Customer Reviews


73 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars grease is definately the word
watching grease was good enough but grease 2 was out of this world a fantastic combination of class music and fantastic acting. if you like Grease you will love grease two
Published on 20 Nov 2003 by nataliehunt100

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's not THAT bad...(maybe?)
If you don't compare it to Grease (which let's face it you're going to no matter what), it's not THAT bad but it's definitely got problems.

Firstly, the story is pretty cliché. Although arguably Grease was too, they pulled it off because it was entertaining and well acted. The acting is awful in this! Maxwell Caulfield has as much charisma as dry paint,...
Published 15 months ago by Jenny


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars grease is definately the word, 20 Nov 2003
This review is from: Grease 1 & 2 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
watching grease was good enough but grease 2 was out of this world a fantastic combination of class music and fantastic acting. if you like Grease you will love grease two
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Let it stand on its own., 7 Nov 2003
By 
Nicola Jarvis (Herts, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Grease 2 [DVD] (DVD)
I grew up with both of the Grease films but I must say, Grease 2 is my favourite and there are many reasons. It does have the same kind of formula as the orginal Grease but is dealt with in a completely different way. Danny faniced Sandy back, but Stephanie (played by the young Michelle Pfhieffer) doesn't even give Michael (Caulfield) a second glance. Also, instead of cars, a motorbike is the new 'thing' to have.
Michael Carrington, a straight A student from England, transfers to Rydell High and is immediately put into the 'nerd' category and the T-Birds brand him 'Shakesphere'. He is smart, extremely uncool and very shy.
Stephenie, the leader of the Pink ladies has come back from the summer holidays having broke up with Johnny, the T-Birds leader, having grown out of him. Johnny is clearly still interested in Stephanie but she doesn't want to know. Her loyalty to the Birds has faltered as she wants someone even cooler.

First day back Stephanie sees the Birds picking on Michael and defends him, from that moment on Michael vows to become a T-Bird and win her heart.
So there is the story, but what Grease is famous for is the memorable songs, and this film has them! There are 12 songs on the soundtrack and there isn't one that I really skip. The music has changed since the first Grease as it was made in the decade of the 80's. Its early 80's rock that you are getting yourself into for the most part. You have the romanitc songs (Turn Back The Hands Of Time, We'll Be Together, Charades), the heavy rock songs (Cool Rider, Who's That Guy), the happy-go-dancing songs (Score Tonight, Back To School), the sweet songs (Love For All Seasons) and the down right silly songs (Reproduction, Prowlin'). These are all songs that stick in your mind and just can't stop singing them to yourself. All the songs are quality and stand on their own. Absolutely brilliant soundtrack.
What would Grease be without the classic characters? We have the T-Birds who are actually not cool in any way or form, its only the leader (Johnny) who is 'cool', the others just follow his lead. Johnny is a classic character who makes you laugh over and over again, its hilarious whenever he loses his cool. Frenchy unfortunately doesn't have a big part in the film but nethertheless she is there. The coach is back but you only see him twice if that. Mrs Mcgee and Blanche are also back making quite a funny duo as they did last time. Two new teachers; a female who always has low cut tops on and pays $500 for her hair (according to the cheer leading twins). She falls for the unlikely nerdy substitute teacher, Mr Stewart, who teaches the immortal 'Reproduction' lesson. The new Pink ladies have very distinctive characters, one of them is obsessed with her nose and doesnt come into it much (Rhonda), Paulette is somewhat the second leader in my view who has a crush on Johnny, she does have her own intentions but she does care for her friends; nothing like Riz. Sharon is a bubbly flirty character who is the prey of one of the T-Birds (Louis) to get into bed. Then there is Dolores, Paulettes little sister who isn't a Pink lady but a pink lady mascot, she looks about 12, mouthy and carries a skate board everywhere.
The performances were actually very good in my humble opinion, especially Max Caulfield who seemed very uncomfortable... and that is the way Michael is supposed to be! He wins me over with those puppy innocent eyes, then when he is the mysterious guy he acts completely cool. Max was a triumph. His voice isn't the best thing in the world but he didn't sing that much anyway. Michelle Pfhieffer was wonderful as an actress and singer. When you hear her sing you won't need to wonder why Andrew Lloyd Webber wanted her as Evita in his film musical and NOT Madonna. She shines in 'Cool Rider'. The whole cast was believable. I normally sit back in films and watch peoples performances and dig at them but I didnt do that at all in this movie.
This film has a lot of negative feedback as every one compares it to the Original Grease. My opinion isnt common, preferring this one to the original, therefore my advice to you is to forget the first movie when watching this one. It needs a chance!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's not THAT bad...(maybe?), 6 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grease 2 [DVD] (DVD)
If you don't compare it to Grease (which let's face it you're going to no matter what), it's not THAT bad but it's definitely got problems.

Firstly, the story is pretty cliché. Although arguably Grease was too, they pulled it off because it was entertaining and well acted. The acting is awful in this! Maxwell Caulfield has as much charisma as dry paint, the T-Birds are all forgettable as are the supporting Pink Ladies and the only likable character is Frenchy who disappears half way through the movie. While Pfeiffer does an ok job at giving some life to her character, I just don't buy the romance because, when it comes down to it, there isn't anything in her that would make her attractive to the nerdy genius aside from her pretty face. She's sort of nice to him when they first meet but then after that she doesn't give him the time of day and the one time she does, it's only to use him to help her with her English essay. In fact, half their shared dialogue is just him correcting her poor grammar! And although he learns how to be a 'cool rider' for her, he's still exactly what she said she was afraid of; behind the goggles, he's an ordinary dull guy, so logically there's no reason she would be interested in him either.

As for the songs, there's only two memorable ones which are Cool Rider. Everything else is pretty forgettable, though they're not necessarily bad. Which reminds me, I'm surprised no one has pointed out how bad Caulfield's singing is. They hide it ok, but I noticed it right away. I think he's just there to be the eye candy for the girls to be honest. The best singers are actually from the supporting characters.

Overall, although it has major flaws mainly because it's basically a reversed version of Grease, I found it to be an ok movie. If you lower your expectations, it does have a few fun moments and though the songs aren't fantastic, it's only by Grease standard and they can be entertaining on their own. Also, I think the main reason I don't buy the romance is because Pfeiffer and Caulfield apparently did not get along, but they do an ok job at hiding that and I guess they do have a few cute moments together like the motorbike ride.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not without its merits, 27 Oct 2011
This review is from: Grease 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Whilst this is NOT a very p.c. film (a whole load of sexual innuendo and characters openly smoking to be hip), and does not resonate on quite the same grand level of acting and Hollywood spectacle as "Grease", this film is certainly not without its merits in my opinion. Great choreography, lots of pleasant songs, and a neo-realism to the main characters who openly battle with some very human problems, such as self-doubt and lack of confidence, and I think Maxwell Cauldfield's portrayal of a character who struggles with these problems and overcomes them through "being himself", and learning to open up to the people around him as friends, is very engaging. His character portrayal of an openly intellectual and sensitive guy who keeps much to himself for fear of being misunderstood is a real treat for such a big box-office Hollywood film. And Michelle Pfeiffer's portrayal is also very honest. As you so often see Cauldfield and the T-Birds in the same class together, there is a clever subtext that their differences are being resolved through their classroom association, which is never ruined by being openly spelled out. There are so many points in this film which are neo-realistic and intellectually rewarding, and frankly, any film with Maureen Teefy in it, who puts in a great performance as Sharon, a Pink Lady, is a good film to me. I really understood what what going on with the characters when they sang "Let's do it for our country" I felt it too...

I don't think this movie will be for everyone, but I just watched it twice through and enjoyed it, and there aren't all that many films I particularly enjoy. I'm quite discriminating. I find this movie more engaging than its, admittedly very good prequel. I can't promise that you'll like it too, but I hope you won't let the negative hype that surrounds it put you off. However, if excessive sexual innuendo puts you off, this may not be something you'd want to watch. Not really what you would call a children's film. But most of the characters in it are very "real" in a way you would not expect for a big Hollywood Blockbuster sequel. I don't know if I'll still like it in 5 years' time, but I like it now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great, 16 Mar 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grease 1 & 2 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
old time faveriate had them both on tape when i was younger then had an earage to watch them and tape player broke so saw them on here in dvd form so brought them, nice to have old time fav's on dvd,

watched a few times even getting my daughter into it as well she loves dancing to the song parts x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sweet imitation of the real thing, 6 Aug 2009
By 
Teach (Switzerland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Grease 2 [DVD] (DVD)
This is a fun movie, one you can watch with the kids, one that has a happy ending. I really enjoyed watching it when it first came out and added it to my collection for that same reason. However, if you are looking for the same energy and beat as in the original Grease film, you are likely to come away disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a great film, 22 Oct 2000
This review is from: Grease 2 [VHS] (VHS Tape)
ok grease 2 has got to be the best grease film they did i just love the songs they are just so catchy and the ending is a lot better then grease i mean grease was good but the ending spoilt it when they flew away in the car. ive watched grease 2 so many times and still im not bored of it. which makes it a brill film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Feel good movie with cool songs too!, 15 Aug 2000
This review is from: Grease 2 [VHS] (VHS Tape)
If you are in for a relaxing night and feel like a good movie, with no bad language or gory fight scenes then this movie is for you. It has a range of very catchy songs (Reproduction, Score Tonight). The acting may not be amazing but then it's not always in todays films. Michelle Pfeiffer is cool as a pink lady and Maxwell Caulfield is wicked as wannabe T-Bird Micheal Carrington.If these characters together with the music do not get you smiling and feeling good then I'll eat my hat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars so bad its good!, 1 July 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Grease 2 [VHS] (VHS Tape)
What can I say about "Grease 2"? Its corny, its cheesy, it's cringingly predictable, but its brilliant! The acting is not so great at times but this just adds to the comedy of the film. As for the songs, they are indeed memorable with "superb" lyrics. My personal faves include "Score Tonight" and "Who's That Guy?" (featuring the classic line "What would they say if they knew it was Michael?"). If this film fails to make you laugh out loud then there is something seriously wrong with you. So go buy....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Genius., 8 July 2008
This review is from: Grease 2 [DVD] (DVD)
When I wax lyrical about Grease 2, as I often do, I am generally met with cries of "But it's awful!", "It's the worst film ever!", "Why are you saying these things?!" and so forth. And yes, it is terrible. Grease 2 is truly terrible. It is badly made, badly written, badly acted, generally quite ridiculous and not a patch on its predecessor (though predecessor is really an exaggeration; they only share a couple of minor cast-members) - but that's why it's so funny! This is sheer, unadulterated tack; the mother of all B-Movies. I like to think the people behind it were tortured geniuses reveling in the delightful irony of their pitiful creation, but it's likely they just were just idiots. This will disgust around 99.99999% of the population but for those of us who for some reason enjoy seeing a bunch of 20-somethings prance about and burst (badly) into song, this is cinematic gold.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb156424c)

This product

Grease 2 [DVD]
Grease 2 [DVD] by Patricia Birch (DVD - 2006)
£7.38
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews