Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hoping for a new lease of life to a diminished player base
Having played this game since its launch 4 years ago, it has seen a few drastic changes to the playing system (the Combat Upgrade and notorious NGE) which have unfortunately caused the player base to dwindle, with many older players leaving and fewer newcomers. Since the PvP and player association/guild aspects are of utmost importance to MMORPGs, this has been a major...
Published on 9 Jun 2007 by A. Watt

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Hmm, a classic MMO it is not
The one selling point for this game is that it is Star Wars, set during the classic Galactic Civil War period of the original movies, somewhere between A New Hope and Empire Strikes back (though SOE have just added Hoth and the assault on Echo Base in November '08). Agree with previous reviewers. This is not the game it used to be. Dev team has changed and a lot of their...
Published on 17 Dec 2008 by Naast


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars Hmm, a classic MMO it is not, 17 Dec 2008
By 
Naast (Lancashire, UK) - See all my reviews
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Star Wars Galaxies: The Complete Online Adventures (PC CD) (Video Game)
The one selling point for this game is that it is Star Wars, set during the classic Galactic Civil War period of the original movies, somewhere between A New Hope and Empire Strikes back (though SOE have just added Hoth and the assault on Echo Base in November '08). Agree with previous reviewers. This is not the game it used to be. Dev team has changed and a lot of their ideas are ridiculous and completely outside the canon of the movies and don't fit with the timeline when novels and graphic novels are taken into account. The best thing about this game is probably the online community. On the whole the servers are populated by friendly, helpful gamers who have put up with a lot from SOE and stayed loyal because they love the game. I for one, after 5 years, have had more than enough. Be interesting to see how SWG fares when Bioware release their Knights Of The Republic MMO or Cheyenne Mountain's Stargate Worlds. In an increasingly competitive MMO market SWG just doesn't cut as far as gameplay goes.
Recently SOE are offering free character transfers from servers identified as having low populations. These servers will be shut down. This means though that there should never be any empty servers which can only be a good thing. Most people who are new to SWG, as with any MMO with the same problem, get put off by the lack of other players online. Also SOE are starting to request feedback from players, but if they actually take any notice remains to be seen!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hoping for a new lease of life to a diminished player base, 9 Jun 2007
By 
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Star Wars Galaxies: The Complete Online Adventures (PC CD) (Video Game)
Having played this game since its launch 4 years ago, it has seen a few drastic changes to the playing system (the Combat Upgrade and notorious NGE) which have unfortunately caused the player base to dwindle, with many older players leaving and fewer newcomers. Since the PvP and player association/guild aspects are of utmost importance to MMORPGs, this has been a major issue. However, with the constant new updates and improvements (which seem to be aimed at returning the game to pre-NGE style) older players seem to be returning, along with a newer player base.

The main reason I have personally not left this title throughout its many changes is due to the social variety; the opportunities to roleplay in an immersive Star Wars style, and the vast, wonderfully detailed environments to explore and enjoy; still holding enough excitement and new features to keep me playing for hours.

The graphics may be somewhat dated by now, but have seen a reasonable update to character textures not long ago, and with a high-end system (using heat-shimmer, volumetric shadows, anti-aliasing etc.) can compete with many more recent releases.

The combat gameplay may be somewhat odd, using a FPS point-and-click style along with RPG elements, but it does demand a level of attention and involvement from the player, rather than complacency; plus this mode is optional as an auto-target/attack mode is also useable. The popular servers (e.g Bria) still have a large PvP base, along with many PvE story-based quests to explore.

Another reason I've stayed with SWG is due to the non-combat aspects. Unlike games such as WOW, this MMORPG is not so entirely focused on combat and PvP. Other professions allow crafting of clothes, food, droids, weapons, armour etc. and the ability to customize these to a high level, giving a competitive aspect to owning shops/vendors. And last but not least, entertaining: one of the most enjoyable professions; learning a vast variety of dances, music, various instruments, whilst lounging around bustling cantinas, performing/buffing for tips and socialising is extremely fun, and seems to appeal moreso to the female gamer (such as myself).

I may be somewhat biased, as this game captured me from the very start, but in an attempt to be somewhat objective, whether you are a Star Wars fan or not, if you like RPGs, flight sims (the space flight aspect is very decent) and socialising online, then give this a try. And perhaps one day it will return to its former glory (maybe.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hope is important, 19 Jan 2007
By 
The Glyn (Uk, Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Star Wars Galaxies: The Complete Online Adventures (PC CD) (Video Game)
I first played SWG when it was in it's childhood.

I was there from the beta up to the CUrb (for anyone of newer SWG this was the complete rewrite of 80% of the game called the Combat Upgrade).

Starwars Galaxies starte out as a HUGELY involving mmorpg, crafting systems and class systems were what unimaginably customisable.

I stopped playing around the time that the CUrb was on test servers.

Finally i have returned to SWG and i am not dissapointed!

The game has been dumbed down immensely to make it similar to other MMORPGs to help people get into it - but it's starwars... isn't that why we play it in the first place?

Starwars touches people in different ways, maybe you long to hit things with a lightsaber, maybe you're seduced by the ability to shoot lightning out of your fingers at people like Palpatine does in Empire.

Or perhaps you idolise bobafett? or Han? or you're a total wookie lover?

maybe you just want to play a game where you can spend hours murdering ewoks for some sick pleasure.

OR MAYBE - you just want to be/shoot a stormtrooper

What ever it is that attracts you to starwars, you can live it out here.

I reccomend this game to anyone who will accept imperfection as the price for getting to play out their dreams.

Starwars roleplay will never exist in a better form.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 25 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A returning players view, 15 May 2007
By 
S. A. Brown - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Star Wars Galaxies: The Complete Online Adventures (PC CD) (Video Game)
This review is based purely on the current state of SWG, not what has happened in the past. The game, whilst still run by SOE, has new developers and to be honest deserves to be reviewed as a new piece of work. I returned to the game recently on a 10 day free trial (having played for two years upto the NGE affair) and now regularly subscribe. I have also played EQ2, DAOC, WoW, EVE and Vanguard, as well as trialling several others (and dont even mention Dark and Light..) so I have at least some points of reference.

Uniquely in the MMORPG environment, the game employs a FPS style interface for combat whereby players need to aim with the onscreen crosshairs to hit their target (alhtough oddly you dont miss, if you arent on target you cant attack). It seems to be a love it or hate it issue (personally its growing on me and it certainly makes the game feel different to the other offerings out there). It fits with the predominantly ranged professions well, less so with the melee (Jedi mostly) professions. As a sop to those that dont like it, there is the option to return to a 'target locking' approach whereby once you have chosen your target, the game aims for you in the conventional turn based style of other MMORPGs like WoW and Everquest.

In the interests of simplicity, I will just lay out the good, the so so and the bad points of the game:

The Good

Its not a time sink. Unlike many current games of the genre, you dont need to play for several hours a day, seven days a week to get the best gear. XP comes quickly and due to the ease and speed of travelling it doesnt take a long time to get anywhere. In short, casual gamers needent be put off.

Player Housing. No game does the aspect of owning, decorating, locating and moving property as well as this one. There are literally hundreds (if not thousands) of different items with which to work, dozens of different building styles to work with and they arent expensive to maintain. There is a player driven purge of existing player housing that is abandoned (i.e belongs to dormant accounts) planned for early June this year that will free up a lot of new buliding space.

Diversity. There are so many different aspects to the game, combat, crafting, space flight, entertaining, house decorating, city building and so on that there genuninely arent many moments where you feel you have nothing to do.

Crafting. Crafted items have different stats, depending on the quality of the resources used. Given the amount of different resources available, and that they have a random spawn location (lasting over a period of several days) with random qualities over several different resource attributes, striving to be the best crafter can be a game in itself.

The licence. Its Star Wars, if youre a fan not much more needs to be said, and even if your not at least you have a story line of a sort for the game.

The space bits. They just suit the licence, but to those of us that grew up with the movies the game wouldnt be complete without the chance to fly about and shoot things. Its done well in this game, albeit getting increasingly difficult as you progress through your piloting career.

The So So

Graphics and sound. The original game was released 4 years ago (ish), and hasnt seen any major graphical or sound work since. Whilst this means that you certainly dont need a powerful system to play it, and it is largely bug free, it doesnt compare well in this regard to newer releases. This part of the game now needs attention to continue to attract new players.

There are only 9 professions to choose from, with a experise system that lets you specialise your character to a degree. Its essentially the same as WoW, although the differentiation between classes doesnt seem so noticeable. At least if you choose one you dont like you get to respec to a different one (for an in game fee) without losing level (unless going into or from a non combat profession)

The user interface. Mixing turn based specials and hotbars with a FPS interface was never gonna be a great combination. Setting the game up to move with the mouse occasionally results in shooting things when you dont mean to, which can be problematic to say the least, but the alternative of using keys to move, the mouse to aim and more keys to select specials requires more hands than most of us have. It works, but only just.

Future content and updates. Who knows if there will ever be a future expansion (it really will depend on the success of the current game), but future plans bring back creature handling, kind of, and a story telling utility which allows players to create their own in game events, which sounds interesting. It actually feels like the developers now realise the mistakes of the past and are looking to reintroduce elements that were previously lost.

The Bad

Player base. The game needs more people, as currently there are too many servers with not enough people on each. Logic would suggest that halving the number of servers through merger would bring more people together, which would add more fun into the gameplay, especially in the PvP aspect.

Combat is just odd. If you are the type of player that only looks for the combat aspect then you will feel let down. It works well enough, it just doesnt have a lot of depth to it due to the fact that there just arent many specials available relative to other games. SImilarly, using a FPS style would suggest that FPS conventions would apply also (i.e you can miss if you dont aim well, that ammo is limited or that headshots do more damage etc) but they dont.

Jedi's. There, I said it. Not as a bitter ex pre-CU jedi, but as someone looking to get immersed in the game scenario. Theres just too damn many of them. Its available as a starting profession, and unsurprisingly many people choose to go that route. Its not an unbalanced class like it used to be, but it just doesnt fit with the movies. A necessary concession to the marketing department I suppose.

Overall then, the game is actually pretty good fun. It doesnt require the investment in time of games such as WoW to acheive the best equipment, and it is still the best when it comes to housing and crafting. The combat system is functional for most, and certainly different, but to be honest if thats all you want to do then there are better options out there. The game could use a make over graphically though, and certainly needs a new injection of players, or at least a server merger or 3. Purely on the back of the weird combat system I would say get the 10 day free trial first, just be aware that activating your free trial account, rather than making a new one after purchase of this pack, may cost you the free month worth of play that comes with this pack.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars please just let this game die :(, 17 Nov 2006
By 
M. Waite - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Star Wars Galaxies: The Complete Online Adventures (PC CD) (Video Game)
Star wars was a great game a long time ago... probably in a galaxy far far away, but now thanks to the evil Imperial Sony Empire the game has been brought to ruin.

During my time in the game I had to learn to replay the game THREE times as if it was a new game, everytime it was "enhanced" the game actually seemed slightly worse both performance and visually wise. However I can understand changing certain aspects of the game might be needed and I guess that there might be some argument to them remaking the game from scratch near enough twice since its original state in release but the inexcusable thing is the way sony have constantly lied to the players. B4 the release of the mustafar expansion thingy they reported they would be fixing class a-b-c-d and stated this numerous times... come release class a-b-c got removed and d got changed into something it wasn't (as a result they had to refund many people who bought the expansion)

Well long review over, if you want a MMORPG that is star wars wait thill this one dies and is given a rebirth under a new company.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you don't love galaxies then your not a true star wars fan!!!, 4 Jan 2007
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Star Wars Galaxies: The Complete Online Adventures (PC CD) (Video Game)
Ive been playing galaxies now for almost 3 months and i have never had to come off the game because i was bored. There is so much for you to do, if you want to fight then you can fight, if you want to fly then you can fly,if you want to explore then you can just explore,you can live the star wars expierence the way you want it to be lived.

You may hear on some other reviews that the game isn't as good as it used to be be becase of the NGE (New Game Advancements)that were made but don't let that put you off the game as it still is a great star wars game. Sure there are some problems with it but they are fixed all the time so they don't if at all stop ur gaming expierence from being great.

If you still have doubts about the game then I sugest trying the free trial of the game on the star wars galaxies website as that is sure to convince you that star wars galaxies is a must for any true star wars fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars let it die please, 4 Jan 2010
By 
P. WRAY "sofghost" (Yorkshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Wars Galaxies: The Complete Online Adventures (PC CD) (Video Game)
so after 3 years , i came back to try out the "new" swg to see whats changed, id bought the "best of star wars" game pack. my old toons were all on servers deleted (1/2 of the servers were wiped from the face of the planet) i see all the old annoyances are still there, the rubberbanding, mobs sprinting off round corners and still hitting you through walls, the total relianse getting buffs, the absolutly poor excuse of an targetting and attack interface (the worst in any game ive ever played to this day).

A few things that have seem to have been addressed , the landscape popups and lag i guess to the housing purge and missing population, although the vegitation draw-ins are still there, upon closer examination, i cannot understand why such poorly drawn plants, shrubs and trees would take so long to pop lucky you can drop them, and why isnt the houising isnt instanced yet, shop ? what shop? waits 30sec, ah yes pop pop pop there it is.

Within seconds off making it off the newb station which was good fun ill admit, im confronted with the same old spammers at the starport, blah blah buying rares, /yawn, i was amazed id not been asked for some credits, but saw a few asking lol, the responses were class, the actual population seems to have died off allot, at eisley sp, there was never more then 10 pll over a 3 day holiday period.

so lets see what the combats like, Commando i choose, so i started the legacy quests starts off just ok, then turns into repetative boredem, go to this random bunker, kill x number of y mob, travel 1/2 way across the galaxy, click this, fly back again, rinse and repeat. i had all of six buttons to press to keep me ocupied during the combat (think i narrowed it down to 3 , oh and pressing mouse button one thats 4) and at lvl 30 id lost my will to live and uninstalled the game. if your thinking of trying it out dont bother, wait for the inevitable and total replacement this year, hopefully theyll pull the plug on the servers soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This game is beginning to be great again, 15 Nov 2006
By 
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Star Wars Galaxies: The Complete Online Adventures (PC CD) (Video Game)
Don't listen to the NGE (New Game Enhancements) haters, they have been very disappointed by a change of the combat system that came unexpected. Of course SOE wasn't very wise in bringing it like that : like an alpha version with many bugs.

But it has been 1 year since the NGE was launched, and honestly now the game is showing more and more potential as new content is brought in in the form of chapters.

New players loving SWG and MMOs will surely be well surprised by one of the best SciFi MMO in the market and there are many things to do ingame for a new player !

Old players who allows this game another chance might be surprised in well, so let go of the past (as Yoda would say) and try it for what it is... a new game (or nearly) !

In case you're not sure, there is always a free trial of 14 days available from the official site...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Trust me, it isn't worth it...., 29 Nov 2006
By 
Warch (London, UK) - See all my reviews
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Star Wars Galaxies: The Complete Online Adventures (PC CD) (Video Game)
Okay, two things to get out of the way first: 1, I am an absolute Star Wars freak! Basically if there is a lightsaber involved then I'm hooked... and 2, I didn't get this game until after the combat upgrade that everyone talks about so I wasn't privy to the older versions of this game.

Simply put, it really, really isn't any good! I thought this would be the best gaming experience ever. Live in the Star Wars universe sounded like heaven to me. I could not have been more disappointed.

There aren't that many online gamers, the gameplay is clunky at best, the missions are easy and predictable and the character progression is laughable. Given that most Star Wars gamers have been used to games like Jedi Knight and the X-Wing series you would expect this game to reflect those but take it to a whole new level. Unfortuntely it misses the mark by several lightyears on all counts. The space combat is bordering on insulting given the level set by X-Wing Alliance.

So PLEASE, trust a Star Wars fan and spend your money elsewhere. There is nothing to be gained by playing this game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars It's not always black and white..., 29 Nov 2006
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Star Wars Galaxies: The Complete Online Adventures (PC CD) (Video Game)
As a rabid SWG fan, i've stuck with the game through thick and thin until about 6 months ago when the server i played on was empty of other players and most of my friends had left. The Dev team brought in a few new specialities to the professions, and a few new events that were geared towards PvP. These seemed interesting, so i bought the COA (for the AT-RT which is pretty cool) and went back and tried again with a number of friends.

There are some improvements in the game, the dev team seem to be heading back towards making the game fun again, but it's not enough to make me want to continue to play. The community spirit is also now sorely lacking, which is a shame as this was originally one of the strongest qualities of SWG, but now it makes the game difficult to play. There is also no challenge, even the infamous Death Watch Bunker is easily soloed by players (who normally fight over loot rights).

It may become a great game again, but don't expect much from some of the players. My only suggestion, if you do give it a try, try and avoid the community forums, they'll only make you want to quit when you see how much whining and complaining goes on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Star Wars Galaxies: The Complete Online Adventures (PC CD)
Used & New from: £22.90
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews