Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Handpicked by her for him
Ignore the previous reviewer's comments; if - like me - you were mildly disappointed by her last studio album, 'Uh Huh Her', or are simply gagging for her to return to the live arena, 'The Peel Sessions 1991 - 2004' is an essential purchase for all fans of the artist popularly known as 'the Peej'.

As she points out in the liner notes, John Peel's opinion...
Published on 12 Feb. 2007 by Matt Pucci

versus
16 of 49 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars PJ Harvey - The Incomplete Peel Sessions.
While I have bought and loved almost everything that PJ Harvey have put out on record, I think I'll wait for Island Records inevitable "The Complete Peel Sessions". This is just a poor snapshot of what Polly and Co have recorded for Peel. A wasted opportunity in my book.
Published on 3 Nov. 2006 by Leigh Maude


Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Handpicked by her for him, 12 Feb. 2007
By 
Matt Pucci "mattpucci.com" (Here, there and everywhere) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Peel Sessions 1991 - 2004 (Audio CD)
Ignore the previous reviewer's comments; if - like me - you were mildly disappointed by her last studio album, 'Uh Huh Her', or are simply gagging for her to return to the live arena, 'The Peel Sessions 1991 - 2004' is an essential purchase for all fans of the artist popularly known as 'the Peej'.

As she points out in the liner notes, John Peel's opinion mattered to Harvey and, accordingly, she has handpicked a selection of tracks spanning her career, up to and including the release of the aforementioned 'Uh Huh Her', which would have certainly met with his approval. As a result, the lucky listener gets two previously rare songs ('Naked Cousin' and 'Wang Dang Doodle') alongside a plaintive, stripped-down version of 'That Was My Veil' and an impassioned, histrionic 'Snake'. In fact, every single track here is solid gold, and as an album this serves as a timely reminder of Harvey's rare talent.

My one (tiny!) gripe with this collection is its brevity, but if a more comprehensive release is to follow this has more than whet my appetite...

Matt Pucci
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vintage Polly Jean, 22 Oct. 2006
By 
S. Lindgren - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Peel Sessions 1991 - 2004 (Audio CD)
I'm writing this the day before the album itself is released, but as a great admirer of Polly Harvey's work, I've heard all the Peel tracks before, when they were first broadcast, and still have the lot on tape.

This collection spans Polly's career to the release of Uh Huh Her, and contains, as well as some old favourites, a selection of quite rare and unusual songs that were previously unavailable unless you happened to get them as a single B side. She always seemed to pull out all the stops for the dearly loved, and tragically missed John Peel, and these sessions contained some of her most explosive or subtle performances. Polly remains one of the most gifted rock artists; arguably the most, that Britain has produced in a long, long time, and this new collection is testament to that fact. Vocally she is as versatile as ever, her voice etching alternately pseudo-erotic or banshee songs about the darker side of the human psyche, shot through with deliciously black humour. Any follower of her work will want to get a copy of this, if only for Wang Dang Doodle and Naked Cousin; two non album tracks she generally kept back in the early to mid 1990s as live pieces, just as she did (with delightful irony) the title track of Uh Huh Her. Bless her. Nobody could call Polly predictable.

You also get an astonishing variety of different musical styles, from full-on guitar based rock, through theatrical, to late 1990s moody electronica and beyond toward the slightly more accessable, but no less interestion early '00 period tracks, all with a very different presentation from the albums the originals were recorded for, or alongside.

Just buy it. It's not going to break your bank account, and you'll have a stunning personal tribute to John Peel by an artist he dearly loved, and who for her part, adored him, as we all did. I'm certain he would be delighted that Polly has decided to release a selection of the many tracks she recorded in his sessions for her legion admirers, for that was what they were supposed to be about. Great music, recorded by people at the top of their game, encouraged by a man who loved to hear something new and exciting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning Snapshot, 7 July 2011
By 
Gary Johnson (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Peel Sessions 1991 - 2004 (Audio CD)
How I've missed this album in the last 5 years since it's release I'll never know, and it snuggles in nicely with rest of PJ's work.
PJ is wearing her heart on her sleeve at every one of her Peel Session's, as the the title of this album states it's not just from one particular session but sessions between 1994-2004, and for the passion to be felt and heard throughout that 10 year span says not only a lot about PJ's persona but how much the Late Great John Peel meant to her.
The only criticism I have is the length of the album, at only 41 mins it seems over far too quickly and does leave you gasping for more. That said, it is 41 mins of passionate, raw & inspiring music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Peel Sessions, 4 July 2013
By 
David Jeffery (East Geelong, Victoria, AU) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Peel Sessions 1991 - 2004 (Audio CD)
A great collection, showcasing the extraordinary career of the magnificent PJ Harvey. Spanning the earliest to the latest, including various line ups through the years, this collection will be sure to please any PJ fan. And if you're not a fan, it isn't a bad place to start. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Talent, 10 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Peel Sessions 1991 - 2004 (Audio CD)
P J Harvey is the only musician/band to win the Mercury Award twice. John Peel always knew talent and when his name is attached to anything I always pay strict attention. I first bought 'Stories From The City, Stories From The Sea' and was blown away by her all-round talent; and when you have Thom Yorke wanting to work with you, things can't be bad eh? So I bought this CD hoping for more of the same and boy was I right! Her song-writing ability alternates between humourous, intense and seductive with ease, she bangs out awesome riffs and has a wonderful voice. Backed by her excellent long-term band members (sorry forgot their names), her music has a life of it's own.

There is no faulting this CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 49 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars PJ Harvey - The Incomplete Peel Sessions., 3 Nov. 2006
By 
Leigh Maude (Reading, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Peel Sessions 1991 - 2004 (Audio CD)
While I have bought and loved almost everything that PJ Harvey have put out on record, I think I'll wait for Island Records inevitable "The Complete Peel Sessions". This is just a poor snapshot of what Polly and Co have recorded for Peel. A wasted opportunity in my book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Peel Sessions 1991 - 2004
The Peel Sessions 1991 - 2004 by PJ Harvey (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews