Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not more of the same
This, in principle, is the same as the first guitar hero but the reality is that it differs slightly and may not appeal to all.

Whereas the first game had a slow learning curve with the difficulty level building slowly this is far less forgiving and soon becomes more complicated and difficult to play.

If you haven't tried guitar hero then the...
Published on 14 Dec. 2006 by Amazon Customer

› See more 5 star, 4 star reviews
versus
9 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Guitar Hero 2
The first Guitar Hero was maninly successful due to its mainstream appeal in music genre. Having owned the first game and loving the concept of using a plastic guitar to hit musical notes, I was expecting more of the same with the second installment. The problem with the second game is that it lacks the inclusion of well known songs or songs which only appeal to a...
Published on 8 Mar. 2007 by Mr. Oliver J. Miners

› See more 3 star, 2 star, 1 star reviews

‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not more of the same, 14 Dec. 2006
By 
Amazon Customer "Boo62" (Ilkeston Derbyshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Guitar Hero II Bundle with Guitar (PS2) (Video Game)
This, in principle, is the same as the first guitar hero but the reality is that it differs slightly and may not appeal to all.

Whereas the first game had a slow learning curve with the difficulty level building slowly this is far less forgiving and soon becomes more complicated and difficult to play.

If you haven't tried guitar hero then the principle is simple, you get a replica of a guitar with 5 coloured buttons on the neck which replicate the strings and a toggle on the body that you have to strum at the same time as you hit the coloured buttons. As each song plays a fretboard is shown on the screen along with the buttons you need to hit in order to match the guitarist on screen.

It's well thought out and when you're bashing away it really does have a 'lifelike' feel to it.

If you haven't tried it yet then go for the 1st one as it will ease you into the strategy more gently and also contains more songs you are likely to know.

Guitar hero 2 has some interesting new features,( as well as lead guitar you can also play rythymn and bass), and better multiplayer options. But it is a lot harder than the 1st game with the notes you have to play soon flying towards you and before long there are combos that will truly test your skill and patience. Also the songs selected are likely to be unknown to you if you're not a bit of a metalhead.

All in all this is good value for money and if you have played the 1st game and enjoyed it then go for it and powerchord 'til yer fingers go numb, if your new to it then try the original, squeeze yourself into those old jeans, leather jacket and boots and shred 'til yer dead ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For those who are about to rock, we salute you, 12 Feb. 2007
By 
James Butters "Who me?" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Guitar Hero II Bundle with Guitar (PS2) (Video Game)
I first played this game at my friends and enjoyed it so much i bought it the next morning.

It is so much fun and better than using a tenis racket to pretend to be a rock legend.

There is such a good variety of songs from many artists and styles that there is something for everyone.

If you like the dance mat games this is the same format but if you're like me and don't have the speed and dexterity of Michael Flattly and failed miserably at balance and speed, this is easier as it's at your finger tips instead.

The more you play the more you get into it with characters to unlock as well as guitars, songs and other items.

This game merits 5 stars and is great for party play.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best game ever?, 10 Nov. 2006
By 
J. F. J. Larner (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Guitar Hero II Bundle with Guitar (PS2) (Video Game)
The first Guitar Hero is the most addictive game I've ever played, I've been playing just about every day since it came out in April! It's far and away my favourite game, but after playing a demo of GH2, it looks like the best is about to get even better! The practice mode, new co-op and face-off modes, and the tweaks to the hammer-on/pull-off system make the game much easier on the harder difficulties and more fun for groups of players. The songlist is a bit different from the first in that the songs are designed to appeal to fans of all types of guitar music, but don't let that put you off, only songs that are great fun to play made it in, including Strong Bad's awesome TROGDOR! I'm looking forward to another 8 months of fun at least when this comes out. Rock on!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Guitar Hero 2 Powers Its Way To The Best Game Of The Year, 23 Oct. 2006
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Guitar Hero II Bundle with Guitar (PS2) (Video Game)
For those that haven't played the first guitar hero, the game is one of the most easy, fun, playable experiences, that has hit consoles for a long time. When most games coming out, looking like just another GTA, e.g. Scarface, Just Cause, Godfather..... I could go on, you will need a game that you can enjoy more than anything.

Being a sequel to such a successful game, Guitar Hero 2 needed a few things,

1) A killer soundtrack, just as good or better than the original

2) Better more interactive story mode

3) More multiplayer options

And Guitar Hero 2 has all of those things. The soundtrack is out of this world, with great hits from some of the worlds biggest, heaviest bands. To name a few (full list above)

1) Black Sabbath- War Pigs

2) Avenged SevenFold- Beast And The Harlot

3) And the insane full version of Free Bird!

The new multiplayer options just make this game one of the best multiplayers around, with options for bass, lead or backup guitars. Which if your in a band already will impress you no end.

And with a more interractive story, starting from a battle of the bands at your local highschool, to playing on the Vans tour in America.

This game is one of the most adictive games around, and if you are into alternative music, this will be the game of the decade for you. If you havent bought the original, do so now, because you are going to need to get some practice in, when this game has over 50 tracks of pure rock/metal madness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Become a guitar god overnight!, 27 Dec. 2006
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Guitar Hero II Bundle with Guitar (PS2) (Video Game)
So I've had the game for just over 24 hours (being a Xmas present) and already I know that I should really be in front of a few 1,000 metal fans, riffing the night away.

I don't have the first version of this game, but that's not stopped me enjoying this one, progressing from easy to medium stages within a day. I must admit, though, that expert does look only possible by Eddie Van Halen!

This is truly addictive, and, although the songs do get harder pretty quick, the training mode allows you to work those fretboards until RSI sets in. I can't play a real guitar, but already I'm doing chord progressions.

The game itself is very simple - reate a band (make up a name, choose a guitar) and join battle of the band tournaments around the US playing to unforgiving metal fans. Play a few bum notes and you'll soon be booed off. Give em what they want and they'll ask you for an encore.

Some tracks are a bit obscure, but anything with a Butthole Surfers track is ok by me.

Even caters for left-handers.

Let's rock!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Definetely worth your money for the Guitar madness..., 19 Oct. 2007
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Guitar Hero II Bundle with Guitar (PS2) (Video Game)
When I first heard of this game I thought 'What's the point when I play real Guitar?' but then I started the game and realised I was really really wrong.

The track list is very varied and I was surprised at how much there was that I liked. But my favourites have to be 'Beast and the Harlot', 'Institutionalised', 'Arterial Black', and 'The Light that Blinds'. But there is such a variety you could be surprised at how much there is that you'll like.

Now playing this guitar control wasn't very hard for me as I already played the guitar. But then I put it into expert mode and ended up missing almost every note. The real depth in this game comes from trying to perfect everything.

Multiplayer is both co-op and face off, but the plus in co-op is that you have the chance to play bass guitar.

Add in all the unlockable extras and you've got this brilliant game. The only reason it loses one star is because it didn't come with an extra guitar and an extra guitar would cost another £30.00. Which is rather irritating...

Um...BUY IT!!! You won't regret it...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Guitar Hero 2 Bundle With Guitar, 2 Oct. 2009
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Guitar Hero II Bundle with Guitar (PS2) (Video Game)
After playing the Guitar Hero Rock the 80's at my partners house, i purchased this game bundle. Amazon was fantastic; the delivery and payment was incredibly quick and packaging had been carefully thought out, it arrived in perfect condition and the way it plays is superb. I rated this game bundle less than the Rock the 80's Disc, because i felt that not all of the songs were as good. However the remaining songs on the game are brilliant such as cherry pie, surrender, message in a bottle, carry on wayward son etc; songs that really get you into the game and into the dancing mood. For any first timers with guitar hero i would most probably recommend guitar hero two, its easy level is incredibly easy to pick up and i can guarantee that after a few days of playing this game you will be able to begin setting 100% scores on easy, and surpassing medium with flying colours - eg. 80 to 90%. Anyone can play this game, its incredibly versatile in ability and just plain good fun. Brilliant for birthday or christmas gifts. The guitar that accompanied the bundle was also in prestine condition and unlike the reviews for other guitars that i had read on Amazon prior to purchasing this item, i have found no flaws or errors, i see no problems with the graphics and playing the game in multiplayer is extremely entertaining - having to rock out at the same time as your partner etc. Take my advice don't pass up the opportunity to have and play this game. It was placed at reasonable price and after receiving it so quick and in such perfect condition it was well worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A lifetimes ambition fullfilled, 31 Dec. 2006
By 
MDC "markyofbath" (England, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Guitar Hero II Bundle with Guitar (PS2) (Video Game)
I got into heavy metal at about 15 as it helped stop the bullying. That said I have loved it ever since, whoever thought up Guitar Hero is a genius (unlike me who can barely spell). I bought a guitar at 17ish and although went to some lessons never really could impress anyone with my efforts. Plus the time spent trying to tune the thing was a nightmare.

SO Guitar Hero brings guitar playing to everyone, I now believe after just a week of playing it that I can be that axe king I so wanted to be in my teens. Shame I am closer to 40 now than 20, hmm. Great songs on this one and I can't believe many will have come across such legendary tracks as Institutionalized by Suicidal Tendencies.

One last thing the kids are trying it too, but its something you have to work at to get through so expect tears and tantrums from those below its recommended age group. I have tried Hard and so far I can't manage 1 song from it. It does make you play songs you don't know where something like the Singstar series lets you choose which songs you like and ignore those you cannot master.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No end to the fun in sight, 13 Jan. 2007
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Guitar Hero II Bundle with Guitar (PS2) (Video Game)
We bought this for our teenage son after he had played it at a friend's house and came home raving about it, but it has quickly become a firm family favourite!

Even though I am generally rubbish and get trounced on all sides, the game is still fun to play. The career mode in particular satisfies the personal challenge of trying to play a song better than you did the time before, going from easy to medium then hard and finally expert modes (though I personally am still only getting 3 stars on easy!)

The appeal of this as a party game is great as it stands, and there are lots of laughs to be had from the reactions of more competitive friends when they cock something up, but it would be even better as a social game with two controllers - which is why we're now buying another Red Octane guitar!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Guitar hero II. Awesome, 25 Aug. 2007
By 
D. Rowe "Tenacious Dan" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Guitar Hero II Bundle with Guitar (PS2) (Video Game)
This game is so much fun! Although it is great as a one player game I would urge anyone buying this to get another guitar as it is so much better when there are 2 of you. (its even more funny to play when you are drunk, as long as you are over 18 obviously!!!)
Musically, there are slow tracks as well as fast ones and 4 difficulty levels, personally I am finding it hard to get anywhere on hard let alone expert!

There is also the options to purchase things like more guitars, characters and costumes for the characters with money you earn going through the game and playing at gigs, my personal favourite is playing as death with a scythe for a guitar

Go and buy this now you will not regret it!! I didnt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Guitar Hero II Bundle with Guitar (PS2)
Guitar Hero II Bundle with Guitar (PS2) by Activision (PlayStation2)
Used & New from: £22.50
Add to wishlist See buying options
     
 
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Guitar Hero II (PS2)
Guitar Hero II (PS2) by Activision (PlayStation2)
4.3 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (11)   
Buy new£10.95
In stock

Guitar Hero III - Game Only (PS2)
Guitar Hero III - Game Only (PS2) by Activision (PlayStation2)
4.1 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (17)   
Buy new£9.81
In stock

Guitar Hero III: Legends Of Rock - Guitar Bundle (PS2)
4.3 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (64)