Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FANTASTICHE!
if you are a fan of just one rammstein song - buy it!

The live concert DVD is an excellent reminder of good this band are. if they are touring and you haven't seen them - GO! this DVD will convince you.
Published on 23 Feb 2007 by Mrs. D. F. Kay

versus
2 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars very nice edition, poor content
the edition and how it's packaged, it's very nice, but the content of the live concerts, is a very poor selection, above all considering the dvd concerts.
Published on 1 May 2010 by David Muņoz


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FANTASTICHE!, 23 Feb 2007
By 
This review is from: Volkerball [Special Edition CD + 2DVD in CD Digipak] (Audio CD)
if you are a fan of just one rammstein song - buy it!

The live concert DVD is an excellent reminder of good this band are. if they are touring and you haven't seen them - GO! this DVD will convince you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wish You Were There?, 3 Jan 2007
This review is from: Volkerball [Special Edition CD + 2DVD in CD Digipak] (Audio CD)
I certainly do! The live coverage from the Nimes concert is truly outstanding. I've been a fan for a few years now but have never had the chance to see the band live. This DVD really gives a feel for what they are all about. Spectacular live performance and a real insight into how the band see their role on stage in the Anaconda im Netz documentary on the 2nd DVD. You get a lot for your money with this release. I won't miss the next tour - no matter how far I have to go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The grand-masters of industrial rock live, 18 Dec 2007
By 
I. R. Kerr (Lancashire) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Volkerball [Special Edition CD + 2DVD in CD Digipak] (Audio CD)
There are 3 discs, one CD and 2 DVD's in a superbly designed folding cover.
The CD is of the live show at Nimes in 2005 which is also featured on the first DVD. Right from the amazing intro to the opening track Reise, Reise the hairs on the back of the neck crawl with the intensity of the sound and following up with Links 234 you know this is going to be a great show and that this group are something special. This is music to be played loud and proud and not to be lyrically dissected.
The first DVD is a film of the live show that featured on the CD with an extra 4 tracks that were edited out Stein um Stein, the group's anthem Rammstein, Ohne Dich and the set closer Stripped which is sung in English.
Watching the fans go wild to the power of Reise, Reise, Feuer Frei, Mein Teil, Amerika and Sonne is something to behold and it certainly makes me want to go and see them live. Amidst the power of the pounding music, the pyrotechics and the grandstanding showmanship of the band you could hear a pin drop (well almost) when they play the beautiful ballad Ohne Dich before the crowd rally to sing along at the chorus.
There are also film clips from 3 other concerts in London (4 tracks), Japan (3) and Moscow (Moskau, what else!). The show itself is pure rock theatre and having recently seen the amazing Alice Cooper live these guys even manage to make his show look like a school play.
The second DVD has 2 documentaries one with the band being interviewed about touring and playing together and being constantly amazed at how well they are received, even in England and Mexico. The other documentary is about the making of the album Reise,Reise. The band come across as a group who are pretty down to earth are still amazed at their success and the strength of their global following over a decade since Herzeleid was released.
I unreservedly recommend this to anyone interested in rock music.
Only one weird note my DVD player does not pick up the English subtitles on the making of Reise, Reise documentary but by PC does, so all is not lost.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SPIEL MIT MIR!, 28 Dec 2006
This review is from: Volkerball [Special Edition CD + 2DVD in CD Digipak] (Audio CD)
Blows your mind away! Absolutely stunning. These guys have taken over from KISS (my other favourite band) with their live shows. Industrial hardcore rock, with flames everywhere and pyrotechnics. No one else could make an accordion sound so hard. Till Lindemann's voice is unique in its strength and range. Every song is a masterpiece. MEIN TEIL(My part), is a tribute to the german cannibal chappie. SONNE has without a doubt the coolest intro to any song ever, fact! There are extras galore. The highlight is definitely the 3 Russian singers in Moskau, recorded live in Moscow! Just buy it, crank up your stereo or yor dvd player and melt your brain!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reise, Reise, 10 Oct 2007
By 
Red Mosquito (Horton Bank Top) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Volkerball [Special Edition CD + 2DVD in CD Digipak] (Audio CD)
No need to say anything more about the music. If you're new to Rammstein you're probably not going to start with this glorious, beautifully packaged 3 disc digipac set, although it does represent good value for money.
Rammstein have mastered the music and the live performances. They now seem to have turned there sublime originality to giving their fans a quality product through packaging and fine art work. It started with Rosenrot followed by Volkerball and Richard Kruspe's Emigrate.
The first DVD features the concert in France at Les Arenes De Nimes in June 2005. This has to be one of the best live performaces by any band ever!!and, in true Rammstein tradition the audio and visual quality is brilliant. This is followed by other live bits of the 2004/05 tour including The Brixton Academy, London. Club Citta, Japan and The Olympisk Moscow, Russia.
The second DVD is split into two. An interesting 'fly on the wall' documentry about the making of Reise,Reise, with a second documentry about the band and their experiences on tour. Lots of interviews with Till, Richard and Co.
The CD is the live recording of the Nimes concert.
If you are a Rammstein fan and you havn't bought Volkerball yet treat yourself. We're in for a long hard winter without anymore live dates for a while as the boys are safely tucked up in a recording studio working on the next album. Can't wait!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Volkerball Spec Ed, 3 Sep 2009
By 
S. J. Harley (Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Volkerball [Special Edition CD + 2DVD in CD Digipak] (Audio CD)
There's nothing like watching Rammstein live but this comes pretty close. Get yourself a big screen, crank up the volume and set the gas fire to high !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "...awesome...", 3 Sep 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having bought all their cds after seeing "Sonne" on MTV I knew what to expect with this cd + dvd set.
And I got it!

Most of the live dvd is from Nimes amphitheatre [2005]; the songs are the ones you want to hear live: REISE REISE, LINKS 234, FEUER FREI, ASCHE ZU ASCHE, MEIN TEIL, DU HAST, AMERIKA, SONNE, ICH WILL and many more. There is also a great version of Depeche Mode's STRIPPED, the riff at the begining is to die for. Johnny Cash did a great alternative version of this song too. I have all 3 and they're all brilliant in their own way. All we need now is Lily Allen's version... ok, maybe not.
There are 4 more tracks from Brixton and 3 from Tokyo - meaning you get another hearing of SONNE, FEUER FREI, MEIN TEIL and DU HAST - smashing.

Singer/growler Till Lindemann comes across like the unholy offspring of Ozzy Osbourne and Herman Munster. The two guitarists Richard & Paul lay down some great riffs (similar to Judas Priest only heavier). Bassist Oliver keeps the wall of noise at pain threshold, while drummer Christoph surveys all atop the speaker stacks keeping up a relentless and powerful beat. Keyboard/nutter Christian prowls, dances, grins and generally acts like a Teutonic Max Wall.
Very tongue-in-cheek. Who said the Germans have no sense of humour or irony?

The live cd is pretty much identical in content to the dvd.
Put it on your car stereo, wind the windows down, turn up to volume 11 and see the chavs in their old Novas melt before your eyes.

If you like Rammstein you will not be disappointed in this package. The sound is clear, the stage show magnificent, the audience crazed. Play loud and play often.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 2 July 2008
By 
G. I. Iversen (North-Norway) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As an obsessive fan of the best band in the world (Rammstein of course) I naturally treasure this limited edition. It is a must for all fans.
The music is great, the live performance amazing as always. I particularly enjoy the performance of "Links" as they all (perhaps Schneider in particular) put so much feeling into it.

Before going on with all the things that are great about it, I will remark on the one not-so-good feature; the camera spends way too much time focusing on the audience and on long-distance shots of the band. This is not what fans want to see. We want to see the band that we love. We don't want to see the audience. Nor do we want shots of the stage that are from such a distance that you can't even tell who's who. I also missed the multi-camera option that was available on "Live aus Berlin".

The DVD is mostly focused on the concert in Nimes, France, which looks like it must have been one of the greatest concerts of all time. There are also a few songs from a concert in Tokyo, one in Moscow and one in England. The stuff from Nimes is clearly best, but notice "Rein raus" from the concert in England.

Now, the book that comes with the limited edition is a big photo book with some truly amazing black and white pictures. Some of these pictures are true works of art. A must-have, and the perfect photo book. Not just your average "band pictures". There's not a lot of posing going on, and there are some really emotional pictures.

As for the documentary footage; some excellent stuff. This is also a must-have. How can you miss out on Richard's "cooking" and the others' assertion that what he cooks looks like "Mein Teil"? It's hilarious. Also very interesting to hear band members' thoughts on different stuff.

In conclusion; great even despite its flaw. Rammstein für immer!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Explosive, 11 Jan 2008
By 
This review is from: Volkerball [Special Edition CD + 2DVD in CD Digipak] (Audio CD)
Anybody who's a Rammstein fan will totally enjoy this offering. I'm actually listening to it as I'm typing this review! All I can say is that ever since I heard and saw Sonne, and later Ich Will, on the Kerrang channel I've fallen head over heels in love with this powerful music and their on stage antics. I know very little German but I can still sing along even though I haven't got a clue what I'm singing. This is definitely a must buy for all Rammstein fans.
Happy rocking y'all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AWESOME must have for all metal fans, 21 April 2007
I am new to Rammstein, I picked up this Voelkerball on a whim in some store and this was my lucky day: I had heard the name of course but had no idea this was so good ! First the sound is concretely solid, a wall of pure power, then the layers of simplistic guitar riffs and keyboards make a really astounding and addictive coherent whole. And among all these you find good memorable songs, the lyrics are like spoken (in German), with a voice from the grave: the singer is straight out of "Hostel" (check out the video of the concert), the other guys like statues delivering a wall of decibels. This is really original to me, I am mightily impressed and I have just ordered all their other albums. If you like a good guitar riff, massive metal sound and a band that has personality, check this out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews