Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Drug free high
I had never heard of "Weeds" and just took a chance that i might enjoy it.
The best way to sum up my view of this show is that after 3 episodes i bought series 2,3,&4.
Having now seen 1,2,&3 i can say that this show is actually addictive.
As other reviews describe the premise of "Weeds" i will simply state that this show is both funny and dramatic...
Published on 9 July 2011 by S. Broadbent

versus
2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Rambling US series
I am loathe to spend a long time reviewing this as I've already wasted time watching it. The best thing about it is the title sequence + theme.

Yes Mary Louise Parker is SUPERB, but the plot is taken far too fast, too many characters for a 30 minutes edition, and complex ridiculous scripts and hard-to-follow plot lines.

The writer/ producer does...
Published 16 months ago by Art


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Drug free high, 9 July 2011
By 
S. Broadbent "cyberspaceexpress" (Devon) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Weeds - Season 1 - Complete [DVD] (DVD)
I had never heard of "Weeds" and just took a chance that i might enjoy it.
The best way to sum up my view of this show is that after 3 episodes i bought series 2,3,&4.
Having now seen 1,2,&3 i can say that this show is actually addictive.
As other reviews describe the premise of "Weeds" i will simply state that this show is both funny and dramatic.
There are some really black moments that will either surprise or even possibly shock you. The change fom a typical all
American Mom to butt kicking Drug dealer is well written and believable. I am licking my lips in anticipation at series 4 & hope Weeds will coninue.
This is a diamond of a show. Buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Put aside your preconceptions, 18 Oct 2007
By 
Robert Frampton "Rob Frampton" (Dartford, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Weeds - Season 1 - Complete [DVD] (DVD)
This gem of a show from US cable should be high on your 'must see' list. If it's not, is it because it's (ostensibly) about an all-American mom surviving her bereavement by selling pot, perchance? Tish and pish!
Mary Louise Parker (surely one of the sexiest women on the planet... oh, and also one of the best actors on US TV) gives a superb performance, elevating already brilliantly written scripts to a level of black comedy rarely seen on British TV. Each half hour episode runs the gamut from phone sex with a deaf girl, through setting up a fake bakery (a 'fakery' if you will) to shooting marauding mountain lions in the face. Oh, and you'll laugh too.
To complement this, Elizabeth Pekins's performance as the sexually-frustrated, bitchy, PTA president mom-from-hell almost steals the show.
Bring on series 2 right now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dark US Comedy, 15 Aug 2008
By 
J. Bloss "jethrox1" (Buckingham,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Weeds - Season 1 - Complete [DVD] (DVD)
I bought Weeds not knowing anything about it other than the basic premise - suburban wife and mother takes to weed dealing after husband dies. I wasn't that impressed by the pilot episode but stuck with it and have been pleasantly surprised. The characters are allowed to develop nicely and although I wouldn't say that there are many out and out bits of hilarity it is gently comedic. It is quite dark in places and the only downside I can say is that occasionally some of the dialogue feels like it is deliberately trying to be crass or shocking. Overall though I would recommend it for anyone who likes comedy dramas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant start..., 30 April 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Weeds - Season 1 - Complete [DVD] (DVD)
Great DVD, I love Weeds, its the start of my collection and I will be buying more Weeds box sets until I eventually have them all!!!!! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars BEWARE: you will get addicted to Weeds!!!, 5 Feb 2008
By 
Louise Amkaer (Greenland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Weeds - Season 1 - Complete [DVD] (DVD)
Her husband dies of a heart attack while jogging and Nancy is left as a stay-at-home mom with two sons, a huge house, leased car, and no income. The solution to this conundrum: Nancy becomes the drug dealer of choice for inhabitants of lovely, suburban Agrestic.

The stroll down a tight rope high in the circus tent has only just begun for Nancy as she tries to balance an business (selling weed and a bakery/fakery), her family (sexually active teenage son and 11-year-old son grieving out loud plus slagger brother-in-law), and of course her lively neighbours including Chairman of the PTA, a very creative accountant, and her supplier.

Oh yes!! "Weeds" is hilarious!!! Be prepared to laugh and cry when you watch the series.

Louise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Crackling, darkly humourous expose of American suburbs, 18 Mar 2009
This review is from: Weeds - Season 1 - Complete [DVD] (DVD)
The basic premise, widowed suburban housewife turns pot dealer to make ends, may not sound like comedy gold, but in the hands of these particular writers - and given licence to satirise cross all sorts of normal TV boundaries it succeeds in spades.
Drugs, teenage sex,infidelity, blackmail and straightforward parenting all get explored with a combination of dry wit and near Deadwood levels of fruity language.
Significantly the series also looks at the risks and costs associated with these behaviours. It may portray pot-smoking as a fairly harmless vice in itself but doesn't shirk from the cost of its association with the organised(and shambolic) crime that goes with it.

All told this is a real grower of a series and one watching it soon becomes something of habit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best series ever, 2 Jun 2007
This review is from: Weeds - Season 1 - Complete [DVD] (DVD)
weeds one of the best series that i've ever watched. it is clever ,funny and very very pleasant to watch. i am just looking forward for the third season and i am hoping that it will be out soon and that it will be as good as the first and second season!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Great American TV series!, 12 Sep 2011
This review is from: Weeds - Season 1 - Complete [DVD] (DVD)
If you loved Entourage, Californication and The Sopranos you will love this series. It is great easy viewing, has a good story line and is very funny. I enjoyed this so much I have just ordered series 3 and 4.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Production issues or faulty player?, 17 Jun 2008
By 
S. Fleming "Sam" (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Okay - so I imported this as it interested me. I had never seen Weeds before and was looking to add something different to my Blu-Ray collection.

The item arrived very quickly once I had ordered it from Caiman on Marketplace. I put it in the player and had to wait about 5 minutes (no exaggeration) for the player (a 40GB PAL PS3) to actually acknowledge it, while it made a lot of noises that I can only describe as "struggling". Suddenly a message came on the screen saying content can not be played and displayed an error code - which I foolishly didn't write down. I got a bit worried that my research on whether the title was region free or not had failed, but then I turned off the player and tried again and after a slightly shorter load time it came up with the menu.

All was going great until I got up to about episode 4, when the picture suddenly froze and the player started with the struggling noises again. I got a little worried, wondering whether I would be able to return the item now that it had been opened. Then it suddenly started playing again. Admittedly an amount of the episode had been skipped - I'm unsure how much as I didn't want to bring up the menu incase I crashed it. Again, after this all was going well until I got to episode 8 when halfway through the episode the screen froze again. Following a 5 minute wait for it to pick up again, I gave up as it didn't seem to be doing anything. I will have to try another time in hope that it'll work then.

So - if this is an issue on all the discs then I would be a bit worried. It's quite a serious issue and can seriously disrupt people's viewing. I would warn you to be careful on ordering this if you live in the UK as returning it to the manufacturer in the USA might be troublesome.

As for the content of the discs themselves - I can't fault it. Picture quality is great and colourful, the soundtrack is excellent although sometimes the background music is louder than the episode in which case I have to rush for the remote to turn it down a bit, as to not disturb the neighbours. The programme itself is great for laughs and shock horror, and is a bit random too!

All 10 episodes of the first season on one disc is great as it means you don't need to switch discs after 3 or so episodes. I will certainly be buying the following seasons, providing Lionsgate continue to produce them Region Free as that is the way to go for us here in the ridiculously overpriced and left behind UK. It's discrimination, I tell you!

Please note that the faults in my review may not be the case with all copies of this disc and certainly is not a bad review of the programme itself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars You have seen "Desperate Housewives," well, this would be "Desperate Housewives" on drugs, 24 July 2006
By 
Amazon Customer (The Zenith City, Duluth, Minnesota) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
I think that in its heart of hearts, "Weeds" wants to be a black comedy. After all, when her husband drops dead, Nancy Botwin (Mary-Louise Parker) decides to support her family, which consists of her two sons, Silas (Hunter Parrish) and Shane (Alexander Gould), by selling marijuana in suburbia. Not just in any suburb, but the gated community of Agrestic, California, where the other women might look like they are from Stepford but their topics of discussion are strictly Peyton Place. But I do not think we need to go back that far to example the dynamic of "Weeds," because what we are talking about here are the "Desperate Housewives" of Wisteria Lane on drugs, and as the title gives away, the drug of choice here is marijuana. Actually, that would be the "herb of your choice," because that is the special ingredient in all of the Agrestic Herbal Recipes includes on the special features of the season one DVD.

Marijuana is not a gateway drug in the wacky world of "Weeds," and Nancy might be a dealer but she is also a mom, so if somebody starts dealing to 10 year olds she is more than willing to find them jumping on a bed in their underwear and to sit on them and read them the riot act (okay, actually she has to use coercion, but you get the moral position here). The people of Agrestic do not do harder drugs, they just smoke weed, and eat brownies (and hash browns and pot roast and, well, you get the idea). So, yes, just about everybody on the show is doing drugs, but they are not doing bad drugs, they are just smoking (and eating) weed. In other words, weed is not a hard drug it is a soft drug and people who take it get silly and or horny, which for a half-hour dramedy (black dramedy?) that airs on Showtime would pretty much be a prerequisite. Funny that things have not really progressed all that much from the classic anti-marijuana films of the 1930s, like "Reefer Madness" and "Assassin of Youth," which proved once and for all that smoking grass makes you giggle uncontrollably.

Selling weed is only part of Nancy's life, because both of her sons are presenting her with problems. Silas wants to have sex with her girlfriends and Shane, who was with his father when he dropped dead, likes to respond aggressively to being bullied, which means he gets suspended from elementary school a lot ("You Can't Miss the Bear"). One of the few people in Agrestic who is not smoking Nancy's weed is Celia Hodes (Elizabeth Perkins), the president of the Agrestic Elementary School P.T.A., whose older daughter is the one Silas wants to have sex with. Celia is the sort of person who thinks diet soft drinks should be available to the kids at school and who calls her youngest daughter Isabelle (Allie Grant) "Isabelly" as part of constant pressure to lose weight. This is a mother-daughter war that gets dirty a way you have seldom seen before ("Good S*** Lollipop"). Then again, Celia does teach us that there are clearly worse things in this world than having Coke bottles from a Cessna fall through your roof ("Fashion of the Christ").

"Weeds" could be an interesting show without the marijuana because, after all, we are talking about Mary Louise Parker and Elizabeth Perkins here, which is a pretty dynamic duo (Parker grabbed a Golden Globe for her role and Perkins is up for an Emmy this year). But some of the funniest stuff here happens when the white lady goes to the house of her supplier, Heylia James (Tonye Patano), and proves how far in over her head she is in this new business venture. Fortunately Heylia's nephew Conrad Shepard (Romany Malco) takes a liking to Nancy or she would really be up the proverbial creek without a paddle ("The Punishment Lighter"). Nancy's C.P.A., Doug Wilson (Kevin Nealon) is helping her hide her income when he is not buying her weed, and over the course of the first season she slowly puts together a support group that can help her move up the food chain of her chosen business. Unfortunately her brother-in-law Andy (Justin Kirk) has showed up and moved in and the guy is a walking advertisement for weed being too much of a good thing at some point that he apparently reached years ago ("Lude Awakening").

In terms of ideological assault "Weeds" burns its satire at both ends of the political spectrum, which would mean everybody will find something to laugh at and/or be offended by, or probably both. This might be an idealized version of the marijuana business, but Nancy has spunk and it suddenly occurs to me that this show might also be "The Mary Tyler Moore Show" on drugs, because we have the feeling that Nancy just might make it after all. That is until the final shot of the first season when she turns on the light in the bathroom and sees what is embroidered on the shirt she grabbed to put on when she got out of bed in the middle of the night ("The Godmother"). The second season should be interesting and hopefully Showtime will keep "Weeds" around longer than they did "Huff." Final Note: Gould was the voice of both Nemo in "Finding Nemo" and Bambi in "Bambi II," which is why he sounds so familiar but you cannot place the face.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Weeds - Season 1 - Complete [DVD]
Weeds - Season 1 - Complete [DVD] by Lev Spiro (DVD - 2007)
£10.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews