Customer Reviews


60 Reviews
5 star:
 (43)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


58 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exceeded expectations
What I like:

Excellent build quality
Low noise
Knobs, not sliders (less prone to crackling caused by dust getting into sliders)
Very small footprint

What I don't like:
No power switch (needs to be unplugged)
Blue Power light that can melt your retinas! (seriously - think laser pen)

Summary:

Input 1:...
Published on 23 Nov 2010 by J. Husband

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars but generaly good, actually this was my first time purchasing a ...
Size not to scale,the image on advert exaggarates everything,and too many unnessesary addition boxes seem to add on to the weight increasing the charge price,but generaly good,actually this was my first time purchasing a good on internet.
Published 12 days ago by nelson zimba


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

58 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exceeded expectations, 23 Nov 2010
By 
J. Husband "compulsive gadget buyer" (Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Behringer 802 8 Input 2 Bus Mixer (Electronics)
What I like:

Excellent build quality
Low noise
Knobs, not sliders (less prone to crackling caused by dust getting into sliders)
Very small footprint

What I don't like:
No power switch (needs to be unplugged)
Blue Power light that can melt your retinas! (seriously - think laser pen)

Summary:

Input 1:
Female XLR or (stereo/mono) Balanced/unbalanced 6.35mm (1/4") jack with trim control
3 band EQ, FX send, pan, level

Input 2:
Female XLR or (stereo/mono) Balanced/unbalanced 6.35mm (1/4") jack with trim control
3 band EQ, FX send, pan, level

Inputs 3/4:
Left (mono) + right 6.35mm (1/4") jack
3 band EQ, FX send, pan, level

Inputs 5/6:
Left (mono) + right 6.35mm (1/4") jack
3 band EQ, FX send, pan, level

CD/Tape R/L input
CD/Tape R/L output
FX send
Stereo AUX return
Ctrl Room Out R/L
Main Out R/L
Headphone jack
Phantom power
CD/Tape to Ctrl button
CD/Tape to Mix button
Separate Ctrl/Phones and Main Mix sections
Stereo LED VU meter with clip (quite basic)

Note: this mixer does not power speakers (separate amp required)

I bought this with the Behringer UCA202 (Ultra-Low Latency 2 In/2 Out USB/Audio Interface) then installed ASIO drivers as a solution to get quality sound into my computer. This combo is great for bedroom studio work, podcasts, youtube vids etc. Small and light enough to take with you. Had a few problems with noise in the audio interface but I soon realised it was caused by the unit being too close to my laptop power supply. Can't really fault the mixer for the price (although a power button couldn't cost much could it?)

I have read bad reviews for Behringer products in the past but I took a chance due to the price. Not disappointed one bit! I now have a mixer, 2 audio interfaces, a midi interface, a controller keyboard and 2 mics... all from Behringer. Can I just say, Behringer mics are really very very good - amazing clarity and (at the same price points) much better than similarly priced Shure mics.

If you're thinking of buying this mixer, just do it - you won't get better for this price!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent product with one issue, 1 Jan 2012
This review is from: Behringer 802 8 Input 2 Bus Mixer (Electronics)
A great product with really low noise output even when using a Shure mic from the 1980's.
However there is one issue that misleads. Yes, this product IS an 8 input mixer. But if you intend to use all 8 inputs, say for a drum kit for example, its impossible. I am relatively new to the mixer world, but I quote the manual:

Please remember that you can only use either the microphone or the line input of a channel at any one time. You can never use both simultaneously!

To break it down, this is a 8 input mixer, but you will only ever be able to record 6 in parallel at any one time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice kit, 10 Jan 2009
By 
Martin Greenhead "martinrg" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Behringer 802 8 Input 2 Bus Mixer (Electronics)
I wanted a way of using a PC with a TV and 2 mics for karaoke (using Karafun). Sound-wise, the 802 lets me connect the mics using XLR (the larger connectors) and the sound is excellent. Using adaptors I also connected the PC. Obviously I am then able to adjust the inputs, which the mixer does very well. I had a slight problem getting a mic to work but this was due to a dial being turned down (just below the input) so look at the settings if you have an issue, it is most likely to be human error. Not much I would change, it is more than I need and for me is future proof, given the options it has for connections.

Overall very pleased with this, a bargain at the price. Just be prepared to spend a bit of time in Maplins getting leads, and plenty of phono to 1/2 inch adaptors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent value and better than expected, 9 Feb 2012
By 
A. C. Highfield (Almeria, Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Behringer 802 8 Input 2 Bus Mixer (Electronics)
I tend to be wary of Behringer gear... some is good, some is really quite poor. However, I took a chance on this as we needed a little sub-mixer for stage use that had to be very compact and yet still provide a couple of mic pres with +48v and 3-band EQ. I have to say that this exceeded my expectations. It sounds good, with very low residual noise, and there is plenty of headroom on the mic inputs. The EQ works really well. Overall construction is sturdy enough. There are a couple of weak points, however. The worst is the power connector. This is a very small and flimsy looking affair with multiple prongs that does not inspire confidence. The lack of an on-off switch is also a negative. The super-bright blue LED could also be bit off-putting. Other than that, it really is extremely small and compact with a good range of control options and certainly delivers sound-wise. Our main mixer is an Allen & Heath, and while that is undoubtedly superior, for the price difference, it is hard to complain about the little Behringer. I just hope that the power connector is tougher than it looks and feels...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good little mixer, 4 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Behringer 802 8 Input 2 Bus Mixer (Electronics)
This little 8 channel mixer is a great buy if you plan to try building your first table top home studio and fiddle with audio equipment while on a tight budget. It can be used with two phantom powered microphones. Other reviewers have mentioned the annoying little bits in the construction like the absence of an on/off switch and a ridiculously bright LED for a power indicator. You'll need additional 3.5mm Jack to 2 x RCA phono stereo audio cables, and some 6.3mm to 3.5mm adapters as the box comes only with this little mixer (it is really little!), a power supply and a user manual. I'm yet to use it for the purpose it was purchased and would update this review with my thoughts on that later.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bargain, 5 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Behringer 802 8 Input 2 Bus Mixer (Electronics)
This is great value for money. If you need a good mixer that's portable, easy to use and high quality- this is for you. No fuss. Just plug it in, that's it.

One down side- only a down side if you lose the plug. They cost about 30 to replace- which is more than half the cost of the unit. Don't lose or damage the plug and you'll be fine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellant product!, 2 Aug 2011
This review is from: Behringer 802 8 Input 2 Bus Mixer (Electronics)
got this super faster than i expected (only 1 day after it was shipped). works like a dream, excellant for its price range.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works as Advertised :), 22 Feb 2012
This review is from: Behringer 802 8 Input 2 Bus Mixer (Electronics)
Perfect little mixer... I use it in my home studio for small scale recordings, and it works like a charm :) no cons, just pros.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 25 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Behringer 802 8 Input 2 Bus Mixer (Electronics)
i came home from school one night and it was here, in 2 days! well packaged, and straight out the box, plugin and setup. works brill!
things i like:
the eq settings are good
the pan is good

whats NOT so good
power light is really bright.

excellent for anything, i use it for home recording good for anyone for recording, skype or gigs as this is an all rounder for any enthusiasts.
a must buy and 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mighty midget good for Skype-based podcasting, 8 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Behringer 802 8 Input 2 Bus Mixer (Electronics)
This is a functional mixer and ideal for the home pod-caster. It can be set up to record Skype calls if you have two sound cards (see below), there is guidance on YouTube as to how to do this.

Having said that it will do the job, I think you need to know what it hasn't got, in case you want to consider a better-specified model. It hasn't got an On/Off switch, for example, so you have to leave it on all day and pull the mains adapter plug to turn it off. It doesn't have sliders for volume, the knobs are OK but it's a bit less easy to see how they are set than with a slider. The knobs are also set quite close together, so you have to check you aren't also moving adjacent knobs - there is just enough clearance for fat fingers. The unit is quite small which is good for desk-space and you shouldn't be twiddling most of the knobs once they are set. The knobs are quite tall and feel a bit delicate and one of them had a bit of play in it from side to side which probably meant that it wasn't quite tightened up enough when it was assembled but this does not affect function.

It doesn't have push buttons to mute the channels, which means if you are going to sneeze you have to dive across the desk and turn one of the channels down. it does have a 3-band equaliser which saves some post-processing of the signal, but it does not have (for example) compressors on each channel which are necessary if you are going out live so it is pretty obvious that this is for prerecording, in which case the lack of live effects is not a problem because you are going to do all of that post-production in your software.

The unit has an 'Fx Out' which can be co-opted to send a preliminary feed (your mic, any other inputs eg music) to a second dedicated sound card on your PC (not included) where it will pick up any Skype conversation and return to be added to the main mix. You can then talk on Skype through a proper mic and listen on headphones (not a headset). The quality will be largely dependent on Skype, your mic and the background hum and not on the mixer.

The sound quality through the mixer is very good, certainly good enough for any amateur studio where you will probably have computer fans whirring and clocks ticking and probably good enough for much more demanding applications. Don't forget you will need some 3.5mm Stereo Jack Plug to 2 x 6.35mm Mono Audio Cables to connect it to and from your PC sound card(s) and up to two more phono (RCA) plug cables to make full use of the channels.

This unit will support two mics, two other stereo inputs, Skype calling and provide three outputs so it is a bit of a mighty midget. In summary I would say that this is the mixer you need - but probably not the one you will lust after. Behringer have put a lot of thought into how to retain the functionality in such a small unit. To properly compare mixers and get the one you want, get the Behringer catalogue 'We Hear You' posted to you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Behringer 802 8 Input 2 Bus Mixer
38.02
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews