Customer Reviews


176 Reviews
5 star:
 (91)
4 star:
 (28)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (36)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Politics aside, surprisingly well presented
This presentation makes a strong fact based backing of what can or is already the consequences of global warming.

I have been to a few of the locations pointed out in the video, including Glacier National park. And if I had just watched this video I may have been skeptical of a one sided argument that was packed or spun for ulterior motives. But seeing the...
Published on 24 Feb. 2008 by bernie

versus
9 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
I was disappointed with this film after reading positive reviews it got from critics.
It isn't a terrible film, it's very slickly presented, and brings together a lot of evidence for the case that humans are jeopardising the future of the planet, but there are a number of problems.

Firstly, as other reviewers point out, it merely reminds you of things you...
Published on 30 April 2008 by Síog


‹ Previous | 1 2 318 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 44 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Slick but Alarmist, 10 Jan. 2008
By 
Nicholas J. R. Dougan "Nick Dougan" (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Inconvenient Truth [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
A very slick production - but then Al Gores claims that he has done more than 1,000 of these "slide shows" so it should be. He starts with those beautiful pictures of the Earth taken by the Apollo missions, including the famous "Earthrise" (over the Moon) taken 40 years ago today. This is part of a series of images designed to suggest that the world is beautiful but fragile, an impression intended to dispose viewers to sympathising with his case. Gore is an effective and engaging presenter, although some may find his personal reminiscences both a little cloying and a little disingenuous in the way that they are used to support his argument. He does provide many examples of warming - principally glacial retreat and the melting of permafrost - but makes no effort to present real evidence to prove that this is caused by CO2. He does use an enormous graph in the course of one presentation showing temperature and CO2 levels from ice-core data, but correlation is not causation, and the use of the data set has been criticised on the ground that it in fact shows CO2 rises lagging, not leading, temperature changes. Hurricane Katrina was a godsend to him, providing much useful imagery, even though the reason it was a calamity was primarily poor maintenance of the dykes and secondarily inadequate federal response - such a hurricane could have hit New Orleans in any year, irrespective of any argument that warming causes more violent hurricanes. There have been many criticisms of distortion and exaggerations, e.g. in the speed with which se-level rises may occur, which Gore suggests will happen very much more quickly than the IPCC "co-authors" of this film do in their Assessment Reports.

If there is one possible "untruth" that I would recommend that viewers might like to check out it is the views attributed to Gore's old Harvard mentor, Professor Revelle. He was Gore's inspiration and one of the first researchers into global climate change, but there is evidence that at the time of his death he was rather more cautious about arguing a link between CO2 and global temperatures than his protégé - see Booker and North 2007.

The recommendations that Gore makes at the end of the film are relatively modest, and many - including energy conservations and getting his fellow Americans to drive more energy efficient vehicles - we should be doing anyway. This film should be required reading for anyone interested in global warming, but unless you view it as necessary propaganda in the cause it should not be viewed without a degree of scepticism. I would very much recommend watching "The Great Global Warming Swindle" at the same time to see the opposing view.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars He says what has to be said, 26 Dec. 2006
By 
M. B. Hare (Bournemouth, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: An Inconvenient Truth [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
Whether you like Al Gore or not, what he says has to be heard. He's a vocal peice for the planet we live on. It's not like we've never heard it before, it's just we want someone else to rasie the issue internationally with some force before we will stand behind it. But it affects our lives now, and our childrens lives now. What is so startling is that we WILL, and DO, see the consequences today.

As for the ney-sayers, who mention how many dvd's have been produced etc. Well thats just nonsense. The polution caused by this dvd is insignificant. And only having it available on download? How are all the non-tech savvy people going to see it? What about saying that the planet is too far gone? No, of course it's not, it's only over when it's over, but we are not helping ourselves.

Some people dont care about the planet they live on, and I can only assume they dont enjoy life. But if you care, if you enjoy life, if you enjoy your family life, or even if you currently dont but wish you could, then you need to have a future in a world that is capable of supporting that life.

Download this movie, or buy it, or borrow it, I doubt very much if Al Gore really cares, as long as the message hits home.

This is our planet, only we can save it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A well-presented case., 18 Mar. 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Inconvenient Truth [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
There has been much mention of the Channel Four documentary on this page. This is unfortunate. 'An Inconvenient Truth' presents a coherent argument for the greenhouse gas theory for global warming, the Channel Four documentary presented an alternative theory - the sunspot theory. It is true that the former is the one supported by the vast majority of climate scientists, but it must be emphasised that both are still theories - neither has been completely proven. However, we can do something about greenhouse gases, but are completely helpless in influencing sunspot activity. I know what the most commonsense course is.

As far as the documentaries are concerned, 'An Inconvenient Truth' presents its side in an intellectually sound and more-or-less balanced way, the Channel Four programme was muddled to the point of incoherence, and relied too heavily on emotive techniques of which Joseph Goebels would have been proud (there is a reason for this approach - it detracts from logical and content flaws in an argument, and helps convince those who are less rigorous in their examination of that argument). As an example, the end credits were accompanied by pictures of a sun-drenched beach with blue ocean waters, and the sound of 'Mr Blue Sky' - I, for one, object to such crass attempts at manipulation. Science for Sun-readers.

Yes, I completely endorse previous recommendations to view 'An Inconvenient Truth'. I also recommend that it is viewed with an open mind.

The truth? Quite possibly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Priceless kick up the backside we all need., 26 Jun. 2008
By 
Knight "Maverick2008" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Inconvenient Truth [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
Well done Al Gore for showing us what we all need to hear. Each and everyone of us can change the world for good or bad, the choice is ours and we should feel compelled to make our stand.

An inconvenient truth is what it's all about and it's time we all stopped hiding from ourselves.

This film is so powerful and a warning we should all heed. Not just for ourselves, but for our children, our families and our planet.

We all have a duty to spread the word and do what we can to help save our home. I shall be buying 100 copies of "An inconvenient truth" and giving them away to friends, family and colleagues.

Lets change the world before it's too late.

Winston Churchill once said
"The era of procrastination, of half-measures, of soothing and baffling expedients, of delays, is coming to a close. In its place we are entering a period of consequences."

In relation to another world crisis, but the words still ring true in our current crisis.

We need to stop supporting fair weather politicians without vision & balls to see in to our own future and act upon it.

Ignorance is no excuse in law, neither in life.

Al Gore has opened my eyes to the fact we have been duped for a very long time.

This isnt about politics or conspiracy theories and the world doesnt owe us anything. This is about us and our negative impact, and do we really need to be destroying ourselves like this? I dont and I am going to change what I can in all areas of my own life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An inconvenient truth, 19 Oct. 2013
By 
Mogsy J (Crawley, West Sussex) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Inconvenient Truth [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
This should be compulsory viewing for all those who doubt that global warming is taking place right now. Al Gore got it right and this film explains why in easy to understand terms.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Miss this at your peril, 5 Nov. 2006
This review is from: An Inconvenient Truth [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
If you see one documentary this year, then make sure it's this one.

Al Gore gives a superb presentation enhanced with easy to understand science, animations and data backed facts.

You will be taken on a journey which will leave you in no uncertainty that human behaviour is contributing to the accelerated warming of our planet which will result in catastrophic consequences for all of earth's inhabitants.

Raw data, coupled with disturbing photography of polar ice caps melting, glaciers retreating, and lakes drying up will leave you with a lump in your throat as you see what can only be described as the death of our planet caused, it appears, by the heating up of earth by increasing levels of co2.

If this movie doesn't compell you to act, then nothing will.... dont miss it!

S Rosser, Wales, UK.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars nicely done. good quality DVD, 9 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Inconvenient Truth [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
I think everyone should have one copy of this DVD, nicely done. good quality DVD, and fast good service.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A powerful message, 19 Oct. 2006
By 
D. I. Shipley "David Shipley" (KENT United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: An Inconvenient Truth [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
Congratulations to Al Gore for taking on a subject largely regarded as anathema by the US political establishment.In both the book and dvd, the information is presented starkly but in a nonetheless straight forward format. For those already with an interest in global warming, most of the issues raised will probably be what you have already come across but nonetheless be prepared for some new information or insights. For anyone who has yet to examine the scientific concerns on global warming, then this is a very good place indeed to start. Some have criticised the inclusion of Al Gore's real life experiences. I, however, think that they actually complement the information that is being put across. Yes the science is still unsure on many of the issues, however, it IS becoming increasingly apparent that C02 emissions from industry, petrol engines etc are contributing to driving global temperatures upwards. That said, there is truth though that global warming is a natural event because thanks to analysis carried out on ice samples from the Greenland permafrost, thousands of years old, we have a clear record of many natural warming cycles going back millennia.
The question we have to ask ourselves is do we really need to be adding to this natural process to the point of endangering our environment and even our existence?

Increasingly powerful hurricanes and storms like Katrina will become more common. As ice flows shrink, there will be corresponding rises in sea levels, and more heavily populated areas will experience the horror that hit New Orleans.
However, I would like to add some new scenarios into the already troubling possibilities:

Science has established that thanks to the reduction in the use of CFCs we are seeing an improvement in the Ozone hole over the Antarctic. However, scientists are now concerned that heavy C02 releases in the northern hemisphere could cool the upper atmosphere to the point that new holes in Ozone layer open up over the Arctic, bringing the danger of UV rays with them as they do so...

Before the age of the dinosaurs, was a period known as the Permian. The end of this period saw the biggest ever mass extinction that this planet has ever seen where upwards of 90% of all life perished. It was thought that the killer was a meteorite bigger than the one that took out the dinosaurs. Recent science has found that there were in fact two killers, and neither was a meteorite.
The first was massive volcanic action in the region of Siberia which was so huge that it raised global temperatures by 5C. This killed off many species of life. However, once the seas had heated up by 5C, then this was the key that released the second killer from its confinement - Methane Gas. Methane is one of the most potent greenhouse gasses in existence and releasing large quantities of it into the atmosphere will cause warming on a greater scale than that caused by C02 releases.
Surrounding the coastlines of all continents are huge pockets of methane that are stored in the ocean floor, and have come from millennia of decaying organic matter rolling off the continents and into the sea. These deposits are called Methane Hydrates. What happened is that after the temperatures rose at the end of the Permian, the sea temperature rose by 5C, causing the Methane Hydrates to release vast quantities of Methane into the atmosphere. This promptly raised global temperatures by a further 5C, killing off virtually all marine life and even more of the life on the land.

So there you have it folks. A temperature rise of 10C caused the greatest mass extinction that this world has ever seen. And here we are, contributing our own gasses to a warming cycle..... despite the fact that there are huge quantities of Methane Hydrates just offshore (just ask the oil industry as to the hazards they create for offshore drilling). Scientific tests have shown that if water temperature in the oceans rise by 5C then the Methane Hydrates will release all their gas......

As the song says "Somehing better change..."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A worldwide wake-up call and compelling viewing, 9 Jun. 2008
This review is from: An Inconvenient Truth [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
Packed choc-full of science, this documentary lays out the case for global warming and its consequences in a very watchable way. Al Gore is impressive in his presentation as well as in his passion for the subject. He's charming actually.

His message is simple: not one person who cares about the future of living things on our planet can ignore global warming any longer.

He presents some heart-stopping prospects if we do fail to act on rising temperatures. Most notably, if part of Greenland and Antartica's ice caps melt, sea levels will rise by 20 feet, submerging large parts of Manhattan, San Francisco, Bejing, Shanghai, and most of the Netherlands (to name a few spots).

There is more powerful evidence in the global increase of awesome hurricanes, typhoons and cyclones. As sea temperatures climb, so the storms become more destructive, generating strength from the rising hot air.

The 'facts' seem indisputable, though some people are still arguing about them. Either way, it surely can't do us or the planet any harm to try and live greener - more efficiently, more responsibly and more respectfully.

If Al Gore is right, then the above becomes more than just a nice, sensible idea. It become vital, our duty. The alternative - a world heated up so much that all our beautiful coral reefs die, hundreds of species are lost forever, swaths of fertile farmland becomes desert, cities sink under the water - is too terrifying to contemplate.

Gore may indulge himself a little in this documentary but I didn't mind. A visit to the family farm to learn how he spent his childhood may seem slightly off the point but it gives the film a nostalgic and personal hook, something warm and human to balance the science. He's showing us an old American way of life in lush rural country, and saying 'this is worth saving'.

There's also some commentary on his loss in the 2000 election to George Bush. He's obviously still sore, but the underlying alarm bell is that America would be a much more energy-conscious nation had he won. Instead, America is 8 years behind where it could be, still not signed up to Kyoto.

Arguably, thanks to the Bush administration we are closer to the precipice. As Gore says, every individual needs to act, but we also need political will.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Worth a viewing and a read of the book version., 19 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Inconvenient Truth [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
A very persuasive polemic arguing the case for man-made triggered global warming.

In retrospect it is clear that Al Gore was creating the basis for his new career following his failing to convert his personal description as "the next president of the US2 into reality. His contributions to he atmospheric CO2 are legendary - as is his income from climate change speeches.

Several years later, the scientific community appear unanimous that human activity is changing the atmosphere but the models they use do not correlate with actual temperature changes of recent years.

The book content is well presented and a quality production - the video being primarily shot at his public presentations.

Influential but I am not fully convinced. However, if he is correct, the downside of likely future developments is horrendous. so perhaps mankind should accept his guidance - and prepare.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 318 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

An Inconvenient Truth [DVD] [2006]
An Inconvenient Truth [DVD] [2006] by Davis Guggenheim (DVD - 2006)
£3.92
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews