Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply one of the greatest games ever
Morrowind is one of the finest RPGs I have ever played. The biggest draw is the sheer size of it - the world is absolutely huge and you have the freedom to go wherever you please. There are so many side quests that often the main plot becomes only a minor consideration. The level of detail that has gone into every little aspect makes it simply addictive. While the game is...
Published on 20 Dec 2007 by Stephanie Martinez

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I am a die hard Elder Scrolls Fan,
but Morrowind was far better in my memory, than in reality. I think, Skyrim totally spoiled me (Graphcis, Sounds, NPC interaction) =) Good Game, though
Published 20 months ago by Tom


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 27 Oct 2009
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Elder Scrolls III: Morrowind - Game of the Year Edition (PC DVD) (Video Game)
I had Morrowind on it's own on the xbox and loved it...'till my console died. Ended up getting a 360 just so I could play Oblivion but missed this game, its extra weapon types and spells. This game has taken a lot of my time already, being able to put Oblivion and this game side by side it's pretty obvious Oblivion was made for console/casual gamers, whereas Morrowind is much more demanding and immersive. Can't wait to get up to level for the expansions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars morrowind, 27 Aug 2009
By 
R. Martin - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Elder Scrolls III: Morrowind - Game of the Year Edition (PC DVD) (Video Game)
ok so you are not battling conventional monsters but the fact that you can go virtually anywhere and do what you want is brilliant. i have played many RPGs and not being tied to a certain script is a breath of fresh air. quick buy it before all RPGs will only be on line! loads of fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great game!, 5 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Elder Scrolls III: Morrowind - Game of the Year Edition (PC DVD) (Video Game)
This game is BRILLIANT and those who like games where you can wonder about exploring and fighting evil i highly recomend this game!
its possibly better than skyrim!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Completely open world game, 21 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Elder Scrolls III: Morrowind - Game of the Year Edition (PC DVD) (Video Game)
There are 11 different factions you can join with each having there own quests as well as many side quests to complete - the game has unusual monsters as well as strange plants and weird architecture. There are around 30 different settlements with a huge island to explore. A drawback is that it is possible to beat the game by casting all your spells at a wall, resting and casting the spells again until you improve at that skill. Another problem is that when you are given quests usually the target location does not appear on your map and being given vague directions meaning you spend a lot of the time getting thoroughly lost - but then that perhaps is part of the fun of the game
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An Oldie but a Goodie., 10 Oct 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Elder Scrolls III: Morrowind - Game of the Year Edition (PC DVD) (Video Game)
This is the computer game that got me into gaming. I played it obsessively when it originally came out, and while it has certainly aged since its release, the engaging story remains exceptional. I would highly recommend it, especially as a 'historical' addition to a budding Elder Scrolls collection.

Do not expect top of the range graphics, however- you have to remember, but gaming standards this game is ancient! ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great game, 6 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Elder Scrolls III: Morrowind - Game of the Year Edition (PC DVD) (Video Game)
Good game, good condition, no qualms with this product at all. Better than skyrim because it provides much more adventure and challenge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Morrowind: the Father and Mother of RPGs, 9 Dec 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Elder Scrolls III: Morrowind - Game of the Year Edition (PC DVD) (Video Game)
There can be few people who have not played and enjoyed this masterpiece: at least amongst those who love free-roaming RPGs. My recent purchase was simply because my orignal discs were lost.

Why is it one of the great games of all time? Well, it contains all the hooks that draw you in: steady character development, endless dungeons, freedom to go where you will (and die horribly, quite often), and a good, strong story line. Graphically it is now very dated, but with the endless mods the community has produced, this has been radically improved. Fans have even created a new land to explore! I spent months explored the land (and sea...), and intend to go back to it with all the good mods loaded. Once I have finished Skyrim, that is...

And best of all, for those lucky few who have not played it, it is now VERY cheap! Waste no more time: buy it!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Replay value., 7 Oct 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Elder Scrolls III: Morrowind - Game of the Year Edition (PC DVD) (Video Game)
Considering even how old this game is now I dont feel like Im playing an outdated game, in fact after playing the 'sequel' Oblivion (4th in the Elder Scrolls series), I feel the 3rd game is actually much deeper, more full of story, character, intrigue and naughtiness! And bigger on the map and 'dungeon' areas you can explore, as well as more open; with cities and towns not cut off into seperate loading cells, and the dynamic fun of levitation for one.

One of the few flaws that irritated me is the 'miss-miss-miss-miss-miss-HIT!-miss-miss-miss-miss...' physical combat, but even that is irrelevant once you gain a few levels and build yourself up. This version has the add-ons of the Tribunal and Bloodmoon which I missed out on the first time around, and for the price of my copy its worth it for these alone, to find out the rest of the story.

After playing again from the beginning for a while I discovered I had an old save file, and to compare what you get as a reward for building your strength through questing and leveling (and not to forget kleptomania and tomb pillaging), I found my long forgotten super-Nord, complete with every armour piece glowing and entire houses full of well displayed booty. She could leap house to house and laugh at deadra, while my newly made character was fit as an invalid and gets killed by anything that blinks.

Ah Morrowind...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Truly AMAZING!, 25 Sep 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Elder Scrolls III: Morrowind - Game of the Year Edition (PC DVD) (Video Game)
Now before i recomend this game i must say you have to be patient, as in all honesty until your character reaches level 5 or 6 this game is terrible due to horrible combat (which thankfully can be fixed via mods) however as the title of this review has stated once you get past that barrier and combat stops being a pain this game becomes one of the best things humanity has made!
The world of Morrowind is very interesting, detailed and has alot of depth. I cannot tell you how absorbing the game is as it makes you feel your an adventurer in this world and due to no level scaling enemies wont level up with you and you feel truly powerful by the end.

So if your patient and have any remote interest in RPGs simple get this game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Old, one of the best games ever, 13 Sep 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Elder Scrolls III: Morrowind - Game of the Year Edition (PC DVD) (Video Game)
For fans of escapism and sword and sorcery and if you don't mind decade old graphics, you'll love this game. You have been released from the dungeon prisons of the empire under mysterious circumstances and sent to the island of Morrowind by boat. You disembark and pick you race and class. No matter your tastes, there is a class to suit you. If you enjoy magic there is the mage and battlemage. If you enjoy senseless axe-swinging there is the barbarian. If you enjoy sneaking around in the shadows, killing from afar with a bow and mixing potions there is the assassin, and infinite more combinations.

After picking your race and class you are dumped in to an enormous world with vague instructions to report to one of the empire's agents. This is the main storyline, but aside from this there are, what seems like endless, side-quests for you to embark on. There are guilds to join and they have tasks for you also. The mages guild, the warriors guild, the secretive thieves guild and the even more secretive (and highly illegal) murderers guild, who assassinate people for profit.

When exploring the world there are hundreds of caves and ruined forts to be explored, usually containing treasure, money, bad guys to kill and sometimes even angry ghosts which can only be harmed by magic or a silver sword. Regular weapons will not harm them. You can play the white knight, Jesus incarnate and fight for good, for justice and the people. You can traverse the fence, staying somewhere inbetween good and bad, bribing information out of people or simply steal a living. Rob the innocent, or the rich, or both. Rob them blind and sell the goods to the thieves guild who will be happy to buy them. Are you a homicidal maniac? There's something for you too. Just kill everyone and hide the bodies! When the guards show up, kill them too!

There is literally thousands of hours of play time in this game.

It is not without flaws though. Obviously being so old the graphics are terrible by todays standards. Most people shouldn't be bothered by this but if you are then there is a project to actually overhaul the game with the graphics of its successor, Oblivion, which by the way is also a great game and well worth playing. As of this review though (13 sep 2011) that project is still not finished and it's no surprise given it's enormousness. The other flaw is the combat system. It was clumsy even on the day the game was released and it still is today, but the game is so great that eventually you just get used to it.

There's really only 1 score for this game and it's 5/5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Elder Scrolls III: Morrowind - Game of the Year Edition (PC DVD)
4.54
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews