Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars63
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
56
4 star
7
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£7.79+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 January 2007
We all know the plot of Allo Allo by now but the innuendos are still just as funny, how the series can make us laugh every episode is a credit to the writers actresses and actors, as I've said before this is a classical comedy and I hope the rest of the series will be released soon.
So it's back to café Rene and all the scheming that is going on to get the British airmen back home , hiding the paintings and the cuckoo clock for when the war is over and trying to stop the resistance from blowing up the Germans.
Rene is still avoiding Lieutenant Gruber having an affair with Yvette and when officer Crabtree Shows his face I can't wait for him to speak, his French language is absolutely hilarious, in fact all the actors & actresses perform there character perfectly.
If you have bought all the other series of allo allo then you will buy this and any other series when they are released, after all we just have to see how it all ends in series nine, but first we have to see series six seven and eight.
Please don't waste time releasing them.
0Comment|26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2007
Having "rediscovered" Allo Allo a couple of years ago I've enjoyed the continuing themes played out in the French village of Nouvion.

The interactions between the characters are wonderful with both great verbal and visual gags. Richard Gibson's portrayal of Herr Otto Flick deserves a special mention, both for his ability to deliver some very funny lines whilst maintaining a slight menacing edge.

Arthur Bostrom as the vowel mangling English Secret Agent "Officer Crabtree" (disguised as a Gendarme) is another great character and manages to get away with some fairly suggestive words in the guise that he is attempting to speak French!

For fans of Allo Allo, or classic comedy in general this is definitely recommended.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2010
Good Moaning.
It is I, leClerc.

This is the best comedy World War II, occupied France spoof of all time.
This show was made using the same sets as 'Secret Army' and was one million times more popular.
Secret Army featured a French cafe owner who hid airmen but was serious television.
This show made people laugh and guffaw.
Nine years of comedy (World War II lasted only four years though.) whether it's Mimi laBonk, Madame Edith and her voice, Monsieur Alphonse and his dickie ticker and Yvette and her raucous libido.

Buy this and the others DVDs, they'll have yoiu splitting your sides from D-Day up until now!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2012
Introduced this to my teenager, appealed greatly to our sense of humour! Would definitely recommend this,great family viewing!
Joyous fun
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 22 October 2006
"Allo Allo!" Has been around since 1982 and has just recently become available in the USA on a decent media.

Basic story is of a café owner René; this is in France during the WWII occupation. He must balance dealing with the local Germans, the Gestapo, the good Resistance, the commie Resistance, having affairs with his female help, dealing with his wife and mother-in-law.

In series five we get more action from the communist resistance; frankly I think the commie resistance has cuter girls and adds some fresh characters to the mix. And be sure to keep your eye on the homing duck.

One nice thing about this series is that they place the name next to the actor at the end of each episode. Most of the actors are well known out side of this series. I was shocked however to find that Gestapo Herr Otto Flick (Richard Gibson) Played British Capt. Newman in Ken Follett's "The Key to Rebecca" (1985) and completely changed his accent.

Allo 'Allo!: Complete Series Nine
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2010
Excellent family viewing. We purchased the first series for christmas for our 11 year old grandson who really enjoys watching this and makes him laugh so much that we are now building the collection of Allo Allo for him.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 September 2009
Watched it from start to finish.
Still as funny as the earlier series.
Perhaps cast commentaries and interviews would futher enhance one's enjoyment plus a where are they now feature for surviving cast members.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2010
have only watched series 1 so far and I love it.

The Programme is so good even after all these yrs,I have already got 1-4 and i will be getting the rest of the series in the future.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2011
Have never been tired of watching Allo Allo, Great stories, Great characters and none stop laughs :) Picture quality on these discs is great
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2014
The fifth series of the popular sitcom continues as Renee is on the point of a complete nervous breakdown when Michelle of the Resistance instructs him to retrieve the German's secret Enigma machine and also to hide 200 exploding Christmas puddings.

Even though the BBC's intension to attract the American audience with the show by creating 25 episodes failed, the fifth series stands as one of the strongest of the show's run and this second half is just as good as the first.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)