Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Accept it into your dvd collection
well worth a watch, was really funny. Part of the film you just chuckle at then other parts you burst out with laughter. This is a 1st class teen film and i think it has the quality to stand out in everyones dvd collection. If you like american pie, road trip, Van wilder films like that. Then you will deffinetly like this one. Accept It ... !
Published on 12 Feb 2007 by C. Beech

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Inoffensive happy slacker fun
This is perhaps on instantly forgetable feature but the cast members who will be familiar from other features or TV, Ed or Superbad, play to their strengths and its a fun feature.

As a feature this has much more in common with more traditional US college humour or fare such as the Animal House or Dazed and Confused like that than more recent movies like...
Published on 13 May 2012 by Lark


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Inoffensive happy slacker fun, 13 May 2012
By 
Lark (North Coast of Ireland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Accepted [DVD] (DVD)
This is perhaps on instantly forgetable feature but the cast members who will be familiar from other features or TV, Ed or Superbad, play to their strengths and its a fun feature.

As a feature this has much more in common with more traditional US college humour or fare such as the Animal House or Dazed and Confused like that than more recent movies like American Pie, Old Skool etc. There are only one or two sexually references in the humour and it never becomes vulgar or gross out.

In a party gig sequence there is a revamped version of Dont You Forget About Me playing out.

There are themes about the commercialisation of college, expectations and experience in buying an education and the idea of a fun college vs. elite fraternity hell, although it is all played for laughs and entertainment value. It is a funny feature and without plunging any depths of profoundity is engaging enough to keep viewing attention, the "good guys" are sympathetic and the "villains" unlikeable but not despicable in an unrealistic way.

I would recommend this to anyone, particularly fans of any of the films I've mentioned already.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Accept it into your dvd collection, 12 Feb 2007
By 
C. Beech "beechy" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Accepted [DVD] (DVD)
well worth a watch, was really funny. Part of the film you just chuckle at then other parts you burst out with laughter. This is a 1st class teen film and i think it has the quality to stand out in everyones dvd collection. If you like american pie, road trip, Van wilder films like that. Then you will deffinetly like this one. Accept It ... !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Have fun being hot...., 28 Jan 2014
This review is from: Accepted [DVD] (DVD)
Bartleby is a fun loving slacker who gets turned down for every college he applies for, much to the annoyance of his expectant parents.

So, he creates the South Harmon Institute of Technology, and lo and behold, he is accepted.

However, his parents want to see the website, the campus, and the dean. So now he has his friend Sherman build a web page, they lease out an abandoned psychiatric hospital, and they hire Sherman's uncle Ben to be the dean.

The web page was done so well, that hundreds of students show up at the front door, all of which were turned down by other colleges.

Faced with no choice, Bartleby decides to proceed with turning South Harmon into a real college......

Never really had any intention of seeing this movie, but it was a real treat and harks back to the high school movies of the eighties.

Long is great as always and reminds one of Cusack in movies like better off dead and the sure thing. The rest of the cast are okay, but really have nothing on Long.

It loses its pace toward the end, what with all the speeches about equality, and the posh school grates after a while, but with films like this, we always need a bad guy, and we always need a heart warming speech.

well worth seeing though....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good fun, 26 Oct 2013
By 
M. Wilson "KRW" (Midlands, uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Accepted [DVD] (DVD)
I have seen this movie a few times now and it cheers me up. It's quite funny the lengths Barnaby will go to not disappoint his parents, something original and genuine. The funniest bit for me is when he say's 'Pocahontas didn't go to college'. Underrated movie, I can't see why this wasn't a bigger hit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars DVD Nut, 15 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Accepted [DVD] (DVD)
have bought a lot of different dvd's over the years and this one is awesome it is another of those teenage odd ball films but it differs quite a lot and has a unique story line
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Accepted DVD, 18 Mar 2013
This review is from: Accepted [DVD] (DVD)
I found this film in very good condition as it was second hand and very entertaining. This film made me laugh do much and it all comes down to Jonah Hill so if you love him you will Love this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars dvd, 9 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Accepted [DVD] (DVD)
found the overall a good movie to watch but didnt meet my expectations , good for teenagers and worth the watch
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 28 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Accepted [DVD] (DVD)
This film is amazing, I think when faced in the world of work uni college and growing up it is definitely scary, but worst of all not getting into uni is upsetting for you and your parents but this film shows how these teenagers faced with not getting into any uni they come up with there own and help teenagers like themselves have the uni experience that you wouldn't get in a normal uni. Definitely one to watch with the family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Funniest movie ever!!!, 14 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Accepted [DVD] (DVD)
This movie is extremely underrated! I have watched it maybe 30 times, and I still laugh all the way through! I mean, there really are 74 mio. reasons to love this movie!!! (this only makes sense if you have watched it) :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Accepted Passes, 2 April 2008
By 
Steven R. McEvoy "MCWPP" (Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
The South Harmon Institute of Technology (S.H.I.T.) will become a campus you will wish to visit and revisit again and again and the following are the reasons why.

Occasionally when you go to review something you are taken completely by surprise. Accepted is one such movie. Both the movie and the features on the DVD will be completely unexpected. I was expecting a frat party film along the line of Animal House or The Revenge of the Nerds series, and ended up with something closer to With Honors. The movie actually deals with some great questions - questions about personal integrity, traditions, growth and values.

This DVD is packed full of special features with something for everyone, such as commentaries, deleted scenes, gag reel, music videos and more. The best part of the fun is the self-guided tour of the campus. The virtual tour of S.H.I.T. takes you through the main sets, with mini commentaries on parts of the film that took place on these sets.

Justin Long and Lewis Black lead an all-star comedic cast in a romp through University life, as if the students ran the show. The gag reel will have you on the floor laughing as the cast takes the jokes on and off screen to extremes.

The feature commentary with director Steve Pink, and stars Justin Long, Lewis Black, Jonah Hill and Adam Herschman is a barrel of laughs; they seemed to have as much fun commenting about the film as they did on screen during the actual movie. They spent time mocking commentaries on DVDs, critiquing scenes and joking with each other. Early on they say if you make it through the commentary you will need psychiatric help, and though that may be true for their characters and the actors themselves, the commentary is hilarious.

These and the other no-holds-barred bonus features push this DVD from being a renter to a purchase. This is a film you will watch over and over again. It will be great for impromptu movie nights and to put on when you want a laugh after a hard day in class, or after working on that paper that would just not be written. This film will help remind you why you are really in university and what is the real purpose and goal in life.

Pick up the DVD - it will bring you hours and hours of entertainment!

(First Published in Imprint 2006-11-24 as "Accepted Defintely passes!')
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Accepted [DVD] [2006] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
2.82
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews