Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another super-cool 60's show
A great companion to 'Honey West', this is another classic 60's show and amazing value for money. Featuring Amos Burke as a millionaire detective investigating quirky crimes as you only see in shows of the 60's (think 'The Avengers' as the nearest comparison) this has a great atmosphere and is a change from the rather too gritty detective shows of today.
Picture...
Published on 7 Oct 2007 by mickram23

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not good enough.
The industry keeps telling us not to buy pirated copies for among other reasons they are poorly produced.
If legitimate producers turn out stuff like this there going to make the pirates look good.
Published 20 months ago by whiteside


Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another super-cool 60's show, 7 Oct 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Burke'S Law- The Complete Series One [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
A great companion to 'Honey West', this is another classic 60's show and amazing value for money. Featuring Amos Burke as a millionaire detective investigating quirky crimes as you only see in shows of the 60's (think 'The Avengers' as the nearest comparison) this has a great atmosphere and is a change from the rather too gritty detective shows of today.
Picture quality on the set is fine and the black & white photography looks amazing. As with Honey West (highly recommended) if you time it right this dvd set can be had for a bargain price on Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Improbable, but highly entertaining series...., 8 May 2008
By 
Kenneth M. Pizzi (San Mateo, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Burke'S Law- The Complete Series One [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
How many of LA's Chief of Detectives, have been chauffeured to work in a Rolls Royce Silver Shadow, live in a palatial mansion, and are the toast of society? Enter one, Amos Burke, played expertly by Gene Barry, whose only real distinction in the cinema was a starring role in George Pal's "War of the Worlds," (1953).

Barry, not unlike the character depicted in "Burke's Law," was well-suited to the role. Born into a family with musical credentials, (his father was a violinst; his mother a singer) Barry had a sense of effortless grace, charm and and attractive baritone voice and entertained the idea of an operatic career for the stage.

After appearing in several forgettable films, save "War of the Worlds," Barry embarked on a successful acting career throughout the 50's and 60's. He even had the distinctive honor to be the first villain in the pilot for "Columbo" entitled "Prescription Murder" (1968), as what else? An eminent psychiatrist suspected of killing his wife. In the 70's Barry starred in the short-lived series, "The Adventurer" with Barry Morse as a globetrotting, ultra wealthy, bachelor (although a little too old for the role)solving international capers.

Nonetheless, this first set of Burke's Law comes highly recommended. VCA has done a superb job of remastering the episodes and the show also stars a pre-"Land of the Giants" Gary Conway as Burke's indispensable assistant. The show has a bevy of recognizable guest stars that reads like recitation from Hollywood's Walk of Fame--even silent star Zazu Pitts and Anne Francis in the pilot episode, "Who Killed Honey West?"

If you like classic crime dramas as I do, here is yet another collection you will add to your DVD library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Clean Watchable T.V., 16 Jan 2008
By 
PJR "Perree" (Sydney, N.S.W. Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Burke'S Law- The Complete Series One [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
What a great show & what a great DVD package. These shows bring back great memories of when television was decent. I want entertainment that is enjoyable - no gory stuff that today's television thrusts in your face. I don't know how many episodes were made but I hope there's more on the way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Fun, 2 Aug 2013
This review is from: Burke'S Law- The Complete Series One [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
I have not seen these DVDs, but I recently I have watched taped copies of Burke's Law when it was rerun (sometimes slightly cut) on TV Land. I remember enjoying Burke's Law when it first aired and, thank goodness, the show is as much fun and as smart as it was when I was young. Burke's Law is a treat, especially for fans of T.V. detective shows prior to the admittedly powerful and well written but profoundly disturbing and often depressing genre typified by the Law and Order franchise.

Burke's Law is pure fun, smartly written, but definitely of its time, the mid-1960s, prior to the Summer of Love, when the Jack Kennedy/Hugh Hefner (Playboy) mode of male-centered, slightly smarmy culture dominated. Therefore, the predominate depiction of women, although placed in a light setting, is borrowed from film noir -- women either are loyal, strong but dependent and dominated wives/girlfriends, or women only out for a good time, or "black widows." The one continuing female character, police Sergeant Ames, is more a mannequin filling out attractively a tight uniform than a well-honed character. Burke's Law's relatively undignified treatment of women and the virtual non-existence of minorities, typical of American T.V. at that time, reminds us that in many ways we have become a more civilized society.

Preludes aside, I am not apologetic in recommending Burke's Law as entertaining escapism of the first order. The acting -- stoic, humorous leading man Gene Barry, handsome and capable young second lead Garry Conway (perhaps best remembered as the final incarnation of the creation in I Was a Teenage Frankenstein) and veteran character actor Regis Toomey -- is very solid, treating the lighthearted scripts with appropriate seriousness and never with campy mugging. The plots (typical "who dun its") usually are clever. The scripts are snappy and smart, although occasionally just a bit too cute and clever.

Perhaps the greatest joy of Burke's Law is the weekly roster of guest stars often a wonderfully eclectic collection of rising talent, established personalities and faded but very welcome celebrities from the 1930s and 1940s. Each episode usually featured four to eight such guests. A short but typical list, emphasizing stars from decades past who appeared at least once during the show's three seasons, includes: Ed Wynn, Buster Keaton, Linda Darnell, Caesar Romero (shortly before his triumph as the Joker on Batman), Joan Blondell, Steve Cocheran (mimicking an exaggerated John Barrymore, I swear, in one of his two appearances), Mickey Rooney, Virginia Mayo, William Bendix, Reginald Gardner, J. Carroll Naish, and Ann Harding (whom I have never before seen in a T.V. appearance although certainly she must have been a guest on some of the many drama and live productions of the 50s and 60s). As might be expected, commonly one can spot in a bit role someone who shortly would become a popular star.

In sum, Burke's Law is great fun and several cuts above the average police-detective show of the "Golden Age."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars It's Burkes Law - Okay, 9 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Burke'S Law- The Complete Series One [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
Four star - perhaps 4.5 - takes me back to when TV was in BW in the early 60s when many series were entertaining and relied on actors/actresses acting and not 'special effects'. Burkes Law was at the start of the ' Bond ' era so the TV Special Agent/PI/ seemed to have the glamour & style of someone who was special !!. I liked it, each episode is around 48 minutes, not like now where 40 minutes is the norm' with the other ' 20 minutes ' filled with Ads. It takes me back to the good old days of the TV Tec. It brings back many memories of what TV was like.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not good enough., 24 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Burke'S Law- The Complete Series One [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
The industry keeps telling us not to buy pirated copies for among other reasons they are poorly produced.
If legitimate producers turn out stuff like this there going to make the pirates look good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bueke's Law-The Complete Series One, 29 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Burke'S Law- The Complete Series One [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
The dvd of this very enjoyable series is Still as Great as i rember when i first watched many years ago. With out the violence of many of todays series concerning the police, you have no reall worry about letting any younger family members,I have no reason not to recomend to every one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Burke'S Law- The Complete Series One [DVD] [2006]
Out of stock
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews