Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bond is back. And so is David Arnold with a wonderful score.
I recently saw the impressive new Bond film with my parents and was completely taken with the film score by David Arnold. So much so that I felt compelled to purchase it. In my view, with this superb CD, David Arnold has produced some of his finest work to compliment one of the best Bond movies.

The brass and percussive hues that burn throughout the score are...
Published on 15 Dec 2006 by film fan

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A serious omission!
If I was reviewing this from a purely musical perspective it has to rate as 5 star. David Arnold is just brilliant as a composer for Bond and has the mood just right for the genre with his superb musical scoring. But, and it's a big but, as a soundtrack album it only rates 3 stars - where is the main title track?! Why oh why release a soundtrack album without the main...
Published on 17 Aug 2011 by Porle


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dirty Martini, 25 Jun 2010
By 
Nicholas Casley (Plymouth, Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Casino Royale (Audio CD)
Unbelievably, this soundtrack does not contain the opening title track. Admittedly, we are told this on the cover of the CD but only in very small type.

Anyway, it seems to me there are those film composers who write themes and leave it to the film's music editor to match shot to music; and then there are those film composers who match music themselves directly to each shot. The former is a bit of a dying breed, it seems, but Vangelis is a good example; David Arnold falls in the latter camp. (John Barry did both.) The problem with the latter approach is that one is only rarely provided with a memorable theme, so from a purely musical point of view Arnold's soundtracks are not very interesting. With regard to `Casino Royale', take `Miami International' as an example. It's all very energetic and very exciting, but the lack of catchy recurring themes makes the music structurally unsatisfying.

Having said that, the main theme itself - although absent in its original Chris Connell version - does explicitly appear in a re-arranged format in at least four tracks, and Vesper has her own theme that occurs in at least two. Her theme is very Barry-esque. I also enjoyed the `Dirty Martini'.

This CD is very generous in providing seventy-five minutes of music from the movie. Tracks vary in length from a mere twenty-eight seconds to almost thirteen minutes. It is noted that the very good orchestration was done by Nicholas Dodd, who should at least be given equal billing with Arnold.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 26 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars What no title track!, 28 Nov 2006
By 
Mr. Christopher M. Woollard (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Casino Royale (Audio CD)
This recording does not contain the Chris Cornell track that is used in the title sequence!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 25 Tracks of genius, 19 Nov 2006
This review is from: Casino Royale (Audio CD)
Another legendary soundtrack from the man who gave us The World Is Not Enough. 25 Tracks of genius.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Score, 18 Nov 2006
By 
This review is from: Casino Royale (Audio CD)
Very good soundtrack after seeing the film. I love the theme. I wish Chris Cornell's song was on here. It works so well in the film. Tracks 1 and 4 are outstanding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, Incredible!, 13 Nov 2006
This review is from: Casino Royale (Audio CD)
Wow!, this is my opinion of possibly one of the best bond soundtracks, since the first song, by the way, one of the best, African Runaway we can feel the sensation that bond is back!, another song that I must name is Blunt Instrument, the 4th one; in this one we can hear the Casino Royale Main Theme, is said, the Chris Cornell song ("You know my name") but orchestrated and without Chris very slowly and very exciting!

The rest of the CD is also very exciting, is a CD with a long running time, so we can enjoy it during approximately 80 minutes, and of course, the last song, My name is Bond... James Bond is espectacular, a brand new orchestrated James Bond Theme by David Arnold that is a perfect ending of one, i think, that will be, in a few days, in one of the most succesful and one of the best Bond movies ever seen.

Bye!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect soundtrack, 20 April 2007
By 
Mr. R. Rogers - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Casino Royale (Audio CD)
David Arnold delivers another superb Bond score, and this time it is his best. Riffing of the melody written for 'You Know My Name' he wrote for Chris Cornell (not included here because of a legal dispute with Cornell's label) Arnold delivers a thrilling and romantic score that is easily the best since John Barry's brilliant 'The Living Daylights'.

Highlights include 'Blunt Instrument' which is the dramatic here-IS-Bond music, the pounding 12-minute 'Miami International' and the ending classic best version I've ever heard of 'The Name's Bond... James Bond'

Okay - it doesn't have the theme song, which is bad, but this is due to a greedy label which has yet again displayed it's incompetence. The score is fantastic and stands up in it's own right. Go buy it now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Return to Classical Bond, 7 Aug 2007
This review is from: Casino Royale (Audio CD)
What a great soundtrack to accompany the film! The move away from electronic synthesised music to classical instruments is perfect and is in keeping with the earlier classic Bond films.

As mentioned in the earlier reviews this soundtrack has quite a blend of tunes with a great interweaving of the title theme at appropriate moments. My favourite tracks include Blunt Instrument, I'm the Money, Aston Montenegro,Dinner Jackets and The Name's Bond...James Bond.

If this is the way the soundtracks are likely to go I cannot wait for Bond 22! Definitely recommended!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BOND - A NEW SOUNDTRACK WITH SOME OLD INFLUENCE, 26 April 2007
By 
Daniel G. Egan "danny" (Epsom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Casino Royale (Audio CD)
This soundtrack is gorgeous. It has some tracks which make the hair on the back of my neck stand on end, it can leave you breathless.

I originally brought it for a very short piece of music in the film where bond tries on a tuxedo, at which point a bass guitar plucks what sounds like an old version of the bond theme with a modern twist, it's called DINNER JACKETS.

I then found others such as AFRICAN RUNDOWN which is the music to the building site scene at the start of the film.

There is another small piece of music called I'M THE MONEY; this is a very short slow version of the main song which is beautiful.

But I think the best piece of music here which all reviewers appear agreed on is BLUNT INSTRIMENT which is an action packet version of the main theme, great stuff.

When they wrote the music for this it feels like they selected all the popular bond music styles old and new and amalgamated them into this, listen and you'll pick up some of the panpipe type golden eye music, some old Connery and Moore stuff too.

All in all this is a long soundtrack which is exhilarating and relaxing, if you're a fan of this film or bond themes in general this is a must have as it rates high in comparison to some soundtracks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Casino royale, 12 Jun 2013
This review is from: Casino Royale (Audio CD)
Yes very good soundtrack,not one of the better ones. Received the cd with two cracks on the front cover and one on the back cover,I was a bit peeved with that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 18 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Casino Royale (Audio CD)
very good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Casino Royale
Casino Royale by David Arnold (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews