Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

44 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A first class Elgar disc., 28 Feb 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elgar - Sea Pictures; The Music Makers (Audio CD)
It was with some trepidation that I ordered this disc( even given it's extra budget price).
I wanted it mainly for the wonderful ""The Music Makers" one of Elgar's best (but somewhat unknown)works.
The disc also had (has) "Sea Pictures" on it,which I counted as a bonus,given that I have the definitive version with Janet Baker.
Now,"The Music Makers" on this disc is excellent.Clean,clear and conducted with true Elgarian spirit by Simon Wright,who I had never heard of before (but who I WILL look out for again).
What must be said is that the "Sea Pictures" is a real discovery.Yes,I have heard Sarah Connolly before(mostly in Handel) but never in Elgar.
She certainly equals (but does not outclass,nobody could do that) Janet Baker's version.
So, in conclusion,if you want "The Music Makers" combined with "Sea Pictures" featuring a great orchestra/chorus/conductor,and with a First Class Soloist,then at this price you would be mad not to buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Elgar Singing and Conducting of the Highest Order, 19 Mar 2009
By 
Graham (Fife, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Elgar - Sea Pictures; The Music Makers (Audio CD)
Over the past forty years or so any new recording of Sea Pictures has had to stand comparison with Dame Janet Baker's wonderful account with Sir John Barbirolli. If any recording could be described as definitive, then this is surely it! Since then there have been a number of fine performances committed to disc: Bernadette Greevy with Vernon Handley and Felicity Palmer with Richard Hickox for instance. Good though these are in their way, this latest recording from Sarah Connolly and Simon Wright is surely the finest since Dame Janet's. Here is Elgar singing of the highest order: beautiful, thrilling, dramatic and intelligent. Simon Wright's conducting is similarly distinguished and the recorded sound is wonderfully balanced and transparent.

Any new recording of The Music Makers also has to be compared to a classic from the 60's: Sir Adrian Boult's, also with Dame Janet Baker, singing as no one else could. As in Sea Pictures Connolly and Wright excel and this also must be counted as possibly the finest account since the classic Boult / Baker recording. Again the recorded sound is splendid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable CD nearly up with the best, 5 Jan 2011
By 
Graham Wade (Bordon, Hamshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elgar - Sea Pictures; The Music Makers (Audio CD)
Two of my favourite Elgar pieces on the same CD with a good orchestra and for a bargin price - too good to be true?

No. A most enjoyable CD, not the utmost pinnacle in musical performance (try Sir John Barbirolli and Sir Adrian Boult, both with Dame Janet Baker). But a good performance none the less, excellent soloist (first time I've come across her in Elgar) and sensitive conducting make this a must have disk. The coupling of the these two items works well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Elgar's my favourite!, 23 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elgar - Sea Pictures; The Music Makers (Audio CD)
Excellent CD delivered rapidly.Good music previously missing from my extensive Elgar CD collection.Have played it several times-proof of it's quality?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sea Pictures, 17 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elgar - Sea Pictures; The Music Makers (Audio CD)
Really I got this CD because of the recording of 'The Music Makers', which I had heard on the Proms some years ago, but Elgar being one of my favourite composers came up with this excellent recording of Sea Pictures which I really recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Music, 8 Aug 2013
By 
Mrs. K. Ireland "Kath Mezzo" (Co Durham England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elgar - Sea Pictures; The Music Makers (Audio CD)
By far the best recording I have of this music. Much nicer to listen to than Janet Baker. Fabulous line in her voice
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars elgar masterpiece, 18 Feb 2013
By 
Pamela Shand - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
We are singing this piece soon and I got this with the hope of using it for practice. However it was soo clear and if you like Elgar you will hear small snatches of many pieces throughout. Loved it if you enjoyed Dream of Gerontous or serenade for strings give it a go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Elgar the glorious., 19 Aug 2009
By 
This review is from: Elgar - Sea Pictures; The Music Makers (Audio CD)
An excellent recording of such fine English music. The mezzo-soprano - Sarah Connolly has a dream voice and does great justice to this graet work by Edward Elgar.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars sINGER PAR EXCELLENCE, 21 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elgar - Sea Pictures; The Music Makers (Audio CD)
ON;LY JUST DISCOVERED SARAH CONNOLLY. WHY I DON'T KNOW. UT'S ANOTHER GREAT RE;EASE BY NAXOS. I RECCOMMEND IT BY BYE
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a gift, 8 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elgar - Sea Pictures; The Music Makers (Audio CD)
the person tis was bought for says it is superb,a good recording and wonderful music would buy this again as a gift
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Elgar - Sea Pictures; The Music Makers
Elgar - Sea Pictures; The Music Makers by Edward Elgar (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews