Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Akeelah and the Bee is a G-o-o-d Movie
I have been excited to see Akeelah and the Bee for several months now, ever since I saw the first trailer. And perhaps my review is tainted with bias, but I thought this film was great. We have been wanting to see a family film touch us this way for quite some time. This is a film about connection, and proves yet again that casting is key.

I want to say that...
Published on 3 July 2007 by Jenny J.J.I.

versus
1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars description misleading. It is not in German
The movie is great, however, I bought that for my little sister because on the description it says language: Deutsch (German). However, the movie is only in English. What a waste of money....I ordered again now in German from a German supplier, which is more expensive, but at least I am sure that it will be in German.
Published on 23 April 2012 by JosephineAL


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Akeelah and the Bee is a G-o-o-d Movie, 3 July 2007
By 
This review is from: Akeelah And The Bee [DVD] (DVD)
I have been excited to see Akeelah and the Bee for several months now, ever since I saw the first trailer. And perhaps my review is tainted with bias, but I thought this film was great. We have been wanting to see a family film touch us this way for quite some time. This is a film about connection, and proves yet again that casting is key.

I want to say that Fishburne made this movie, and I would, if it weren't for phenom Keke Palmer. Keke as Akeelah stole the limelight from seasoned veterans Laurence Fishburne and playing her mother, Angela Bassett. Bassett did a phenomenal job as well as her overworked, worrisome mother. Fishburne wowed me with his performance as a collegiate professor weighted down with a difficult past; one strikingly similar to Akeelah's path. Others pepper the screen with helpful great acting, including Friday NIGHT LIGHT's Lee Thompson Young and REVENGE OF THE NERDS Curtis Armstrong. And finally surprising performances from Akeelah's friends. The young actors did not overplay their parts like many children; they convince the audience they are just other normal kids that can spell words like djkflhsdufhis.

The film does a great job of painting a picture of the rough neighborhood without going overboard like so many movies do nowadays. It was enough to know her brother ran with a bad crowd, whereas in cliché movies, her brother might have been shot or gotten into drugs. Knowing that this little girl raised to hopes of the entire neighborhood was not unrealistic, either. Many movies have given realistic accounts of East L.A.; this does a great job of showing how bad it is, without showing us how bad it is.

Finally, the drama behind this film comes from its love, its friendship. By the end of the film you are sure to have a lump in your throat, you realize that each and every relationship in this film is engulfed in friendship albeit different kinds. If you've ever had a mentor, a best friend, a fresh love, a child, a lost parent, a brother, sister, a caring teacher or president, or even a friendly rivalry, you will love this movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Globally Inspirational, 15 Mar 2009
By 
Julian Hunte "Ninjules" (Barbados, West Indies) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Akeelah And The Bee [DVD] (DVD)
This movie has inspired a little girl to want to read, spell and be just like Akeelah! - as I hoped it would. It even motivates me!
It was worth every cent that it cost!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A much needed role model, 11 Aug 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Akeelah And The Bee [DVD] (DVD)
Though this film was made in America, the three main child characters are from ethnic backgrounds and echo situations that arise elsewhere, particularly in multicultural Britain (which is my neck of the woods). This would be an important film to be shown in some of the problem schools in cities where low self esteem in the pupils has resulted in bad behaviour and slipped standards. However, a viewing in private and all white schools would also help to improve their opinion of intelligene within the Black community. We should definitely be producing more films with this up-beat message.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Where do you think big words come from?", 9 April 2010
By 
@GeekZilla9000 "I am completely operational a... (Doncaster, Yorkshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Akeelah And The Bee [DVD] (DVD)
After winning her school spelling bee, Akeelah is something of a reluctant victor and unwilling to draw attention to her abilities in a school which can barely afford textbooks.

The film charts her progress as she is encouraged by her head teacher and the enigmatic Dr. Larabee to go on an be a contestant in the national spelling bee while she deals with personal problems at home. Akeelah lives in a disadvantaged part of Los Angeles and her family is dealing with the death of her father some years past. Given the economic struggles and the harsh reality of life in the ghetto, it's easy to see how winning a spelling competition is viewed in such low regard. The film shows us how Akeelah is torn by the ambition to use her intellect and shine through and the desire to simply fit in with the crowd.

Although it sometimes looks pretty obvious where the film is going and seems to incorporate many of the clichés you expect from an underdog story, the naturalistic performances and the gritty domestics bring it back down to earth and the characters feel real enough for you to care about what happens. Akeelah And The Spelling Bee doesn't shy away from highlighting the social divide created by having communities at opposite ends of the wealth spectrum, issues such as snobbery and racism are present and tackled in a way that doesn't feel forced. The film doesn't go on a crusade, it simply presents a good story in a way which reveals a lot about modern life in America. This probably represents life in the rougher urban areas more accurately than most films, the folk there aren't all tagged with stereotypes, they are people with depth and the same hopes, fears, and capacity achieve their full potential as the rest of us.

In a nutshell: This almost feels like a spin on the Karate Kid - Akeelah is the young Daniel who is struggling to find direction in life and is being bullied, and Dr. Larabee - the past winner of the competition is Mr Miyagi - a tutor whose methodology appears strange at first, but reveals itself to be a holistic approach to becoming champion. This has been described as a `feel-good' film, and it certainly is. It might not be particularly original, but it's an honest tale about a girl you want to see succeed, you get behind her and become absorbed in her story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sweet and Predictable, 15 July 2010
it's the kind of movie you want to see when you need to feel good, and sheer up..
very sweet and the young actress is very good indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Akeelah and the bee, 9 Nov 2009
By 
This review is from: Akeelah And The Bee [DVD] (DVD)
This was such a feel good film that leaves you inspired and filled with joy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GOOD PRODUCT, 7 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Akeelah And The Bee [DVD] (DVD)
GOOD PRODUCT, MY CHILDREN LOVE WATCHING IT AGAIN AND AGAIN. WILL LIKE TO BUY ONE MORE FOR A FAMILY FRIEND
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars charming, 11 Jun 2014
By 
N. K. Whitlow (Pondicherry, India) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Akeelah And The Bee [DVD] (DVD)
A wonderful movie for adults and children. Inspiring especially in its ending, it shows a quest for excellence and the satisfaction it can bring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excelent, 2 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Akeelah And The Bee [DVD] (DVD)
If you have children that you need to motivate , then get this for them and they will want to know more words by the next day. An excellent educational film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars love it, 1 Nov 2013
By 
E. D. Akumanyi "Dede" (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Akeelah And The Bee [DVD] (DVD)
I love this movie I wish I hadn't bought two. That was very silly of me. It now on the play list. hurrah!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Akeelah And The Bee   [DVD]
Akeelah And The Bee [DVD] by Dalia Phillips (DVD - 2007)
6.94
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews