Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just wait for all of the pieces to fit to figure out the puzzle in this black comedy
I see a lot of comments on how writer-director Greg Marcks's film "11:14" is in the tradition of "Pulp Fiction," but that is true only to the extent that you are talking about a film that plays with chronology. True, Quentin Tarantino made it possible to tell a story in a non-linear mode, but that is not what Marck does in this one. What he does is more akin to Akira...
Published on 6 May 2006 by Amazon Customer

versus
4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An old chestnut
One of those films about several seemingly unrelated characters who turn out to be interconnected by a bizarre sequence of events. This isn't a bad film at all but it's a well worn genre that has even by covered in a Simpson's episode....it amazes me that Hollywood can be so lazy, I really wouldn't have the nerve. Anyway, this is basically Crash for teenagers; so you get...
Published on 28 Mar 2007 by Johnentwistlespout


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just wait for all of the pieces to fit to figure out the puzzle in this black comedy, 6 May 2006
By 
Amazon Customer (The Zenith City, Duluth, Minnesota) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
I see a lot of comments on how writer-director Greg Marcks's film "11:14" is in the tradition of "Pulp Fiction," but that is true only to the extent that you are talking about a film that plays with chronology. True, Quentin Tarantino made it possible to tell a story in a non-linear mode, but that is not what Marck does in this one. What he does is more akin to Akira Kurosawa's "Rashomon," where we get the same story from various perspectives. Even here the analogy is not completely on point either, because in "Rashomon" each character tells a decidedly different version, only the last of which is privileged as what really happened. In "11:14" each pass through the story covers essentially the same time (each story starts progressively earlier in the evening), but for the most part in a different place. The "most" part of that last sentence is key, because the characters and stories interconnect and as we learn something new we rethink what has gone out before.

We begin with Jack Levine (Henry Thomas), who is driving along one night in the town of Middleton, talking on a cell phone, a bottle of booze on the front seat, when he gets disconnected from his call, the clock in his car hits 11:14 and a body hits his windshield. The situation, to put it mildly, is not good, and they manage to get progressively worse for Jack (could YOU recite the alphabet backwards under pressure?). I do not want to get into the details, because that would spoil the fun. Suffice it to say this is only the first piece in this black comedy. It is important you know that this is a black comedy because cars hitting people, or people hitting cars, are not usually topics of humor. Besides, there are arguably worse things that happen to people in this movie (depending on your point of view, which very well may be gender specific).

The rest of the cast, in alphabetical order, are Rachel Leigh Cook as Cheri, Ben Foster as Eddie, Colin Hanks as Mark, Clark Gregg as Officer Hannagan (who is having a very full night), Shawn Hatosy as Duffy, Blake Heron as Aaron, Barbara Hershey as Norma, Stark Sands as Tim, Hilary Swank as Buzzy, and Patrick Swayze as Frank. I have no doubt that all of them were persuaded to go with Marck, whose only previous credit was the 19-minute long "Lector" (about a man who makes his living reading books to cigar rollers at a time when the new technology of the radio is threatening his job, on the basis of this script. That is because this script adds a new layer of meaning to the story each time around as we come full circle and finally understand what really happened. I agree with the fine ensemble cast that signed on for this one, that Marck pulls it off, and that what we end up with is not so much a cosmic joke as what might actually be cosmic justice. The only question now is what does Marck do for an encore? Because you can only play this type of game once.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The ripple effects of an accident�., 14 Oct 2005
The way the lives of the several different characters intersect on a fateful night in the town of Middleton is the highlight of the strangely titled 11:24, a small, independent film that is sort of "film schoolish," but ultimately quite enjoyable. Like a less glitzy, small-town version of Go or even Memento, the film follows several story threads that all converge in a single moment, involving a traffic accident.
The crash begins as Jack (Henry Thomas) is driving down the road, somewhat drunk, when he hits somebody at 11:14 p.m. Panicked he tries to hide the body in the trunk of his car, when Norma (Barbara Hershey) pulls up beside him and assumes that he has been hit by a deer. He manages to fob her off, but then has a face off with the town cop, Officer Hannagan (Clark Gregg), who immediately arrests him.
As this situation unfolds, director, Greg Marcks sweeps us backwards in time to meet other characters, all of them related in unexpected ways to that accident. Most of the characters operate according to secret motives and their lives become entwined, not by mere chance, but as a direct consequence of the actions they take. They all seem to be bumbling through the night; with every step they take making it worse.
Hilary Swank plays Buzzy, a hapless store clerk, probably the only truly trusting and sincere character in the film, who is appalled when her friend Duffy (Shawn Hatosy) wants to rob her store so that he can get some fast cash to pay for girlfriend, Cheri's (Rachael Leigh Cook) abortion.
Cheri for her part is a young tart, juggling at least two guys at once, for reasons not immediately clear. Cheri's father Frank (Patrick Swayze) is annoyed at his daughter's philandering ways, and has been trying to stop her from seeing anyone. Meanwhile, three young drunk young men are out to cause some trouble. They end up hitting a woman with a van, while one of them gets him male member severed.
Since the film kicks off with a pivotal moment, getting to the action immediately. We know exactly where things are going - but Marcks proves to be effective at keeping us in suspense as the puzzle like story gradually unfolds. What makes 11:14 so eminently watchable is that Marcks doesn't just have a novel way of telling his story; he has a really good story to tell, and solid screenplay satisfyingly clicks everything together, unraveling little mysteries as it goes along, leaving nothing hanging.
The tone of the movie is part dramatic, part dark comic, but mostly totally absurd, and the offbeat sensibilities are effectively maintained throughout. There's just enough ambiguity with the story and the characters to hold our attention, and also enough information for audiences to have fun piecing all the disparate clues together. Mike Leonard October 05.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 3 Mar 2007
This review is from: 11.14 [DVD] (DVD)
i just watched this film, had no idea what itd be like, thought itd be scary thank god it wasnt as i didnt want to be scared this early in the day lol!!! but it is like getting all the pieces of a jigsaw puzzle and putting them together. the film basically has 5 different events happen all at one time, throughout the film you see how they all link to one another and at the end how it fits in to one story kind of. its really good a great film, perhaps could be longer or more of a storyline but it was a great watch and different. oh and its a bit gruesome as there are lots of blood but its not scary, and the storyline is good. worth a watch!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The view from [...], 2 Sep 2013
By 
This review is from: 11:14 [DVD] (DVD)
A car crash at 11:14 pm and the events leading up to it are chronicled from five different perspectives...
This film is 10 years old and I have to admit I'd heard nothing about it, I thought it would be just some serious, probably a bit melodramatic, drama, how wrong was I!!
At time's quite manic, one of the characters loses his penis in an accident, his mate then gets it back by stealing it from an ice box in an Ambulance, Patrick Swayze spends quality time with his lovable Golden Retriever trying to dispose of his dead daughters boyfriend whom he thinks she killed!
A manic, funny, wildly inventive black comedy drama, similar in vein to Doug Liman's classic "Go" from 1999, brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A really funny, quite smart, dark comedy, 19 Jan 2008
By 
Darth Maciek "Darth Maciek" (Darth Maciek is out there...) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: 11.14 [DVD] (DVD)
It is a very busy evening for officer Hannagan, the lonely cop patrolling Middelton, a little town somewhere in USA. He will have his hands full with the robbery of a local grocery, a hit and run, a hit and no run, two dead bodies, one gunshot wound, 1200$ in cash, one bowling ball and a weird accident involving a severed... ahem, well let's just say that what was severed is usually not associated with female anatomy... After barely one hour of his service he will run out off handcuffs...

It is clear that this movie was inspired a little by Quentin Tarantino, especially in its dialogues. The story is told backwards, in five chapters, every one being more hilarious than the previous.... and they all interconnect with a total perfection! All the actors give a great performance, but Hillary Swank and Patrick Swayze are especially good (it is also a great pleasure to see Swayze again). For all those who loved "Dirty dancing" as much as I did, there is one scene with Swayze which you will simply love (no hints - watch the movie!).

Two important lessons can be learned from this film:

- if you need to go, you should REALLY stop the car...
- getting intimate in a cemetary is a REALLY bad idea....

Now, "11.14" of course is not an immortal masterpiece which will survive humanity itself - but if you want to pass a nice evening with a smart, dark, and slightly misantropic comedy, this is what you need.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Movie! Must See, 31 Dec 2008
By 
E. C. Carnochan "Mr C." (Dumfries) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 11.14 [DVD] (DVD)
Came across this film by chance but it is a must see. Great story and acting, filmed really cleverly and even some mind games being played on the viewer! As soon as it is over you will want to see it again!! Excellent film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Welcome to Middleton - a crappy place to live", 11 Feb 2007
By 
Deanne Dixon "deanne9499" (Sunny South Shields) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 11.14 [DVD] (DVD)
I often find myself chuckling away about a daily text message I receive from a friend of mine (who, incidentally shall remain nameless) about a woman she often comes across on her daily travels. Dubbed only as the "Whitney woman", this individual gets on the same bus as my friend on a morning, and listens to Whitney Houston on repeat, exceptionally loudly. Not only making me wonder what people must think of my musical tastes (am I somebody's "Prodigy pest"?), it also makes me realise that life is more than a series of coincidences - often people travel the same daily path for a reason. Take this philosophy, extend it into 84 minutes of visual brilliance, and this is the premise for "11:14".

Briefly, "As the clock turns 11:14, a young man is driving down the highway and suddenly his life is thrown into chaos when a disturbing event occurs. Turns out, many of the town are involved and as their stories unfold, a night of secrets, lies and shocking surprises is revealed".

If I am going to be honest, I am slighty biased when it comes to rating this "Memento-esque" film. Any product that is endorsed by "New Line Cinema" has my mouth watering, being a huge fan of the "Hellraiser" and "Nightmare on Elm Street" franchise. Nevertheless, the film itself is worthy of it's association with the afore-mentioned sponsor, primarily because of it's tight story-line and it's sardonic wit. I was really impressed by the originality of the opening titles, primarily because the way that they are set out foreshadows what is to come in the film. I am also a fan of so-called "black comedy" (I think BBC Three's "Nighty Night" is the best thing since kebab's were invented), so the misplaced soundtrack, coupled with the biting one-liners made me laugh (take for example, the college-student searching for his friend's dismembered penis after having it torn off in a car accident: "...Sorry it took me so long, I was looking for something bigger!"). Finally, what REALLY impressed me about the film is the way in which it is brought to it's climax at the end - the film itself is clever in it's cyclical nature and you don't come away wondering what you missed like you do in some other (mention- no-names) films.

As the old adage goes, "nothing's perfect", and the film itself does have it's flaws. Although the film ties up very neatly at the end, I couldn't help wondering whether many of the individual strands to the story-line were too "unbelieveable" to bring the film to it's somewhat "believeable" final scene. Whether you find this to be a flaw to the film, or whether you find this creating "something out of nothing" impressive, is for you, as an individual, to decide. For those of you who do not possess a dark sense of humour like myself, this film may not be for you. There are certainly one or two scenes that could be seen as distasteful and some may think that the upbeat soundtrack that often accompanies death in the film is somewhat inappropriate.

I came to this review on the second time of watching the film, a wise move on my part. The story-line is not spoon-fed to you and it is sometimes easy to lose the thread of a film that has so many story-lines developing at one time, particularly if you don't know how it ends. Credit though, to the director and cast, for putting together a film that actually makes you want to come back for a second viewing. How many films have you watched recently can you actually say make you want to do that?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very clever film, 15 Jun 2010
By 
C. J. Jenkins (Surbiton Surrey UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 11.14 [DVD] (DVD)
I was very impressed by this film the editing is outstanding a twist on other films. A DVD I will watch again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 11:14, 11 Mar 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 11.14 [DVD] (DVD)
Excellent film but then I'm a Patrick Swayze fan, even kept my husband awake though so must be interesting, plus if you missed any you'd probably lose the plot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dark comedy - worth a watch, 24 April 2007
By 
Alan Rodger "alanrodger4" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 11.14 [DVD] (DVD)
Don't expect any novelty from this film, it's all been done before, nevertheless it was hugely entertaining. It reminded me of some of the darker parts of Pulp Fiction as there is a Taratino-esque slant to the comedy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

11.14 [DVD]
11.14 [DVD] by Greg Marcks (DVD - 2007)
£5.70
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews