Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant - all Kay's material in one boxset
We have over the years had several Peter Kay DVDs. Some of them were repeats of other material. Now we have this box set we can get rid of all the other DVDs as all of the material from those DVDs is on this one.
Peter Kay is a great standup and if you want to see his material just buy this DVD as the others are just a copy of the material.
Manchester is just...
Published on 29 Jan 2009 by Andrew Rogers

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not that good.
This is the first Peter Kay video I have bought, its not that good a bit old and was when he first started his stand up. He seems to say the same gags in Top of the Tower and Bolton Albert which is a shame, He needs new material. Perhaps the newer video's will be better. Not sure if I would buy another one, but I still enjoy watching him on TV.
Published 14 months ago by Mrs C Tookey


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant - all Kay's material in one boxset, 29 Jan 2009
By 
Andrew Rogers - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Peter Kay - Live At The Top Of The Tower / Live At The Bolton Albert Halls (2 Disc Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
We have over the years had several Peter Kay DVDs. Some of them were repeats of other material. Now we have this box set we can get rid of all the other DVDs as all of the material from those DVDs is on this one.
Peter Kay is a great standup and if you want to see his material just buy this DVD as the others are just a copy of the material.
Manchester is just the same standup routine as Bolton
Stand up Kay is a compilation of both Bolton and top of the tower

If you have no Peter Kay then get this.
If you have a Peter Kay DVD then you may want to sell what you have if you get this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Peter Kay at his best, 11 Feb 2009
This review is from: Peter Kay - Live At The Top Of The Tower / Live At The Bolton Albert Halls (2 Disc Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
I can not recommend this enough, If you like stand up comedy then this is for you. He is one of the best comedians out there at the moment and this collection will stand the test of time.
Buy this buy Phoenix nights box set and Max and Paddy box set, But avoid the rest of Peter Kay stuff as essentially they are a rip off.

If you are out there Peter bring out something new and exciting like you did with these DVDs and not a rehash of old stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Booked it...packed it.....f**ked off!!", 13 Jan 2010
By 
Big Red (Fife, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Peter Kay - Live At The Top Of The Tower / Live At The Bolton Albert Halls (2 Disc Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
Classic Peter Kay. "From the top of the Tower" is good to watch now as it was recorded years ago when Kay was pretty much starting to hit the big time. Much different than his bigger shows and it has a huge amount of jokes to keep up with throughout. Well worth a watch if your even slightly interested in Peter Kay!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


75 of 83 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bringing back 'real' down to earth comedy, 2 Nov 2007
By 
Picard (USS Enterprise) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Peter Kay - Live At The Top Of The Tower / Live At The Bolton Albert Halls (2 Disc Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
Peter Kay is easily my favourite comedian of now - his style can apply to everybody, whether he asks why mum's clean the house at 3am before going on a holiday, to Uncle No*-heads grand spanking white shoes!
I bought the DVD after watching both the live performances on TV, as I decided I just had to get them! (and why the DVD's separately work out more, I'll never know) But not surprisingly, back when I saw it on TV a few years ago, alot of the people I knew from Uni had mixed opinions. A few thought it was almost 'too clean', as they preferred the dribble of Lee Evans, who can do nothing but make fun of fat kids and be sarcastic. Other's just thought it was based too much around the whole family theme. What they don't realise, is that these are the things which make Peter Kay a great comedian.
His humour applies to the working class - 'not' the middle class. He was bought up, like me and most others, with a varied and humorous lifestyle, whether it be Attic sales at the front of your house, or asking for money for returning beer glasses! This style of humour can only be appreciated by those who can associate with it (most Northerners!), but when you're part of the 'Mr and Mrs 4x4 Family', they don't understand, and watch programmes like 'My Family', thinking that 'its just an average family'. Ah yes, how amusing it is to watch moody parents be sarcastic with each other...
With this box set comes 2 DVD's - essentially, the ones that are sold as separates (but in a snazzy box). My favourite would have to be his performance at the Bolton Albert Halls, which is longer and covers more area's with a laugh out loud ending as he talks about family weddings! The other DVD at the Blackpool tower has a summer theme as he talks about embarrassing parents on holiday, and the strange joy of seeing an English pub in a foreign country!
Across the 2 DVD's, theirs roughly 4 hours worth of laughs, so your definitely not going to be short of that. And in terms of value, this could easily be the best stocking filler someone will have had in years! Just watch all the laughing doesn't give you indigestion after all the Christmas pud's.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Birthday Gift, 3 July 2011
This review is from: Peter Kay - Live At The Top Of The Tower / Live At The Bolton Albert Halls (2 Disc Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
I ordered this as a birthday gift for my mum - her actual birthday present was a Peter Kay ticket to his live show however, as the show was a month after her birthday, I thought I would buy her his best boxset in the meantime. I ordered this quite near her birthday (ordered on the Monday before 2pm, her birthday was on the Sunday) and the boxset was delivered before the date, even though I had only selected the free delivery service. I was very impressed with the quick delivery and the price, considering that there are 2 DVDs within the boxset. She has since watched the Blackpool Tower DVD and she loves it - it is brilliantly funny (especially if you are a Northerner!) and this is the only Peter Kay live stand-up boxset you need.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Belly buster., 4 Feb 2009
By 
R. Oliver (Essex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Peter Kay - Live At The Top Of The Tower / Live At The Bolton Albert Halls (2 Disc Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
After watching the Peter Kaye CD's we were all aching with laughter. Superb value and service once again from Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you buy any comedy DVD then buy this., 21 Mar 2009
By 
T. J. Corrigan "tcorrigan33" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Peter Kay - Live At The Top Of The Tower / Live At The Bolton Albert Halls (2 Disc Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
This was absolutly fantastic. Packing two of his standup comedy's in one set. Both of them are completely different to each other and offer differnt stories and jokes. A light hearted, funny look at all those silly things in life that we can all somehow relate to.

Dont think I have ever laughed so hard in all my life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HobNob, 29 Sep 2011
This review is from: Peter Kay - Live At The Top Of The Tower / Live At The Bolton Albert Halls (2 Disc Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
Peter Kay - who couldn't love him? brilliant dvd - funny reminders of stuff I used to do as a kid and every day stuff told in such a way you fall off your seat laughing...Brilliant !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 8 Mar 2009
By 
Peter Jarvis (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Peter Kay - Live At The Top Of The Tower / Live At The Bolton Albert Halls (2 Disc Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
Both DVDs contain an hours stand up set from one of the UK's finest. Both have a slightly annoying intro part joining Peter as he journeys to the venues. The bulk of the material is however, fabulous and with this boxed set you get a real bargain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars dip me, 11 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Peter Kay - Live At The Top Of The Tower / Live At The Bolton Albert Halls (2 Disc Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
Peter Kay at his best great dvd well worth a watch would recommand it to any one great value box set
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb2864120)

This product

Only search this product's reviews