Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding value for tremendous gameplay
How I long for the days of programmers focusing on gameplay first with graphics as the added bonus. The problem with the consoles of today, I think, is programmers get caught up in creating lush visuals before the actual gameplay has been properly tested and sorted. This title takes us back to time when gameplay was king. All the titles on this UMD disc were classic Sega...
Published on 6 Aug. 2011 by Mr. D. Jones

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A great compilation.....when the sound's off
Yet another great retro compilation on the PSP, this time from EA (Electronic Arts) featuring classics like Road Rash 1 - 3, Desert & Jungle Strike, Wing Commander and a few more.

I personally purchased this collection mainly for the Road Rash games, which I absolutely loved when they were out on the Megadrive.

The games themselves haven't really...
Published on 18 Jun. 2007 by Dr Evil


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A great compilation.....when the sound's off, 18 Jun. 2007
By 
Dr Evil (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: EA Replay (PSP) (Video Game)
Yet another great retro compilation on the PSP, this time from EA (Electronic Arts) featuring classics like Road Rash 1 - 3, Desert & Jungle Strike, Wing Commander and a few more.

I personally purchased this collection mainly for the Road Rash games, which I absolutely loved when they were out on the Megadrive.

The games themselves haven't really been touched and the gameplay is as playable as ever and seems to have aged really well.

The developers have seemed to have changed the music on all 3 games to have just 1 track playing on Road Rash 1 & 2 and then just 1 different track playing on Road Rash 3. This isn't a big problem as it can be turned off but I can't see much need for the changes as the music was perfectly fine on the originals.

The Strike games are also surprisingly very playable, as I used to find them extremely tricky to play with the d-pad on the Megadrive controller. Playing it with the stick on the PSP seems to work really well.

Syndicate is also one of the best games on this collection. With pretty strategic gameplay and loads of missions based all over the (futuristic) world, there's plenty of content to keep you busy here.

Haunting starring Polterguy is a bizarre but fun game where you wander around a house and have to possess objects to scare all of the occupants. I'd never played (or even heard) of this before, so it is quite a good bonus to the collection.

B.O.B. is a fairly basic platform-shooter which is fairly similar to Super Metroid on the SNES. Not bad for a few minutes and is pretty easy to finish.

Other games in the collection include Wing Commander and its add-on, Secret Missions. Both of them are pretty bad and are quite non-responsive. There's also Mutant League Football which is pretty good for a game or two. I would have preferred one of the old Madden games (preferably `92 or `93) which were the best of their time. Ultima VII is an RPG what is at a very weird angle and seems pretty dull.

The collection is very good, if only for Road Rash 1-3, Desert & Jungle Strike and Syndicate. There are better compilations on the PSP like the Sega Megadrive Collection and Midway Arcade Treasures Extended, but like this collection, there will be only a select few that you will remember and love. If you can get EA Replay cheap, I'd definitely recommend it for anyone who played these games back in the early-mid 90's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Road Rash Ruined, 27 Feb. 2007
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: EA Replay (PSP) (Video Game)
Most of the games in this collection are old Sega Megadrive titles but, in a bizarre twist, Road Rash, Road Rash II and Road Rash III do not contain any of the original, classic music by Rob Hubbard. Instead you get some awful, looped dance music. In Road Rash I & II, there's not even any title music! It's even more strange, considering that none of the other games in this collection have been tampered with like that.

Desert & Jungle Strike are pretty much intact, although there are some problems with some of the sound effects.

Budokan is still very very boring and unresponsive, just like the original.

Syndicate is fun, but tricky (I always preferred Syndicate Wars myself).

Mutant League Football is a great take on American Footbal and The Haunting is quite original.

Never played the rest before so can't really compare them. I mainly bought this collection for some Road Rash nostalgia and EA have ruined that for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing Value for Money, 12 April 2007
By 
Mr. MD Potts - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: EA Replay (PSP) (Video Game)
As written below, the lack of original soundtrack for Road Rash is a big negative point, I remember the Tennessee track in Road Rash II having a particularly toe-tapping theme tune, and this is a disappointment. Also, I seem to remember being able to alternate between weapons in Road Rash 3. This doesn't seem to be possible now, unless I'm missing something.

Apart from that, Desert Strike and Jungle Strike are good games still, with decent sound effects and good gameplay, particularly in Desert Strike.

Worth a purchase, but could have been so much better, especially at the high price compared with the Sega Mega Drive Collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding value for tremendous gameplay, 6 Aug. 2011
By 
Mr. D. Jones (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: EA Replay (PSP) (Video Game)
How I long for the days of programmers focusing on gameplay first with graphics as the added bonus. The problem with the consoles of today, I think, is programmers get caught up in creating lush visuals before the actual gameplay has been properly tested and sorted. This title takes us back to time when gameplay was king. All the titles on this UMD disc were classic Sega Megadrive among other platform, games. I purchased this out of a great desire to play the games I loved as a teenager, Desert Strike & Jungle Strike.

I read the other reviews on Amazon and prepared myself for a disappointment. How could games written 20 years ago stand up to todays amazing offerings? Through addictive gameplay, well structured levels and great fun graphics. Just focusing on Desert Strike alone. For those of you who don't know. You pilot an Apache back in the Gulf, this game came out not long after the first Gulf War. All your missions take place on the coast and involve you planning your missions carefully. You may have to rescue UN staff from their embassy or attack a Madmans yacht. None of these things are simple tasks and you have to plan who your co-pilot is, how your going to approach the target, what weapons to use and what route you'll use to get out. Its outstanding stuff.

Let me compare it to a similar title released in 2006, Super Hind. This is a very similar game, you pilot a Hind chopper on missions over land and sea, the graphics are brilliant but there's just no heart to it. You don't fully engage, because in my opinion the designers spent more time on the looks and nowhere near enough on the gameplay.

In short, if you have a PSP, buy this game. Just for Desert Strike, it really is that worth it. But dont expect wonderful graphics, approach it as a history lesson as to how things used to be. These games shaped the titles that sell so well today, before programmers forgot about making sure the game was fun and engaging before they wrapped it in beautiful graphics. Buy this game and develop a greater understanding of the world we live in today, don't get sucked in by how things look, what does that matter? Its whats underneath that counts....

And I've not even spoken about Jungle Strike, Road Rash 1-3, Wing Commander, BOB, Mutant League Football.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars bought from The Retro Room off amazon, very good company 👍, 14 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: EA Replay (PSP) (Video Game)
Some people like it some don't, it's great to bring back memories but remember this games are although dated still fun to play. You want old gaming here it is, not good enough for you? Buy a ps4 or xbox1
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not really worth it, 1 July 2009
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: EA Replay (PSP) (Video Game)
B.O.B: A pretty slow and styalistically uninteresting shooter, dosn't keep interest for long.

Budokan: Incredably bad beat em up with treacle pace, awkward delayed control and bad hit detection.

Desert/Jungle Strike: Fun aerial shooters, thought urban strike is unexplainably absent but they arn't exactly all time classics worth getting the collection for.

Haunting: Had never heard of this one, but was suprisingly fun. Possess objects around the envoronment to scare away the house's residents. Gets old quickly, however.

Mutant League Football: What seems like a good take on american football, bit i literally have no idea what is going on, since it has no instructions other than it's (complex) controls. I think they missed that british players would probably need the basic rules explaining, nevermind their odd take on them

Road Rash 1-3: Ok motorbike racing games that only really offers nostalgic value to fans in the day, now pretty dated and samey.

Syndicate: A poor version of a great game. Smaller scale and worse controlling than it's PC counterpart, has the blood removed and lacks sufficiant instruction. I really wish EA included the PC version.

Ultima VIII: Again, a poor version of a good PC game. Scaled down, odd control and removal of blood and referances to death (which suggests it was a nintendo port). Could have been good if they actually used the real version for the compilation.

Virtual Pinball: A good pinball game with level creator, but to me, the appeal of a pinball game would rely more on being realistic, so i'd assume there are more visually appealing ones avalable.

Wing Commander/Secret Missions: Boring space flight simulator. Was probably impressive at the time, but now has little appeal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good Stuff, 5 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: EA Replay (PSP) (Video Game)
I bought this mostly for the pair of 'Strikes' but the other games are great fun and while away a few hours.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good fun, 29 Mar. 2012
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: EA Replay (PSP) (Video Game)
My husband likes this game, its a quick pick up and play which he can do when he has a spare 5 mins
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good mixture of games, 20 Mar. 2009
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: EA Replay (PSP) (Video Game)
I have only played this compilation a few times, but my impressions so far are very good. I really liked Road Rash, Syndicate, Wing Commander and both of the Desert Strike games when they were originally released, which is why I bought this compilation.

What struck me is how times have changed, and how dated some of the games look, however the playability of them remains, with the exception of Wing Commander, which was always a bit hit and miss. I had not heard of some of the games on here, but they are quite entertaining and playable. The games are mostly very easy to pick up and play for short periods, which is great for the PSP.

For the current price, which is quite cheap, I think this is a really good purchase for the PSP if you liked any of these games originally.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 14 Sept. 2014
By 
Mr. G. King "70s addict" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: EA Replay (PSP) (Video Game)
Great game fast delivery
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

EA Replay (PSP)
EA Replay (PSP) by Electronic Arts (Sony PSP)
Used & New from: £6.96
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews