Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars this is great buy it now, 16 May 2007
By 
A. M. Heaton (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Guitar Hero (PS2) (Video Game)
If you have guitar hero 2 then you have to buy guitar hero 1. Its the same format but of course a whole new list of tracks. Its totally addictive and loads loads of fun. Shop around for best price though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oh, THIS song!, 4 Jan. 2008
By 
N. Clarke "hibiscus" (Essex,England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Guitar Hero (PS2) (Video Game)
I bought the original game as well as the guitar hero III boxset and played through guitar hero I in the space of a day, not because it was easy, but unbelievably addictive! My fingers and wrists were sore, but I was compelled to get 100% on smoke on the water! Lol

Most of the songs are famous or the ones where you go "I dunno this one", until the tune starts and then you're like "Oh I DO know this one!"

Wait...what's that?...it has a medium, hard AND expert mode as well. Oh dear.
Once I've got someone to prise my fingers off the keyboard, I might have another quick session...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars guitar hero 1, 1 Mar. 2009
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Guitar Hero (PS2) (Video Game)
guitar hero has improved my sons co-ordination skills due to him having aspergers he lacked in this area . he now has guitar lessons due to this improvement thank you guitar hero
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The original and the best!, 7 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Guitar Hero (PS2) (Video Game)
This is the game only, with no guitars. This is a great game with some awesome tracks!

Chances are if you're looking at this you already know what the deal is. This was the original band game that started everything. It has some great difficulty level that enable you to progress well. As you move to the more advanced difficulty settings, you really start to feel like a pro guitar player!

Great fun, especially with two of you playing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars awesome, 25 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Guitar Hero (PS2) (Video Game)
I've been lookin for thi a while now and so pleased that i found it, everyone should
be playing this game
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 5 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Guitar Hero (PS2) (Video Game)
Thanks! This is going to make a great present for my friend! I'm sure he'll love it! and he did!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Adding to the Collection, 26 Nov. 2012
By 
Mrs. V. J. Duke (West Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Guitar Hero (PS2) (Video Game)
Just adding to the collection of the already collected Guitar Hero Games, there are a few other still to collect but are getting few and far between for PS2 consoles. Great fun to play even if you do stay on easy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great start to series, nice to see where it all began, 6 Mar. 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Guitar Hero (PS2) (Video Game)
Originally i purchased #3 and #2, before buying this along with most other Guitar Hero titles for the ps2.

Firstly, for those buying this as their first Guitar Hero game, in my opinion, it doesn't truly reflect what the series has to offer (understandable, being the first title) - personally, the set list isn't as good as #3 (Legends of Rock) or #4 (World Tour), but as a rough guide, my top 5 are:

-Bark at the Moon (Ozzy Osbourne)
-Fat Lip (Sum 41)
-Ace of Spades (Motorhead)
-More than a Feeling (Boston)
-Cowboys From Hell (Pantera)

Here are my criticisms (i must stress that these are minor and should NO WAY affect you from buying this game right now)

If, like me, you have bought later titles, you will notice that:

-The hammer-ons and pull-offs are very awkward, where you have to get the note *bang on* to keep going - i just alt-strum to get round this, but the main issue is in the solos.

-There is no Practice Mode - HAVING SAID THAT, i 5-starred most songs first time in Expert anyway, and i can only partly have yet to complete hard on GH3 (i'm not that good)

-Finally, there are no outfits for characters, and the guitar range is limited to Gibson (but, we still get the Moderne, which is epic anyway)

Those minor points do not detract from the overall experience, and defo recommend it to anyone even just to learn some songs :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It Rocks... Seriously, 11 Nov. 2010
By 
Ian Johnson "Ian" (Leeds, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Guitar Hero (PS2) (Video Game)
This game is amazingly good fun, it features around 65 (I think) songs, all of which are covers, but they're pretty good covers.

Some songs including (off the top of my head):
-Smoke on the water
-Iron Man
-I Wanna be Sedated
-Cowboys from Hell
-Thunderkiss '65
-Frankenstein
-Fat Lip
-Killer Queen

Now then, people who have played the newer Guitar Hero games and are coming back to this, there are NO hammer-ons/ pull-offs (well, there are but the system is really difficult) so you have to literally strum every single note, and for some of the harder songs on expert (Symphony of Destruction, Cowboys from Hell) you'd be better off just strumming your way through the solos and trying to follow the notes rather than trying to hit it perfectly.

Also, even if you're an average player at Guitar Hero, you should be able to get up to the last tier of songs on expert, if you try, you'll get used to the timing on the way up, and might even get better at the game!

You do need two controllers to play multiplayer, but you can use one guitar and one regular controller, although I wouldn't recommend the regular controller method for anything above medium.

Overall, if you're looking for an excellent party game, with some classic songs that will let you live out your rock star fantasy, get this game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The start of something great, 2 Jan. 2010
By 
Mr. C. Maclean "DaMaIn" (Suffolk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Guitar Hero (PS2) (Video Game)
This game is fantastic. Being the beginning of the series it may not have all the well known classics, but there a few good songs on it. If you have a Playstation Two and any other Guitar Hero games, this is definately worth a shout!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Guitar Hero (PS2)
Guitar Hero (PS2) by Activision (PlayStation2)
£2.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews