Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


91 of 91 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars All the Connery Bond films in one great set
Firstly, it's worth noting that this works out cheaper than most of the Buy One Get One Free offers on the Bond Ultimate Editions at the moment. It contains all 6 Connery Bond films in there Ultimate Edition 2 disc formats.

There is, it should be noted, a gap between You Only Live Twice and Diamonds are Forever where On Her Majesty's Secret Service should be...
Published on 14 Dec 2006 by Simon McMahon

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Half good half bad
I agree with other comments about quality of picture and sound. Sadly three of the DVDs wouldnt play properly. So I have to give the product the lowest rating and hope that this is just a one off.
Published 19 months ago by reed


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

91 of 91 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars All the Connery Bond films in one great set, 14 Dec 2006
By 
Simon McMahon "Film Buff" (Chelmsford, Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: James Bond: Ultimate Sean Connery [DVD] [1962] (DVD)
Firstly, it's worth noting that this works out cheaper than most of the Buy One Get One Free offers on the Bond Ultimate Editions at the moment. It contains all 6 Connery Bond films in there Ultimate Edition 2 disc formats.

There is, it should be noted, a gap between You Only Live Twice and Diamonds are Forever where On Her Majesty's Secret Service should be... (which of course featured George Lazenby so shouldn't be included here).

Here you get Bond at his best, but the fact that you're already looking at this means you know that! The picture on these Ultimate Editions is truly something to behold. In certain sequences in Dr. No and From Russia with Love I could have sworn that I was watching a film shot a few years ago set in the 1960's. That's not an exageration. It's probably the best restoration job I have ever seen. I upgraded from my old Special Editions and I honestly believe it was worth it just for the picture.

If you have the old Special Editions... the extras are replicated here along with a few additional bits and pieces. Is it worth upgrading? If you're after improved picture and sound... yes... if you're a huge Bond fan... yes... but if you're a casual fan, already possessing the Special Editions and not that interested in improved picture quality... no.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best DVD's of the best Bond, 7 Feb 2007
By 
Crazy Bald Heid "kennyb63" (Surrey, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: James Bond: Ultimate Sean Connery [DVD] [1962] (DVD)
I always maintained that Connery was Bond. He looked like he could do some damage and was almost plausibly smooth. Nice then to get a box set of the films I like from the most successful and enduring film franchise ever. You will no doubt be familiar with the films themselves so lets take that as read................

How about this version - is it really that good? In a word yes.

The previous versions of the DVD were perfectly passable, but this is probably the best restoration of print, colour and sound, setting a new benchmark in DVD production. The only analogy I can think of - it's like a painstakingly remastered CD in its revealing detail and enhanced enjoyment. Apart from the pre greenscreen backgrounds in cars in boats these films look and sound fantastic. The colours are most noticeable also gone are the niggling cue dots and scratches are gone along with unatural skin tones.

Bond is now oficially timeless. Just get beer, popcorn, relax and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


58 of 61 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not your same old Bond, 8 Dec 2006
This review is from: James Bond: Ultimate Sean Connery [DVD] [1962] (DVD)
This Sean Connery Ultimate Edition box set is one word: AMAZING. From the first moment I put the dvd in to play "Dr. No" I realized that this isn't the same old Bond we're all used to from watching it on tv or previous dvd releases. The picture and sound is absolutely flawless and crystal clear. Don't be skeptical from yet another James Bond DVD release. I'd give the extras a grade of a "B", simply because the same things are put onto each disc, but there are some great extras, such as a BBC interview with Sean Connery himself, or the making of "Thunderball".
Simply put, this is a must have for any James Bond fan, especially for a Sean Connery fan - the best Bond ever. The best DVD set I have ever purchased, I encourage any Bond fan to experience this enhanced, remastered Bond experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Almost perfect,,,, 26 April 2008
By 
Gavin Schofield (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Everyone buying this boxset will almost certainly know most, if not all of the films included, so I'll be brief - they are fantastic. What I want to comment on is the packaging, as I could not figure why this particular set is cheaper than the other Sean Connery boxset, which looks almost identical.

What you get is a cardboard sleeve over an attractive metal tin, inside which is the normal Connery boxset (also available on amazon, 10 more at time of writing). Inside this box are the 6 films, two discs per film, inside slimline DVD cases. This truly is an excellent set.

I have only 2 problems with this item:

1 - The films do not come with the booklets which are included in the single film Ultimate Edition releases.

2 - The DVD's all have a ridiculously long intro, which is identical each time and cannot be skipped.

In brief, this is a 'must have' box for any Bond fan, and deserves to be on every film fans shelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice little package, but hit and miss transfers..., 4 Oct 2010
By 
This review is from: James Bond: Ultimate Sean Connery [DVD] [1962] (DVD)
The Films

Sean Connery, the long standing "best Bond" only really made 4 great Bond films. His full 6 Eon films are collected here in a boxed set, and taken together, they paint a picture of Connery's career as Bond. For Dr. No, From Russia With Love, Goldfinger and Thunderball, Sean Connery played the role of 007 with wit and gusto, mixing and matching debonair confidence with ruthless brutality and the occaisional snobbish aside. As the very first true Bond, Connery benefits from an almost religious adherance to the source material, obviously toning certain things down for the censors and heightening other elements for cinematic va-va-voom. The turning point is You Only Live Twice. After Connery began to tire of playing the character during Thunderball, his portrayal became lacklustre and tired, not helped by the fact that regular scribe Richard Maibaum was unavailable and the inferior (as a screenwriter) Roald Dahl took over, being allowed to simply do whatever he wanted instead of keeping to the standard already set in previous outings. The result is an enjoyable but messy affair, the blueprint for Roger Moore's tenure and the end of Connery's Bond. By Diamonds Are Forever, after his one film hiatus, Connery had clearly checked out.

Presentation

The three actor boxed sets are reasonably priced and a justifiable way to experience these ultimate editions even if you already own the special editions and still plan on one day buying the Blu-Ray versions (I am guilty of all the above). The sets are compact and neat, but a word of warning: they are housed in slimline cases (about two slimlines side by side make up a regular sized dvd case). This is good for space on your shelf, but not as asthetically pleasing as the other spines, and they will not match your seperate ultimate edition spines (as any Bond fan who needs to complete their collection will discover, you will have to track down OHMSS, The Living Daylights and Licence To Kill seperately). They also are missing the booklets. This is not a huge loss, for while they have some nice pictures, the text is basically the same as that of the booklets in the old set. Still, going by what is currently available, this is the cheapest way to build your Ultimate Edition Bond collection.

The Discs

The discs themselves are pretty swanky. The menus are all matching and are pleasing despite being less creative than their SE counterparts. Dr. No, From Russia With Love, Goldfinger and Thunderball are all presented with new transfers which, despite several shortcomings, are a huge imporvement over their previous incarnations. They are solid and stable images, improved encoding and clean prints. In some cases, they have been a little drained of their technicolor brilliance (again, OHMSS, throughout) but the first four films are usually stunning if a little soft in places and certain screw ups of colour correction (Thunderball) can be overlooked. YOLT, while being the second to weakest entry of the Connery films, (Diamonds being the weakest) is the most stunning of the lot and the biggest improvement to my mind. The sound has been remixed (in some cases displeasingly, the only really distracting case being OHMSS, not in this set) and the original mono tracks are missing, but mostly the new surround tracks are glorious. It should be mentioned that these ultimate editions are all uncut. In this particular set, the only film that was edited before and is now presented in full is Diamonds Are Forever, which adds a little more to the struggle with Peter Franks in the elevator. The scene is more evenly paced with the footage reinserted and you can tell where the new shots appear from the distinctly red faces of Bond and Franks, but it's not terribly noticeable.

Extras

The SE extras are all ported over and, sadly, are the best these sets have to offer. The new material is slight at best. YOLT has a few nuggets, but most of the rest of the films have fluff pieces from the times the films were made and add little that the superb Patrick Macnee docs from the original releases do not cover. It depends on your taste. Some may find those new extras from the vault to be gems.

Verdict

Unless you plan on upgrading to Blu-Ray (and a great many have by now, October 2010. I am still lagging behind as I'm waiting for a certain type of BD enabled laptop to come out and the entire Bond collection to be released on BD) this is the best you're going to get for Bond on DVD. They have issues, but a casual viewer may not notice them. Bond fans and general cinephiles will most likely have the original boxed set as well to fall back on, so no huge loss and very little cash spent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars crystal clear and the best Bond to boot, 21 Mar 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: James Bond: Ultimate Sean Connery [DVD] [1962] (DVD)
This 6-double CD set is a steal at the price, and in Sean Connery it gives you the best Bond to boot. The clarity of some of the films (especially From Russia With Love and Goldfinger), is outstanding. Only 4 stars? Well, some films are better than others. Goldfinger is the pinnacle of most 007 outings: sharp, great dialogue, a truly teasing interplay between Pussy Galore and OO7, and a well-rounded villain in the shape of Gert Frobe aided by a classy henchman, Odd-Job. FRWL is of the old school of Cold War intrigue, and rather fine to boot, with a great fight betwen Robert Shaw's assassin and Bond in the cramped confines of a railway carriage.
Thunderball comes close too, with Largo an excellent, tough adversary, and a well-choreographed underwater finale. Diamonds are Forever from 1971 bags the best Bond theme ever, just ahead of Goldfinger, and has much of the sharpness of the earlier Connery films. So where do we lose a star? At times, several of the films stall for a second between chapters - more than I have noticed on other DVDs - which is especially galling when its one scene spread across 2 or 3 chapters. The extras aren't so special, to be honest. And given that the producers managed superb actor-continuity between Bond films (including Moore and beyond) in the shape of M, Q and Miss Moneypenny, it's distracting that the Bond series gives us possibly 6 different Felix Leiters, and some actors such as Burt Kwuok or Charles Grey (always the best Blofeld, in my books, cold, asexual and just a little bit camp) take different roles in almost consecutive films. Finally, despite the beautiful locations and another top theme tune, You Only Live Twice might just be Connery's worst Bond outing. It drags at times quite badly, despite having supplied some of the prime ideas (Dr Evil, volcano base etc), for Mike Myer's Austin Powers series. The run-in with SPECTRE's #11 is non-sensical, and Donald Pleasance as Blofeld is spectacularly under-used. As he is the major villain of the entire Connery run, his first real appearance as head of SPECTRE is fatally delayed and then given too little screen-time. He gets to point his pistol at Bond twice, and even gets upstaged by his cat at one point when the animal, visibly spooked by gunshots, tries to get away from him! No wonder you don't see this one so often on a Sunday afternoon on ITV1.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars James Bond DVD set, 27 Oct 2011
This review is from: James Bond: Ultimate Sean Connery [DVD] [1962] (DVD)
Great video quality and brilliant value for money - 6 DVDs! However the box is a little flimsy and might get damaged easily.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars James Bond Ultimate Sean Connery, 3 Oct 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: James Bond: Ultimate Sean Connery [DVD] [1962] (DVD)
The Ultimate James Bond Sean Connery (there can only be one).6 dvd's for under 11 pounds all action packed and the original James Bond ,Although a bit dated now they are still classic. Thank You
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Escape by Bondage, 6 May 2010
By 
E. Brooker "nostalgia" (essex england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: James Bond: Ultimate Sean Connery [DVD] [1962] (DVD)
Good old fashioned escapism - just the thing to help you forget banking crisis and hung parliments.
When the goodies were good and the baddies were bad and nobody tried to explain it away due to an improvished childhood.
Even the Americans were still paying us lip service!!
Oh and ,of course, not a strand of Bond's hair out of place -no matter what the action.
Buy for that relaxed-switched off-evening
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars l LOVE JAMES BOND, 23 Mar 2010
By 
Mrs. Esther Thomas "JANE DOE" (EAST OF NORFOLK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: James Bond: Ultimate Sean Connery [DVD] [1962] (DVD)
Ordered this for my son who loves James Bond....we've spent many weekends watching great selection....would recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

James Bond: Ultimate Sean Connery [DVD] [1962]
24.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews