Customer Reviews


62 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars really rather fun
Im about 8 out of 12 levels in now and I must say that this is rather good but not fantastic

story 6/10
So we're terrafoming a new planet to sustain human life- some indegineous creatures (akrid) arnt very happy about it and have proceeded to murder your dad. revenge is in the air... Thats right this is Starship Troopers with snowstorms. The lacklustre...
Published on 21 Jan 2007 by G. Tagg

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Big bosses...big mechs...come hav some!
I like this allot and its weird. Its quite short and fustrating but it rocks mech style. Ok heres the short version....dude on iceplanet out to kill enemy bugs, and there are loads of em...big ones,small ones and huge screen filling jugganaut ones. Its cold so you gotta keep movin and the bugs give off some energy source when you frag em so you gotta keep killin. Its an...
Published on 5 Sep 2007 by Robin G. Symons


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars really rather fun, 21 Jan 2007
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Lost Planet: Extreme Condition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Im about 8 out of 12 levels in now and I must say that this is rather good but not fantastic

story 6/10
So we're terrafoming a new planet to sustain human life- some indegineous creatures (akrid) arnt very happy about it and have proceeded to murder your dad. revenge is in the air... Thats right this is Starship Troopers with snowstorms. The lacklustre story unfolds with a cutscene at the end (and sometimes middle) of each level and in all fairness theyre complete drivle- Amnesia- government conspiracy- there's nothing new here. dont expect to be drawn in by the strory and i would be surprised if you grew any affinity to the chracters.

gameplay 7/10
the game is played from a third person perspective and I must say that its a very well thought out control system which follows the easy to learn/ difficult to master theme. You wont be pressing the wrong buttons at crucial moments and bemoaning your clumsy thumbs.
Its worth baring in mind that this is an arcade style shooter so fans of tactical espionage may be dissappointed- you will have your right index finger glued down on the trigger for large periods and at times you will feel that success is down to luck rather than skill.

Success through levels is often dependent upon your utilisation of VS Suits. These are large mechanoid type walkers with which you can strap large weapons - gattling guns, rocket launchers, laser weapons, shotguns etc. There's nice variation here- some are quick and nimble some slow and powerful and you'll need to think about which weapons to strap to it to best suit the situation. It is very good fun throughout and you'll never feel bored. Challenging without being frustrating.

On the negative side it is extremely linear. There are no alternative routes through levels to aid replay value. Its such an old fashioned style game as well. level based with a boss at the end. I found it frustrating that there are no in-level save points. Each level can take up to an hour to play through, which is about right but i found that i often got stuck on the boss battle at the end but was unable to end my game without having to play through the level again - very frustrating! Also you can quite easily run past most of your enemies and are not forced to fight so you might find yourself asking 'why bother'

graphics 9.5/10
The only reason I dont give it 10 is because its not as good as Gears of War, which is still easily the best. Absolutely superb explosions and snow effects. There's a great variety of environments and scenery, textures and colours and some of the akrid are mamoth and awe inspiring. Truly superb in every sense. Its just a shame that this isnt more of a sandbox type of game so that you could explore more. A slight niggle is that your ever diminishing thermal life bar often means that you cant hang around to admire the view.

sound 9/10
Cant fault the sound either really. The screams and roars of the akrid are perfect and apporiate to the particular cretures size and type. voice acting is more than adequate (even if the hero is a bit to pretty for my liking) missiles fly past your ears and bullets reverberate on your surroundings. theres good echo in indoor environments and it all has a good feel of authenticity.

overall 7.5/10
Ive never been a big fan of arcade shooters. They seem to me a relic of 90's 8-bit consoles but there was enough here to persuade me otherwise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good storyline and an even better multiplayer, 16 Nov 2007
By 
J. Bevan "Jack Bevan" (Hertfordshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Lost Planet: Extreme Condition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
this game mihgt not be up to starders of say gears of war or halo 3 but i think it has a certian quality that you dont see in either the of the games iv just mentioned. some mihgt not see this quality but for the people u do this will certianly be a game you cherish in your xbox 360 collection.
this game has a brilliant story mode that will entertian you for quite a while. fair enough the plot is not exactly plot of the year but it does have its twists which surprise you and the graphics are quite good. the combat system is really good wether your on foot or in a giant robot thing and having this choice of combat through out most of the game is great. the best part of the game i would say is the online multiplayer as maps are somtimes absolutely humungus which much bigger than what you get in GOW or halo3 and the mechanics the games uses make multiplayer a barrel of lauhgs somtimes

the only bad thing about this game is the way it creates multiplayer matches can be frusrtaitng and may take a while but somtimes its worth it and the control layout and is a little diffrent from most shooters and the camara angles came be frustating but thats not somthing that will throw u off the game its just somthing you will get used too so all in all i would say this is worth buying if you like and want a game which is diffrent or unique to other games.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Has alot of variety and a decent multi-player., 26 Aug 2007
By 
Low-Quality (London England) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lost Planet: Extreme Condition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
This game is great fun and full of variety.
You could class this game as a shooter especially when it comes to multi-player.

The controls seem weird at first , but then again that can be said about alot of shooters. Once you've gotten used to them , it's golden.

The single player mode is pretty average and not too exciting if you ask me.

But I have enjoyed playing the multi-player mode of the game very much.

There are a great variety of weapons in this game , including giant mecha/ vehicles which add alot of variety/ strategy and excitement to the game.

Customizing mecha / weapon combinations is a great touch.

I have enjoyed this more, than many of the other multi-player shooters available for the 360 at the moment.

The only thing that lets this game down is sometimes you'll experience this strange lag between players who have a bad ping rate to you.
But that's something that can easily gotten used to. Plus Capcom saying they'll be patching up the multi-player too.

There are also a great number of maps for this game, extra maps can be downloaded for free on the xbox live marketplace.

Fans of shooters might want to try this game out , if they want to try a shooter that's very different.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Next Gen shooter that looks and plays great., 21 Feb 2007
By 
Christopher Maitland "C Maitland" (West Sussex, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Lost Planet: Extreme Condition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I was looking for a decent single player shooter with no real squad based action. Played the Demo from Market place and was hooked. It looks great as expected from a 360 game. It all moves very quickly and when the screen is full of action there is no slow down that I've noticed at all. Have now purchased the full game and I'm loving every minute of it. Most of the games I play are Sports ones but this has changed my mind, and I will certainly be looking for more games in this genre. Yes, this game may of been done before on PS2/Xbox but it's all good Next Gen fun, which is why people enjoy gaming in the first place isn't it. I've yet to try the 'LIVE' experience yet so looking forward to that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply be Amazed!!, 15 Mar 2009
By 
Saf "Safx" (peterborough, england) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Lost Planet: Extreme Condition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
WOW this game is wicked. you will be amazed
this game will have you gripped from the start to the end.
the battles in the game are just awsome. no other words can describe it.
the akrids at most intese set of creatures in any games you are going to see. you kill dozen of them then more will pop even bigger ones.
snow pirated im really stuck on tho.
12 missions bit dissapointing. heard tho you can download additional mission off xbox 360 marketplace . good to hear that.
make sure you only play it time to time cuz you will get to much addicted to it.
overall a wonderful amzing game to be enjoyed....
5/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars || Lost Planet ||, 16 Jan 2007
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Lost Planet: Extreme Condition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Love this game, cant get enough. I would like to add the the review below by "Rincewinds Trunk" is in-accurate. The "timer" that you play with is your thermal energy. As the game is set in -80 conditions and you are often waist high in snow you need warmth to survive. This Thermal energy therefore needs to be constantly topped up, it can be gained by shooting Akrid (the aliens) or blowing up barrels or tanks. The thermal energy is converted into health when you are injured, and when it runs out it simply means your health will stop regenerating. Besides, the thermal energy is easily topped up, the only time it can become an issue is when fighting a boss because you will be hurt so often your T-Energy will keep getting used up as you convert it into health.

Each of the bigger enemies has a weak spot, where their thermal energy is showing (bright orange). Destroy their stash of thermal energy and they freeze to huge ice sculptures that can then be satisfyingly smashed. Logical really.

As mentioned in several of the below reviews Lost Planet has some neat little tricks. Pressing the RB or LB shoulder buttons makes your character's torso spin 90 degrees left or right, a usefull tactic for taking out swarms of enemies attacking you from all sides.

There is also the zipline, allowing you to hook onto walls and ceilings and then zoom towards them. This is really handy for whizzing about the landscape and looks very impressive in multiplayer. I especially like the way you can drop off a ledge and absail down whilst shooting hordes of enemies. Also, the ability to zipline onto enemies, then stick to them blasting away with whatever gun you are currently holding. This can be very useluff for some of the bosses, although i wouldnt advise trying it with the rocket launcher.

I am also a big fan of the VS machines, or "Virtual Suits" - gundam style walking tanks. Each VS has a different ability (hover, turn into a bike, etc) and you can attach weapons found lying on the ground to the arms of your VS. VS is slow, but were designed to work in cold conditions so prolong your T-Energy meaning you survive longer. If your vs is damaged, hop out and you can then rip off one of the weapons (like a 8 ft gattling cannon) and lug it around the landscape blasting away at enemies.

The weapons are pretty good too, with rifles and shotguns, machineguns and rocket launchers, as well as more futuristic weapons such as plasm and energy rifles that dont need ammo but use up a little of your T-energy instead. I particularly like the large selection of grenades, both normal and sticky, as well as disk grenades (thrown for miles like a frisbee), Plasma grenades (disabling VS suits and players), and dummy grenades (multiplayer only) which inflate into human shapes and float across the landscape - the catch is that they appear as human players on the radar, very confusing for any enemies.

The graphics are (as you can expect with an 360) amazing. The aliens are stunning, especially in large numbers, similar to Dead Rising. The closest thing I can compare too is Starship Troopers except on a snowy planet instead of a Desert. I especially like the massive explosions the engulf human and Akrid enemies alike. The human "space pirates" that you encounter will attack in similarly large numbers in an attempt to outwit you, but they also react to the landscape, so if a Big Akrid turns up they will try and kill that first.

Oh yes, the Big Akrids. i would call them bosses, but they are too frequent to be called bosses. They are huge screen-filling monstrosities, Collosus-esque enemies that each require cunning and manouvreability to defeat.

I especially like the way the enemies react to damage, like if a huge armidillo-like Akrid is rolling towards you and an explosion hits it from the side it will buckle, twisting and sliding towards you in a scrambled mess.

The game has no split-screen mode, and you dont get many oppurtunities to fight with your snow pirate comrades, which is a shame. It would be nice to have some team-mates to rely on, if only to see them get eaten in a variety of ways. However multiplayer is arguably the best part of the whole game, allowing you to play 16 people online (its just as fun with 7 or 8 because its easier to communicate) and there are a load of levels and game modes littered with weapons and VS machines. Great fun, and more than makes up for the slightly short single player mode, which can be completed in 7 or 8 hours.

As you can see, I think this game deserves to be justified as one of the most awesome games on the 360 to date, which is why i made such an effort to write an accurate review. I hope it was helpful =D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Big bosses...big mechs...come hav some!, 5 Sep 2007
By 
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Lost Planet: Extreme Condition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I like this allot and its weird. Its quite short and fustrating but it rocks mech style. Ok heres the short version....dude on iceplanet out to kill enemy bugs, and there are loads of em...big ones,small ones and huge screen filling jugganaut ones. Its cold so you gotta keep movin and the bugs give off some energy source when you frag em so you gotta keep killin. Its an old school blaster with spit and polish and just when you get used to rolling around in the snow dodging and shooting everything you spy a mech. These you can man and if you so wish customise their weopons which is cool especially in a full on fire fight. Jump out and grab a mech weopon...use it or attach it to one of two gun rails. Loads of guns and different types of mechs with differnt abilities. The action never stops coz if you stop blastin enemy scum you die. There is no hideing behind stuff and waiting for the enemy to come around that cornor or down that mountain side. You have to lock and load and just waid right in to the killing zone.The bosses are gorgous and if you can get this on the cheap then its a good weekend of intense pest control. More of a game to fill your time before you buy something really great....Bioshock probably. Honestly if you want a game that makes you feel like you have your bits in a blender then try this...its a rush.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Some people are too picky, 12 Jun 2007
By 
D. Johnson "oldplayer" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Lost Planet: Extreme Condition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Just don't understand some people. This game is excellent.

Fantastic graphics. Superb game play and the in game animations are there just to give you a sense of story line.

At least you don't have to start right from the begining again if you die. And the Bosses are awsome if a little frustrating to kill.

Overall I feel my money was well spent on this game and I have had hours and hours of game play and I'm only on mission 6.

It's coming down in price now and you would be crazy not to have this game in your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great solo, awesome online., 20 Jan 2007
By 
J. Anderson "XBL - MrTheFish" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Lost Planet: Extreme Condition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Nice game, very pretty, decent weapons, great snow and explosion effects etc etc. You've heard all this before and yes it's all true. A really good enjoyable game, brainless visceral combat, gunning down legions of insects and pirates. It's good, sure, it doesn't really disapoint on any level, so long as you turn your brain off.

But the main game just warms you up, gives you a feel for the controls and the basic mechanics of the game. Once you get the hang of how your character handles and what buttons you need to push, go for the multiplayer. Start off slow with a few non ranked matches and have yourself a blast. Human vs Human combat is infinitely more satisfying than the single player campaign, and while that's true for pretty much every game ever made with a multiplayer component, I find it just applies more to Lost Planet. This may be because human players can take a pounding before they die - you really need to lay the fire on thick to kill people. This results in some real tough gritty one on one encounters, especially if both players are equally skilled. And where single player requires brainless mowing down of everything that moves, pvp requires tactics, skill, brains and grenades.... lots of grenades.

There's more sense of achievement in killing one opponent in Lost Planet than single handedly killing an entire team in Gears. And I have to say, taking out players in VS's while your on foot is just about the most satisfying thing in video game history. I say "just about" because coming first with a 0-death score in a ranked match is more satisfying. Oh yes it is.

So yeah, enjoy the mindless single player game, it's a hoot. And once you got the hang of things, (......).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Yeah!, 11 Feb 2007
By 
Steve (Manchester (Salford)) - See all my reviews
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Lost Planet: Extreme Condition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
The Last Capcom title i bought was the dreadfully appauling Dead Rising so i was a little concerned about buying this game. i downloaded the demo off xbox live and the more i played it the more i liked it altho i was never blown away by it.

I bit the bullet and paid my [...]cash for it and I have to say im impressed.. this game is a shooter thru and thru, if it moves then shoot it, if it doesnt move shoot it anyway there is little in this game to tax your brain but its damn good fun. the graphics are great, not upto gears of war standards but still they look good even on a regular TV, the smoke and snow effects are amazing as are the explosions which are the most realistic explosion effects ive seen on a console.

This game is not as good as gears of war but thankfully we are starting to get titles that really do look next gen and that make the gap between xbox and xbox 360 wider... this game is mindless fun and very enjoyable.

NO MORE DEAD RISINGS CAPCOM!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lost Planet: Extreme Condition (Xbox 360)
£14.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews