Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars193
4.6 out of 5 stars
Package Quantity: 1|Style Name: Original Packaging|Change
Price:£2.75+ Free shipping (Addon item)
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 June 2012
A handy thing to carry around, especially for school children. Better made than most Stationary sets and comes with the handy case which doesn't break like the plastic ones you tend to see. The only negative for me is that the compass isn't grea, it is a very good price on here as well.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2015
I've purchased several of these before as they're cheap and do the job. The tin itself is a little flimsy, it gets dented very easily and if you accidentally drop it the hinge might come undone or snap. However, at this price point, it's not really worth kicking a fuss over. The tin contains a compass, a pencil (9cm long), a 15cm ruler, two set squares (in 45 and 60 degrees), a protractor, a lettering stencil, eraser, sharpener, and a timetable/maths fact sheet. Everything is of a reasonably good quality and works accurately. I'd like to note that the compass does tend to become rather loose after a while, but again, at £1.50, what did you expect? Considering all the equipment provided though, this set is excellent value for money overall and should contain most, if not all, the tools you'll need for your geometry lessons or exams. However, they're unlikely to last very long, so I would recommend in investing in a more expensive set if you're going to need them for a long time.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 26 August 2014
The compass is rubbish and doesn't hold in place well, which is no good when you need to be neat and accurate.
Protractor is fine.
Letter stencil is too bendy.
Ruler is fine but small.
Pencil is rubbish and doesn't sharpen well.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2009
I got this as I'm an adult who's gone back to College and I'm doing a Maths GCSE course. This set has got everything I need to use for this course and is excellent value for money. It was also delivered very promptly too.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2016
For what it is its amazing! i ordered this on the 9th of January and it came on the 14th (before the estimated time the 18th) i do not LOVE nor do i HATE this product, but it is what it is. i use it for maths GCSE work and its fine. i been using it for over a month now but i have lost a few of the equipment pieces (so i MIGHT order another one) However upon arrival i was greatly packaged and came with everything as descried!
review image
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2013
cheap with good quality stuff inside. I've had this for a few months now. The eraser is dead now, but nothing else is broken.

The case got sat on and it bent the lid slightly so that it didn't close as tightly. I bent it back and it works perfectly again; everything fits snugly inside (I keep an additional 3 pens and a larger eraser in it too) and it copes very well with the rough high school life. I just chuck it in my bag and my bag gets dumped on various desks and floors every day.

The only things I am going to replace are the protractor (for a folding 360 degrees one) and the ruler (for a folding 30cm) and I will buy both these items from Helix.

This is a very good buy and I seriously recommend it. It is serving me very well throughout the busy GCSE period :)
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2010
Whilst this is a decent enough set, when you come down to using it, it is clear that most of the expense is due to the tin, which is very nice.

The protractors are fine and work well with clearly defined degrees. Then there is the stencils, it'll do the job but not for very long; the stencils bend when using them, which is obviously not what you need.

The other bad pont with this is the compass which holds the pencil but only when tightened to the point where you wonder if either the pencil or compass will take any more before breaking.

If you're looking for replacement protractors and a nice tin, go for it. If you want a full set which will last go elsewhere as this won't see the year out.
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
For the price, this is a really got set of Mathematical Instruments. It comes in a tin and contains: a small ruler, a stencil, a rubber, a pencil sharpener, a compass, a protractor and two set squares. There is also a little timetable sheet.

The pencil which attaches to the compass is not particularly good quality, but you can change that obviously. The compass also comes a little loose, but – for the price – it is fine. My son is in KS3 and this is fine for him. If you are at GCSE level, or higher, you would probably need to invest in something a little more expensive, for greater accuracy. I do love the tin though which is a nice, traditional design and keeps everything packed away neatly.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
11year old needed a maths set for high school come this September and this tin seems to have all that is needed and more.

Handy ease to open tin that means all the bits should stay together, well will be interesting to find out how long they last but all the bits do seem well made. Helix has been going for years so it must be doing something right with its bits.

Lots of shops seem to be do them at a cut price offer and all the supermarkets seem to have them in so not that much extra added to the shopping bill. Plus another few items ticked off the to get list which seems to get bigger each year.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2010
I too bought this item as an adult deciding to take a GCSE in Mathes. As many other people have commented; it contains everything I needed to complete the course. Definately a good buy.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See one answered question


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)