic version of "While My Guitar Gently Weeps" make it even better? Time for another listen...

Sure, some of what's in here only works in the context of a show that you can't see but there's more than enough on offer - more vibrant productions of several classic tracks, fascinating combinations of others and several brilliant, near "total" remakes that only George Martin could dare attempt - to make it work as a "music only" experience. And, once you get past analysing the remixes and sequencings you'll end up starting to play it for what it is... a beautifully produced, clever and at times genuinely exciting celebration of some quite exceptional music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Love
Love by The Beatles (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews