Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars the ordinary boys style has chanegd for the better
this album shwos the progression for the oprdinary boys since brassbound and although many people would disagree with this i would point out the ordinary boys have tried to aim the album at a more mainstream audience whilst staying true to their fans, an overall decent album as well with some great songs such as the higher the highs and great big rip of, good album worth...
Published on 28 Dec 2006 by decdec

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Its nothing but ordinary boys.....
Samuel Preston is getting everything he always wanted in one easy album. I realise that I am now going to get knocked down by the post-BB fanbase, and all of the TOB fans who cannot accept that the change is not for the better, but everyone is entitled to an opinion. I just feel that this album is very focused on Preston himself unlike previous outings, and if you listen...
Published on 14 Nov 2006 by Paul A


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars the ordinary boys style has chanegd for the better, 28 Dec 2006
By 
This review is from: How To Get Everything You Ever Wanted In Ten Easy Steps (Audio CD)
this album shwos the progression for the oprdinary boys since brassbound and although many people would disagree with this i would point out the ordinary boys have tried to aim the album at a more mainstream audience whilst staying true to their fans, an overall decent album as well with some great songs such as the higher the highs and great big rip of, good album worth trying out
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Still on top or heading for obscurity? You decide..., 20 Jan 2007
By 
Alex A.C.M (Chelmsford, Essex) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: How To Get Everything You Ever Wanted In Ten Easy Steps (Audio CD)
Let's face it, most members of popular music groups who go on celeb reality shows that are devised for the Heat lovers of this country don't usually have long lasting chart success after the various shows end - Busted's Matt Willis, Peter Andre, Dead Or Alive's Pete Burns and Natalie Appleton of er, Appleton and the newly reformed All Saints to name a few.

This situation is made even more complex when you're in an indie band. Sure, you get your band the public attention they've desired after rounds of toilet-in-Brixton type gigs where you're playing to a venue of 5 people, but you also become a mockery in the NME who despise you for "selling your soul to society". And though Preston from Brighton based Ordinary Boys did so last January, he came out the other end with a Top 5 hit, a renewed contract for the band and this third album.

Longevity may be achieveable yet on this corker of a third album, which, except for one track, is flawless. Punk is fused with Japanese electro and Brit-indie on a brilliant album that has top tunes such as "Nine2five", "Lonely At The Top", "Club Chez Moi" and "Great Big Rip Off". My opinion? Ignore the press snubbery and buy this. You'll enjoy it.

DOWNLOAD: Lonely At The Top, Club Chez Moi, Great Big Rip Off.

IGNORE: I Luv U

OVERALL RATING: 4/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not Bad Lads, Not Bad.., 6 Nov 2006
This review is from: How To Get Everything You Ever Wanted In Ten Easy Steps (Audio CD)
How to get everything you ever wanted in ten easy steps - The Ordinary Boys. I'm not sure how well this would work as a guide to get everything you ever wanted, so I'm not going to suggest for one minute that you should quit your job and listen to this 24/7. However, I will say that I bought this album with pretty low expectations as I haven't heard much of their stuff before. I took a chance and it paid off, as this record smashed those expectation's, with its vibrant riffs, bouncy bass lines and original vocals. I always find that if you listen to an album and all of a sudden three tracks are gone without you realizing, it's got to be pretty good stuff. I found that with this, the tunes run into each other with ease. This album blends two very different genres in ska/indie and does it very well. I would definitely recommend this to any music fan. Nice one boys!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Its nothing but ordinary boys....., 14 Nov 2006
This review is from: How To Get Everything You Ever Wanted In Ten Easy Steps (Audio CD)
Samuel Preston is getting everything he always wanted in one easy album. I realise that I am now going to get knocked down by the post-BB fanbase, and all of the TOB fans who cannot accept that the change is not for the better, but everyone is entitled to an opinion. I just feel that this album is very focused on Preston himself unlike previous outings, and if you listen to the lyrics and count the numbers of 'me, myself and I' egocentric lines that Sammy boy spouts you might have to agree... Also the muting of the excellent rest of the band and the sometimes awful 80s retro electronica that has been over-produced all smacks a little too much of label/studio intervention i.e. 'it's you they want now Preston... anyone can be your band..' With all the promise that the band offered it seems to once more come down to the greater power of music industry market forces.

Taken as an album in it's own right HTGEYEWITES is not bad, it has some good music on there but is not really my cup of tea. There are other better examples on the shelves next to this one..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT TUNES THAT WILL STAY IN YOUR HEAD., 21 Aug 2007
By 
This review is from: How To Get Everything You Ever Wanted In Ten Easy Steps (Audio CD)
This is by far the best Ordinary Boys album out of the three.It took me a while to get into it but now I love it.Best track on here is "Great big rip off" What an anthem.Should have been a single.Sid,Burton.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Back on Form, 2 Nov 2006
By 
Jon Richards (Swindon, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: How To Get Everything You Ever Wanted In Ten Easy Steps (Audio CD)
I'm loving the new album, they sound like their first album again, with catchy lyrics and brilliant tune. Yea it has matured a bit but I think this just gives it more character. At the moment I'd have to say I still prefer 'Over The Counter Culture' but this is only one over par. If you have only been a fan since Big Brother go out and get this album and while your there get 'Over The Counter Culture' you will not be dissapointed. A step in the right direction from 'Brassbound'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Don't judge a book by its cover., 8 Nov 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How To Get Everything You Ever Wanted In Ten Easy Steps (Audio CD)
Its a great CD, for some reason I think the cover is a little girly and the CD is too but there is only one song that could be classified as that in the whole CD. All the songs are very catchy and seem quite similar at first but after u've listened to them a couple of times you begin to see their individuality. A good buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Album!, 2 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How To Get Everything You Ever Wanted In Ten Easy Steps (Audio CD)
My fiancé had this album before but lost it so we bought it again. Great Album and a great price!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good, 4 Nov 2013
This review is from: How To Get Everything You Ever Wanted In Ten Easy Steps (Audio CD)
It came fairly promptly and was in decent condition overall very good service i cant really grumble too much as it was very cheap
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Review, 25 Jun 2011
This review is from: How To Get Everything You Ever Wanted In Ten Easy Steps (Audio CD)
I'd been looking for this cd for ages! managed to get it, still as good as i remembered! quality! How To Get Everything You Ever Wanted In Ten Easy Steps
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews