Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars65
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£20.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 March 2008
This is the rhird and easily the best Neil Young concert D.V.D. I have bought. The audio-visual quality is superb, as are the performances. I loved all the tracks, except for 'Prairie Wind,' which I found boring and repetitive. The balance between the new songs and his golden oldies is spot on and I would reccomend it to all Neil Young fans.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2008
A joy just to sit back, watch & listen. The songs from his Prairie Wind CD seem to be his reflections on life, death & friendship from the viewpoint of someone who has lived a full & varied life while the more familiar songs are sung beautifully & given a new lease of life. The fragility of his voice on some tracks seems to enhance rather than detract from the music. The quality of the sets, together with the impressive number of musicians and friends that accompany Mr Young make this an superb concert indeed.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2008
A great film and another chapter in the fantastic life and career of Neil Young. This is the most relaxed Neil Young concert of the many that I have and is very reflective of his long career. Brilliant value for money yet again from Amazon. If you buy this make sure that you watch the special features DVD first, showing all the build up to the concert with the interviews and background information, it makes much better watching that way.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2009
I really enjoyed this film. A must for all Neil Young fans.

It is a concert film rather than a documentary so don't expect a "No DirectionHome" type of film. There are a few interviews from artists in the concert about how they met Young etc and a very brief comment at the start from the man himself.

The first half of the concert footage featured songs from the Prairie Winds album. I hadn't heard any of this material before but thought it was excellent. Young says a few words before some of the songs and a lot of them seem to relate to memories of his childhood.

Perhaps they were inspired on by his illness(he's now recovered), which is alluded to briefly.

The second part of the film (filmed on a different night I believe) features many of the classics from Young's long career.

I heard someone coming out of the cinema saying they could have watched that film all night and can only agree.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2008
Both musical and cinematic masterpeice! What more can I say? It is what Neil is all about. Neil opens his soul for everyone who is prepared, ready and able to transact with him on this emotional level. Life changing expeience!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2010
Depth of spiritual warmth and charm. Playing Hank William's guitar, he sings in his living room - pun intended - with a cast of loving friends and wife on the big stage. Did I mention song smithing, the sound and arrangements? A new universal hymn, as well. He has the guts to bare the whole soul, cool or square. These people just step up and blow away the business. Is it really nostalgia? No, no, no. It is a morsel of timelessness, reaching for moments in time where one could really say, "I'm free", even now.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2009
I loved this DVD. Neil's Dedication to his musical work clearly shone through within this film documentary.
He is very obviously respecting past musicians throughout the concert with an integrity that is all too uncommon in today's drive for instant success and its trappings.
Here is a man who has worked hard at his art and kept good company.
The whole thing is directed with a beautiful and subtle sensititivity that sums up the ethos of everyone involved in the making of this film concert.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2009
- an excellent 2 disc set with pre-concert interviews with Neil's band, which was specially assembled from his friends for this one music event, whilst en route to the venue and special clips featuring the concert preparations, the history of the venue, Neil's guitars etc, an absolute must have for all Neil's fans. And the concert was brill - wished I could have been there.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2011
If you're a fan of Neil Young then you won't be dissapointed with this concert and will definately want to watch it many times. If you're unfamiliar with Neil Young this may not be the best place to start but I still think you would enjoy.
This concert shows what a genius Neil Young has been for many decades.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2009
You will love this DVD.
An excellent production with just the right amount of introductions and plenty of music from the concert itself.
He sounds just like he did 30yrs ago, it's quite amazing.
It exceeded my expectations but then again, I love all things country....
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)