Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
585
4.6 out of 5 stars
Price:£6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 February 2009
Someone recommended this product to keep my beautiful new woodburner's glass clean. This as particularly important as the stove is double-sided with 2 very large windows.

The product works just as well as advertised. You spray it on liberally at the top of the glass and the foamy liquid sort of slowly slithers down the window, cleaning as it goes. It clears most deposits in one pass - you simply wipe away the grime and foam with kitchen paper. Only the most stubborn marks require another application.

One word of personal advice. Try to use disposable gloves to do the job as the foam contains quite potent chemicals that leave your hands horribly slimy and which can't be easily washed away!

Oh, and another thing! Don't be tempted to shake the bottle before use. It aerates the liquid and makes it go all 'bubbly' so it can't be dispensed via the trigger spray.

Altogether an outstandingly effective product. Highly recommended.
44 comments| 95 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2010
As a new user of a log burner over the winter, I had been trying all sorts of recommendations to clean the blackened glass windows. Much effort and time was put into all the ideas but with very poor results. Then I found a link on a website to Amazon and the HG Stove Glass Cleaner and reading the reviews decided to give it a whirl. To be honest I didn't expect much. I can honestly say that this is a fantastic product that I cannot rate highly enough. It is so fast and easy to use. Spray, leave for 5mins and then wipe it off. Fantastic. If you have a log burner with glass windows you need a bottle of this.
11 comment| 48 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2009
The product is effective but to increase its efficiency on vertical surfaces I found that if you place some kitchen roll on the glass surface and then spray on to this, it prevents the cleaner from running down off the glass. Leave the soaked kitchen roll on the glass for about 30 minutes and it cleans very efficiently as it melts the soot. Obviosly on a horizontal surface this is not necessary.
11 comment| 58 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2011
This is the very best woodburning stove glass cleaner. I've tried a great many products plus used wirewool and detergent. This stuff is a dream. Spray it on - have something under the door to catch the drips - and three minutes later, wipe off. Excellent!
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2009
awesome product, makes cleaning sooty glass very easy, just a couple of squirts and it wipes off without any effort.
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2011
Have tried various products to clean glass door on wood burner. This is by far the best. Just spray and leave for a while, then wipe off, no hard scrubbing!!!!
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2013
I have had a wood burner for about 14 years and after the 1st use of this product the glass looked like new! All the tar marks and other little marks that have accumulated over the years were easily wiped away.

After this initial 'big' clean I have found the best way to use this product is to put a couple of sprays on a washing up sponge and just wipe it over. It means no drips and the solution is so powerful you really don't need to use much. WEAR GLOVES it really is strong. Can.thoroughly recommend it.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2013
I spray this on the window at the top and allow it to run down the glass. I place newspaper under the door to catch any run-off. Leave it 10 minutes and then wipe with some newspaper and the glass comes up spotless. The newspaper goes straight back into the firs ;-) If there's any areas not cleaned I repeat the process. Uses little of the liquid so it will last ages and works brilliantly. This is a good product so don't be put off by negative comments about it. I nearly was and am glad I decided to check it out.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2011
I have tried a number of different glass cleaners for our Wood & Coal burning Dovre Stove. Mr Muscle Oven cleaner has been the choice to date until I read the reviews of this and bought some. Wow - not only does it take the thick layer of hardened soot of it also seems to stay cleaner for far longer. A highly recommended product. Makes cleaning the stove a whole lot easier.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2013
I bought this product as the glass on the multi fuel stove was getting very black every day. The wood I was using wasn.t dry enough though i was told it was.Anyway It took a lot of work and didn' get the thick tar off ,.....but another product they sell does get it off and very easily that product is Ceramic hob cleaner and is brilliant for the glass and no where near as messy as there are no runs,just pour a few drops onto a dry cloth and away you go. Having said all this there is no doubt that using properly dried wood would prevent tarring of the glass.
11 comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 9 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)