Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars19
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: DVDChange
Price:£12.97+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 June 2006
If, like me you're aching for the start of the festival season, and mourning the fact that there isn't a Glastonbury this year; this DVD is a must to buy!!! Directed by Julien Temple, this film is one of the most absorbing and inspiring music films I've ever seen!

I left the Cinema singing my favorite Morrissey songs, (Come on Mozza) missing the Mud, (did you loose your tent last year?) and looking forward to next year already.

Although some of the content left me yearning for times gone by, (John Peel ROCKS).... Some of the music is just CLASS.. such as

Coldplay, The Scissor Sisters, Radiohead, Blur, Foo Fighters, Fun Lovin' Criminals, David Bowie, Goldfrapp, Kaiser Chiefs, The Killers, Nick Cave, REM, The White Stripes, Velvet Underground, Quintessence, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, Terry Riley, Morrissey, Faithless, Melanie, Prodigy, Toots an the Maytals, Primal Scream, Richie Havens, Alabama 3, Billy Bragg, Ernest Ranglin, Black Uhuru, Cypress Hill, The Skatalites, Babyshambles, The Levellers, David Gray, Bjork, Stereo MCs, Chemical Brothers, Dr.John, Joe Strummer
0Comment38 of 39 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2006
How do you put all the Glastonbury ingredients into 1 film...impossible you might think...think again...this film does it perfectly and then adds a bit more.

It has all the mayhem, madness and (yes, some mud) that you can find at Glastonbury. I watched it at the cinema.. 70% of the people there had obviously experienced a lot of what happens in the film as they laughed and sang throughout..the rest...they all wanted to experience it, and you can bet after seeing this they will be there next year.

I'm glad this film shows that Glastonbury isn't just about the music. The music is fantastic. But when you watch this you'll know what I mean about what else goes on.

It made me pine even more for next year...and if you've ever thought of going this film will convince you it's the best weekend in the world.
0Comment27 of 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2007
As the King of all music festivals takes a break in 2006, Temple's documentary is the closest thing you can get to the Glastonbury experience this year. It charts the history of the event, but is formed in a way that recreates the feeling of three days of fun rather than simply following chronology.

Two hours and twenty minutes might seem a long time for a documentary, but as you're kept smiling most of the way through, it's not in the least overbearing. We are treated to a number of musical highlights, but just as entertaining is meeting some of the weird and wonderful people that make the festival so unique. Particularly memorable are the three-man family team who run the tanker that sucks the, aherm, human waste out of the portaloos - such are the moronic faces of the two children, they really could be characters from Little Britain!
0Comment7 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2006
This film is a must see for anyone who has ever been to a Glastonbury Festival, It captures the event so totally, taking you right back there, and evoking so many memories and feelings of an extraordinary time.
0Comment16 of 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2011
I have never been to the Glastonbury Festival and so for me this allowed me to feel a part of something I have so far missed. This is truly a work of art in itself in as much as the DVD captures the fine essence of the festival from its beginnings to the present day in all its glory and in all its mud! It is a tribute to the unique culture and art that has evolved within this countryside setting, presenting the joys and the frustrations of all involved over the years. What makes the DVD special is not just the presentation of the stage artists but also the scenes of the millions of people "who are" equally its greatest contributors.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2012
Firstly, Julien Temple is a fine director, I'm always hugely impressed how he must study hundreds of hours of archives and chooses which clips to include in his usually excellent music documentaries. His Joe Strummer film 'The Future Is Unwritten' and 'Oil City Confidential' the story of Dr Feelgood are good examples of his unique style.
'Glastonbury' however is a bit of a mess.
There are some enjoyable moments - the interviews with organiser Michael Eavis, the footage of Joe Strummer running around needing a toilet but forbidden from using the one reserved for the Manic Street Preachers is ironic and funny considering The Clash were their biggest musical influence. Also shown, but I'm not quite sure why is distressing footage of The Battle of the Beanfield where travellers en route to stage the 11th Stonehenge festival were intercepted in to a field and beaten by police bullies from the Wiltshire Constabulary.
Unfortunately the music included in 'Glastonbury' is all too scant, there is simply not enough of it. There are clips of The Velvet Underground, Primal Scream, Nick Cave and The Bad Seeds, Fat Boy Slim, The Prodigy and others but these clips only last for a very short time.
Most of 'Glastonbury' though is taken up by footage of the festival goers.Fans travelling to the festival, fans getting drunk or drugged, fans kissing, fans urinating, fans getting collared by security for trying to scale the perimeter fence etc.
All mildly amusing for a short time but when it takes up so much of the film becomes tedious and dare I say..boring.
'Glastonbury' is a great director's worst project. It's like a messy amateur video and drawn out at almost two and a half hours where 90 minutes would be more than sufficient.
0Comment6 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2015
I love the main movie.
The interactive element where you should be able to select from 4 options using your remote control for me refused to work. - The DVD looped constantly the first 20 mins, then played bands with the main bands music over the top instead of the correct audio. So for instance The White Stripes on screen with The Bravery audio.

if only they had just given a seperate section with just the music instead.

Hence im rating this only 3 stars. Why? the main movie gets 5 stars, but I'm deducting 2 for the faulty interactive element.
Doesn't anyone product test these products before mass release?!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2010
Good study of the festival from the punter's viewpoint. If you want to watch a movie that puts you in the mood for Glastonbury Festival - this is the one for you. Julien Temple does it again - letting the organisor, bands and the people describe best what Glastonbury stands for. Bring on the Summer!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2014
A brilliant DVD for anyone who hasn't been to Glastonbury to find out what it's about, and also brilliant if you've been to help bring back the memories of when you have been.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2009
Captures the different experiences & attitudes of festival goers well.

Nicely balanced between the music & the all the other things you can do at Glastonbury.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse