Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely breathtaking
Seriously, this album will be one of the best I will ever own. I went to the guys show in London when they came for their 2nd ever show and their 1st UK one. Got the t-shirt :). These guys are immense, their first single isnt my favorite of the album but wait until songs such as 'little death' starting being played. These songs are absolutely immense and its great to...
Published on 9 Oct. 2006 by Tricky

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Stop Whining
Searching through Blink 182 albums you'll come across this, +44's debut, when your heart stops beating. Like you, I wanted to see what people thought of it but unfortunately half of the positive reviews resulted in whining about how its better than angels & airwaves. Frankly, that's a pathetic excuse to praise this album. Its clear that A&A isn't necessarily a favourite...
Published on 12 Nov. 2010 by J. Clarke


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely breathtaking, 9 Oct. 2006
This review is from: When Your Heart (Audio CD)
Seriously, this album will be one of the best I will ever own. I went to the guys show in London when they came for their 2nd ever show and their 1st UK one. Got the t-shirt :). These guys are immense, their first single isnt my favorite of the album but wait until songs such as 'little death' starting being played. These songs are absolutely immense and its great to think that all the songs are about Marks life after blink. It's a real album to listen to lyrically as well as the great drumming and guitar work from the others. My view is get hold of their album as these guys will be big. Well I hope so anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Keeps a lot of 'blink182' style in it, 18 Feb. 2007
By 
Jasper Wong "jbywong" (Canterbury, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: When Your Heart Stops Beating (Audio CD)
I quite liked the light-hearted, catchy punk music from Blink 182, so when they went on a 'indefinate haitus' i was rather disappointed. After Angels and Airwaves, which is a completely different kind of music, and boxcar racer, which was a more classical kind of punk, i was rather delighted to see that +44 had come out with a 'continuation of blink's last album' if you may. There are some standout tracks, like 'when your heart stops beating' which is a very good song with perfect singing which goes well with the music. '155' is also rather good, but somewhat similar to 'when your heart stops beating'. 'no it isn't' seems to be a ballad towards the last days of blink 182. Other standout tracks include "Lycathrope' and 'weatherman'. There isn't much filler, and the filler that is there is actually acceptible. this is a solid debut album and they can only get better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very good debut, 13 July 2012
This review is from: When Your Heart Stops Beating (Audio CD)
So this band is basically 'untitled' album era Blink-182 minus Tom Delonge. This album continues with a darker more modern sound, with some great synth work and amazing drums from Travis Barker. It is also lyrically very good with Mark writing some of his darkest ever lyrics. All the songs are good and none are just thrown in as filler. This album is also very creative (especially for a pop-punk band) with some very different sounding songs on it. Where it falls short however I feel is in the guitar work which is very samey and lacking any really strong memorable riffs. It's also a shame that Craig's backing vocals weren't used more.

Song run-through:

1. Lycanthrope 8/10 - Great energetic start to the album. Dark lyrics set up by the first line - 'I wake up at the end of a long, dark, lonely year'. Good chorus with some nice backing vocals by Craig.

2. Baby, Come On 7/10 - A slightly more Blink-182 reminiscent song. Lyrics in the verses are very good but the transition into the chorus is a bit harsh I feel. In general has a very nice melody and the chorus has one of the best lyrics of the album - The past is only the future with the lights on'.

3. When your heart stops beating 9/10 - Very catchy energetic song. A really nice (if not simple) guitar riff in the intro and a fast paced feel throughout. Chorus is awesome and continues the darker theme lyrically - 'I'll eb there when your last breath's taken away, in the dark when there's no-one listening.' Also a great interlude. ONe of the stand out tracks of the album and a great choice for first single.

4. Little Death 9/10 - Another stand out track. Mark tries something different with his vocals in the very deep almost talking paced verses. The guitars and drums in the verse give it a really different feel and allow the lyrics to speak out more. The chorus comes in with heavy guitars and drums which gives an awesome wieght to the chorus lyrics which are again very good. Another dark song but one that works very well.

5. 155 8/10 - Fast paced and with a slightly more electronic feel. I really like the verses but feel the chorus lyrics could be better. A nice interlude and great drums throughout. I feel it's better when they perform it live.

6. Lillian 7/10 - A slightly different feel here to the fast paced punk rock before but still with a killer chorus. There is a great build up to the interlude section which really makes the song.

7. Cliff Diving 6/10 - Definitely more of a Blink feel here. Up-lifting song with a cool chorus. I feel the guitar riff is slightly lacking though.

8. interlude

9. Weatherman 7/10 - Continueing with the dark theme here with a slower paced song. Again nice vocal work from Mark with deeper verses. I also like the way in which the chorus builds up through the song with added backing vocals. ALl in all very good and leads in nicely from the interlude.

10. No, It isn't 7/10 - This would be the Blink break up song then. Softer intro adding to the darker feel which then builds up to some fast punk rock at the end of the song. Contains one of the most quoted lyrics from this album - 'This isn't just goodbye, this is I can't stand you.'

11. Make You Smile 8/10 - As another reviewer has said this song seems to represent a missed oppurtunity. The female vocals added to Marks are phenomonal and would have been awesome throughout the rest of the album. The lyrics to this one are really nice and it's generally a bit slower than the rest.

12.Chapter 13 7/10 - Great ending song. ALmost anthemic sounding. The ending to this song is amazing as it builds up into the final lyrics - 'I'm scraped and sober, but there's no-one listening to me at all.'

Overall: 8/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!!, 1 Feb. 2012
This review is from: When Your Heart Stops Beating (Audio CD)
This is an amazing album from start to finish, superbly produced with some outstanding tracks.
Whether it seems the obvious thing to say but for me this album demonstrates Mark Hoppus as a far better musician to Tom Delonge (although credit to Travis Barker et al). I think a few of the Blink 182 albums are awesome, with both Hoppus and Delonge being almost equally brilliant. But it's when you look at +44 and Angels & Airwaves the difference can be seen. I personally think Angels & Airwaves are awful, largely due to all their songs oozing with Delonge's arrogance and pretentiousness, not to mention the songs simply not being very good.

Whereas, +44 are completely brilliant. The album kicks off with what I consider the best track in 'Lycanthrope', this song is amazing with so much energy and great lyrics. It's really exceptional! 'When Your Heart Stops Beating' is a superbly catchy song, 'No, It Isn't' is a truly superb song with great lyrics (whether they are aimed at Delonge or not) and 'Make You Smile' includes a wonderful combination of vocals between Hoppus and Carol Heller.

Best Tracks

Lycanthrope
Baby Come On
When Your Heart Stops Beating
Weatherman
No, It Isn't
Make You Smile

As a wonderful bonus, acoustic versions of 'Baby Come On' and 'Weatherman'. I am a true sucker for acoustic songs and these are superb! Such a great way to finish an album.

So concluding I actually believe this to be as good as if not better than any Blink 182 album. Although, don't misunderstand it is quite different from any Blink album. For me, it is more mature, more polished and is a great example of how brilliant musicians Hoppus and Barker are! Buy it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Stop Whining, 12 Nov. 2010
By 
J. Clarke "Alright Sally" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: When Your Heart Stops Beating (Audio CD)
Searching through Blink 182 albums you'll come across this, +44's debut, when your heart stops beating. Like you, I wanted to see what people thought of it but unfortunately half of the positive reviews resulted in whining about how its better than angels & airwaves. Frankly, that's a pathetic excuse to praise this album. Its clear that A&A isn't necessarily a favourite of blink fans, but that's just it, it was never intended to sound like blink, whereas this clearly was.

First impressions of the intro track `Lycanthrope' are of Foo Fighters, a similar guitar riff to `all my life', until the singing kicks in when you remember who the band members are. Drums are as always very impressive from Travis Barker, throughout pretty much every track. The guitars are however the low point. Apart from the hit single, all the guitars are fairly forgettable, even with two of them as apposed to one. That's the problem, Tom Delonge's guitar playing is rather essential to success. Most of the tracks on here contain your basic 3 chord riffs with an almost attempted `Tom' sound that falls flat.

Some of the songs wouldn't be out of place on a follow up to or version 2 of blinks self titled album from 2003. What is most surprising though is that one of the best songs found on here is `No it isn't' without doubt Hoppus' most depressing song to date considering its lyrical content about slitting wrists, something you wouldn't expect. Its hard to find much fault with this album, its as you'd imagine them without Delonge, good but just not the same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars You can't Compare this to Blink !, 12 Sept. 2009
By 
J. Arthur "Axl" (U.k) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: When Your Heart Stops Beating (Audio CD)
This album to me is amazing. You can't compare this to Blink 182 at all. I love this Album it spends a lot of time in my stereo and is very well made. Now, lets start with the songs first.

Lycanthrope
- An Awesome start. When you just think when you put in you cd player or listen to it online. It is like Blink, and as good. But then this song pops up. The catchy phrases and clever beats get you hooked. Like a drug. One of my favourites 9/10

Baby Come On
- This has to be the 2nd best song on the whole album. It is not like any other material that Mark and Travis have done in their careers. The chorus is catchy, interesting and you can play it over and over. Always getting played in my house, 10/10

When Your Heart Stops Beating
- This is the best song on the whole album. This just describes +44 in one song. The meaning and the chorus is just mind blowing yet it is simple but boy is this number one! This is a great song which has an exciting vibe and must be heard.-10/10

Little Death
- The the Album takes a shocking turn with this brilliant and so soulful song with a beautiful intro. With the catchy parts and when they kick in and then you are in the mood for that track.-9/10

155
- This a fantastic song which has sort of a electric beat which makes it so different to the others. Already you are think that it is so worth the money but it is only getting better, the drums in this are awesome and then Marks voice sounds so different to the Blink days but I think for the better this song is just awesome.-9/10

Lillian
- I love the Eco beat as the intro is just just the build up you need and then the acoustic guitar and then the great beat from Travis keeps the build up to the chorus.But this song is in it's own league but by this time the album has got gold form your heart and the lyrics make it what is and then the eco flows threw the song making a good song.-8/10

Cliff Diving
- A great summer party dancing song along with with a great song to drive too but is the guitar makes the chorus so hooking to your mind and the beat makes it really soulful and the lyrics are something that has dropped from the sky.-9/10

Interlude
- This is the slow moving but torching to the heart and but in it's own little way is dark song but it is so meaningful
-the beat and the bass along with the piano made it a great little start for the next track this this song has not singing in.-6/10

Weatherman
-Meanful melody is so beautiful and then it changes into something special with the eco voice effects and club drums right in the middle makes it sound so great and then it just has that simple end.-8/10

No, It Isn't
- Blink is sort of shown in the first 30 seconds but then +44 sound takes over which is fantastic and blast in with pure +44 and then the song just takes the album in a sort of done a different road but it is so heart to paper lyrics.-10/10

Make You Smile
-This must be the most different track with mark and a sort of an R&B Girl singer which makes the song have a girl point of view which is clever as it is open to both markets just not for guys but girls.-7/10

Chapter 13
-is the end of the chapter +44 but it is a amazing end to an album and the song is such a mover and passion that goes to this song and makes the album end special
the guitar is awesome and one heel of a beat.

Baby Come On (Acoustic)
-this makes the baby come on song but this song is just so much passion and makes you want to be like Mark.10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Punk music again, 4 Sept. 2008
By 
This review is from: When Your Heart Stops Beating (Audio CD)
After Angels and airwaves released the incredible and epic album We don't need to whisper, Mark and Travis were always following in Tom's footsteps and they had a lot to do to meet people`s expectations of a better album than AVA`s. This album was released around 6 months after Angels and airwaves' album and this shows that the band were delayed because they had to do so much to meet Blink 182 fans expectations. I was totally blown away by AVA's album by the time that this was released. I love Angels and airwaves and in a way I was hoping that +44 were going to be bad so that Tom would be shown to be really intelligent for choosing to leave Blink 182, and for the old Blink fans to see that Tom was the best part of the band. The first time I listened to this album I was quite unimpressed, but I was listening with the attitude to try and dislike this music. There was one song that completely stood out for me though even from the first time and that song was 155, which is still my favourite song. The reason this was is because it is the most upbeat song and as agreed by Mark, is the most Blink 182 sounding song on the album. I was also quite glad with Cliffdiving which is my other favourite. These two songs are upbeat and are energetic with a great sense of rhythm.
The other songs on here I didn't like because they are more slower. It seemed like they were trying to be punk just to be punk. While Tom had expanded the platform and created something so incredible that people didn't expect ever, Mark had just tried to stick to his punk roots It took me a while to get into this album and to say I do like it, but when I did I understood the songs more. Mark uses graphic lyrics like `Human shapes burnt on concrete walls' in Weatherman, and `Let's slit our wrists and burn down something beautiful' in No, it isn't. I believe that Mark wrote all the songs on this album, and he said that it was his most personal music he had ever created. I do like quite a few songs on here but no matter how long I listen to this album 155 and Cliffdiving will always be my favourites.
Mark invited 2 new guys for this band; Shane Gallagher and Craig Fairbaugh, who are two talented guitarists. Travis obviously did the drumming and any band who has the greatest drummer as well as the best Bass player in the world has to be a good band!

Lycanthrope was the first song I heard and sounds really punk with a rock edge. The opening lyrics `I wake up at the end of a long dark lonely year, it's bringing out the worst in me', are a good start to the album and if you follow those lyrics it could represent what this album is all about, and set the scene. The dark attitude was influenced by the split up of Blink 182 and the bitterness between Tom Delonge. Lycanthropy, I discovered, is a formation from man into wolf, so that sets the aura of the madness. Baby come on is a slower song and is more grim and harsh. When your heart stops beating is a good song and is more electronic influenced than most songs here. Dating back to the original roots. Little death has a great atmosphere to it. The music creates such a somber and relaxed mood. `You close your eyes and see more' is one of the oxymoron's in this album. 155 is a great upbeat song with a good feeling to it. It reminds me of Always, because it has a similar rhythm. It's obviously not as good though. Mark's voice is probably best on this song as well Lillian is another grim song with the lyrics `You smile while you twist a knife in my stomach'. Cliffdiving is the next best song on here. A summer song, not that it did me much good this year (or anyone else in Britain)! Good lyrics and a nice atmosphere and feeling to it. Interlude is really short and pretty pathetic if you ask me. It's hardly The fallen interlude! Weatherman is a pretty good song with slow verses but a more upbeat chorus. No, it isn't is a song that I resent. The reason for the title was for when people asked if the song was about Tom, this would be his reply. First of all I don't like the lyrics and the song doesn't have a good beat to it. Except for the chorus at the end which sounds more upbeat and kicks in with a rock sound. This song was supposed to actually be about Tom and the lyrics are like a pathetic hate against him, which is completely childish. `Please understand, this isn't just goodbye, this is I can't stand you', `I listen to you cry' and `let's slit our wrists and burn down something beautiful' are really like a cry out for despising Tom and also as if he is trying to get sympathy for Tom leaving the band. Make you smile is another electronic sounding song and has good vocals from Carol Heller. Chapter 13 is a long song and it is supposed to have significance as an ending. It's a pretty good song. The acoustic version of Baby come on and Weatherman are pretty good. Weatherman has really good musicality and professional guitar playing behind it. The only problem is that the scratching irritates me. Well worth putting in though and nice to see a different atmosphere here.

When you listen to this album you realise that Tom was what made Blink 182 so great and was the best ingredient in the band. It is a good album and I would recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Love Blink? Like +44, 13 Mar. 2011
By 
Lucioperca (Norwich, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: When Your Heart Stops Beating (Audio CD)
Having seen Blink live at what later turned out to be their Farewell gig in the UK, I was surprised as many when they suddenly announced the split. However, Mark and Travis wasted no time in getting into the studio and the result was +44. What you get really does sound like Blink with all the sharp edges rounded off .... but that doesn't mean its bad. Good song writing, Travis with his usual explosive drumming and Mark with his thumping bass rhythm and easy on the ear vocals. When Your Heart Stops Beating is the stand out tracks for me but the rest are equally good offerings. If it hadn't been for Travis being badly injured in a plane crash, there would undoubtedly have been more to come from +44, however now that Blink have patched up their differences, the future of +44 is uncertain.

Perhaps the way for Blink to retain their individual sanity is to maintain +44 and AvA as viable side-projects to fill their collective voids when Blink are not touring or recording. I am now playing this album quite a bit again for two reasons: firstly I have been listening to AvA a lot lately and added this album to the playlist on my iPod; secondly, Blink are touring the UK in July (tickets safely stuck on my kitchen magnet-board) and in anticipation I have started to re-acquaint myself with all things Delonge/Barker and Hoppus.

If pushed for a choice I would have to say I prefer AvA but +44 is a pretty good album and all Blink fans will undoubtedly have snapped up a copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars +44 are awesome!!, 22 May 2007
By 
Mark (Newcastle, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: When Your Heart Stops Beating (Audio CD)
+44 debut album is an awesome hit! I like all the songs on here and they are all different majorly from each other! There is still alot of Blink 182 style in them as some reviewers have mentioned, but thats a good thing, but there are songs that are not Blink 182 styled that sound just as good! Mark Hoppus is a great guy and his voice is awesome, just like the band is and I hope they have more success in the future! The track When your heart stops beating is my fav, along with Little death, 155, no, it isnt and cliffdiving are awesome songs! Get this album now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More blinkish, 22 April 2007
By 
F. Vowles "tinks848" (essex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: When Your Heart Stops Beating (Audio CD)
Fans of Blink 182 may have purchased the Angels and Airwaves album which came out before +44 and been disappointed that the main thing that sounds like blink is Tom's voice, which isn't a bad thing because Tom has decided to do something different. But for those of you who were this is the album for you, it sounds very similar to blink 182 the only thing that is missing is of course Tom. Both bands are good but very different, if you want blink 182 pick this one or just do a me and buy both lol.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

When Your Heart Stops Beating
When Your Heart Stops Beating by +44 (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews