Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Missing Glasto?
If, like me you're aching for the start of the festival season, and mourning the fact that there isn't a Glastonbury this year; this DVD is a must to buy!!! Directed by Julien Temple, this film is one of the most absorbing and inspiring music films I've ever seen!

I left the Cinema singing my favorite Morrissey songs, (Come on Mozza) missing the Mud, (did you...
Published on 14 Jun. 2006 by Ms. Siobhan M. Flynn

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A Long, Drawn-Out Mess.
Firstly, Julien Temple is a fine director, I'm always hugely impressed how he must study hundreds of hours of archives and chooses which clips to include in his usually excellent music documentaries. His Joe Strummer film 'The Future Is Unwritten' and 'Oil City Confidential' the story of Dr Feelgood are good examples of his unique style.
'Glastonbury' however is a...
Published on 8 Sept. 2012 by nm1270


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

39 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Missing Glasto?, 14 Jun. 2006
By 
Ms. Siobhan M. Flynn "Shiv" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Glastonbury [DVD] (DVD)
If, like me you're aching for the start of the festival season, and mourning the fact that there isn't a Glastonbury this year; this DVD is a must to buy!!! Directed by Julien Temple, this film is one of the most absorbing and inspiring music films I've ever seen!

I left the Cinema singing my favorite Morrissey songs, (Come on Mozza) missing the Mud, (did you loose your tent last year?) and looking forward to next year already.

Although some of the content left me yearning for times gone by, (John Peel ROCKS).... Some of the music is just CLASS.. such as

Coldplay, The Scissor Sisters, Radiohead, Blur, Foo Fighters, Fun Lovin' Criminals, David Bowie, Goldfrapp, Kaiser Chiefs, The Killers, Nick Cave, REM, The White Stripes, Velvet Underground, Quintessence, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, Terry Riley, Morrissey, Faithless, Melanie, Prodigy, Toots an the Maytals, Primal Scream, Richie Havens, Alabama 3, Billy Bragg, Ernest Ranglin, Black Uhuru, Cypress Hill, The Skatalites, Babyshambles, The Levellers, David Gray, Bjork, Stereo MCs, Chemical Brothers, Dr.John, Joe Strummer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As good as it gets......, 14 Jun. 2006
By 
Christopher Hughes (Bolton) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Glastonbury [DVD] (DVD)
How do you put all the Glastonbury ingredients into 1 film...impossible you might think...think again...this film does it perfectly and then adds a bit more.

It has all the mayhem, madness and (yes, some mud) that you can find at Glastonbury. I watched it at the cinema.. 70% of the people there had obviously experienced a lot of what happens in the film as they laughed and sang throughout..the rest...they all wanted to experience it, and you can bet after seeing this they will be there next year.

I'm glad this film shows that Glastonbury isn't just about the music. The music is fantastic. But when you watch this you'll know what I mean about what else goes on.

It made me pine even more for next year...and if you've ever thought of going this film will convince you it's the best weekend in the world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mud, mud, glorious mud, 4 Jan. 2007
By 
R. Hastings (Loughborough, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Glastonbury [DVD] (DVD)
As the King of all music festivals takes a break in 2006, Temple's documentary is the closest thing you can get to the Glastonbury experience this year. It charts the history of the event, but is formed in a way that recreates the feeling of three days of fun rather than simply following chronology.

Two hours and twenty minutes might seem a long time for a documentary, but as you're kept smiling most of the way through, it's not in the least overbearing. We are treated to a number of musical highlights, but just as entertaining is meeting some of the weird and wonderful people that make the festival so unique. Particularly memorable are the three-man family team who run the tanker that sucks the, aherm, human waste out of the portaloos - such are the moronic faces of the two children, they really could be characters from Little Britain!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Memories, 25 July 2006
By 
Janey B (Southampton, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Glastonbury [DVD] (DVD)
This film is a must see for anyone who has ever been to a Glastonbury Festival, It captures the event so totally, taking you right back there, and evoking so many memories and feelings of an extraordinary time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Glastonbury - Life and Times, 19 Mar. 2011
This review is from: Glastonbury [DVD] (DVD)
I have never been to the Glastonbury Festival and so for me this allowed me to feel a part of something I have so far missed. This is truly a work of art in itself in as much as the DVD captures the fine essence of the festival from its beginnings to the present day in all its glory and in all its mud! It is a tribute to the unique culture and art that has evolved within this countryside setting, presenting the joys and the frustrations of all involved over the years. What makes the DVD special is not just the presentation of the stage artists but also the scenes of the millions of people "who are" equally its greatest contributors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A Long, Drawn-Out Mess., 8 Sept. 2012
By 
nm1270 (Tonypandy,Mid Glamorgan, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Glastonbury [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
Firstly, Julien Temple is a fine director, I'm always hugely impressed how he must study hundreds of hours of archives and chooses which clips to include in his usually excellent music documentaries. His Joe Strummer film 'The Future Is Unwritten' and 'Oil City Confidential' the story of Dr Feelgood are good examples of his unique style.
'Glastonbury' however is a bit of a mess.
There are some enjoyable moments - the interviews with organiser Michael Eavis, the footage of Joe Strummer running around needing a toilet but forbidden from using the one reserved for the Manic Street Preachers is ironic and funny considering The Clash were their biggest musical influence. Also shown, but I'm not quite sure why is distressing footage of The Battle of the Beanfield where travellers en route to stage the 11th Stonehenge festival were intercepted in to a field and beaten by police bullies from the Wiltshire Constabulary.
Unfortunately the music included in 'Glastonbury' is all too scant, there is simply not enough of it. There are clips of The Velvet Underground, Primal Scream, Nick Cave and The Bad Seeds, Fat Boy Slim, The Prodigy and others but these clips only last for a very short time.
Most of 'Glastonbury' though is taken up by footage of the festival goers.Fans travelling to the festival, fans getting drunk or drugged, fans kissing, fans urinating, fans getting collared by security for trying to scale the perimeter fence etc.
All mildly amusing for a short time but when it takes up so much of the film becomes tedious and dare I say..boring.
'Glastonbury' is a great director's worst project. It's like a messy amateur video and drawn out at almost two and a half hours where 90 minutes would be more than sufficient.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Glastonbury by Julien Temple, 14 Mar. 2010
By 
This review is from: Glastonbury [DVD] (DVD)
Good study of the festival from the punter's viewpoint. If you want to watch a movie that puts you in the mood for Glastonbury Festival - this is the one for you. Julien Temple does it again - letting the organisor, bands and the people describe best what Glastonbury stands for. Bring on the Summer!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really gets you in the mood for Glastonbury!, 15 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Glastonbury [DVD] (DVD)
A brilliant DVD for anyone who hasn't been to Glastonbury to find out what it's about, and also brilliant if you've been to help bring back the memories of when you have been.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great memories, 27 Oct. 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Glastonbury [DVD] (DVD)
Captures the different experiences & attitudes of festival goers well.

Nicely balanced between the music & the all the other things you can do at Glastonbury.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very uplifting. Almost like being there., 28 May 2009
By 
JR Davidson "Ralphie" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Glastonbury [DVD] (DVD)
Conveys the magic of Glastonbury, both the mainstream entertainment and the hidden madness. The second disc isn't just a filler, it's great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Glastonbury [2006] [DVD]
Glastonbury [2006] [DVD] by Julian Temple (DVD - 2006)
£20.14
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews